Statement of responsibility

Public Accounts of Canada 2017 Volume I—Top of the page Navigation

These consolidated financial statements are prepared by the Government of Canada in accordance with the accounting policies set out in Note 1 to the consolidated financial statements, which are based on Canadian public sector accounting standards, and on a basis consistent with that of the preceding year.

Responsibility for the integrity and objectivity of these consolidated financial statements rests with the Government. These consolidated financial statements are prepared under the joint direction of the President of the Treasury Board, the Minister of Finance, and the Receiver General for Canada in compliance with governing legislation. These consolidated financial statements are prepared on a full accrual basis of accounting. The information included in these consolidated financial statements is based on the Government's best estimates and judgement, with due consideration given to materiality.

To fulfill its accounting and reporting responsibilities, the Government maintains systems of financial management and internal control which give due consideration to costs, benefits and risks. These systems are designed to provide reasonable assurance that transactions are properly authorized by Parliament, are executed in accordance with prescribed regulations, and are properly recorded so as to maintain accountability of public money and safeguard the assets and properties of Canada under Government administration. The Receiver General for Canada maintains the accounts of Canada, a centralized summary record of the Government's financial transactions. Additional information is obtained as required, from departments, agencies, Crown corporations, other government business enterprises, and other entities to meet accounting and reporting requirements.

The Government presents these consolidated financial statements to the Auditor General of Canada, who audits them and provides an independent audit opinion to the House of Commons. The duties of the Auditor General of Canada in that respect are contained in Section 6 of the Auditor General Act.

Annually, the consolidated financial statements are tabled in the House of Commons as part of the Public Accounts of Canada, and are referred to the Standing Committee on Public Accounts, which reports to Parliament on the results of its examination together with any recommendations it may have with respect to the consolidated financial statements and accompanying independent audit opinion.

On behalf of the Government of Canada.

Yaprak Baltacıoğlu
Secretary of the Treasury
Board of Canada

Paul Rochon
Deputy Minister of Finance

Marie Lemay
Deputy Receiver General for Canada

Bill Matthews,FCPA, FCA
Comptroller General of Canada

September 6, 2017

Public Accounts of Canada 2017 Volume I—Bottom of the page Navigation

Date modified:

Énoncé de responsabilité

Navigation de haut de page du volume I du manuel du receveur général

Ces états financiers consolidés sont préparés par le gouvernement du Canada conformément aux conventions comptables énoncées à la note 1 afférente aux états financiers consolidés, lesquelles s'appuient sur les normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public et lesquelles ont été appliquées de la même manière qu'au cours de l'exercice précédent.

Le gouvernement est responsable de l'intégrité et de l'objectivité des états financiers consolidés. Les états financiers consolidés sont préparés sous la direction conjointe du président du Conseil du Trésor, du ministre des Finances et du receveur général du Canada, en conformité avec la loi habilitante. Ces états financiers consolidés sont préparés selon la comptabilité d'exercice intégrale. L'information comprise dans ces états financiers consolidés est fondée, tout en tenant compte du seuil de signification, sur le jugement et sur les meilleures estimations du gouvernement.

Pour s'acquitter de ses responsabilités en matière de comptabilité et de présentation de l'information, le gouvernement maintient des systèmes de gestion financière et de contrôle interne qui tiennent compte des coûts, des avantages et des risques. Ces systèmes ont été conçus de manière à fournir l'assurance raisonnable que les opérations soient autorisées comme il se doit par le Parlement, exécutées selon les règlements prescrits et dûment comptabilisées afin de rendre compte de l'utilisation des fonds publics et de protéger les actifs et les biens du Canada confiés à l'administration gouvernementale. Le receveur général du Canada tient les comptes du Canada, lesquels constituent un registre sommaire centralisé des opérations financières du gouvernement. De l'information supplémentaire, si nécessaire, est obtenue des ministères, organismes, sociétés d'État, autres entreprises publiques et autres entités pour satisfaire aux exigences de comptabilité et de présentation de l'information.

Le gouvernement présente les états financiers consolidés au vérificateur général du Canada, qui les vérifie et fournit une opinion d'audit indépendante à la Chambre des communes. Les fonctions du vérificateur général du Canada à cet égard sont énoncées à l'article 6 de la Loi sur le vérificateur général.

Chaque année, les états financiers consolidés sont déposés à la Chambre des communes par l'entremise des Comptes publics du Canada et sont acheminés au Comité permanent des comptes publics. Le Comité présente au Parlement les résultats de son examen, de même que toutes recommandations qu'il peut y avoir à l'égard des états financiers consolidés et de l'opinion d'audit indépendante qui s'y rattache.

Au nom du gouvernement du Canada,

La secrétaire du Conseil du Trésor du Canada,
Yaprak Baltacıoğlu

Le sous-ministre des Finances,
Paul Rochon

Le sous-receveur général du Canada,
Marie Lemay

Le contrôleur général du Canada,
Bill Matthews, FCPA, FCA

Le 6 septembre 2017

Navigation en bas de page du volume I du manuel du receveur général

Date de modification :