Strategic outcome and program descriptions

Public Accounts of Canada 2017 Volume II - Top of the page Navigation

Treasury Board Secretariat

Strategic outcome 1

Good governance and sound stewardship to enable efficient and effective service to Canadians.

Program 1.1: Government-wide Funds and Public Service Employer Payments

The Government-Wide Funds and Public Service Employer Payments program accounts for funds that are held centrally to supplement other appropriations, from which allocations are made to, or payments and receipts are made on behalf of, other federal organizations. These funds supplement the standard appropriations process and meet certain responsibilities of the Treasury Board as the employer of the core public administration, including employer obligations under the public service pension and benefits plans. The administration of these funds falls under the Expenditure Analysis and Allocation Management sub-program and the People Management Policy sub-program, but their financial resources are shown separately in the Program Alignment Architecture for visibility and reporting purposes. This indicator is an annually-assembled index compiled from five to seven international indexes, themselves derived from a combination of surveys and national experts.

Program 1.2: Management Policies Development and Monitoring

Through the Management Policies Development and Monitoring program, the Secretariat supports the Treasury Board in its role of establishing principles for sound governance and management by setting government-wide policy direction in targeted areas. The program's objective is to have a sound management policy framework for the Government of Canada. This program achieves its results by communicating clear management expectations for deputy heads and by adopting principles-based approaches to, and risk-informed monitoring of, policy compliance. The Secretariat develops, reviews, helps implement, supports, and monitors policies and departmental performance under a variety of Areas of Management. The Secretariat also engages with functional communities and undertakes outreach and monitoring to promote policy compliance and capacity building. This program is underpinned by legislation such as the Financial Administration Act, the Public Service Employment Act and the Federal Accountability Act.

Program 1.3: Government-wide Program Design and Delivery

Through the Government Wide Program Design and Delivery program, the Secretariat designs and delivers activities, systems, services and operations with, for, or on behalf of other Government of Canada organizations. This program also establishes a platform for transformational initiatives. The program's objective is to provide consistent and cost-controlled operations across the Government of Canada. This program achieves its results by developing and delivering solutions where whole-of-government leadership is required or where standardization and cost-savings can be achieved.

Program 1.4: Decision-Making Support and Oversight

Through the Decision-Making Support and Oversight program, the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat supports the Treasury Board in its roles as management board of the Government of Canada and as expenditure manager in the government-wide expenditure cycle. The program objective is to support the government in promoting value for money and results for Canadians in programs and operations. This program achieves its results by providing independent strategic advice, analysis, guidance, and oversight of programs, operations and expenditures. The Secretariat reviews departmental submissions, provides recommendations to the Treasury Board, and coordinates and reports on the allocation of expenditures across government organizations and programs.

Strategic outcome 2

The following program supports all strategic outcomes within this organization.

Program 2.1: Internal Services

The Internal Services program supports all strategic outcomes and is common across government. Internal services are groups of related activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of an organization. These groups are: Management and oversight services; Communications services; Legal services; Human resources management services; Financial management services; Information management services; Information technology services; Real property services; Materiel services; Acquisition services; and Travel and Other administrative services. Internal services include only those activities and resources that apply across an organization and not to those provided specifically to a program.

Canada School of Public Service

Strategic outcome 1

Federal public service employees have the common knowledge, skills and competencies to fulfill their responsibilities in serving Canadians.

Program 1.1: Learning services

This program delivers learning services to the federal public service, providing standardized training to build common knowledge, skills and competencies that support public service employees in fulfilling their responsibilities in delivering programs and services to Canadians. This program is responsible for enterprise-wide training and development in support of government priorities. It leads to a centralized, common approach to managing and delivering learning services that are open to all federal public service employees throughout their career and are common to the operation of all federal institutions, regardless of mandate or location. The Learning Services Program offers a curriculum consisting of foundational development training, which is designed to build a core common culture throughout the federal public service, and specialized development training, which is open to all employees working in information technology, human resources or finance, as well as to those wishing to develop their knowledge in other areas of specialization, including management and leadership. This program achieves its results through a common curriculum, designed to be delivered both in person and online and supported by technology infrastructure so as to enable the delivery of training across the federal public service.

Strategic outcome 2

The following program supports all strategic outcomes within this organization.

Program 2.1: Internal Services

The Internal Services program supports all strategic outcomes and is common across government. Internal services are groups of related activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of an organization. These groups are: Management and oversight services; Communications services; Legal services; Human resources management services; Financial management services; Information management services; Information technology services; Real property services; Materiel services; Acquisition services; and Travel and Other administrative services. Internal services include only those activities and resources that apply across an organization and not to those provided specifically to a program.

Office of the Commissioner of Lobbying

Strategic outcome 1

Transparency and accountability in the lobbying of public office holders contribute to confidence in the integrity of government decision-making.

Program 1.1: Compliance and Enforcement

The Office of the Commissioner of Lobbying conducts monitoring and compliance verification activities to ensure that registrable lobbying activity is properly reported, and information provided by lobbyists is accurate and complete. Suspected and alleged non-compliance with the Lobbying Act and the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct is reviewed and, where appropriate, formal investigations are undertaken to ensure compliance with the Act and the Code. The Commissioner reports findings and conclusions in Reports on Investigation submitted for tabling in Parliament. The Office of the Commissioner of Lobbying also reviews applications for exemption from the five-year post-employment prohibition on lobbying.

Program 1.2: Registry of Lobbyists

The Office of the Commissioner of Lobbying maintains an online Registry that makes information about lobbying activities public, including which designated public office holders were lobbied and on what subjects. The Registry is easy to use, searchable and downloadable. The Office of the Commissioner of Lobbying reviews and approves lobbyists' registrations. It also provides advice and technical support related to the Registry, the Lobbying Act and the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct.

Program 1.3: Outreach and Education

The Office of the Commissioner of Lobbying undertakes research to inform the development and delivery of its education and outreach products and activities. Outreach activities raise awareness about the requirements of the Lobbying Act and the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct. Outreach audiences include but are not limited to lobbyists, their clients and public office holders.

Strategic outcome 2

The following program supports all strategic outcomes within this organization.

Program 2.1: Internal Services

The Internal Services program supports all strategic outcomes and is common across government. Internal services are groups of related activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of an organization. These groups are: Management and oversight services; Communications services; Legal services; Human resources management services; Financial management services; Information management services; Information technology services; Real property services; Materiel services; Acquisition services; and Travel and Other administrative services. Internal services include only those activities and resources that apply across an organization and not to those provided specifically to a program.

Office of the Public Sector Integrity Commissioner

Strategic outcome 1

Wrongdoing in the federal public sector is addressed and public servants are protected in case of reprisal.

Program 1.1: Disclosure and Reprisal Management Program

The objective of the program is to address disclosures of wrongdoing and complaints of reprisal and contribute to increasing confidence in federal public institutions. It aims to provide advice to federal public sector employees and members of the public who are considering making a disclosure and to accept, investigate and report on disclosures of information concerning possible wrongdoing. Based on this activity, the Public Sector Integrity Commissioner will exercise exclusive jurisdiction over the review, conciliation and settlement of complaints of reprisal, including making applications to the Public Servants Disclosure Protection Tribunal to determine if reprisals have taken place and to order appropriate remedial and disciplinary action.

Strategic outcome 2

The following program supports all strategic outcomes within this organization.

Program 2.1: Internal Services

The Internal Services program supports all strategic outcomes and is common across government. Internal services are groups of related activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of an organization. These groups are: Management and oversight services; Communications services; Legal services; Human resources management services; Financial management services; Information management services; Information technology services; Real property services; Materiel services; Acquisition services; and Travel and Other administrative services. Internal services include only those activities and resources that apply across an organization and not to those provided specifically to a program.

Public Accounts of Canada 2017 Volume II - Bottom of the page Navigation

Date modified:

Résultat stratégique et description des programmes

Navigation de haut de page du volume II du manuel du receveur général

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor

Résultat stratégique 1

Une bonne gouvernance et gérance saine en vue de faciliter le service efficient et efficace aux Canadiens.

Programme 1.1 : Fonds pangouvernementaux et paiements en tant qu'employeur de la fonction publique

Le programme Fonds pangouvernementaux et paiements en tant qu'employeur de la fonction publique porte sur les fonds qui sont conservés par l'administration centrale comme suppléments à d'autres crédits et qui permettent d'affecter des sommes à d'autres organisations fédérales ou d'effectuer des paiements et des recouvrements en leur nom. Ces fonds s'ajoutent au processus normal d'affectation des crédits et permettent au Conseil du Trésor de remplir certaines fonctions du Conseil du Trésor en tant qu'employeur de l'administration publique centrale, y compris celles prévues aux termes des régimes de pension et d'avantages sociaux de la fonction publique. L'administration de ces fonds relève du sous-programme Analyse des dépenses et gestion des affectations et du sous-programme Politique en matière de gestion des personnes, mais les ressources financières sont indiquées séparément dans l'architecture d'alignement des programmes pour en accroître la visibilité et faciliter la présentation de rapports.

Programme 1.2 : Développement et surveillance des politiques de gestion

Par l'intermédiaire du programme Développement et surveillance des politiques de gestion, le Secrétariat appuie le Conseil du Trésor en tant qu'organisme chargé d'établir des principes de gouvernance et de gestion efficaces en adoptant une orientation stratégique pangouvernementale dans des secteurs ciblés. L'objectif est de créer un cadre de politique sur la saine gestion à l'intention du gouvernement du Canada. Ce programme atteint ses résultats en communiquant clairement les attentes en matière de gestion aux administrateurs généraux, en adoptant des approches fondées sur divers principes et en surveillant la conformité aux politiques en fonction des risques. Le Secrétariat élabore et examine les politiques, participe à leur mise en œuvre, les appuie et surveille leur application et le rendement ministériel au moyen de diverses composantes de gestion. Il mobilise également les collectivités fonctionnelles et entreprend des démarches de sensibilisation et de surveillance pour promouvoir le respect des politiques et le renforcement des capacités. Ce programme repose sur différentes lois telles que la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, la Loi sur l'emploi dans la fonction publique et la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité.

Programme 1.3 : Conception et prestation des programmes pangouvernementaux

Par l'intermédiaire du programme Conception et prestation des programmes pangouvernementaux, le Secrétariat conçoit et fournit des activités, des systèmes, des services et des opérations avec ou pour les autres organisations du gouvernement du Canada (ou en leur nom). Ce programme met également en place une plateforme pour les initiatives de transformation. L'objectif est de fournir des activités cohérentes à un coût maîtrisé à l'échelle du gouvernement du Canada. Ce programme atteint ses résultats en élaborant et en offrant des solutions pour lesquelles un leadership pangouvernemental est requis ou pour lesquelles une normalisation et des économies sont possibles.

Programme 1.4 : Soutien et surveillance en matière de prise de décisions

Par l'intermédiaire du programme Soutien et surveillance en matière de prise de décisions, le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (le Secrétariat) appuie le Conseil du Trésor dans son rôle de Conseil de gestion du gouvernement du Canada et gestionnaire des dépenses du cycle des dépenses pangouvernementales. Il s'agit notamment d'appuyer les efforts de promotion du gouvernement en matière d'optimisation des ressources et de résultats pour les Canadiens au moyen de divers programmes et diverses activités. Ce programme atteint ses résultats fournissant des conseils stratégiques indépendants, des analyses, une orientation, et de la surveillance des programmes, des activités et des dépenses. Le Secrétariat examine les présentations ministérielles, fournit des recommandations au Conseil du Trésor, en plus de coordonner l'affectation des dépenses aux différents programmes et organisations gouvernementaux et de produire des rapports à ce sujet.

Résultat stratégique 2

Le programme suivant appuie tous les résultats stratégiques de cette organisation.

Programme 2.1 : Services internes

Le programme des services internes appuie tous les résultats stratégiques et est commun dans l'ensemble des ministères. Les services internes sont des groupes d'activités et de ressources connexes qui sont gérés de façon à répondre aux besoins des programmes et des autres obligations générales d'une organisation. Ces groupes sont les suivants : services de gestion et de surveillance, services des communications, services juridiques, services de gestion des ressources humaines, services de gestion des finances, services de gestion de l'information, services des technologies de l'information, services de gestion des biens, services de gestion du matériel, services de gestion des acquisitions et services de gestion des voyages et autres services administratifs. Les services internes comprennent uniquement les activités et les ressources destinées à l'ensemble d'une organisation et non celles fournies à un programme particulier.

École de la fonction publique du Canada

Résultat stratégique 1

Les fonctionnaires fédéraux ont les connaissances, les habiletés et les compétences communes dont ils ont besoin pour exercer leurs responsabilités envers les Canadiens.

Programme 1.1 : Service d'apprentissage

Ce programme vise à offrir des services d'apprentissage à la fonction publique fédérale ainsi que de la formation normalisée afin de renforcer les connaissances, les habiletés et les compétences communes dont les fonctionnaires ont besoin pour exercer leurs responsabilités en matière d'exécution des programmes et de prestation des services à l'intention des Canadiens. Ce programme comprend la formation et le perfectionnement à l'échelle de l'organisation, à l'appui des priorités du gouvernement. Il débouche sur une approche centralisée et commune en matière de gestion et de prestation des services d'apprentissage. Ces services s'adressent à l'ensemble des fonctionnaires fédéraux tout au long de leur carrière et concernent le fonctionnement de toutes les institutions fédérales, quel que soit leur mandat ou l'endroit où elles se trouvent. Le Programme des services d'apprentissage comporte un programme de cours constitué de deux volets : la formation de perfectionnement de base qui vise l'édification d'une culture commune fondamentale dans l'ensemble de la fonction publique fédérale; la formation spécialisée qui s'adresse à tous les fonctionnaires travaillant dans le domaine des technologies de l'information, des ressources humaines ou des finances, de même qu'à ceux qui souhaitent acquérir des connaissances dans d'autres spécialités, notamment la gestion et le leadership. Pour réaliser ses objectifs, ce programme s'appuie sur un programme de cours commun, conçu de manière à proposer des cours en ligne et en personne, et qui est soutenu par l'infrastructure technologique voulue pour offrir la formation à la fonction publique fédérale dans son ensemble.

Résultat stratégique 2

Le programme suivant appuie tous les résultats stratégiques de cette organisation.

Programme 2.1 : Services internes

Le programme des services internes appuie tous les résultats stratégiques et est commun dans l'ensemble des ministères. Les services internes sont des groupes d'activités et de ressources connexes qui sont gérés de façon à répondre aux besoins des programmes et des autres obligations générales d'une organisation. Ces groupes sont les suivants : services de gestion et de surveillance, services des communications, services juridiques, services de gestion des ressources humaines, services de gestion des finances, services de gestion de l'information, services des technologies de l'information, services de gestion des biens, services de gestion du matériel, services de gestion des acquisitions et services de gestion des voyages et autres services administratifs. Les services internes comprennent uniquement les activités et les ressources destinées à l'ensemble d'une organisation et non celles fournies à un programme particulier.

Commissariat au lobbying

Résultat stratégique 1

La transparence et l'obligation de rendre compte des activités de lobbying effectuées auprès de titulaires de charge publique contribuent à inspirer confiance à l'égard de l'intégrité des décisions prises par le gouvernement.

Programme 1.1 : Conformité et exécution

Le Commissariat au lobbying mène des activités de surveillance et de vérification de la conformité afin de veiller à ce que les activités de lobbying enregistrables sont adéquatement déclarées, et que les renseignements fournis par les lobbyistes sont exacts et complets. Les cas soupçonnés et allégués de non-conformité à la Loi sur le lobbying et au Code de déontologie des lobbyistes font l'objet d'un examen et, lorsqu'il y a lieu, des enquêtes officielles sont menées afin d'assurer la conformité avec la Loi et le Code. La commissaire fait état de ses constatations et de ses conclusions dans des rapports d'enquête qui sont déposés au Parlement. Enfin, le Commissariat au lobbying examine aussi les demandes d'exemption à l'interdiction quinquennale d'exercer des activités de lobbying.

Programme 1.2 : Registre des lobbyistes

Le Commissariat au lobbying tient un registre en ligne qui rend publics les renseignements au sujet des activités de lobbying, notamment les titulaires d'une charge publique désignée qui ont fait l'objet d'activités de lobbying et les sujets de ces activités. Le Registre est convivial, interrogeable et téléchargeable. Le Commissariat au lobbying examine et approuve les enregistrements des lobbyistes, et fournit des conseils et un soutien technique en lien avec le Registre, la Loi sur le lobbying et le Code de déontologie des lobbyistes.

Programme 1.3 : Sensibilisation et éducation

Le Commissariat au lobbying effectue de la recherche pour appuyer l'élaboration des produits d'éducation et de sensibilisation. Les activités de sensibilisation permettent de mieux faire connaître les exigences de la Loi sur le lobbying et du Code de déontologie des lobbyistes aux lobbyistes, à leurs clients et aux titulaires d'une charge publique, entre autres.

Résultat stratégique 2

Le programme suivant appuie tous les résultats stratégiques de cette organisation.

Programme 2.1 : Services internes

Le programme des services internes appuie tous les résultats stratégiques et est commun dans l'ensemble des ministères. Les services internes sont des groupes d'activités et de ressources connexes qui sont gérés de façon à répondre aux besoins des programmes et des autres obligations générales d'une organisation. Ces groupes sont les suivants : services de gestion et de surveillance, services des communications, services juridiques, services de gestion des ressources humaines, services de gestion des finances, services de gestion de l'information, services des technologies de l'information, services de gestion des biens, services de gestion du matériel, services de gestion des acquisitions et services de gestion des voyages et autres services administratifs. Les services internes comprennent uniquement les activités et les ressources destinées à l'ensemble d'une organisation et non celles fournies à un programme particulier.

Commissariat à l'intégrité du secteur public

Résultat stratégique 1

Des mesures sont prises à l'égard des actes répréhensibles au sein du secteur public fédéral et les fonctionnaires sont protégés en cas de représailles.

Programme 1.1 : Programme de gestion des divulgations et des représailles

Ce programme vise à mener une action concernant les divulgations d'actes répréhensibles et les plaintes de représailles, et il contribue à augmenter la confiance envers les organismes publics fédéraux. Il vise à fournir des conseils aux employés du secteur public fédéral et aux membres du public qui envisagent de faire une divulgation, et recevoir les divulgations de renseignements concernant d'éventuels actes répréhensibles, faire enquête sur les divulgations et en faire rapport. Dans le cadre de cette activité, le commissaire à l'intégrité du secteur public exerce la compétence exclusive à l'égard de l'examen, de la conciliation et du règlement des plaintes concernant des représailles, y compris les demandes au Tribunal de la protection des fonctionnaires divulgateurs d'actes répréhensibles pour déterminer s'il y a eu représailles et ordonner que la situation soit corrigée et que des mesures de réparation soient prises

Résultat stratégique 2

Le programme suivant appuie tous les résultats stratégiques de cette organisation.

Programme 2.1 : Services internes

Le programme des services internes appuie tous les résultats stratégiques et est commun dans l'ensemble des ministères. Les services internes sont des groupes d'activités et de ressources connexes qui sont gérés de façon à répondre aux besoins des programmes et des autres obligations générales d'une organisation. Ces groupes sont les suivants : services de gestion et de surveillance, services des communications, services juridiques, services de gestion des ressources humaines, services de gestion des finances, services de gestion de l'information, services des technologies de l'information, services de gestion des biens, services de gestion du matériel, services de gestion des acquisitions et services de gestion des voyages et autres services administratifs. Les services internes comprennent uniquement les activités et les ressources destinées à l'ensemble d'une organisation et non celles fournies à un programme particulier.

Navigation en bas de page du volume II du manuel du receveur général

Date de modification :