Strategic outcome and program descriptions

Public Accounts of Canada 2017 Volume II - Top of the page Navigation

Department of Public Works and Government Services

Strategic outcome 1

High quality, central programs and services that ensure sound stewardship on behalf of Canadians and meet the program needs of federal institutions.

Program 1.1: Accommodation Management and Real Property Services

Public Works and Government Services provides federal departments and agencies with affordable office and common use accommodation that supports the delivery of their programs and services. The department acts as steward for various public works such as buildings, bridges and dams, and national treasures such as the Parliamentary Precinct and other heritage assets across Canada. Public Works and Government Services also provides other federal departments, agencies, and the Parliament of Canada with responsive and cost-effective real property services.

Program 1.2: Acquisitions

This program provides federal organizations with procurement solutions such as specialized contracts, standing offers, supply arrangements, and memoranda of understanding for acquiring a broad range of goods and services, including construction services. This program delivers acquisitions and related common services using the Smart Procurement principles (early engagement, effective governance, independent advice, and benefits for Canadians) through an open, fair and transparent process to ensure best value to Canadians and the federal government.

Program 1.3: Receiver General for Canada

This program manages the operations of the federal treasury, produces the Public Accounts and maintains the Accounts of Canada. It provides federal departments with an optional departmental financial and materiel management system offering and bill payment services.

Program 1.4: Federal Pay and Pension Administration

This program provides reliable central systems and processes for pay and pension administration to federal organizations. Through our pay and pension services, Public Works and Government Services ensures that federal government employees and pensioners are paid accurately and on time.

Program 1.5: Linguistic Management and Services

This program defines the Translation Bureau of Public Works and Government Services as a key component of the federal government's service delivery infrastructure. The Bureau is the sole internal linguistic services provider and offers translation, revision, interpretation and other linguistic services for Parliament, the judiciary, and federal departments and agencies. It is also the terminology authority within the federal government and has been mandated to develop terminology standards to ensure clear, uniform and quality communications within government. The program is mandated under the Translation Bureau Act.

Program 1.6: Specialized Programs and Services

This program provides federal organizations with high quality, timely and accessible specialized services and programs.

Program 1.7: Integrity Programs and Services

This program provides the government of Canada with high quality, timely and accessible specialized services and programs in support of sound, prudent and ethical management and operations.

Program 1.8: Procurement Ombudsman

This program, operating at arms-length from the government, reviews procurement practices of federal departments and agencies, investigates complaints from suppliers regarding the award or administration of federal contracts and ensures the provision of an alternative dispute resolution process for existing contracts. This program helps promote fairness, openness and transparency in the federal procurement process.

Strategic outcome 2

The following program supports all strategic outcomes within this organization.

Program 2.1: Internal Services

The Internal services program supports all strategic outcomes and is common across government. Internal services are groups of related activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of an organization. These groups are: Management and oversight services; Communications services; Legal services; Human resources management services; Financial management services; Information management services; Information technology services; Real property services; Material services; Acquisition services; and Travel and other administrative services. Internal services include only those activities and resources that apply across an organization and not to those provided specifically to a program.

Canada Post Corporation

Strategic outcome 1

Compensation for the provision of Parliamentary mail and Materials for the use of the blind services, which are sent free of postage under the Canada Post Corporation Act.

Program 1.1: Concessionary Governmental Services

Payment associated with services provided at rates free of postage by the Corporation in support of government policy programs: Government Free Mail and Materials for the use of the Blind.

Public Service Commission

Strategic Outcome 1

A highly competent, non-partisan and representative public service, able to provide service in both official languages, in which appointments are based on merit and the values of fairness, access, representativeness and transparency.

Program 1.1: Staffing Services and Assessment

The Staffing Services and Assessment program maintains the systems that link Canadians and public servants seeking employment opportunities in the federal public service with hiring departments and agencies. It provides assessment-related products and services in the form of research and development, consultation, assessment operations and counselling for use in recruitment, selection and development throughout the federal public service. This program also includes delivering staffing services, programs and products to departments and agencies, to Canadians and public servants, through client service units located across Canada.

Program 1.2: Oversight of Integrity in Staffing and of Non-Partisanship

The Oversight of Integrity in Staffing and of Non-Partisanship program provides an accountability regime for the implementation of the appointment policy and regulatory framework for safeguarding the integrity of public service staffing and ensuring staffing is free from political influence. This program includes monitoring departments' and agencies' staffing performance and compliance with legislative requirements; conducting audits and studies; carrying out investigations; and reporting to Parliament on the integrity of public service staffing and the non-partisanship of the public service.

Program 1.3: Staffing System Integrity and Political Impartiality

The Staffing System Integrity and Political Impartiality program is focused on independently safeguarding merit and non-partisanship in the federal public service. This program includes developing and advancing strategic policy positions and directions; conducting policy research; establishing Public Service Commission policies and standards; providing advice, interpretation and guidance; and administering delegated and non-delegated authorities, including official languages, the political activities regime and priority administration.

Strategic Outcome 2

The following program supports all strategic outcomes within this organization.

Program 2.1: Internal Services

The Internal services program supports all strategic outcomes and is common across government. Internal services are groups of related activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of an organization. These groups are: Management and oversight services; Communications services; Legal services; Human resources management services; Financial management services; Information management services; Information technology services; Real property services; Material services; Acquisition services; and Travel and other administrative services. Internal services include only those activities and resources that apply across an organization and not to those provided specifically to a program.

Shared Services Canada

Strategic outcome 1

Modern, reliable, secure and cost-effective information technology infrastructure services to support government priorities and program delivery.

Program 1.1: Information Technology Infrastructure Services

This program delivers Information Technology Infrastructure Services to federal government departments to enable and support the management, co-ordination and delivery of government programs to Canadians and the achievement of Government of Canada priorities. The Information Technology Infrastructure Services consist of four main Information Technology service groups: (a) Distributed Computing, (b) Production and Operations Computing (Data Centres), (c) Telecommunications (Data, Voice and Video), and (d) Cyber and Information Technology Security. This program establishes a centralized common Information Technology infrastructure service leading to consolidation and standardization in the management and delivery of Information Technology services across the mandated partner and client organizations. This consolidation and standardization of services contributes to greater operational efficiencies and economies of scale, resulting in better value to Canadian taxpayers, enhanced reliability and security of the Information Technology services, a reduction in the duplication of effort and managerial oversight, and the development of a harmonized response to partner and client organizations' business requirements.

Strategic outcome 2

The following program supports all strategic outcomes within this organization.

Program 2.1: Internal Services

The Internal services program supports all strategic outcomes and is common across government. Internal services are groups of related activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of an organization. These groups are: Management and oversight services; Communications services; Legal services; Human resources management services; Financial management services; Information management services; Information technology services; Real property services; Material services; Acquisition services; and Travel and other administrative services. Internal services include only those activities and resources that apply across an organization and not to those provided specifically to a program.

Public Accounts of Canada 2017 Volume II - Bottom of the page Navigation

Date modified:

Résultat stratégique et description des programmes

Navigation de haut de page du volume II du manuel du receveur général

Ministère des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux

Résultat stratégique 1

Des services et des programmes centraux de grande qualité qui assurent une saine intendance au nom de la population canadienne et qui répondent aux besoins opérationnels des institutions fédérales.

Programme 1.1 : Gestion des locaux et services immobiliers

Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada fournit aux ministères et aux organismes fédéraux des locaux à bureaux abordables et des installations à utilisation commune qui appuient la prestation de leurs programmes et services. Le ministère assure l'intendance de divers travaux publics, par exemple des immeubles, des ponts et des barrages, et de trésors nationaux tels que la Cité parlementaire ainsi que d'autres biens patrimoniaux dans l'ensemble du Canada. Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada fournit également aux ministères, aux organismes fédéraux et au Parlement du Canada des services immobiliers souples et économiques.

Programme 1.2 : Approvisionnements

Ce programme fournit aux organisations fédérales des solutions d'approvisionnement, comme des contrats spécialisés, des offres à commandes, des arrangements en matière d'approvisionnement et des protocoles d'entente visant l'acquisition d'une vaste gamme de biens et de services, notamment des services de construction. Il fournit des services d'approvisionnement et des services communs connexes selon les principes de l'approvisionnement éclairé (mobilisation en début de processus, gouvernance efficace, conseils indépendants et avantages pour la population canadienne) dans le cadre d'un processus ouvert, équitable et transparent en vue d'obtenir le meilleur rapport qualité-prix pour la population canadienne et le gouvernement fédéral.

Programme 1.3 : Receveur général du Canada

Ce programme gère les opérations du Trésor fédéral, produit les Comptes publics et tient à jour les comptes du Canada. Elle offre également aux ministères fédéraux, sur une base facultative, un système ministériel de gestion des finances et du matériel et un service de paiement de factures.

Programme 1.4 : Administration de la paye et des pensions fédérales

Ce programme vise à offrir aux autres ministères et organismes fédéraux des systèmes et des processus centraux fiables pour l'administration de la paye et des pensions. Les services d'administration de la paye et des pensions de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada permettent au Ministère de s'assurer que les employés et les pensionnés du gouvernement du Canada reçoivent en temps opportun les montants qui leur sont dus.

Programme 1.5 : Gestion linguistique et services connexes

Ce programme définit le Bureau de la traduction de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada comme étant un intervenant clé dans l'infrastructure de prestation de services du gouvernement fédéral. Le Bureau, seul fournisseur interne de services linguistiques au gouvernement, offre des services de traduction, de révision, d'interprétation et d'autres services linguistiques au Parlement, aux tribunaux ainsi qu'aux ministères et organismes fédéraux. Il est aussi l'autorité du gouvernement fédéral en matière de terminologie et a reçu le mandat d'élaborer des normes terminologiques pour garantir des communications claires, uniformes et de qualité au sein du gouvernement. Le programme Gestion linguistique et services connexes découle de la Loi sur le Bureau de la traduction.

Programme 1.6 : Programmes et services spécialisés

Ce programme assure la prestation en temps opportun de programmes et de services spécialisés de haute qualité et accessibles aux institutions fédérales.

Programme 1.7 : Programmes et services d'intégrité

Ce programme assure la prestation en temps opportun de programmes et de services spécialisés de haute qualité et accessibles au gouvernement du Canada pour appuyer une gestion et des opérations saines, prudentes et éthiques.

Programme 1.8 : Ombudsman de l'approvisionnement

Ce programme, exercé sans lien de dépendance avec le gouvernement, examine les pratiques d'approvisionnement dans l'ensemble des ministères et organismes fédéraux, enquête sur les plaintes des fournisseurs relatives à l'attribution et à l'administration des contrats de biens et de services, et veille à la prestation de services de règlement extrajudiciaire des différents pour des contrats existants. Ce programme permet au Bureau de l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement de promouvoir l'équité, l'ouverture et la transparence du processus d'approvisionnement.

Résultat stratégique 2

Le programme suivant appuie tous les résultats stratégiques de cette organisation.

Programme 2.1 : Services internes

Le programme des services internes appuie tous les résultats stratégiques et est commun dans l'ensemble des ministères. Les services internes sont des groupes d'activités et de ressources connexes qui sont gérés de façon à répondre aux besoins des programmes et des autres obligations générales d'une organisation. Ces groupes sont les suivants : services de gestion et de surveillance, services des communications, services juridiques, services de gestion des ressources humaines, services de gestion des finances, services de gestion de l'information, services des technologies de l'information, services de gestion des biens, services de gestion du matériel, services de gestion des acquisitions et services de gestion des voyages et autres services administratifs. Les services internes comprennent uniquement les activités et les ressources destinées à l'ensemble d'une organisation et non celles fournies à un programme particulier.

Société canadienne des postes

Résultat stratégique 1

Compensation pour la prestation de services liés au courrier parlementaire et à la documentation à l'usage des personnes aveugles transmis en franchise en vertu de la Loi sur la Société canadienne des postes.

Programme 1.1 : Paiements concernant les programmes publics

Paiements concernant des services que la Société assure en franchise en vue d'appuyer les programmes publics du gouvernement : le courrier parlementaire franc de port et les documents à l'usage des aveugles.

Commission de la fonction publique

Résultat stratégique 1

Une fonction publique hautement compétente, non partisane et représentative, capable d'offrir des services dans les deux langues officielles et où les nominations sont fondées sur le mérite et les valeurs que sont la justice, l'accès, la représentativité et la transparence.

Programme 1.1 : Services de dotation et d'évaluation

Le programme lié aux services de dotation et d'évaluation permet de mettre à jour les systèmes de ressourcement qui font le lien entre les Canadiens et les fonctionnaires à la recherche de possibilités d'emploi dans la fonction publique fédérale et les ministères et organismes responsables de l'embauche. Il fournit des services d'évaluation et des produits connexes, tels que recherche et développement, consultation, évaluation et counseling pouvant être utilisés pour le recrutement, la sélection et le perfectionnement dans toute la fonction publique fédérale. Ce programme inclut également l'offre de services, de programmes et de produits de ressourcement aux ministères et organismes, aux Canadiens et aux fonctionnaires grâce à des unités de service à la clientèle situées partout au Canada.

Programme 1.2 : Surveillance de l'intégrité de la dotation et de l'impartialité politique

Le programme lié à la surveillance de l'intégrité en matière de dotation et d'impartialité politique assure la responsabilisation à l'égard de la mise en œuvre de la politique et du cadre réglementaire en matière de nomination dans le but de veiller à la protection de l'intégrité de la dotation au sein de la fonction publique et de s'assurer que la dotation est exempte d'influence politique. Ce programme comprend la surveillance du rendement des ministères et organismes et du respect par ces derniers des exigences législatives; l'exécution de vérifications et d'études; la réalisation d'enquêtes et la présentation au Parlement de rapports sur l'intégrité de la dotation à la fonction publique et de l'impartialité politique de la fonction publique.

Programme 1.3 : Intégrité du système de dotation et impartialité politique

Le programme lié à l'intégrité du système de dotation et impartialité politique est axée sur la protection, par un tiers indépendant, des principes du mérite et de l'impartialité politique dans la fonction publique fédérale. Ce programme comprend l'établissement et la défense de positions de principe et d'orientations en matière de politiques stratégiques, la réalisation de travaux de recherche stratégique, l'établissement de politiques et de normes pour la Commission de la fonction publique (CFP), la formulation de conseils, d'interprétations et de lignes directrices, ainsi que l'administration des pouvoirs délégués et non délégués, incluant les langues officielles, le régime des activités politiques et l'administration des priorités.

Résultat stratégique 2

Le programme suivant appuie tous les résultats stratégiques de cette organisation.

Programme 2.1 : Services internes

Le programme des services internes appuie tous les résultats stratégiques et est commun dans l'ensemble des ministères. Les services internes sont des groupes d'activités et de ressources connexes qui sont gérés de façon à répondre aux besoins des programmes et des autres obligations générales d'une organisation. Ces groupes sont les suivants : services de gestion et de surveillance, services des communications, services juridiques, services de gestion des ressources humaines, services de gestion des finances, services de gestion de l'information, services des technologies de l'information, services de gestion des biens, services de gestion du matériel, services de gestion des acquisitions et services de gestion des voyages et autres services administratifs. Les services internes comprennent uniquement les activités et les ressources destinées à l'ensemble d'une organisation et non celles fournies à un programme particulier.

Services partagés Canada

Résultat stratégique 1

Services d'infrastructure de technologie de l'information modernes, fiables, sécuritaires et économiques à l'appui des priorités et de la prestation des programmes du gouvernement.

Programme 1.1 : Services d'infrastructure de technologie de l'information

Ce programme permet d'offrir des services d'infrastructure de technologie de l'information aux ministères fédéraux, en vue de favoriser et d'appuyer la gestion, la coordination et la prestation des programmes gouvernementaux pour la population canadienne et l'atteinte des priorités du gouvernement du Canada. L'infrastructure des services de technologie de l'information comprend quatre principaux groupes de services liés à la technologie de l'information : a) Informatique répartie, b) Informatisation de la production et des opérations, c) Réseau de télécommunication – Données, voix et vidéo, d) Cybersécurité et sécurité de la technologie de l'information. Ce programme prévoit l'établissement d'une infrastructure de services de technologie de l'information communs centralisés, favorisant le regroupement et l'uniformisation de la gestion et de la prestation des services de technologie de l'information à l'échelle des 43 organisations partenaires responsables. Le regroupement et l'uniformisation des services contribuent à l'amélioration de l'efficacité des opérations et à la réalisation d'économies d'échelle accrue donnant lieu à des économies de coûts anticipées, une amélioration de la fiabilité et de la sécurité des services de technologie de l'information, une réduction du recoupement des efforts et de la surveillance de la direction et la formulation d'une réponse cohérente par rapport aux besoins opérationnels des organisations partenaires.

Résultat stratégique 2

Le programme suivant appuie tous les résultats stratégiques de cette organisation.

Programme 2.1 : Services internes

Le programme des services internes appuie tous les résultats stratégiques et est commun dans l'ensemble des ministères. Les services internes sont des groupes d'activités et de ressources connexes qui sont gérés de façon à répondre aux besoins des programmes et des autres obligations générales d'une organisation. Ces groupes sont les suivants : services de gestion et de surveillance, services des communications, services juridiques, services de gestion des ressources humaines, services de gestion des finances, services de gestion de l'information, services des technologies de l'information, services de gestion des biens, services de gestion du matériel, services de gestion des acquisitions et services de gestion des voyages et autres services administratifs. Les services internes comprennent uniquement les activités et les ressources destinées à l'ensemble d'une organisation et non celles fournies à un programme particulier.

Navigation en bas de page du volume II du manuel du receveur général

Date de modification :