Strategic outcome and program descriptions

Public Accounts of Canada 2017 Volume II - Top of the page Navigation

Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development

Strategic outcome 1

International Assistance and Poverty Alleviation – Poverty is reduced, and security and democracy are increased for those living in countries where Canada engages.

Program 1.1: International Development

The International Development program contributes to poverty alleviation by engaging in long-term development support in developing countries that have demonstrated a capacity to effectively plan and advance poverty reduction initiatives. To ensure the greatest impact, the program prioritizes its programming in themes identified by partner countries and where Canada maintains a particular expertise, including sustainable economic growth, children and youth, and food security. A key Canadian initiative included in this program is Canada's commitment to Maternal, Newborn, and Child Health. The program's investments in complementary programming areas, such as multi-sector assistance, provide the linkages that ensure that Canada's international development programming remains coherent and supportive of Canada's interests and values. The program is implemented mainly through contributions that target governments in developing countries, multilateral organizations, and non-governmental organizations.

Program 1.2: International Humanitarian Assistance

The International Humanitarian Assistance program reduces the vulnerability of people in crisis situations due to armed conflicts, acute food insecurity and natural disasters. It ensures that they receive timely and appropriate emergency food, water and sanitation, nutritional interventions, emergency medical care, shelter coordination and protection, and facilitates this by also supporting coordination and other shared humanitarian services. It addresses acute humanitarian needs through responses to international appeals for assistance. This program features short-term programming to ensure delivery of essential humanitarian services. It also provides long-term institutional support for day-to-day activities and operations of key humanitarian assistance partners. Canada engages on partner organizations' governing bodies and policy issues to ensure that they are effectively empowered to fulfill their humanitarian mandate and have the ability to deliver results in an increasingly challenging political and environmental context.

Program 1.3: International Security and Democratic Development

The International Security and Democratic Development program contributes to increased security by enhancing the capacity of foreign governments and international organizations to manage international peace and security challenges, prevent and respond to transnational crime and terrorism, and reduce the threat of weapons of mass destruction. It also supports democracy by working with partners in developing countries and regions, fragile states, states in transition to democracy and states governed by repressive regimes to promote the participation of people in political processes, enhance respect for human rights and the rule of law, and promote the emergence of effective and accountable institutions. The program partners with Crown Corporations and other institutions of the Government of Canada, foreign governments, institutions and agencies, multilateral organizations, and civil society organizations to build the stable, democratic foundations necessary for peace, sustainable development and poverty alleviation.

Strategic outcome 2

Canada's International Agenda – The international agenda is shaped to advance Canadian security, prosperity, interests and values.

Program 2.1: Diplomacy, Advocacy, and International Agreements

The Diplomacy, Advocacy, and International Agreements program enables engagement with foreign governments and international organizations to gain support for decisions and influence actions that advance Canada's interests and values. To achieve this, Global Affairs Canada engages decision makers at all levels in other countries and facilitates high-level engagement and advocacy by Canadian officials, including the Prime Minister, so that Canada's interests are reflected in bilateral, regional and multilateral agreements and initiatives, including international trade agreements. This program also supports public diplomacy activities to promote Canadian views on issues of concern to Canadians. Through assessed contributions and memberships, the program enables Canada to access international and multilateral organizations to further Canada's interests abroad. The program is also responsible for Canada's formal diplomatic representation abroad, and the accreditation of foreign representatives.

Program 2.2: Integrated Foreign Affairs, Trade, and Development Policy

The Integrated Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Policy program ensures that Government of Canada decision makers are provided with international information, analysis and policy advice in order to establish integrated and well-informed policies that advance Canada's interests and values internationally. This is achieved through policy coordination within Global Affairs Canada, with other government departments and stakeholders, and by utilizing advice provided from Global Affairs Canada's network of missions abroad to develop integrated and coherent whole-of-government policies on international issues.

Strategic outcome 3

Canada's Network Abroad – The Department maintains a mission network of infrastructure and services to enable the Government of Canada to achieve its international priorities.

Program 3.1: Mission Network Governance, Strategic Direction and Common Services

The Mission Network Governance, Strategic Direction and Common Services program enables Global Affairs Canada and the Government of Canada to achieve its international priorities by providing sound governance, strategic direction, and efficient and cost-effective common services to Canadian missions abroad and mission partners. These common services include management of real property and mission security, the provision of information management and information technology support, and the governance of the network's locally engaged staff. Management of this mission network is provided through cooperation with Global Affairs Canada, federal departments and agencies, Crown corporations, provincial governments, other national governments, and non-governmental organizations to ensure common-service standards are clearly defined, and sustainably delivered, and that ongoing changes to the network are effectively managed.

Program 3.2: Management of Government of Canada Terms and Conditions of Employment Abroad

The Management of Government of Canada Terms and Conditions of Employment Abroad program supports the operation of Canada's mission network by ensuring that Canada-based staff receive timely and accurate Foreign Service Directives payments and services, and locally engaged staff receive timely and accurate Pension, Insurance and Social Security Program payments and support. This is achieved through the effective governance and administration of Foreign Service Directives policy, payments and services, as well as the policies and payments to service providers associated with locally engaged staff pension, insurance, and social security programs.

Strategic outcome 4

International Commercial and Consular Services for Canadians – Canadians are satisfied with commercial and consular services.

Program 4.1: International Commerce

The International Commerce program delivers commerce services and advice to Canadian businesses to help them succeed internationally. This is primarily achieved through Canada's Trade Commissioner Service, which provides trade promotion tools, expert advice and services that match identified priority markets with the capabilities and interests of Canadian businesses. The Trade Commissioner Service organizes sector-specific, targeted trade missions to priority markets, helps Canadian businesses access global value chains, and supports the facilitation, expansion or retention of foreign direct investment as well as international innovation, science and technology partnerships. The Trade Commissioner Service facilitates the conclusion of international commercial agreements and actively monitors its responsiveness to the needs of Canadian businesses.

Program 4.2: Consular Services and Emergency Management

The Consular Services and Emergency Management program provides travel advice and consular services to Canadians, as well as a coordinated Government of Canada response to emergencies affecting Canadians abroad. This work is done through consular agents and officers at missions abroad and through the use of the website travel.gc.ca and Global Affairs Canada's social network platform, which provides timely and accurate safe travel information and advisories to Canadians to allow them to make responsible decisions about travel to foreign countries. This program provides Canadians outside Canada with consular assistance for routine requests and also with 24 hours a day, seven days a week assistance in handling individual cases of distress. In cooperation with federal partners and missions, the program provides a coherent whole-of-government response to emergencies abroad affecting Canadians.

Strategic outcome 5

The following program supports all strategic outcomes within this organization.

Program 5.1: Internal Services

The Internal services program supports all strategic outcomes and is common across government. Internal services are groups of related activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of an organization. These groups are: Management and oversight services; Communications services; Legal services; Human resources management services; Financial management services; Information management services; Information technology services; Real property services; Materiel services; Acquisition services; and Travel and Other administrative services. Internal services include only those activities and resources that apply across an organization and not to those provided specifically to a program.

Canadian Commercial Corporation

Strategic outcome 1

Enhanced market access for Canadian exporters to complex international public sector markets.

Program 1.1: Defence

This consists of export sales in the aerospace, defence and security sectors. These include sales to all levels of government.

Program 1.2: Emerging and Developing Markets

This is non-Defence Production Sharing Agreement and non-aerospace, defence and security business consisting of supply and construction projects in a variety of other sectors and can include sales to all levels of government, federal, state and municipal.

International Development Research Centre

Strategic outcome 1

Stronger capacity in developing countries to research and propose solutions that support sustainable and equitable development and poverty reduction.

Program 1.1: Research on Development Challenges

International Development Research Centre supports research in developing countries to promote growth and development. The challenges facing international development are varied and complex. Research and innovation are vitally important to grapple with these challenges. Under the Strategic Framework 2010-2015, International Development Research Centre focuses on agriculture and the environment, science and innovation; social and economic policy; and health and health systems. Within each focus, programs define the specific development problem and identify the most promising approaches to address them. These programs support applied research as well as activities that strengthen the particular fields of knowledge. International Development Research Centre continually assesses why, where, and how to intervene to have the greatest impact. Program funding is allocated on an annual basis to reflect these changing priorities. International Development Research Centre works with researchers and innovators in the developing world, often in cooperation with researchers in Canada and elsewhere. Most projects are conducted by developing-world institutions themselves, including universities, research organizations, and civil society. International Development Research Centre also encourages sharing this knowledge with policymakers, other researchers, and communities around the world. The result is innovative, lasting local solutions that aim to bring choice and change to those who need it most.

Program 1.2: Capacity to Do, Use and Manage Research

International Development Research Centre also invests in research intended to assist the developing world to solve its own problems. To contribute to their societies, researchers and innovators in the developing world need to access global knowledge, engage their peers, and share their work. In short, they need opportunities to build their capacity to do, use and manage research. This program supports projects and technical assistance related to research design and methodology, communication and evaluation. Training and experts help researchers to develop their own ideas, communicate their results, and contribute to the larger efforts to reduce poverty. International Development Research Centre also works on evaluation methodologies and tools, and supports professional communities of evaluators in the developing world. This program works with research, media and evaluation professionals in the developing world. It does so using a "grants-plus" approach to supporting research for development. This approach combines financial support to create new opportunities for research, engagement with recipients in the research process, and brokering that helps strengthen research-to-policy linkages. The work of International Development Research Centre is part of Canada's international assistance and is guided by the International Development Research Centre Act.

Strategic outcome 2

The following program supports all strategic outcomes within this organization.

Program 2.1: Internal Services

The Internal services program supports all strategic outcomes and is common across government. Internal services are groups of related activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of an organization. These groups are: Management and oversight services; Communications services; Legal services; Human resources management services; Financial management services; Information management services; Information technology services; Real property services; Materiel services; Acquisition services; and Travel and Other administrative services. Internal services include only those activities and resources that apply across an organization and not to those provided specifically to a program.

International Joint Commission (Canadian Section)

Strategic outcome 1

Prompt and effective prevention and/or resolution of potential disputes under the Boundary Water Treaty and Great Lakes Water Quality Agreement to ensure they have no negative impact on Canada-US relations.

Program 1.1: Boundary Waters Treaty

The issuing of Orders of Approval in response to applications for the use, obstruction or diversion of waters that flow along and/or across the boundary if such uses affect the natural water levels or flows on the other side; undertaking investigations of specific issues (references) when requested by governments; and the provision to make binding decisions on matters referred to it by the governments.

Program 1.2: Great Lakes Water Quality Agreement

To evaluate progress toward restoring and maintaining the chemical, physical and biological integrity of the waters of the Great Lakes basin ecosystem.

Public Accounts of Canada 2017 Volume II - Bottom of the page Navigation

Date modified:

Résultat stratégique et description des programmes

Navigation de haut de page du volume II du manuel du receveur général

Ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement

Résultat stratégique 1

Développement international et réduction de la pauvreté – La pauvreté est réduite et la sécurité internationale et la démocratie sont accrues pour les gens vivant dans des pays où le Canada intervient.

Programme 1.1 : Développement international

Le programme Développement international contribue à réduire la pauvreté grâce à un soutien au développement à long terme dans les pays en développement qui ont démontré qu'ils avaient la capacité de planifier et de promouvoir des initiatives de réduction de la pauvreté. Afin d'optimiser les retombées, le programme définit ses priorités en fonction de thèmes proposés par les pays partenaires et dans des domaines où le Canada possède une certaine expertise, comme la croissance économique durable, les enfants et les jeunes ainsi que la sécurité alimentaire. L'engagement du Canada pour améliorer la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants fait partie des grandes initiatives canadiennes relevant de ce programme. Les investissements du programme dans des domaines complémentaires, comme l'assistance multisectorielle, font en sorte que les programmes de développement international du Canada demeurent cohérents et aident à promouvoir les valeurs et les intérêts canadiens. L'exécution du programme s'effectue surtout par des contributions au profit de gouvernements de pays en développement, d'organisations multilatérales et d'organisations non gouvernementales.

Programme 1.2 : Assistance humanitaire internationale

Le programme Assistance humanitaire internationale réduit la vulnérabilité des populations dans des situations de crise causées par des conflits armés, de l'insécurité alimentaire aiguë et des catastrophes naturelles. Il s'assure que l'on répond rapidement et de manière appropriée aux besoins de ces populations en matière de nourriture, d'eau, de salubrité, de nutrition, de soins médicaux d'urgence, de coordination et de protection de logement; et il fait cela en appuyant la coordination et les autres services humanitaires partagés. Il réagit aux besoins humanitaires aigus en répondant aux demandes d'aide internationale. Le programme comprend un volet à court terme destiné à la prestation de services humanitaires essentiels. Il comprend également un volet de soutien institutionnel à long terme pour les activités courantes des partenaires d'assistance humanitaire clés. Le Canada collabore avec les organes directeurs des organisations de ses partenaires en matière de politiques pour s'assurer qu'ils sont habilités à remplir leur mandat humanitaire et à réaliser des résultats dans un contexte politique et environnemental de plus en plus difficile.

Programme 1.3 : Sécurité internationale et développement démocratique

Le programme Sécurité internationale et développement démocratique contribue à accroïtre la sécurité et la démocratie en améliorant la capacité des gouvernements étrangers et des organisations internationales à faire face aux enjeux de paix et de sécurité internationales, à prévenir la criminalité et le terrorisme transnationaux, et à y remédier, ainsi qu'à réduire la menace posée par les armes de destruction massive. Il soutient également la démocratie en travaillant avec des partenaires dans des pays et des régions en développement et dans des États fragiles, en transition vers la démocratie ou gouvernés par des régimes répressifs pour promouvoir la participation de la population dans les processus politiques, améliorer le respect des droits de la personne et de la primauté du droit, et soutenir l'émergence d'institutions efficaces et responsables. Ce programme agit en partenariat avec des sociétés d'État et d'autres institutions du gouvernement du Canada, des gouvernements, institutions et organismes étrangers, des organisations multilatérales et des organisations de la société civile. De cette manière, le programme établit des fondements stables et démocratiques nécessaires à la paix, au développement durable et à la réduction de la pauvreté.

Résultat stratégique 2

Programme international du Canada – Le programme international est modelé pour faire avancer la sécurité, la prospérité, les intérêts et les valeurs du Canada.

Programme 2.1 : Diplomatie, défense des intérêts et accords internationaux

Le programme Diplomatie, défense des intérêts et accords internationaux permet le dialogue et la collaboration avec des gouvernements étrangers et des organisations internationales afin de susciter leur adhésion à des décisions et d'influer sur des mesures qui font progresser les valeurs et les intérêts du Canada. À cette fin, Affaires mondiales Canada consulte des décideurs à tous les échelons, dans d'autres pays, en plus de faciliter le dialogue et les démarches de haut niveau par des hauts responsables canadiens, y compris le premier ministre, pour que les intérêts du Canada soient pris en compte dans les ententes et les initiatives bilatérales, régionales et multilatérales, y compris les accords commerciaux internationaux. Ce programme appuie aussi des activités de diplomatie ouverte afin de promouvoir le point de vue du Canada concernant des enjeux qui préoccupent les Canadiens. Grâce à des contributions obligatoires et à des quotes-parts, le programme permet au Canada d'avoir accès à des organisations internationales et multilatérales afin de promouvoir ses intérêts à l'étranger. Ce programme est également chargé de la représentation diplomatique officielle du Canada à l'étranger, ainsi que de l'accréditation des représentants étrangers.

Programme 2.2 : Politiques intégrées en matière d'affaires étrangères, de commerce et de développement international

Le programme Politiques intégrées en matière d'affaires étrangères, de commerce et de développement international s'assure que les décideurs du gouvernement du Canada obtiennent des renseignements, des analyses et des conseils stratégiques sur les affaires internationales afin d'élaborer des politiques intégrées et judicieuses qui font progresser les intérêts et les valeurs du Canada dans le monde. Cela implique la coordination des politiques aux Affaires mondiales Canada, ainsi qu'avec d'autres ministères et parties prenantes, et l'utilisation des conseils provenant du réseau des missions d'Affaires mondiales Canada à l'étranger, afin d'élaborer des politiques pangouvernementales intégrées et uniformes concernant des enjeux internationaux.

Résultat stratégique 3

Réseau du Canada à l'étranger – Le ministère entretient un réseau de missions offrant une infrastructure et des services qui permettent au gouvernement du Canada d'atteindre ses priorités internationales.

Programme 3.1 : Gouvernance, orientations stratégiques et services communs pour le réseau des missions

Le programme Gouvernance, orientations stratégiques et services communs pour le réseau des missions permet aux Affaires mondiales Canada et au gouvernement du Canada d'atteindre leurs priorités internationales en offrant aux missions canadiennes à l'étranger et à leurs partenaires une saine gouvernance, une orientation stratégique et des services communs efficients et rentables. Ces services communs comprennent la gestion des biens immobiliers et de la sécurité des missions, la prestation de services de gestion de l'information et de soutien de la technologie de l'information, et la gouvernance des employés recrutés sur place du réseau. La gestion de ce réseau de missions est assurée en collaboration avec Affaires mondiales Canada, d'agences et de ministères fédéraux, de sociétés de la Couronne, de gouvernements provinciaux, d'autres gouvernements nationaux et d'organisations non gouvernementales, afin que les normes de services communes soient définies clairement et exécutées de manière viable, et que les modifications apportées au réseau soient gérées efficacement.

Programme 3.2 : Gestion des conditions du gouvernement du Canada à l'égard de l'emploi à l'étranger

Le programme Gestion des conditions du gouvernement du Canada à l'égard de l'emploi à l'étranger appuie les activités du réseau des missions canadiennes à l'étranger en veillant à ce que les employés canadiens obtiennent des prestations exactes et en temps opportun ainsi que des services au titre des Directives sur le service extérieur, et que les employés recrutés sur place bénéficient de prestations de retraite, d'assurance et de sécurité sociale opportunes et exactes, ainsi que d'un soutien à cet effet. Le programme y parvient grâce à une gouvernance et une administration efficaces de la politique, des paiements et des services au titre des Directives sur le service extérieur, ainsi que des politiques et paiements aux fournisseurs de services liés aux régimes de pension, d'assurance et de sécurité sociale des employés recrutés sur place.

Résultat stratégique 4

Services de commerce international et consulaires destinés aux Canadiens – Les Canadiens sont satisfaits des services commerciaux et consulaires.

Programme 4.1 : Commerce international

Le programme Commerce international offre aux entreprises canadiennes des services commerciaux et des conseils destinés à les aider à réussir à l'étranger. Cela se fait principalement par l'intermédiaire du Service des délégués commerciaux du Canada, qui fournit des outils de promotion commerciale, des conseils et des services qui harmonisent les marchés prioritaires identifiés aux capacités et aux intérêts des entreprises canadiennes. Le Service des délégués commerciaux organise des missions commerciales ciblant des secteurs précis dans les marchés prioritaires, aide les entreprises canadiennes à accéder aux chaïnes de valeur mondiales, et appuie la facilitation, l'expansion ou le maintien de l'investissement étranger direct ainsi que des partenariats internationaux en matière d'innovation, de science et de technologie. Le Service des délégués commerciaux facilite la conclusion d'accords commerciaux internationaux et surveille activement son degré de réaction aux besoins des entreprises canadiennes.

Programme 4.2 : Services consulaires et gestion des urgences

Le programme Services consulaires et gestion des urgences offre aux Canadiens des conseils sur les voyages et des services consulaires, en plus d'assurer une action coordonnée du gouvernement du Canada face à des situations d'urgence qui affectent les Canadiens qui se trouvent à l'étranger. Ce travail s'effectue par l'intermédiaire d'agents et de responsables consulaires dans les missions à l'étranger et par l'utilisation du site Web voyage.gc.ca et de la plateforme de réseautage social du Ministère d'Affaires mondiales Canada, qui fournit rapidement aux Canadiens des renseignements et des conseils exacts et sûrs sur les voyages, afin que ceux-ci puissent prendre des décisions responsables concernant les voyages à l'étranger. Ce programme offre aux Canadiens qui se trouvent à l'extérieur du Canada une assistance consulaire pour les demandes courantes ainsi qu'une assistance 24 heures sur 24 et sept jours sur sept pour gérer les situations de détresse personnelles. En collaboration avec des partenaires fédéraux et les missions, le programme fournit une réponse coordonnée du gouvernement du Canada lors de situations d'urgence à l'étranger touchant des Canadiens.

Résultat stratégique 5

Le programme suivant appuie tous les résultats stratégiques de cette organisation.

Programme 5.1 : Services internes

Le programme des services internes appuie tous les résultats stratégiques et est commun dans l'ensemble des ministères. Les services internes sont des groupes d'activités et de ressources connexes qui sont gérés de façon à répondre aux besoins des programmes et des autres obligations générales d'une organisation. Ces groupes sont les suivants : services de gestion et de surveillance, services des communications, services juridiques, services de gestion des ressources humaines, services de gestion des finances, services de gestion de l'information, services des technologies de l'information, services de gestion des biens, services de gestion du matériel, services de gestion des acquisitions et services de gestion des voyages et autres services administratifs. Les services internes comprennent uniquement les activités et les ressources destinées à l'ensemble d'une organisation et non celles fournies à un programme particulier.

Corporation commerciale canadienne

Résultat stratégique 1

Un meilleur accès aux marchés pour les exportateurs canadiens en ce qui concerne les marchés complexes du secteur public international.

Programme 1.1 : Défense

Ce programme comprend des ventes à l'exportation pour les secteurs de l'aérospatiale, de la défense et de la sécurité. Elle inclut également les ventes à tous les ordres de gouvernement.

Programme 1.2 : Marchés émergents et en développement

Ce sont des activités commerciales qui ne sont pas régies par l'Accord sur le partage de la production de défense et qui ne comprennent pas les industries de l'aérospatiale, de la défense et de la sécurité qui ont trait à l'approvisionnement et à des projets de construction dans divers autres secteurs et pouvant inclure des ventes à tous les ordres de gouvernement, soit fédéral, d'État et municipal.

Centre de recherches pour le développement international

Résultat stratégique 1

Faire en sorte que les pays en développement accroissent leurs capacités de recherche et de proposer des solutions afin d'appuyer le développement durable et équitable, ainsi que la lutte contre la pauvreté.

Programme 1.1 : Recherche sur les défis en matière de développement

Le Centre de recherches pour le développement international appuie des travaux de recherche dans les pays en développement afin d'en favoriser la croissance et le développement. Dans le domaine du développement international, les défis sont aussi variés que complexes, et la recherche et l'innovation constituent une part fondamentale de la solution. En vertu de son Cadre stratégique 2010-2016, le Centre de recherches pour le développement international met l'accent sur les thèmes de recherche suivants : agriculture et environnement, science, technologie et innovation, politique sociale et économique, et santé et systèmes de santé. Chaque thème englobe des programmes qui cernent des problèmes de développement bien précis et qui en déterminent les solutions les plus prometteuses. Ces programmes appuient des travaux de recherche appliquée et des activités qui viennent consolider les champs de recherche concernés. Le Centre de recherches pour le développement international réévalue continuellement le bien-fondé, le lieu et les modalités de son intervention afin d'en maximiser l'incidence. Les fonds sont octroyés aux programmes chaque année en fonction de ces priorités changeantes. Le Centre de recherches pour le développement international travaille avec des chercheurs et des innovateurs de pays en développement, souvent en collaboration avec des chercheurs du Canada et d'ailleurs. La plupart des projets sont dirigés par des établissements de pays en développement, notamment des universités et des organismes de recherche et de la société civile. Le Centre de recherches pour le développement international veille aussi à promouvoir la diffusion des connaissances ainsi acquises auprès de responsables des politiques, de chercheurs et de collectivités de par le monde. Il en résulte des solutions locales, novatrices et durables, qui offrent des choix aux personnes qui en ont le plus besoin et font changer les choses.

Programme 1.2 : Capacité d'exécution, d'utilisation et de gestion de la recherche

Le Centre de recherches pour le développement international investit aussi dans des travaux de recherche conçus pour aider les pays en développement à surmonter leurs difficultés. Pour contribuer à leur société, les chercheurs et les innovateurs des pays en développement ont besoin d'accéder au savoir mondial, de dialoguer avec leurs pairs et de faire connaïtre leur travail. Bref, ils ont besoin d'occasions de renforcer leur capacité d'exécution, d'utilisation et de gestion de la recherche. Ce programme soutient des projets et une assistance technique en ce qui concerne la conception et la méthodologie de la recherche, les communications et l'évaluation. De la formation et des spécialistes aident les chercheurs à concevoir leurs propres projets de recherche, à communiquer les résultats de leurs travaux et à contribuer aux efforts globaux de réduction de la pauvreté. Le Centre de recherches pour le développement international travaille également à la création d'outils et de méthodes d'évaluation et appuie les milieux professionnels de l'évaluation dans les pays en développement. Ce programme met à contribution des professionnels de la recherche, des médias et de l'évaluation de pays en développement. Pour ce faire, il adopte une approche de « subventions à valeur ajoutée » visant à soutenir les travaux de recherche en matière de développement. Cette approche regroupe l'aide financière visant à créer de nouvelles possibilités, l'engagement des bénéficiaires au processus de recherche et les services d'intermédiaires qui contribuent à renforcer les liens entre la recherche et l'élaboration des politiques. Le travail du Centre de recherches pour le développement international s'inscrit dans le cadre de l'aide internationale du Canada et est orienté par la Loi sur le Centre de recherches pour le développement international.

Résultat stratégique 2

Le programme suivant appuie tous les résultats stratégiques de cette organisation.

Programme 2.1 : Services internes

Le programme des services internes appuie tous les résultats stratégiques et est commun dans l'ensemble des ministères. Les services internes sont des groupes d'activités et de ressources connexes qui sont gérés de façon à répondre aux besoins des programmes et des autres obligations générales d'une organisation. Ces groupes sont les suivants : services de gestion et de surveillance, services des communications, services juridiques, services de gestion des ressources humaines, services de gestion des finances, services de gestion de l'information, services des technologies de l'information, services de gestion des biens, services de gestion du matériel, services de gestion des acquisitions et services de gestion des voyages et autres services administratifs. Les services internes comprennent uniquement les activités et les ressources destinées à l'ensemble d'une organisation et non celles fournies à un programme particulier.

Commission mixte internationale (section canadienne)

Résultat stratégique 1

Prévention et/ou résolution prompte et efficace des différends possibles sous le régime du Traité des eaux limitrophes et de l'Accord relatif à la qualité de l'eau dans les Grands Lacs pour éviter et prévenir des répercussions nuisibles aux relations canado-américaines.

Programme 1.1 : Traité des eaux limitrophes

Émettre des ordonnances en réponse à des demandes d'approbation concernant l'utilisation, l'obstruction ou la dérivation des eaux coulant le long de la frontière ou qui la traversent, si les utilisations envisagées doivent influer sur les niveaux ou les débits naturels de ces eaux de l'autre côté de la frontière; à la demande des gouvernements, des enquêtes peuvent être faites sur des questions particulières (renvois); et selon les dispositions du traité, prendre une décision exécutoire relativement à ces questions.

Programme 1.2 : Accord relatif à la qualité de l'eau dans les Grands Lacs

Évaluer les progrès vers la restauration et la conservation de l'intégrité chimique, physique et biologique des eaux de l'écosystème du bassin des Grands Lacs.

Navigation en bas de page du volume II du manuel du receveur général

Date de modification :