Strategic outcome and program descriptions

Public Accounts of Canada 2015 Volume II - Top of the page Navigation

Department

Strategic Outcome 1

High quality, central programs and services that ensure sound stewardship on behalf of Canadians and meet the program needs of federal institutions.

Program 1.1 — Accommodation and Real Property Services

Public Works and Government Services (PWGSC) provides federal departments and agencies with affordable office and common use accommodation that supports the delivery of their programs and services. The department acts as steward for various public works such as buildings, bridges and dams, and national treasures such as the Parliamentary Precinct and other heritage assets across Canada. PWGSC also provides other federal departments, agencies, and the Parliament of Canada with responsive and cost-effective real property services.

Program 1.2 — Acquisitions

This program shows PWGSC as the government's primary procurement service provider offering federal organizations a broad base of procurement solutions such as specialized contracts, standing offers and supply arrangements. The role of PWGSC in this area is to provide timely value‑added acquisitions and related common services to Canadians and the federal government.

Program 1.3 — Federal Pay and Pension Administration

This program provides reliable central systems and processes for pay and pension administration to other federal organizations. Through our pay and pension services, PWGSC ensure that federal government employees and pensioners are paid accurately and on time.

Program 1.4 — Receiver General for Canada

This program manages the operations of the federal treasury, produces the Public Accounts and maintains the Accounts of Canada. It provides federal departments with an optional financial and materiel management system offering and bill payments.

Program 1.5 — Linguistic Management and Services

This program defines the Translation Bureau of PWGSC as a key component of the federal government's service delivery infrastructure. The Bureau is the sole internal linguistic services provider and offers translation, revision, interpretation and other linguistic services for Parliament, the judiciary, and federal departments and agencies. It is also the terminology authority within the federal government and has been mandated to develop terminology standards to ensure clear, uniform and quality communications within government. The Linguistic Management and Services program is mandated under the Translation Bureau Act.

Program 1.6 — Specialized Programs and Services

This program provides federal organizations with high quality, timely and accessible specialized services and programs.

Program 1.7 — Integrity Programs and Services

This program provides the government of Canada with high quality, timely and accessible specialized services and programs in support of sound, prudent and ethical management and operations.

Program 1.8 — Procurement Ombudsman

This program, operating at arms‑length from the government, reviews procurement practices across federal departments and agencies, investigates complaints from suppliers regarding the award and administration of contracts for goods and services, and ensures the provision of alternative dispute resolution services for existing contracts. This program helps to promote fairness, openness and transparency in the federal procurement process.

Strategic Outcome 2

The following program supports all strategic outcomes within this organization.

Program 2.1 — Internal services

The Internal services program supports all strategic outcomes and is common across government. Internal services are groups of related activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of an organization. These groups are: Management and oversight services; Communications services; Legal services; Human resources management services; Financial management services; Information management services; Information technology services; Real property services; Materiel services; Acquisition services; and Travel and Other administrative services. Internal services include only those activities and resources that apply across an organization and not to those provided specifically to a program.

Shared Services Canada

Strategic Outcome 1

Modern, reliable, secure and cost‑effective information technology infrastructure services to support government priorities and program delivery.

Program 1.1 — Information Technology Infrastructure Services

This program delivers Information Technology (IT) Infrastructure Services to Federal Government Departments to enable and support the management, coordination and delivery of government programs to Canadians and the achievement of Government of Canada priorities. The IT Infrastructure services consist of four main IT service groups: (a) Distributed Computing, (b) Production and Operations Computing, (c) Telecommunications (Data, Voice & Video) Services, and (d) Cyber and IT Security. This program establishes a centralized common IT Infrastructure service leading to consolidation and standardization in the management and delivery of IT services across the mandated 43 Partner Departments. This consolidation and standardization contributes to greater operational efficiencies and economies of scale resulting in forecasted cost‑savings, enhanced reliability and security of the IT services, reduction in duplication of effort and managerial oversight, and development of harmonized response to Partner Departments’ business requirements.

Strategic Outcome 2

The following program supports all strategic outcomes within this organization.

Program 2.1 — Internal services

The Internal services program supports all strategic outcomes and is common across government. Internal services are groups of related activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of an organization. These groups are: Management and oversight services; Communications services; Legal services; Human resources management services; Financial management services; Information management services; Information technology services; Real property services; Materiel services; Acquisition services; and Travel and Other administrative services. Internal services include only those activities and resources that apply across an organization and not to those provided specifically to a program.

Public Accounts of Canada 2015 Volume II - Bottom of the page Navigation

Résultat stratégique et description des programmes

Navigation de haut de page du volume II du manuel du receveur général

Ministère

Résultat stratégique 1

Services et programmes centraux de haute qualité qui répondent aux besoins des organisations fédérales, assurant ainsi l'intendance et de meilleurs résultats à la population canadienne.

Programme 1.1 — Services des locaux et des biens immobiliers

Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux (TPSGC) fournit auxministères et aux organismes fédéraux des locaux à bureaux abordables et des installations à utilisation commune qui appuient la prestation de leurs programmes et services.Leministère assure l'intendance de divers travaux publics, par exemple des immeubles, des ponts et des barrages, et de trésors nationaux tels que la Cité parlementaire ainsi que d'autres biens patrimoniaux dans l'ensemble du Canada. TPSGC fournit également aux ministères, aux organismes fédéraux et au Parlement du Canada des services immobiliers souples et économiques.

Programme 1.2 — Approvisionnement

Ce programme présente TPSGC, comme étant le principal fournisseur de services d'achat du gouvernement offrant aux organisations fédérales une vaste gamme de solutions d'approvisionnement, comme des contrats spécialisés, des offres à commandes et des arrangements en matière d'approvisionnement. Le rôle de TPSGC dans ce domaine consiste à fournir à la population canadienne et au gouvernement fédéral des services d'approvisionnement et des services communs connexes à valeur ajoutée, en temps opportun.

Programme 1.3 — Administration de la paye et des pensions fédérales

Ce programme vise à offrir aux autres ministères et organismes fédéraux des systèmes et des processus centraux fiables pour l'administration de la paye et des pensions. Les services d'administration de la paye et des pensions de TPSGC permettent au Ministère de s'assurer que les employés et les pensionnés du gouvernement duCanada reçoivent en temps opportun les montants qui leur sont dus.

Programme 1.4 — Receveur général du Canada

Ce programme gère les opérations du Trésor fédéral, produit les Comptes publics et tient à jour les comptes du Canada. Elle offre également aux ministères fédéraux, sur une base facultative, un système de gestion des finances et du matériel et un service de paiement de factures.

Programme 1.5 — Gestion linguistique et services connexes

Ce programme définit le Bureau de la traduction de TPSGC comme étant un intervenant clé dans l'infrastructure de prestation de services du gouvernement fédéral. Le Bureau, seul fournisseur interne de services linguistiques au gouvernement, offre des services de traduction, de révision, d'interprétation et d'autres services linguistiques au Parlement, aux tribunaux ainsi qu'aux ministères et organismes fédéraux. Il est aussi l'autorité du gouvernement fédéral en matière de terminologie et a reçu le mandat d'élaborer des normes terminologiques pour garantir des communications claires, uniformes et de qualité au sein du gouvernement. Le programme Gestion linguistique et services connexes découle de la Loi sur le Bureau de la traduction.

Programme 1.6 — Programmes et services spécialisés

Ce programme assure la prestation en temps opportun de programmes et de services spécialisés de haute qualité et accessibles aux institutions fédérales.

Programme 1.7 — Programmes et services d'intégrité

Ce programme assure la prestation en temps opportun de programmes et de services spécialisés de haute qualité et accessibles au gouvernement du Canada pour appuyer une gestion et des opérations saines, prudentes et éthiques.

Programme 1.8 — Ombudsman de l'approvisionnement

Ce programme, exercé sans lien de dépendance avec le gouvernement, examine les pratiques d'approvisionnement dans l'ensemble desministères et organismes fédéraux, enquête sur les plaintes des fournisseurs relatives à l'attribution et à l'administration des contrats de biens et de services, et veille à la prestation de services de règlement extrajudiciaire des différents pour des contrats existants. Ce programme permet au BOA de promouvoir l'équité, l'ouverture et la transparence du processus d'approvisionnement.

Résultat stratégique 2

Le programme suivant appuie tous les résultats stratégiques de cette organisation.

Programme 2.1 — Services internes

Le programme des services internes appuie tous les résultats stratégiques et est commun dans l'ensemble des ministères. Les services internes sont des groupes d'activités et de ressources connexes qui sont gérés de façon à répondre aux besoins des programmes et des autres obligations générales d'une organisation. Ces groupes sont les suivants : services de gestion et de surveillance, services des communications, services juridiques, services de gestion des ressources humaines, services de gestion des finances, services de gestion de l'information, services des technologies de l'information, services de gestion des biens, services de gestion du matériel, services de gestion des acquisitions et services de gestion des voyages et autres services administratifs. Les services internes comprennent uniquement les activités et les ressources destinées à l'ensemble d'une organisation et non celles fournies à un programme particulier.

Services partagés Canada

Résultat stratégique 1

Services d'infrastructure de technologie de l'information (TI) modernes, fiables, sécuritaires et économiques à l'appui des priorités et de la prestation des programmes du gouvernement.

Programme 1.1 — Services d'infrastructure de technologie de l'information

Ce programme permet d'offrir des services d'infrastructure de technologie de l'information (TI) aux ministères fédéraux, en vue de favoriser et d'appuyer la gestion, la coordination et la prestation des programmes gouvernementaux pour la population canadienne et l'atteinte des priorités du gouvernement du Canada. L'infrastructure des services de TI comprend quatre principaux groupes de services liés à la TI : a) Informatique répartie, b) Informatisation de la production et des opérations, c) Réseau de télécommunication ‑ Données, voix et vidéo, d) Cyber sécurité et sécurité de la TI. Ce programme prévoit l'établissement d'une infrastructure de services de TI communs centralisés, favorisant le regroupement et la normalisation de la gestion et de la prestation des services de TI à l'échelle des 43 ministères partenaires responsables. Le regroupement et la normalisation des systèmes contribuera à augmenter l'efficacité des opérations et à réaliser de plus grandes économies d'échelle, ce qui permet de prévoir des économies de coûts, à améliorer la fiabilité et la sécurité des services de TI, à diminuer le recoupement des efforts et de la surveillance de la direction et la formulation d'une réponse cohérente par rapport aux besoins opérationnels des ministères partenaires.

Résultat stratégique 2

Le programme suivant appuie tous les résultats stratégiques de cette organisation.

Programme 2.1— Services internes

Le programme des services internes appuie tous les résultats stratégiques et est commun dans l'ensemble des ministères. Les services internes sont des groupes d'activités et de ressources connexes qui sont gérés de façon à répondre aux besoins des programmes et des autres obligations générales d'une organisation. Ces groupes sont les suivants : services de gestion et de surveillance, services des communications, services juridiques, services de gestion des ressources humaines, services de gestion des finances, services de gestion de l'information, services des technologies de l'information, services de gestion des biens, services de gestion du matériel, services de gestion des acquisitions et services de gestion des voyages et autres services administratifs. Les services internes comprennent uniquement les activités et les ressources destinées à l'ensemble d'une organisation et non celles fournies à un programme particulier.

Navigation en bas de page du volume II du manuel du receveur général