Strategic outcome and program descriptions

Public Accounts of Canada 2017 Volume II - Top of the page Navigation

Office of Infrastructure of Canada

Strategic outcome 1

Public Infrastructure for a More Prosperous Canada.

Program 1.1: Permanent and Flexible Infrastructure Funding

In support of community infrastructure for Canadians, this program provides long-term and predictable funding for municipalities, supporting long-term municipal planning and asset management in order to address infrastructure priorities. Funding is provided to build and rehabilitate public infrastructure based on overall compliance with the terms and conditions of the governing agreements. Federal funding is provided up-front and does not need to be used in the year it is provided. This program uses funding from the Gas Tax Fund transfer payment.

Program 1.2: Large-Scale Infrastructure Investments

This program invests in infrastructure projects of national, regional and/or local significance. Funding through this program leverages additional contributions from other funding partners for eligible infrastructure projects. Funding may be jurisdictionally allocated. Actual payments are provided as work progresses under the terms of signed contribution agreements. This program uses funding from the following transfer payments: the New Building Canada Fund-Provincial-Territorial Infrastructure Component-National and Regional Projects, Building Canada Fund-Major Infrastructure Component and the Canada Strategic Infrastructure Fund.

Program 1.3: Investments in National Infrastructure Priorities

This program directs funding to infrastructure projects that help to advance national priorities that are important to Canadians. Funding is provided largely through merit-based review of proposals and does not include allocations to provinces and territories. Funding through this program leverages additional contributions from other funding partners for eligible infrastructure projects. Payments are provided as work progresses under the terms of signed contribution agreements. This program uses funding from the following transfer payments: the New Building Canada Fund-National Infrastructure Component, Green Infrastructure Fund, Border Infrastructure Fund and the Inuvik to Tuktoyaktuk Highway Fund.

Program 1.4: Infrastructure Investments in Small Communities and Rural Areas

This program invests in infrastructure projects in small communities and rural areas to support local and/or regional priorities and economies. Funding through this program leverages additional contributions from other funding partners for eligible infrastructure projects. Funding may be jurisdictionally allocated. Payments are provided based on eligible costs incurred with respect to signed contribution agreements. This program uses funding from the following transfer payments: the New Building Canada Fund-Provincial-Territorial Infrastructure Component-Small Communities Fund and the Building Canada Fund-Communities Component.

Program 1.5: Funding for Provincial-Territorial Priorities

This program provides predictable funding to each province and territory to enhance Canada's public infrastructure system. Federal payments to provinces and territories are made in accordance with the terms and conditions of signed funding agreements, including federal acceptance of Capital Plans and Expenditure Reports. Funding through this program leverages additional contributions from other funding partners to increase overall investment in public infrastructure for Canadians. Payments may be made up-front and cost-sharing provisions apply to a Capital Plan as a whole, and not the individual initiatives within a Capital Plan. This program uses funding from the Provincial-Territorial Infrastructure Base Fund transfer payment.

Program 1.6: New Bridge for the St. Lawrence Corridor Project

In support of the Government of Canada's economic and safety priorities, this program ensures the overall delivery of the new bridge for the St. Lawrence corridor project in Montreal, Quebec. Infrastructure Canada is the project authority charged with overseeing the delivery of this project which will provide a safe, secure and efficient crossing for local residents, commuters and commercial traffic. The new bridge and its corridor will contribute to the increased capacity and efficiency of gateway and corridor infrastructure regionally and nationally. The project is to be carried out as a public-private partnership.

Strategic outcome 2

The following program supports all strategic outcomes within this organization

Program 2.1: Internal Services

The Internal services program supports all strategic outcomes and is common across government. Internal services are groups of related activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of an organization. These groups are: Management and oversight services; Communications services; Legal services; Human resources management services; Financial management services; Information management services; Information technology services; Real property services; Material services; Acquisition services; and Travel and other administrative services. Internal services include only those activities and resources that apply across an organization and not to those provided specifically to a program.

PPP Canada Inc.

Strategic outcome 1

Transform Canada into a leader for public-private partnerships (P3).

Program 1.1: Federal Public-Private Partnership Initiatives

Through this program, PPP Canada Inc. will: manage a Public-Private Partnerships Fund (P3 Fund), a unique infrastructure program designed to support innovative public-private partnerships projects; assess public-private partnerships opportunities for contributions under other Government of Canada infrastructure programs to ensure consideration of such arrangements; assess public-private partnership opportunities and advise on the execution of public-private partnership projects at the federal level; and act as a source of expertise and advice for public-private partnership matters in order to encourage the further development of Canada's public-private partnerships market.

The Jacques Cartier and Champlain Bridges Inc.

Strategic outcome 1

Safe and efficient transit on the infrastructure maintained, operated and managed by the Jacques Cartier and Champlain Bridges Incorporated.

Program 1.1: Management of federal bridge, highway and tunnel infrastructure, and properties in the Montreal Area

This program encompasses the operation and maintenance of the Jacques Cartier and Champlain bridges, the federally-owned section of the Honoré-Mercier Bridge, a section of the Bonaventure Expressway, the Melocheville Tunnel, and the Champlain Bridge Ice Control Structure by carrying out regular and major maintenance work.

Windsor-Detroit Bridge Authority

Strategic outcome 1

A safe, secure, and efficient international crossing for commercial and passenger traffic across the Windsor-Detroit Bridge.

Program 1.1: Detroit River International Crossing

The Windsor-Detroit Bridge Authority is charged with delivering the Detroit River International Crossing project which will provide a safe, secure and efficient crossing for passenger and commercial traffic in the Windsor-Detroit region. The Detroit River International Crossing will address problems with regard to border crossings in theregion, namely accommodating future traffic projections and providing sufficient capacity in the event of any disruptions at the existing Windsor-Detroit Crossings. The Windsor-Detroit Bridge Authority will procure the project on behalf of Canada and Michigan. As per the Canada-Michigan Crossing Agreement, the Windsor-Detroit Bridge Authority will have several responsibilities. It will manage and oversee the construction of the entire project, other than the operation and maintenance of the Interstate-75 interchange; develop a public-private partnership procurement documentation for the design, construction, operation, maintenance and partial financing of the project through a public-private partnership; conduct the public-private partnership procurement process and selection of the preferred bidder; sign the public-private partnership concession agreement; pay Michigan to undertake property acquisition in Michigan; lease or license properties from Michigan; lease or license from Canada the properties that the Canada is in the process of acquiring in Windsor; and manage and oversee the public-private partnership concessionaire for the duration of the concession agreement.

Public Accounts of Canada 2017 Volume II - Bottom of the page Navigation

Date modified:

Résultat stratégique et description des programmes

Navigation de haut de page du volume II du manuel du receveur général

Bureau de l'infrastructure du Canada

Résultat stratégique 1

Des infrastructures publiques pour un Canada plus prospère.

Programme 1.1 : Financement permanent et souple pour les infrastructures

Afin d'appuyer le développement d'infrastructures communautaires pour les Canadiens, ce programme offre un financement prévisible et à long terme aux municipalités pour soutenir la planification municipale et la gestion des actifs à long terme dans le but de répondre aux priorités en matière d'infrastructure. On alloue du financement afin de bâtir et de remettre en état des infrastructures publiques dans le respect général des modalités des ententes administratives en vigueur. Les fonds fédéraux sont versés à l'avance et il n'est pas nécessaire de les utiliser au cours de l'année où ils sont versés. Dans le cadre de ce programme, on utilise les fonds provenant du paiement de transfert du Fonds de la taxe sur l'essence.

Programme 1.2 : Investissements dans les infrastructures de grande envergure

Ce programme permet d'investir dans des projets d'infrastructure d'importance nationale, régionale et/ou locale. Le financement versé par l'entremise de ce programme permet d'obtenir des contributions additionnelles auprès d'autres partenaires financiers pour des projets d'infrastructure admissibles. Les fonds peuvent être répartis entre les administrations. Les paiements sont effectués à mesure que les travaux progressent en vertu des modalités des ententes de contribution signées. Dans le cadre de ce programme, on utilise les fonds provenant des paiements de transfert suivants : les Projets nationaux et régionaux du volet Infrastructures provinciales-territoriales du Nouveau Fonds Chantiers Canada, le volet Grandes infrastructures du Fonds Chantiers Canada et le Fonds canadien sur l'infrastructure stratégique.

Programme 1.3 : Investissements dans les priorités nationales en matière d'infrastructure

Ce programme vise à allouer des fonds à des projets d'infrastructure qui favorisent l'atteinte des priorités nationales qui sont importantes pour les Canadiens. Le financement est fourni essentiellement en fonction d'un examen fondé sur le mérite des propositions et ne prévoit pas d'allocations pour les provinces et les territoires. Le financement versé par l'entremise de ce programme permet d'obtenir des contributions additionnelles auprès d'autres partenaires financiers pour des projets d'infrastructure admissibles. Les paiements sont effectués à mesure que les travaux progressent en vertu des modalités des ententes de contribution signées. Dans le cadre de ce programme, on utilise les fonds provenant des paiements de transfert suivants : le volet Infrastructures nationales du Nouveau Fonds Chantiers Canada, le Fonds pour l'infrastructure verte, le Fonds sur l'infrastructure frontalière et le Fonds pour la route entre Inuvik et Tuktoyaktuk.

Programme 1.4 : Investissements dans les infrastructures des petites collectivités et des zones rurales

Ce programme permet d'investir dans des projets d'infrastructure de petites collectivités et de régions rurales afin soutenir les économies et les priorités locales et/ou régionales. Le financement versé par l'entremise de ce programme permet d'obtenir des contributions additionnelles auprès d'autres partenaires financiers pour des projets d'infrastructure admissibles. Les fonds peuvent être répartis entre les administrations. Les paiements sont effectués en fonction des coûts admissibles engagés conformément aux ententes de contribution signées. Dans le cadre de ce programme, on utilise les fonds provenant des paiements de transfert suivants : le Fonds des petites collectivités du volet Infrastructures provinciales-territoriales du Nouveau Fonds Chantiers Canada et le volet Collectivités du Fonds Chantiers Canada.

Programme 1.5 : Financement de base pour les infrastructures des provinces et des territoires

Ce programme offre un financement prévisible à chaque province et territoire afin d'améliorer le réseau d'infrastructures publiques du Canada. Les paiements fédéraux destinés aux provinces et aux territoires sont effectués conformément aux modalités des ententes de financement signées, ce qui comprend l'acceptation des plans d'immobilisations et des rapports sur les dépenses par le gouvernement fédéral. Le financement versé par l'entremise de ce programme permet d'obtenir des contributions additionnelles auprès d'autres partenaires financiers afin d'augmenter l'investissement global dans les infrastructures publiques destinées aux Canadiens. Les paiements peuvent être effectués à l'avance et les dispositions de partage des coûts s'appliquent à un plan d'immobilisations dans son ensemble, et non aux initiatives particulières s'inscrivant dans un tel plan. Dans le cadre de ce programme, on utilise les fonds provenant du paiement de transfert du Financement de base pour les infrastructures des provinces et des territoires.

Programme 1.6 : Projet du corridor du nouveau pont pour le Saint-Laurent

Pour appuyer les priorités du gouvernement du Canada en matière d'économie et de sécurité, ce programme permet d'assurer la mise en œuvre globale du projet de corridor du nouveau pont pour le Saint-Laurent à Montréal, au Québec. Infrastructure Canada est l'autorité chargée de superviser la réalisation de ce projet qui permettra de fournir un passage sécuritaire et efficace aux résidants locaux, aux navetteurs et aux conducteurs de véhicules commerciaux. Le nouveau pont et son corridor contribueront à l'augmentation de la capacité et de l'efficacité des infrastructures des portes d'entrée et des corridors à l'échelle régionale et nationale. Le projet doit être réalisé dans le cadre d'un partenariat public-privé.

Résultat stratégique 2

Le programme suivant appuie tous les résultats stratégiques de cette organisation.

Programme 2.1 : Services internes

Le programme des services internes appuie tous les résultats stratégiques et est commun dans l'ensemble des ministères. Les services internes sont des groupes d'activités et de ressources connexes qui sont gérés de façon à répondre aux besoins des programmes et des autres obligations générales d'une organisation. Ces groupes sont les suivants : services de gestion et de surveillance, services des communications, services juridiques, services de gestion des ressources humaines, services de gestion des finances, services de gestion de l'information, services des technologies de l'information, services de gestion des biens, services de gestion du matériel, services de gestion des acquisitions et services de gestion des voyages et autres services administratifs. Les services internes comprennent uniquement les activités et les ressources destinées à l'ensemble d'une organisation et non celles fournies à un programme particulier.

PPP Canada Inc.

Résultat stratégique 1

Transformer le Canada en chef de file des partenariats public-privé.

Programme 1.1 : Initiatives fédérales concernant les partenariats public-privé

Sous ce programme, les partenariats public-privé Canada Inc. sera responsable : - de la gestion d'un Fonds pour les partenariats public-privé, un programme d'infrastructure unique en son genre destiné à soutenir les projets de partenariats public-privé novateurs; - d'évaluer les occasions propices aux partenariats public-privé dans le cadre d'autres programmes d'infrastructure du gouvernement du Canada afin de s'assurer que ce genre d'arrangements soit examiné; - d'évaluer les possibilités de partenariats public-privé et de prodiguer des conseils sur l'exécution des projets de partenariat public-privé à l'échelon fédéral; - d'agir à titre d'expert-conseil en matière de partenariats public-privé afin de favoriser le développement accru du marché des partenariats public-privé au Canada..

Les Ponts Jacques-Cartier et Champlain Inc.

Résultat stratégique 1

Passage efficace et sécuritaire sur les infrastructures entretenues, exploitées et gérées par Les ponts Jacques-Cartier et Champlain Incorporée.

Programme 1.1 : Gestion d'infrastructures fédérales telles que des ponts, des autoroutes et des tunnels, ainsi que des propriétés de la région de Montréal

Ce programme comprend l'exploitation et l'entretien des ponts Jacques-Cartier et Champlain, de la partie fédérale du pont Honoré-Mercier, d'une partie de l'autoroute Bonaventure, du tunnel de Melocheville et de l'estacade du pont Champlain, en y effectuant des travaux d'entretien régulier et d'entretien majeur.

Autorité du pont Windsor-Détroit

Résultat stratégique 1

Pont sécuritaire, sûr et efficient pour le trafic de véhicules commerciaux et de passagers au-dessus de la rivière Détroit.

Programme 1.1 : Pont international de la rivière Détroit

L'Autorité du pont Windsor-Détroit est chargée de la mise en œuvre du projet de franchissement de la rivière Détroit qui créera une alternative sécuritaire, sûre et efficace pour les passagers et les véhicules commerciaux dans la région de Windsor-Détroit. Le nouveau pont éliminera les problèmes reliés au corridor transfrontalier dans la région, plus spécifiquement l'achalandage futur et la capacité nécessaire en cas de problème aux passages frontaliers existants. L'autorité du passage frontalier se chargera de la passation de marché pour le projet au nom du Canada et du Michigan. Conformément à l'Accord sur le passage frontalier entre le Canada et le Michigan, l'Autorité du pont Windsor-Détroit aura plusieurs responsabilités. Elle gérera et supervisera la construction de l'ensemble du projet, à l'exception de l'exploitation et de l'entretien de l'échangeur I-75; elle préparera la documentation du partenariats public-privé pour l'approvisionnement, la conception, la construction, l'exploitation, l'entretien et le financement partiel du projet dans le cadre d'un partenariats public-privé; elle dirigera le processus de passation de marché pour le partenariats public-privé et choisira le soumissionnaire; elle signera le contrat de concession du partenariats public-privé; elle payera l'État du Michigan pour entreprendre l'achat des propriétés dans le Michigan; elle louera les propriétés du Michigan ou obtiendra les permis nécessaires; en ce qui concerne les propriétés que le Canada est en train d'acheter à Windsor, elle louera ces propriétés du Canada ou obtiendra les permis nécessaires; elle gérera et supervisera le concessionnaire du partenariats public-privé pendant la durée de l'entente de concession.

Navigation en bas de page du volume II du manuel du receveur général

Date de modification :