Non-financial assets

Public Accounts of Canada 2017 Volume I—Top of the page Navigation

Non-financial assets are assets that have an economic life that extends beyond the accounting period and that are intended for consumption in the normal course of operations. They are converted into expense in future periods and include tangible capital assets, inventories, and prepaid expenses.

Tangible capital assets consist of acquired, built, developed or improved tangible assets, which are intended to be used on a continuous basis and are not intended for sale in the ordinary course of business. For financial reporting purposes, tangible capital assets are grouped in the following categories: land, buildings, works and infrastructure, machinery and equipment, vehicles, leasehold improvements, assets under construction, and assets under capital leases.

Inventories are items of tangible property that are to be used in the delivery of program outputs. Some revolving funds and a few departments may have inventories held for resale to parties outside the Government.

Prepaid expenses and other are disbursements made, pursuant to a contract, before the completion of the work, delivery of the goods or rendering of the service.

Table 10.1 presents the non-financial assets by category. The charts present non-financial assets by category and by fiscal year at March 31.

Table 10.1
Non-financial assets by category
(in thousands of dollars)

  March 31, 2017 March 31, 2016
Net tangible capital assets, Table 10.2
Land 1,717,517 1,665,250
Buildings 15,463,333 14,948,686
Works and infrastructure 7,499,890 6,433,048
Machinery and equipment 10,538,038 9,851,603
Vehicles, Table 10.3 16,031,885 16,367,357
Leasehold improvements 1,128,202 1,170,515
Assets under construction 14,651,835 12,574,468
Assets under capital leases, Table 10.4 2,645,014 2,826,935
Subtotal 69,675,714 65,837,862
Inventories 6,841,999 7,221,554
Prepaid expenses and other 6,039,763 4,705,789
Total 82,557,475 77,765,205

Non-financial assets by category at March 31, 2017

Non-Financial Assets by Category at March 31, 2016. Refer to the text description following the image.

Image description

The Graph "Non-financial assets by category at March 31, 2017" illustrates the non-financial assets by category for the current year and the relative percentage to the total. The percentage by component is: Prepaid expenses and other 7.3%; Land 2.1%; Buildings 18.7%; Works and infrastructure 9.1%; Machinery and equipment 12.8%; Vehicles 19.4%; Leasehold improvements 1.4%; Assets under construction 17.7%; Assets under capital leases 3.2%; and Inventories 8.3%.

Non-financial assets at March 31, 2017

(in millions of dollars)

Non-Financial Assets at March 31, 2016. Refer to the text description following the image.

Image description

The Graph "Non-financial assets at March 31, 2017" illustrates, in millions of dollars, the non-financial assets for the current and nine previous years. In chronological order, the amounts are: $58,644 for 2008; $61,503 for 2009; $63,375 for 2010; $66,581 for 2011; $67,959 for 2012; $68,922 for 2013; $70,433 for 2014; $74,629 for 2015; $77,765 for 2016; and $82,557 for 2017.

Public Accounts of Canada 2017 Volume I—Bottom of the page Navigation

Date modified:

Actifs non financiers

Navigation de haut de page du volume I du manuel du receveur général

Les actifs non financiers sont des actifs qui possèdent une vie économique dépassant l'exercice et qui sont destinés à être utilisés dans le cours normal des opérations. Ils sont convertis en charges dans des périodes futures et incluent les immobilisations corporelles, les stocks et les charges payées d'avance.

Les immobilisations corporelles comportent des biens corporels acquis, construits, développés ou améliorés, qui sont destinés à être utilisés sur une base continue et non destinés à la vente dans le cours normal des affaires. Aux fins de publication de l'information financière, les immobilisations corporelles sont regroupées dans les catégories suivantes : terrains, bâtiments, travaux et infrastructures, matériel et outillage, véhicules, améliorations locatives, biens en construction et biens loués en vertu de contrats de location-acquisition.

Les stocks sont des biens corporels qui sont utilisés dans l'exécution des résultats de programme. Certains fonds renouvelables et certains ministères peuvent détenir des stocks aux fins de revente à des tiers externes au gouvernement.

Les charges payées d'avance et autres sont des déboursés encourus, relativement à un contrat, avant l'accomplissement du travail, la livraison des biens ou la prestation de service.

Le tableau 10.1 présente les actifs non financiers par catégorie. Les graphiques présentent les actifs non financiers par catégorie et par exercice au 31 mars.

Tableau 10.1
Actifs non financiers par catégorie
(en milliers de dollars)

  31 mars 2017 31 mars 2016
Immobilisations corporelles nettes, tableau 10.2
Terrains 1 717 517 1 665 250
Bâtiments 15 463 333 14 948 686
Travaux et infrastructures 7 499 890 6 433 048
Matériel et outillage 10 538 038 9 851 603
Véhicules, tableau 10.3 16 031 885 16 367 357
Améliorations locatives 1 128 202 1 170 515
Biens en construction 14 651 835 12 574 468
Biens loués en vertu de contrats de location-acquisition, tableau 10.4 2 645 014 2 826 935
Total partiel 69 675 714 65 837 862
Stocks 6 841 999 7 221 554
Charges payées d'avance et autres 6 039 763 4 705 789
Total 82 557 475 77 765 205

Total des actifs non financiers par catégorie au 31 mars 2017

Actifs non financiers par catégorie au 31 mars 2016. Se référer à la description texte qui suit l'image.

Description de l'image

Le graphique « Total des actifs non financiers par catégorie au 31 mars 2017 » illustre les actifs non financiers par catégorie et le pourcentage relatif au total. Le pourcentage par composante est : Charges payées d'avance et autres 7,3 %; Terrains 2,1 %; Bâtiments 18,7 %; Travaux et infrastructures 9,1 %; Matériel et outillage 12,8 %; Véhicules 19,4 %; Améliorations locatives 1,4 %; Biens en construction 17,7 %; Biens loués en vertu de contrats de location-acquisition 3,2 %; Stocks 8,3 %.

Actifs non financiers au 31 mars 2017

(en millions de dollars)

Actifs non financiers au 31 mars 2016. Se référer à la description texte qui suit l'image.

Description de l'image

Le graphique « Actifs non financiers au 31 mars 2017 » illustre, en millions de dollars, les actifs non financiers de l'exercice en cours et des neuf exercices précédents. Dans l'ordre chronologique, les montants sont: 58 644 $ pour 2008; 61 503 $ pour 2009; 63 375 $ pour 2010; 66 581 $ pour 2011; 67 959 $ pour 2012; 68 922 $ pour 2013; 70 433 $ pour 2014; 74 629 $ pour 2015; 77 765 $ pour 2016; 82 557 $ pour 2017.

Navigation en bas de page du volume I du manuel du receveur général

Date de modification :