Strategic outcome and program descriptions

Public Accounts of Canada 2017 Volume II - Top of the page Navigation

Department of Finance

Strategic outcome 1

A strong economy and sound public finances for Canadians.

Program 1.1: Transfer and Taxation Payment Programs

This program enables the Government of Canada to meet its transfer and taxation payment commitments. The program administers transfer and taxation payments to provinces and territories and Aboriginal governments in compliance with legislation and negotiated agreements. The program also fulfills commitments and agreements with international financial organizations to support the economic advancement of developing countries. The Government of Canada sometimes enters into agreements or enacts legislation to respond to unforeseen pressures. These commitments can result in payments, generally statutory transfer payments, to a variety of recipients, including individuals, organizations and other levels of government.

Program 1.2: Treasury and Financial Affairs

This program provides analysis, research and advice to ministers and senior government officials on the management of the treasury and the financial affairs of the Government of Canada. The program ensures that the treasury and financial affairs of the Government of Canada are efficiently managed on behalf of Canadian taxpayers. The program provides direction for Canada's debt management activities, including the funding of debt and service costs for new borrowings. This program manages investments in financial assets so that the Government of Canada can meet its liquidity needs. The program supports the ongoing refinancing of government debt coming to maturity, the execution of the Budget Plan, and other financial operations of the government, including governance of the borrowing activities of major federal government backed-entities, such as Crown corporations. The program also oversees the system that ensures that Canada has an adequate supply of circulating Canadian currency (bank notes and coins) to meet the needs of the Canadian economy.

Program 1.3: Economic and Fiscal Policy Framework

This program is the main source of advice and recommendations to the Minister of Finance, other ministers and senior government officials on issues, policies and programs of the Government of Canada in the areas of economic, fiscal and social policy; federal-provincial relations; the financial sector; taxation; and international trade and finance. The program ensures that ministers and senior government officials can make informed decisions on economic, fiscal and financial sector policies, programs and proposals. Ultimately, the program contributes to building a sound and sustainable fiscal and economic framework that generates sufficient revenues and aligns the management of expenditures with the Budget Plan and the financial operations of the Government of Canada.

Strategic outcome 2

The following program supports all strategic outcomes within this organization.

Program 2.1: Internal Services

The Internal Services program supports all strategic outcomes and is common across government. Internal Services are groups of related activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of an organization. These groups are: Management and oversight services; Communications services; Legal services; Human resources management services; Financial management services; Information management services; Information technology services; Real property services; Materiel services; Acquisition services; and Travel and other administrative services. Internal Services include only those activities and resources that apply across an organization and not to those provided specifically to a program.

Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation

Strategic outcome 1

Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation's mandate is to provide insurance against the loss of part or all of deposits and to promote and otherwise contribute to the stability of the financial system in Canada, for the benefit of those with deposits in Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation member institutions while minimizing the Corporation's exposure to loss.

Financial Consumer Agency of Canada

Strategic outcome 1

The rights of financial consumers are protected and the financial literacy of Canadians is strengthened.

Program 1.1: Compliance Supervision and Enforcement

The Compliance Supervision and Enforcement program seeks to strengthen compliance by Federally Regulated Financial Entities with the federal consumer provisions applicable to them. The program also seeks to promote Federally Regulated Financial Entities' adherence to the various codes of conduct and public commitments put in place by the industry to further protect customers.

Program 1.2: Financial Literacy Program

The Financial Literacy Program seeks to enhance consumer knowledge of the Federally Regulated Financial Entities' obligations toward them and enhance the financial knowledge, skills and confidence of Canadians.

Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada

Strategic outcome 1

A Canadian financial system resistant to money laundering and terrorist financing.

Program 1.1: Financial Intelligence Program

Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada's Financial Intelligence Program, mandated by the Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act, is a component of the broader national security and anti-crime agenda. The program strives to disrupt the ability of criminals and terrorist groups that seek to abuse Canada's financial system and to reduce the profit incentive of crime. The main method of intervention used by the program is to analyze reported financial transactions and other information the Centre is authorized to receive and collect under the Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act to produce financial intelligence products including tactical case disclosures and strategic intelligence products that are relevant to the investigation, prosecution or understanding of money laundering and terrorist financing activities.

Program 1.2: Compliance Program

Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada's Compliance Program is responsible for ensuring compliance with Part 1 of the Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act and associated regulations. The compliance program utilizes a risk based approach to deliver enforcement, relations and support activities that help ensure compliance with legislative and regulatory obligations that apply to individuals and entities operating in Canada's financial system.

Strategic outcome 2

The following program supports all strategic outcomes within this organization.

Program 2.1: Internal Services

See introductory text.

Office of the Auditor General

Strategic outcome 1

Through legislative auditing, we contribute to a well-managed and accountable government for Canadians.

Program 1.1: Legislative Auditing

We conduct independent audits and studies that provide objective information, advice and assurance to Parliament, government and Canadians.

Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions

Strategic outcome 1

A safe and sound Canadian financial system.

Program 1.1: Regulation and Supervision of Federally Regulated Financial Institutions

This program involves regulating and supervising federally regulated financial institutions to determine whether they are in sound financial condition and are complying with their governing laws and supervisory requirements; monitoring the financial and economic environment to identify issues that may impact these institutions negatively; and intervening in a timely manner to protect depositors and policyholders from undue loss, while recognizing that management and boards of directors are ultimately responsible, and that financial institutions can fail. Costs for this program are recovered through base assessments and user fees and charges paid by the federally regulated financial institutions covered under the Bank Act, Trust and Loan Companies Act, Insurance Companies Act, Green Shield Canada Act, Protection of Residential Mortgage or Hypothecary Insurance Act and Cooperative Credit Associations Act. The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions also receives revenues for cost-recovered services to provinces, for which it provides supervision of their institutions on a fee for service basis.

Program 1.2: Regulation and Supervision of Federally Regulated Private Pension Plans

This program involves regulating and supervising federally regulated private pension plans to determine whether they are meeting minimum funding requirements and are complying with their governing laws and supervisory requirements. This program provides risk assessments of pension plans covering employees in federally regulated areas of employment. It ensures timely and effective intervention and feedback to protect the interests of plan members and beneficiaries, while recognizing that plan administrators are ultimately responsible and that plans can fail to pay the expected benefits. This program also provides a balanced relevant regulatory framework and a prudentially effective and responsive approvals process. This program incorporates activities pertaining to risk assessment and intervention, regulation and guidance, and approvals and precedents related to federally regulated private pension plans under the Pension Benefits Standards Act, 1985 and the Pooled Registered Pension Plans Act. The costs for this program are recovered from pension plan fees based on the number of members in each federally regulated pension plan.

Strategic outcome 2

A financially sound and sustainable Canadian public retirement income system.

Program 2.1: Actuarial Valuation and Advisory Services

The federal government and the provinces, through the Canada Pension Plan, public sector pension arrangements and other social programs have made commitments to Canadians and have taken on emanated responsibility for the financing of these commitments. Some are long-term and it is important that decision-makers, Parliamentarians and the public understand these and the inherent risks. This program plays a vital and independent role in this process. It provides checks and balances on the future costs of the different pension plans under its responsibilities. This program provides a range of actuarial services, under legislation, to the Canada Pension Plan stakeholders and several federal government departments. It conducts statutory actuarial valuations of the Canada Pension Plan, Old Age Security, Employment Insurance and Canada Student Loans programs, and pension and benefits plans covering the Federal Public Service, the Canadian Forces, the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, federally appointed judges, and Members of Parliament. The Office of the Chief Actuary is funded by fees charged for its actuarial valuation and advisory services and by an annual parliamentary appropriation.

Strategic outcome 3

The following program supports all strategic outcomes within this organization.

Program 3.1: Internal Services

The Internal Services program supports all strategic outcomes and is common across government. Internal Services are groups of related activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of an organization. These groups are: Management and oversight services; Communications services; Legal services; Human resources management services; Financial management services; Information management services; Information technology services; Real property services; Materiel services; Acquisition services; and Travel and other administrative services. Internal Services include only those activities and resources that apply across an organization and not to those provided specifically to a program.

PPP Canada Inc.

Strategic outcome 1

Transform Canada into a leader for public-private partnerships.

Program 1.1: Federal Public-Private Partnership Initiatives

Through this program, PPP Canada Inc. will: manage a Public-Private Partnerships Fund, a unique infrastructure program designed to support innovative public-private partnerships projects; assess public-private partnerships opportunities for contributions under other Government of Canada infrastructure programs to ensure consideration of such arrangements; assess public-private partnership opportunities and advise on the execution of public-private partnership projects at the federal level; and act as a source of expertise and advice for public-private partnership matters in order to encourage the further development of Canada's public-private partnerships market.

Royal Canadian Mint

Strategic outcome 1

The strategic outcomes of the Royal Canadian Mint are to:

Public Accounts of Canada 2017 Volume II - Bottom of the page Navigation

Date modified:

Résultat stratégique et description des programmes

Navigation de haut de page du volume II du manuel du receveur général

Ministère des Finances

Résultat stratégique 1

Une économie forte et de saines finances publiques pour les Canadiens.

Programme 1.1 : Programme de paiements de transfert et d'impôt

Ce programme permet au gouvernement du Canada de s'acquitter de ses engagements en matière de paiements de transfert et d'impôt. Le programme administre les paiements de transfert et d'impôt aux provinces et aux territoires et aux gouvernements autochtones conformément aux lois et aux ententes négociées. Le programme s'acquitte également des engagements et des ententes avec des institutions financières internationales afin de contribuer à l'avancement économique des pays en développement. Le gouvernement du Canada conclut parfois des ententes ou édicte des lois afin de répondre à des pressions imprévues. Ces engagements peuvent donner lieu à des paiements, en général des paiements de transfert prévus par la loi, à un éventail de bénéficiaires tels que des particuliers, des organisations et d'autres ordres de gouvernement.

Programme 1.2 : Trésorerie et affaires financières

Ce programme fournit des analyses, des recherches et des conseils aux ministres et aux cadres supérieurs sur la gestion de la trésorerie et des affaires financières du gouvernement du Canada. Le programme permet de s'assurer que la trésorerie et les affaires financières du gouvernement du Canada sont gérées de manière efficiente au nom des contribuables canadiens. Ce programme assure l'orientation des activités de gestion de la dette du Canada, y compris le financement de la dette et des frais de service des nouveaux emprunts. Ce programme gère les placements dans les actifs financiers requis pour permettre au gouvernement du Canada de répondre à ses besoins en matière de liquidité. Le programme assure le refinancement permanent des titres du gouvernement du Canada qui arrivent à échéance ainsi que l'exécution du plan budgétaire et d'autres opérations financières du gouvernement, y compris la gouvernance des opérations d'emprunt des principaux organismes fédéraux bénéficiant de la garantie du gouvernement comme les sociétés d'État. Le programme surveille également le système qui veille à ce que le Canada dispose d'une quantité suffisante de monnaie canadienne (billets et pièces) en circulation afin de répondre aux besoins de l'économie canadienne.

Programme 1.3 : Cadre des politiques économique et budgétaire

Ce programme représente la principale source de conseils et de recommandations fournis au ministre des Finances, aux autres ministres et aux cadres supérieurs au regard des questions, des politiques et des programmes du gouvernement du Canada qui s'appliquent aux secteurs des politiques économique, budgétaire et sociale, aux relations fédérales-provinciales, au secteur financier, à la fiscalité ainsi qu'aux finances et aux échanges internationaux. Le programme permet de veiller à ce que les ministres et les cadres supérieurs prennent des décisions éclairées au regard des politiques, des propositions et des programmes économiques, budgétaires et financiers. En définitive, le programme contribue à l'établissement d'un cadre économique et budgétaire solide et durable qui génère des revenus suffisants et harmonise la gestion des dépenses avec le plan budgétaire et les opérations financières du gouvernement du Canada.

Résultat stratégique 2

Le programme suivant appuie tous les résultats stratégiques de cette organisation.

Programme 2.1 : Services internes

Le programme des services internes appuie tous les résultats stratégiques et est commun dans l'ensemble des ministères. Les services internes sont des groupes d'activités et de ressources connexes qui sont gérés de façon à répondre aux besoins des programmes et des autres obligations générales d'une organisation. Ces groupes sont les suivants : services de gestion et de surveillance, services des communications, services juridiques, services de gestion des ressources humaines, services de gestion des finances, services de gestion de l'information, services des technologies de l'information, services de gestion des biens, services de gestion du matériel, services de gestion des acquisitions et services de gestion des voyages et autres services administratifs. Les services internes comprennent uniquement les activités et les ressources destinées à l'ensemble d'une organisation et non celles fournies à un programme particulier.

Société d'assurance-dépôts du Canada

Résultat stratégique 1

La Société d'assurance-dépôts du Canada a pour mandat de fournir une assurance contre les risques de perte totale ou partielle des dépôts et d'encourager la stabilité du système financier du Canada. Ces fonctions doivent être remplies à l'avantage des personnes qui confient des dépôts aux institutions membres de la Société d'assurance-dépôts du Canada et de manière à minimiser les risques de perte pour la Société.

Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada

Résultat stratégique 1

Les droits des consommateurs de produits et services financiers sont protégés et la littératie financière des Canadiens est renforcée.

Programme 1.1 : Surveillance de la conformité et application des lois

Le programme de surveillance de la conformité et d'application des lois cherche à renforcer la conformité des Entités financières sous réglementation fédérale aux normes fédérales sur la protection du consommateur auxquelles elles sont soumises. Le programme vise également à promouvoir le respect des Entités financières sous réglementation fédérale aux divers codes de conduite et engagements publics adoptés par l'industrie pour mieux protéger ses clients.

Programme 1.2 : Littératie financière

Le programme de Littératie financière vise à renforcer les connaissances des consommateurs sur les obligations des Entité financières sous réglementation fédérale envers eux, ainsi qu'à améliorer la confiance, les connaissances et les compétences financières des Canadiens.

Centre d'analyse des opérations et déclarations financières du Canada

Résultat stratégique 1

Un système financier canadien réfractaire au blanchiment d'argent et du financement des activités terroristes.

Programme 1.1 : Programme du renseignement financier

Le Programme du renseignement financier du Centre d'analyse des opérations et déclarations financières du Canada, prescrit par la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes (la Loi), est un élément du programme national de sécurité et de lutte contre la criminalité. Le Programme vise à empêcher les criminels et les groupes terroristes d'abuser du système financier du Canada tout en réduisant l'incitatif financier du crime organisé. La principale méthode d'intervention utilisée dans le cadre du programme consiste à analyser des opérations financières déclarées et d'autres renseignements que le Centre est autorisé à recevoir et à recueillir en vertu de la Loi pour élaborer des produits de renseignement financier, y compris des communications de renseignements tactiques et des produits de renseignement stratégique utiles aux fins d'enquête, de poursuite ou de compréhension des activités liées au blanchiment d'argent et au financement d'activités terroristes.

Programme 1.2 : Programme de conformité

Le Programme de conformité du Centre d'analyse des opérations et déclarations financières du Canada veille au respect de la partie 1 de la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes et des règlements d'application (la Loi). Le programme de conformité a recours à une approche axée sur le risque pour exercer les activités d'application de loi, de relations et de soutien qui aident à assurer le respect des obligations législatives et réglementaires s'appliquant aux personnes et aux entités qui œuvrent dans le système financier canadien.

Résultat stratégique 2

Le programme suivant appuie tous les résultats stratégiques de cette organisation.

Programme 2.1 : Services internes

Le programme des services internes appuie tous les résultats stratégiques et est commun dans l'ensemble des ministères. Les services internes sont des groupes d'activités et de ressources connexes qui sont gérés de façon à répondre aux besoins des programmes et des autres obligations générales d'une organisation. Ces groupes sont les suivants : services de gestion et de surveillance, services des communications, services juridiques, services de gestion des ressources humaines, services de gestion des finances, services de gestion de l'information, services des technologies de l'information, services de gestion des biens, services de gestion du matériel, services de gestion des acquisitions et services de gestion des voyages et autres services administratifs. Les services internes comprennent uniquement les activités et les ressources destinées à l'ensemble d'une organisation et non celles fournies à un programme particulier.

Bureau du vérificateur général

Résultat stratégique 1

Par nos travaux d'audit législatif, nous contribuons, pour le compte des Canadiens, à ce que le gouvernement soit bien géré et responsable.

Programme 1.1 : Audit législatif

Nous effectuons des audits et des études indépendants qui fournissent information, assurance et avis objectifs au Parlement, au gouvernement et aux Canadiens.

Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières

Résultat stratégique 1

Un système financier canadien sûr et stable.

Programme 1.1 : Réglementation et surveillance des institutions financières fédérales

Ce programme est axée sur la réglementation et la surveillance des institutions financières fédérales pour s'assurer qu'elles sont en bonne santé financière et qu'elles se conforment aux lois qui les régissent et aux exigences découlant de la surveillance, sur le suivi du contexte financier et de la conjoncture économique pour cerner les enjeux qui pourraient avoir des répercussions défavorables sur ces institutions, et sur l'intervention en temps utile pour protéger les déposants et les souscripteurs contre des pertes indues, tout en reconnaissant que la direction et les conseils d'administration des institutions financières sont ultimement responsables et que certaines faillites d'institutions financières ne peuvent être évitées. Les coûts de ce programme sont récupérés par l'intermédiaire des cotisations de base, des frais d'utilisateur et des droits payés par les institutions financières fédérales régies par la Loi sur les banques, la Loi sur les sociétés de fiducie et de prêt, la Loi sur les sociétés d'assurances, la Loi sur l'association personnalisée le Bouclier vert du Canada, la Loi sur la protection de l'assurance hypothécaire résidentielle et la Loi sur les associations coopératives de crédit. Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières tire également des revenus de la prestation de services à frais recouvrés offerts aux provinces dont il surveille les institutions aux termes d'accords prévoyant la rémunération des services.

Programme 1.2 : Réglementation et surveillance des régimes de retraite privés fédéraux

Ce de programme est axé sur la réglementation et la surveillance des régimes de retraite privés fédéraux dans le but de s'assurer de la conformité aux exigences minimales de capitalisation ainsi qu'aux lois qui les régissent et aux exigences découlant de la surveillance. Ce programme comprend l'évaluation des risques des régimes de retraite destinés aux employés travaillant dans un secteur régi par le gouvernement fédéral. Il prévoit la prise de mesures et la formulation d'une rétroaction rapides et efficaces pour protéger les intérêts des participants et des bénéficiaires tout en reconnaissant que les administrateurs sont ultimement responsables du régime et qu'un régime de retraite peut déroger à son obligation de verser les prestations prévues. Il prévoit également l'établissement d'un cadre de réglementation pertinent et équilibré et la mise en place d'une procédure d'agrément pertinente et efficace sur le plan prudentiel. Ce programme comprend aussi des activités relatives à l'évaluation des risques et à l'intervention, à la réglementation et à l'orientation ainsi qu'à l'agrément et aux précédents en ce qui a trait aux régimes de retraite privés fédéraux assujettis à la Loi de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension et à la Loi sur les régimes de pension agréés collectifs. Le coût de ce programme est recouvré grâce aux droits que versent les régimes de retraite en fonction du nombre de participants de chaque régime de retraite fédéral.

Résultat stratégique 2

Un système public canadien de revenu à la retraite sûr et viable sur le plan financier.

Programme 2.1 : Évaluations actuarielles et services conseils

Par la mise en place du Régime de pensions du Canada, des régimes de pension du secteur public et d'autres programmes sociaux, le gouvernement fédéral et les provinces ont pris des engagements envers les Canadiens et sont responsables du financement qui en découle. Dans certains cas, il s'agit d'engagements à long terme, et il est important que les décideurs, les parlementaires et les Canadiens les comprennent et saisissent les risques qui leur sont rattachés. Ce programme joue un rôle primordial et indépendant dans ce processus. Elle permet de fournir des contrôles et des limites des coûts futurs des différents régimes de retraite relevant de sa compétence. Ce programme fournit une gamme de services actuariels, dictés par la loi, aux intervenants du Régime de pensions du Canada et à plusieurs ministères fédéraux. Elle a pour mandat d'effectuer des évaluations actuarielles prévues par la loi à l'égard du Régime de pensions du Canada, du programme de la Sécurité de la vieillesse, de l'assurance-emploi, du Programme canadien de prêts aux étudiants et des régimes de retraite et d'avantages sociaux des employés de la fonction publique fédérale, des Forces canadiennes, de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, des juges de nomination fédérale et des parlementaires. Les activités du Bureau de l'actuaire en chef sont financées par les droits exigés en contrepartie des services d'évaluation actuarielle et des services conseils qu'il offre, et par des crédits parlementaires annuels.

Résultat stratégique 3

Le programme suivant appuie tous les résultats stratégiques de cette organisation.

Programme 3.1 : Services internes

Le programme des services internes appuie tous les résultats stratégiques et est commun dans l'ensemble des ministères. Les services internes sont des groupes d'activités et de ressources connexes qui sont gérés de façon à répondre aux besoins des programmes et des autres obligations générales d'une organisation. Ces groupes sont les suivants : services de gestion et de surveillance, services des communications, services juridiques, services de gestion des ressources humaines, services de gestion des finances, services de gestion de l'information, services des technologies de l'information, services de gestion des biens, services de gestion du matériel, services de gestion des acquisitions et services de gestion des voyages et autres services administratifs. Les services internes comprennent uniquement les activités et les ressources destinées à l'ensemble d'une organisation et non celles fournies à un programme particulier.

PPP Canada Inc.

Résultat stratégique 1

Transformer le Canada en chef de file des partenariats public-privé.

Programme 1.1 : Initiatives fédérales concernant les partenariats public-privé

Sous ce programme, les partenariats public-privé Canada Inc. sera responsable : – de la gestion d'un Fonds pour les partenariats public-privé, un programme d'infrastructure unique en son genre destiné à soutenir les projets de partenariats public-privé novateurs; – d'évaluer les occasions propices aux partenariats public-privé dans le cadre d'autres programmes d'infrastructure du gouvernement du Canada afin de s'assurer que ce genre d'arrangements soit examiné; - d'évaluer les possibilités de partenariats public-privé et de prodiguer des conseils sur l'exécution des projets de partenariat public-privé à l'échelon fédéral; - d'agir à titre d'expert-conseil en matière de partenariats public-privé afin de favoriser le développement accru du marché des partenariats public-privé au Canada.

Monnaie royale canadienne

Résultat stratégique 1

Les résultats stratégiques de la Monnaie royale canadienne sont les suivants :

Navigation en bas de page du volume II du manuel du receveur général

Date de modification :