International Monetary Fund

Public Accounts of Canada 2017 Volume I—Top of the page Navigation

Subscriptions

This account records the value of Canada's subscription (its "quota") to the capital of the International Monetary Fund (IMF).

The amount by which the sum of Canada's subscriptions plus loans to the IMF under special facilities exceeds the IMF's holdings of Canadian dollars represents the amount of foreign exchange which Canada is entitled to draw from the IMF on demand for balance of payments purposes. The subscription is expressed in terms of SDR, a unit of account defined in terms of a "basket" of five major currencies, the Euro, the US dollar, the British pound sterling, the Japanese yen and the Chinese renminbi.

Canada has accumulated its subscriptions through settlements to the IMF in Canadian dollars, gold and SDRs. Annual maintenance of value payments are made to, or received from, the IMF when the Canadian dollar depreciates or appreciates against the SDR, in order to maintain the SDR-value of the IMF's holdings of Canadian dollars.

In 2016–2017, the receipts and other credits consisted of a valuation adjustment of $277 million

Loans

This account records the value of interest-bearing loans made under Canada's multilateral and bilateral lending arrangements with the IMF. The purpose of these arrangements is to provide temporary resources to the IMF which works to promote economic growth and safeguard the stability of the international monetary system.

There are three outstanding lending arrangements with the IMF outside of the quota system: the multilateral New Arrangements to Borrow (NAB), the General Arrangements to Borrow (GAB) and the temporary bilateral borrowing agreement.

Canada's current participation in the NAB is governed by the November 2012 NAB Decision which incorporated technical amendments made as a result of the IMF’s 14th General Review of Quotas. The maximum lending by Canada to the IMF under these arrangements is SDR 3,874 million. As at March 31, 2017, SDR 623.5 million or $1,125 million (SDR 699 million or $1,278 million in 2016) in lending has been provided by Canada to the IMF under the NAB. Canada recently renewed its participation in the NAB for another five year period pursuant to the November 2016 NAB Decision (effective November 2017).

Canada also participates in the GAB which was most recently renewed in December 2013. The maximum lending by Canada to the IMF under these arrangements is limited to SDR 893 million. As at March 31, 2017, no lending had been provided to the IMF under the GAB.

In early 2017, Canada extended a temporary bilateral credit line to the IMF in the amount of SDR 8,200 million for a maximum period of four years, as part of a collective effort with 34 other nations to foster global economic and financial stability.

Collectively, the outstanding loans under multilateral and bilateral arrangements with the IMF cannot exceed SDR 12,967 million at any given time. This reflects the maximum commitment under the NAB, GAB and bilateral borrowing agreement.

At March 31, 2017, a total of SDR 623.5 million or $1,125 million was outstanding under these arrangements. Amounts advanced under these arrangements are considered part of the Official International Reserves of Canada.

Notes payable

This account records non-marketable, non-interest bearing notes issued by the Government to the IMF. These notes are payable on demand and are subject to redemption or re-issue, depending on the needs of the IMF for Canadian currency.

Canadian dollar holdings of the IMF include these notes and a small working balance (initially equal to one-quarter of one per cent of Canada's subscription) held on deposit at the Bank of Canada. In 2016–2017, notes payable to the IMF decreased by $250 million.

Public Accounts of Canada 2017 Volume I—Bottom of the page Navigation

Date modified:

Fonds monétaire international

Navigation de haut de page du volume I du manuel du receveur général

Souscriptions

Ce compte inscrit la valeur de la souscription du Canada (sa « quote-part ») au capital du Fonds monétaire international (FMI).

Le montant par lequel le total des souscriptions et des prêts du Canada au FMI en vertu de facilités de financement spéciales dépasse les avoirs en dollars canadiens du FMI, représente le montant des devises que le Canada est autorisé à tirer du FMI sur demande aux fins de sa balance des paiements. La souscription est exprimée en fonction de droits de tirage spéciaux (DTS), une unité de compte définie en fonction d'un ensemble de cinq grandes devises, l'euro, le dollar américain, la livre sterling britannique, le yen japonais et le renminbi chinois.

Le Canada a accumulé ses souscriptions au FMI au moyen de règlements en dollars canadiens, en or et en DTS. Des versements annuels sont effectués au FMI ou sont reçus de celui-ci, advenant une dépréciation ou un accroissement de la valeur du dollar canadien face aux DTS. Ces versements sont faits dans le but de maintenir la valeur en DTS des avoirs en dollars canadiens du FMI.

En 2016-2017, les rentrées et autres crédits se composent d'un redressement dû à la réévaluation de 277 millions de dollars.

Prêts

Ce compte inscrit la valeur des prêts portants intérêts accordés au titre des accords d'emprunt multilatéraux et bilatéral du Canada avec le FMI. Ces accords visent à fournir des ressources temporaires au FMI, qui s'emploie à promouvoir la croissance économique et à protéger la stabilité du système monétaire international.

Il existe trois ententes de prêts en cours avec le FMI à l'extérieur du système de quotes-parts : les Nouveaux accords d'emprunt (NAE), les Accords généraux d'emprunt (AGE) multilatéraux ainsi que l'accord d'emprunt bilatéral temporaire.

D'une part, la participation actuelle du Canada aux NAE est régie par la décision liée aux NAE de novembre 2012 qui a incorporé des modifications techniques suite à la 14e révision des quotes-parts du FMI. En vertu de ces accords, le Canada est autorisé à prêter au FMI un maximum de 3 874 millions de DTS. Au 31 mars 2017, 623,5 millions de DTS ou 1 125 millions de dollars (699 millions de DTS ou 1 278 millions de dollars en 2016) avaient été consentis au FMI au titre des NAE. Le Canada a récemment renouvelé sa participation au NAE pour une autre période de cinq ans conformément à la décision des NAE de novembre 2016 (entrée en vigueur en novembre 2017).

Le Canada participe aux AGE qui ont récemment été renouvelés en décembre 2013. En vertu de ces accords, le Canada est autorisé à prêter au FMI un maximum de 893 millions de DTS. Au 31 mars 2017, aucun prêt n'avait été consenti au FMI au titre des AGE.

Au début de l'année 2017, dans le cadre d'un effort collectif avec 34 autres pays visant à favoriser la stabilité économique et financière au niveau mondial, le Canada a accordé au FMI une ligne de crédit bilatérale temporaire au montant de 8 200 millions de DTS pour une période maximale de quatre ans.

Au total, l'encours de prêts du FMI au titre de ces accords multilatéraux ne peut pas dépasser en tout temps 12 967 millions de DTS à un moment donné. Cette exigence reflète le montant maximal en vertu des NAE, des AGE et de l'accord d'emprunt bilatéral.

Au 31 mars 2017, l'encours des prêts s'élevait à un total de 623,5 millions de DTS ou 1 125 millions de dollars dans le cadre de ces accords. On considère les avances versées au titre de ces accords comme faisant partie des réserves officielles de change du Canada.

Effets à payer

Ce compte inscrit les effets non négociables, non productifs d'intérêts émis par le gouvernement au FMI. Ces effets sont payables à vue et sont sujets à être remboursés ou émis de nouveau, selon les besoins du FMI pour de la monnaie canadienne.

Les avoirs en dollars canadiens du FMI comprennent ces effets et un solde minime d'exploitation (tout d'abord égal à un quart de un pour cent de la souscription du Canada) qui est mis en dépôt à la Banque du Canada. En 2016-2017, les effets à payer au FMI ont diminué de 250 millions de dollars.

Navigation en bas de page du volume I du manuel du receveur général

Date de modification :