Strategic outcome and program descriptions

Public Accounts of Canada 2017 Volume II - Top of the page Navigation

Department of Veterans Affairs

Strategic outcome 1

Financial, physical and mental well–being of eligible Veterans.

Program 1.1: Disability and Death Compensation

This program recognizes and compensates eligible Veterans, Canadian Armed Forces members and other eligible individuals for the effects of service related disabilities, death and detention. In the case of Disability Pension, benefits and allowances are provided in the form of monthly payments and for Disability Awards, Critical Injury and Death Benefits, compensation is provided in the form of a monetary award paid as a lump sum, an annual payment or a combination of both. This program is delivered through operating funds and grants.

Program 1.2: Health Care Program and Re-establishment Services

This program is designed to improve or maintain the physical, mental and social well–being of eligible Veterans, certain Reserve Force personnel, civilians, and their survivors and dependants and other individuals, promote independence, and assist in keeping them at home and in their own communities by providing a continuum of care. The program provides funding for rehabilitation services, career transition support, health benefits, family caregiver relief benefits, home care and long term care. This program is delivered through operating funds, grants and contributions.

Program 1.3: Financial Support Program

This program provides income support to eligible Veterans and their survivors to ensure that recipients have income which is adequate to meet their basic needs. This program also provides income replacement or support to eligible Canadian Armed Forces Veterans, survivors, and orphans for the economic impact that a military career-ending and/or service-connected injury, illness or death can have on a Veteran's ability to earn income or save for retirement. Benefits are provided in the form of lump sum or monthly income replacement or support payments, post military release. This program is delivered through operating funds and grants.

Strategic outcome 2

Canadians remember and demonstrate their recognition of all those who served in Canada's efforts during war, military conflict and peace.

Program 2.1: Canada Remembers Program

Canadian Veterans and those who died in service have made valuable contributions to the development of Canada. Under the authority of P.C. Order 1965–688, this program ensures that Veterans and those who died in service are honoured and the memory of their sacrifices and achievements is preserved. Canada Remembers activities promote the following outcomes: Canadians are knowledgeable about the efforts of Veterans and those who died in service to Canada; Canadian military milestones and the Veterans who participated in them are publicly recognized; communities and other groups lead remembrance activities; symbols erected to honour Veterans and those who served are maintained in perpetuity on behalf of Canadians; and financial assistance is provided to the estates of eligible Veterans for a dignified funeral and burial. Encouraging pride in shared military history, celebrating the contributions and acknowledging the sacrifices of those who served, and preserving symbols to mark their courage all contribute to the Government of Canada's outcome of a vibrant Canadian culture and heritage. This program is delivered through operating funds as well as grants and contributions.

Strategic outcome 3

Veterans' rights to services and benefits that address their needs are considered by the Veterans Affairs Portfolio.

Program 3.1: Veterans Ombudsman

This program provides an independent and impartial opportunity to review complaints submitted by Veterans and other individuals (war service Veterans, Veterans and serving members of the Canadian Armed Forces [Regular and Reserve], members and former members of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, spouses, common-law partners, survivors and primary caregivers, other eligible dependants and family members, other eligible individuals and representatives of the afore-mentioned groups). It promotes fair and equitable treatment in accessing the services, benefits and programs from Veterans Affairs Canada. This is accomplished by: providing them with information and referrals to facilitate their access to programs and services; reviewing and addressing complaints arising from the Veterans Bill of Rights and decisions on benefits and services for which there is no right to appeal to the Veterans Review and Appeal Board; reviewing systemic issues related to the Veterans Review and Appeal Board; and identifying and reviewing emerging and systemic issues related to the provisions of the Department's programs and services and providing information and recommendations to the Minister in relation to those issues. This program is delivered through operating funds.

Strategic outcome 4

The following program supports all strategic outcomes within this organization.

Program 4.1: Internal Services

The Internal Services program supports all strategic outcomes and is common across government. Internal services are groups of related activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of an organization. These groups are: Management and oversight services; Communications services; Legal services; Human resources management services; Financial management services; Information management services; Information technology services; Real property services; Material services; Acquisition services; and Travel and other administrative services. Internal services include only those activities and resources that apply across an organization and not to those provided specifically to a program.

Veterans Review and Appeal Board

Strategic outcome 1

An independent and fair appeal process for disability pension, award and allowance decisions made by Veterans Affairs Canada.

Program 1.1: Review and Appeal

The Veterans Review and Appeal Board's program delivers the independent review and appeal process for disability pension and disability award decisions made by Veterans Affairs Canada. It provides two levels of appeal for Veterans, Canadian Armed Forces members, Royal Canadian Mounted Police applicants, and their families who are dissatisfied with their disability pension and disability award decisions. The Board conducts hearings and issues written decisions. The Board's other key functions include hearing reviews and appeals of special award decisions made by Veterans Affairs Canada relating to attendance allowances, exceptional incapacity allowances and clothing allowances; hearing the final level of appeal for War Veterans Allowance decisions; and adjudicating compassionate award applications.

Public Accounts of Canada 2017 Volume II - Bottom of the page Navigation

Date modified:

Résultat stratégique et description des programmes

Navigation de haut de page du volume II du manuel du receveur général

Ministère des Anciens Combattants

Résultat stratégique 1

Mieux-être financier, physique et mental des vétérans admissibles.

Programme 1.1 : Indemnités d'invalidité et de décès

Ce programme, en guise de reconnaissance, donne une compensation aux vétérans admissibles, aux membres des Forces armées canadiennes et à d'autres personnes admissibles pour les effets d'invalidités liées au service, en cas de décès et de détention. Dans les cas de Pension d'invalidité, des avantages et des allocations sont versées sous forme de paiements mensuels et pour les Indemnités d'invalidité, avantages pour blessure grave et de décès, une indemnité est versée sous la forme d'une somme forfaitaire, d'un versement annuel, ou d'une combinaison des deux. Ce programme est financé grâce au budget de fonctionnement et à des subventions.

Programme 1.2 : Programme de soins de santé et services de réinsertion

Ce programme vise à améliorer ou préserver le bien-être physique, mental et social des vétérans et de certains membres de la Réserve et civils admissibles, ainsi que celui de leurs survivants et personnes à charge et d'autres personnes admissibles, à favoriser l'autonomie et à offrir un continuum de soins pour faire en sorte que ces personnes demeurent à leur résidence et au sein de leur collectivité. Ce programme finance l'accès à des services de réadaptation, à des services de transition de carrière, à des soins de santé, à l'allocation pour relève d'un aidant familial, à des soins à domicile et à des soins de longue durée. Ce programme est financé grâce au budget de fonctionnement et à des subventions et contributions.

Programme 1.3 : Programme de soutien financier

Ce programme fournit un soutien du revenu aux vétérans admissibles et à leurs survivants dans le but de s'assurer que les bénéficiaires auront un revenu suffisant pour répondre à leurs besoins fondamentaux. Ce programme offre également un revenu de remplacement ou un soutien du revenu aux vétérans des Forces armées canadiennes admissibles, ainsi qu'à leurs survivants et orphelins, dans le but de contrer l'incidence que pourrait avoir une fin de carrière militaire, une blessure ou maladie liée au service ou un décès sur la capacité d'un vétéran à gagner un revenu ou à épargner pour sa retraite. Les prestations sont versées sous forme de somme forfaitaire ou paiements mensuels de remplacement ou de soutien du revenu après la libération du service militaire. Ce programme est financé grâce au budget de fonctionnement et à des subventions.

Résultat stratégique 2

Les Canadiens se souviennent de ceux et celles qui ont servi le Canada en temps de guerre et de paix et en situation de conflit armé, et leur témoignent de la reconnaissance.

Programme 2.1 : Programme Le Canada se souvient

Les vétérans canadiens et ceux qui sont morts pendant le service ont grandement contribué au développement du Canada. En vertu du Décret C.P. 1965-688, ce programme veille à ce que les vétérans et ceux qui sont morts pendant le service soient honorés et à ce que le souvenir de leurs réalisations et de leurs sacrifices soit préservé. Les activités du programme Le Canada se souvient favorisent l'atteinte des résultats suivants : les Canadiens sont informés au sujet des efforts des vétérans et de ceux qui sont morts pendant le service; les jalons importants militaires sont reconnus publiquement de même que les vétérans canadiens qui y ont pris part; les collectivités et d'autres groupes organisent des activités de commémoration; les monuments érigés à la mémoire des vétérans sont préservés pour toujours au nom des Canadiens, et les successions des vétérans obtiennent une aide financière pour couvrir les frais de funérailles et d'inhumation faites en toute dignité. En favorisant la fierté à l'égard de notre histoire militaire commune, en célébrant les contributions et les sacrifices des vétérans et en préservant les symboles qui glorifient leur courage, le gouvernement du Canada contribue à souligner la richesse de la culture et du patrimoine de notre pays. Ce programme est financé grâce au budget de fonctionnement et à des subventions et contributions.

Résultat stratégique 3

Les droits des vétérans relativement aux services et aux avantages qui satisfont à leurs besoins sont pris en considération par le portefeuille des Anciens Combattants.

Programme 3.1 : Ombudsman des vétérans

Ce programme offre la possibilité d'un examen indépendant et impartial des plaintes soumises par les vétérans et d'autres personnes, c'est-à-dire les vétérans ayant servi en temps de guerre, les vétérans et les membres des Forces armées canadiennes (force régulière et de réserve), les membres actifs et à la retraite de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, les conjoints et les conjoints de fait, les survivants et les principaux dispensateurs de soins, les autres personnes à charge et les membres de la famille admissibles, ainsi que d'autres personnes admissibles et des représentants des groupes susmentionnés. Il préconise un traitement juste et équitable des personnes pour ce qui est de l'accès aux services, aux programmes et aux avantages offerts par Anciens Combattants Canada. À cette fin, il leur fournit des renseignements et une orientation afin de faciliter leur accès aux programmes et aux services; examine et règle les plaintes relatives à la Déclaration des droits des anciens combattants et aux décisions sur les prestations et services qui ne peuvent être portées en appel devant le Tribunal des anciens combattants (révision et appel); examine les questions d'ordre systémique reliées au Tribunal des anciens combattants (révision et appel); cerne et examine les questions nouvelles et d'ordre systémique liées aux programmes et aux services fournis ou administrés par le Ministère; et fournit des renseignements et des recommandations au ministre en lien avec ces questions. Ce programme est financé grâce au budget de fonctionnement.

Résultat stratégique 4

Le programme suivant appuie tous les résultats stratégiques de cette organisation.

Programme 4.1 : Services internes

Le programme des services internes appuie tous les résultats stratégiques et est commun dans l'ensemble des ministères. Les services internes sont des groupes d'activités et de ressources connexes qui sont gérés de façon à répondre aux besoins des programmes et des autres obligations générales d'une organisation. Ces groupes sont les suivants : services de gestion et de surveillance, services des communications, services juridiques, services de gestion des ressources humaines, services de gestion des finances, services de gestion de l'information, services des technologies de l'information, services de gestion des biens, services de gestion du matériel, services de gestion des acquisitions et services de gestion des voyages et autres services administratifs. Les services internes comprennent uniquement les activités et les ressources destinées à l'ensemble d'une organisation et non celles fournies à un programme particulier.

Tribunal des anciens combattants (révision et appel)

Résultat stratégique 1

Processus d'appel équitable et indépendant pour les décisions rendues par Anciens Combattants Canada au sujet des pensions, des indemnités et des allocations d'invalidité.

Programme 1.1 : Révision et appel

Le programme du Tribunal des anciens combattants (révision et appel) assure un processus de révision et d'appel indépendant pour les décisions sur les pensions d'invalidité et les indemnités d'invalidité rendues par Anciens Combattants Canada. Le Tribunal offre deux niveaux d'appel pour les anciens combattants et vétérans, les membres des Forces armées canadiennes et de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, et leurs familles, qui ne sont pas satisfaits des décisions au sujet de leur pension d'invalidité ou leur indemnité d'invalidité. Le Tribunal tient des audiences et émet des décisions écrites. Les autres fonctions principales du Tribunal incluent la tenue d'audiences de révision et d'appel de décisions rendues par Anciens Combattants Canada concernant les allocations spéciales (allocations pour soins, allocations d'incapacité exceptionnelle et allocations vestimentaires); la tenue d'audiences de dernier niveau d'appel pour les allocations aux anciens combattants; et la prise de décisions sur les demandes d'allocations de commisération.

Navigation en bas de page du volume II du manuel du receveur général

Date de modification :