SAM - Special Bulletin 2011-004

Subject: Employer Support Services - Departments, Agencies and Crown Corporations Serviced by the Regional Pay System

April 11, 2011

1. Purpose

1.1. The purpose of this bulletin is to inform departments, agencies and Crown corporations serviced by the Regional Pay System of a new service being offered effective April 11, 2011. This new service consists of support to employers on pension related activities by a specialized group at the Public Service Pension Centre (referred to as "Pension Centre") in Shediac, New Brunswick. This specialized group is known as "Employer Support Services".

1.2. This bulletin includes the Your Public Service Pension and Benefits - Contact Us (also available on the Employer Support Services Web page) and the new roles and responsibilities for the Pension Centre and employers.

Crown corporation employers should also read the SAM - Special Bulletin 2011-003 entitled "Employer Support Services - Departments, Agencies and Crown Corporations Not Serviced by the Regional Pay System" for specific roles and responsibilities pertaining to the new accounting processes being introduced at Release 2.0.

1.3. Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC) is committed to ensuring that a client focus is maintained and that plan members receive uninterrupted service.

1.4. In this text, use of the masculine is generic and applies to both men and women.

2. Background

2.1. On June 13, 2007, the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat granted approval to proceed with two transformation projects of pension administration initiatives, namely the Government of Canada Pension Modernization Project and the Centralization of Pension Services Delivery Project. The objective of these initiatives is to renew the Public Works and Government Services Canada's nearly 40-year old pension administration system, transform business processes and centralize the delivery of pension services to a Centre of Expertise within Public Works and Government Services Canada, namely the Pension Centre, in Shediac, New Brunswick.

2.2. Accordingly, the Centralization of Pension Services Delivery Project team has been established to develop and progressively implement pension services and business processes in accordance with the new model, which allows for self-service options and access to pension expertise through various channels. The project will bring about significant changes in the way pension services are delivered.

3. Policy

3.1. Effective April 11, 2011, pension experts at the Pension Centre will be responsible for providing support services to departments, agencies, Crown corporations and territorial governments subject to the public service pension plan.

Employers are responsible for ensuring compliance with the public service pension plan requirements pertaining to remittances and provision of pension data. Participating government organizations play an important role in supporting the administration of the public service pension plan by providing and maintaining plan member human resources and payroll data required by the Pension Centre.

4. Definition

4.1. In order to deliver consistent pension services to all plan members, the Employer Support Services is a new service created to assist the employers who are subject to the public service pension plan with the efficient transmission of human resources and pay information using web-based tools.

Employers will have direct access to pension experts within the Pension Centre via a designated toll-free telephone number or email address. The service will be based on a client-centered approach that strives to foster a strong partnering relationship.

4.2. Effective April 11, 2011, employers will have access to a new Employer Support Services Web page that has been designed using the one-stop shop concept with standardized material in one location, and has been developed for employers as a general reference information tool. The Web page explains in detail the new roles of all employers that are subject to the Public Service Superannuation Act, and outlines the specific employer's responsibilities pertaining to an employee's particular pension related activity. It also provides access to publications, forms and other pension related sites.

The Crown corporation secure portal, which will be available in May 2011, will be located on the Employer Support Services welcome page and will be available to the employers who are not serviced by the Regional Pay System for their data reporting, remittance and accounting functions. The Crown corporations serviced by the Regional Pay System will have access to the secure portal for their accounting functions.

Plan member data will automatically be submitted to the Data Capture Tool from the Regional Pay System. Therefore, departments do not require access to the tool.

4.3. Effective April 11, 2011, compensation managers within departments, agencies and Crown corporations serviced by the Regional Pay System can contact Contact Us - Employer Support Services for questions pertaining to their pension related responsibilities.

5. Procedures and Instructions

5.1. Compensation advisors and their managers are encouraged to consult the Web site prior to contacting the Employer Support Services. Should they still have pension related questions after visiting the Web page, the managers can contact the Employer Support Services directly via a toll-free telephone number, facsimile, regular mail and email. For more information, please refer to the "Contact Us - Employer Support Services" page located on the Employer Support Services Web page.

5.2. Compensation advisors must contact the active member line at the Pension Centre for any specific employee related pension questions.

5.3. As of April 11, 2011, with the exception of leave without pay scheduled for implementation by November 2011, compensation advisors are no longer responsible for providing pension related information (e.g. estimates) to employees and/or plan members. Employees must be referred to the Pension Centre contact information located on the Your Public Service Pension and Benefits Web portal, under "Contact Us". The contact information page includes the Pension Centre Web portal address, email address, toll free telephone number, facsimile number and mailing address, which is different from the employer contact information.

5.4. All employers remain responsible for submitting correct data and commencing deductions appropriately.

5.5. Please refer to the roles and responsibilities document included in this bulletin for procedures and information on the new process.

6. Communications

6.1. The Centralization project team will monitor the progress of this service following implementation, and will keep you informed of the results as well as the development and implementation of any other employer focused services.

7. Publications

7.1. The Superannuation Administration Manual will be updated to incorporate the relevant information contained in this bulletin.

8. Inquiries

8.1. Any inquiries regarding the information contained in this document should be addressed to the Public Service Pension Centre. Inquiries regarding the pension implications of Leave Without Pay and social insurance number (SIN) and personal record identifier (PRI) problems should be addressed to your PWGSC's Compensation Services Office.

Original Signed by
Carrie E. Roussin

Carrie E. Roussin
Director General
Compensation Sector
Accounting, Banking and Compensation

Roles and Responsibilities

Employer Support Services - Roles and Responsibilities (Departments, Agencies and Crown corporations serviced by the Regional Pay System)

Implementation Date: April 11, 2011

Introduction

Responsibility for the administration of the public service pension plan rests with Public Works and Government Services Canada. Within Public Works and Government Services Canada, the Public Service Pension Centre (Pension Centre) in Shediac, New Brunswick, has the primary responsibility for the day-to-day administration of the public service pension plan on behalf of all active and retired plan members and their survivors throughout Canada and abroad.

On April 11, 2011, a new section at the Pension Centre, known as Employer Support Services, will begin operations. Its staff will be responsible for answering pension related questions from compensation managers, and assist them with the use of web-based tools, such as the Employer Support Services Web page.

A chart outlining the roles and responsibilities of all stakeholders with regards to specific employer related activities have been included with this Superannuation Administration Manual Special Bulletin. The following is an outline of the new process.

Pension Centre's Responsibilities

At the Pension Centre, the Employer Support Services assume the responsibility for the provision of information and the required support pertaining to the following employer related activities. Pension experts will provide employers with general information about the pension plan and assist with the navigation on the Web. The first services to be offered by the Employer Support Services will include the following areas:

  • Support of pension tools (Employer Support Services, Web self-service);
  • Advisory (general explanation of plan rules to support quality data entry through web based information sources); and
  • Operational (data correction).

We will keep employers informed of the additional services to be offered by the Employer Support Services as they become available.

Employer's Responsibilities

Each employer's main responsibilities regarding a plan member's pension and the administration of plan members' benefits under the public service pension plan consist of:

  • Providing clean, accurate, and timely data to the Pension Centre;
  • Deducting plan members' contributions (current, service buyback and Supplementary Death Benefit) from their regular salaries;
  • Initiating, amending and stopping transactions based on plan member activities (e.g. leave without pay);
  • Clarifying pension data/information for the Pension Centre, as required;
  • Creating a Personal Record Identifier using the Central Index System; and
  • Consulting the Employer Support Services Web page.

Employer Support Services Web Page

The Employer Support Services Web page has been developed for the employers as a general reference information tool and outlines the employer's responsibilities pertaining to an employee's specific pension related activity. The Web page explains, in detail, the new roles of all employers that are subject to the Public Service Superannuation Act.

As this Web page is the primary source of comprehensive pension related information for employers, it is always preferable that you first consult it prior to contacting the Employer Support Services directly.

Please note that employers must contact the plan member line at the Pension Centre for any specific employee related pension questions.

Contacts for Employers

Effective April 11, 2011, questions related to general pension data reporting information can be directed to the Employer Support Services at 1-877-427-1510.

For questions related to a specific employee, please contact the Pension Centre using the active member contact information.

Note:

Compensation advisors should not contact the Pension Centre on behalf of employees, but rather refer the plan members directly to the Pension Centre contact information on the Your Public Service Pension and Benefits Web portal.

Employer Support Services - Service Levels and Goals

  • Telephone inquiries will be responded to within two business days.
  • Web inquiries will be processed within five business days.

Your Web Site

Employers can access the Employer Support Services Web portal through the Compensation Sector Web site.

The Compensation Sector web site has been updated to add the new Employer Support Services Web page and will be available on April 11, 2011. The link to the Crown corporation secure portal will be made available to the employers who are not serviced by the Regional Pay System in May 2011.

Roles and Responsibilities
Activity Compensation Advisor Pay Office Pension Centre
Provision of additional information/data upon receipt of request from the Pension Centre.

(data correction activity)

Conduct file review and provide information to the Pension Centre or pay office

date the pay system, if required

Complete forms and forward to Pension Centre, if required

Verify accuracy of data

Contact compensation advisor to clarify information, if required

Correct the pay system, if required

Identify discrepancy in data

Contact pay office or compensation advisor to request missing information and/or to clarify discrepancy

APR - Bulletin spécial 2011-004

Objet : Services de soutien à l'employeur – Ministères, organismes et sociétés d'État desservis par le Système régional de paye

Le 11 avril 2011

1. But

1.1. Le présent bulletin vise à informer les ministères, les organismes et les sociétés d'État desservies par le Système régional de paye d'un nouveau service qui leur sera offert à compter du 11 avril 2011. Il s'agit d'un soutien visant les activités de pension qui est offert aux employeurs par un groupe spécialisé du Centre des pensions de la fonction publique (désigné sous le nom « Centre des pensions ») à Shediac, au Nouveau­Brunswick. Ce groupe spécialisé est connu sous le nom de « Services de soutien à l'employeur ».

1.2. Le présent bulletin contient la Votre pension et vos avantages sociaux de la fonction publique - Contactez-nous (disponible également sur le site Web des Services de soutien à l'employeur) et les nouveaux rôles et responsabilités du Centre des pensions et des employeurs.

Les employeurs des sociétés d'État devraient lire le APR - Bulletin spécial 2011-003 intitulé « Services de soutien à l'employeur - Sociétés d'État, organismes et gouvernements territoriaux qui ne sont pas desservis par le Système régional de paye » pour les rôles et responsabilités spécifiques aux nouveaux processus de comptabilité qui seront introduits lors de la mise en oeuvre de la version 2.0.

1.3. Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC) s'est engagé à assurer le maintien du service axé sur la clientèle et à fournir aux participants au régime un service ininterrompu.

1.4. Dans le présent texte, le masculin est utilisé comme genre neutre et désigne aussi bien les hommes que les femmes.

2. Contexte

2.1. Le 13 juin 2007, le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada a donné son approbation au lancement de deux projets de transformation de l'administration des pensions, à savoir le Projet de modernisation des services et des systèmes de pensions du gouvernement du Canada et le Projet de centralisation de la prestation des services de pension. Ces initiatives visent à renouveler les systèmes d'administration des pensions de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC) vieux de près de 40 ans, de transformer les processus opérationnels et de centraliser la prestation de services de pensions dans un centre d'expertise au sein de TPSGC, à savoir le Centre des pensions, situé à Shediac, au Nouveau­Brunswick.

2.2. L'équipe du Projet de centralisation de la prestation des services de pension a donc été mise sur pied, et on lui a confié la charge d'élaborer et de progressivement mettre en ouvre des services de pension et des processus opérationnels conformes au nouveau modèle qui comporte des options de libre­service et donne accès à des conseils d'experts sur les pensions par le biais de modes variés. Le projet apportera des changements significatifs à la prestation des services de pension.

3. Politique

3.1. À compter du 11 avril 2011, des spécialistes des pensions au Centre des pensions seront chargés de fournir des services de soutien aux ministères, aux organismes, aux sociétés d'État et aux gouvernements territoriaux assujettis au régime de pension de retraite de la fonction publique.

Il incombe aux employeurs de se conformer aux exigences du régime de pension de retraite de la fonction publique concernant les remises et la transmission des données sur les pensions. Les organisations gouvernementales participantes ont un rôle important à jouer en matière de soutien de l'administration du régime de pension de retraite de la fonction publique, car elles tiennent à jour et fournissent les données requises par le Centre des pensions sur les ressources humaines et la paye des participants au régime.

4. Définition

4.1. Afin d'offrir des services de pension uniformes à tous les participants au régime, un nouveau service, les Services de soutien à l'employeur, a été créé pour aider les employeurs assujettis au régime de pension de retraite de la fonction publique à communiquer efficacement les données de ressources humaines et de paye au moyen d'outils sur le Web.

Les employeurs auront directement accès à des spécialistes en matière de pensions du Centre des pensions grâce à une ligne téléphonique sans frais ou à une adresse courriel. Le service sera offert suivant une approche axée sur les clients qui favorise l'établissement de liens solides de partenariat.

4.2. À compter du 11 avril 2011, les employeurs auront accès à une nouvelle page Web des Services de soutien à l'employeur, dont la conception s'articule autour du principe du guichet unique comportant du matériel normalisé offert à un seul endroit. La page, qui a été élaboré à l'intention des employeurs, explique en détail les nouveaux rôles de tous les employeurs assujettis à la Loi sur la pension de la fonction publique et sert d'outil général de référence et décrit les responsabilités particulières des employeurs se rapportant à une activité particulière liée à la pension d'un employé. La page donne également accès à des publications, à des formulaires et à d'autres sites ayant trait aux pensions.

Le portail protégé à l'intention des société d'État, qui sera disponible en mai 2011, sera localisé sur la page de bienvenue des Services de soutien à l'employeur et sera réservé aux employeurs qui ne sont pas desservis par le Système régional de paye pour effectuer leurs fonctions de transmission des données, de comptabilité et de remise. Les sociétés d'État desservies par le Système régional de paye auront accès au portail sécurisé pour exécuter leurs fonctions de comptabilité.

Les données sur les participants seront automatiquement transmises à l'Outil de saisie des données à partir du Système régional de paye, de sorte que les ministères n'auront pas besoin d'avoir accès à l'outil.

4.3. À compter du 11 avril 2011, les gestionnaires en rémunération des ministères, organismes et sociétés d'État qui sont desservis par le Système régional de paye pourront adresser aux Contactez-nous - Service de soutien à l'employeur les questions reliées à leurs responsabilités en matière de pension.

5. Procédures et instructions

5.1. Nous encourageons les conseillers en rémunération et leurs gestionnaires à consulter le site Web avant de communiquer avec les Services de soutien à l'employeur. S'ils n'ont pas trouvé des réponses à leurs questions sur le site Web, les gestionnaires peuvent communiquer directement avec les Services de soutien à l'employeur en composant le numéro de téléphone sans frais, en transmettant un message par télécopieur, par la poste ou par courriel. Pour en savoir davantage, veuillez consulter la page « Contactez-nous - Service de soutien à l'employeur » de la page Web des Services de soutien à l'employeur.

5.2. Les conseillers en rémunération doivent utiliser la ligne du Centre des pensions réservée aux participants actifs s'ils ont des questions relatives au compte d'un employé en particulier.

5.3. À compter du 11 avril 2011, exception faite des congés non payés dont la mise en oeuvre est prévue pour novembre 2011, les conseillers en rémunération ne sont plus responsables de fournir des renseignements liés aux pensions (p. ex. des estimations) aux employés et/ou aux participants au régime. Les employés doivent être invités à consulter la fiche de coordonnées des personnes-ressources du Centre des pensions qui figure dans le portail Web Votre pension et vos avantages sociaux de la fonction publique, à la rubrique « Contactez-nous ». Cette fiche contient l'adresse du portail Web du Centre des pensions, une adresse courriel, un numéro de téléphone sans frais, un numéro de télécopieur et une adresse postale, qui diffèrent de ceux de la fiche des coordonnées des personnes­ressources de l'employeur.

5.4. Tous les employeurs demeurent responsables de fournir des données exactes et de prélever les retenues qui s'imposent.

5.5. Veuillez consulter le document sur les rôles et les responsabilités joint au présent bulletin pour connaître les procédures et pour en savoir davantage sur le nouveau processus.

6. Communications

6.1. L'équipe du Projet de centralisation surveillera l'évolution de ce service après sa mise en ouvre et vous tiendra au courant des résultats de même que de l'élaboration et de la mise en place d'autres services axés sur les employeurs.

7. Publications

7.1. Le Guide sur l'administration des pensions de retraite sera mis à jour afin d'y intégrer les renseignements pertinents contenus dans le présent bulletin.

8. Demandes de renseignements

8.1. Toute demande de renseignements sur le contenu de ce document ce qui précède doit être adressée au Centre des pensions de la fonction publique. Toute demande de renseignements concernant les congés non payés ayant des répercussions sur la pension, les numéros d'assurance sociale (NAS) et le code d'identification de dossier personnel (CIDP) doit être adressée à votre bureau des services de rémunération de TPSGC.

Directeur général
Secteur de la rémunération
Comptabilité, gestion bancaire et rémunération

Carrie E. Roussin
a signé l'original

Carrie E. Roussin

Rôles et responsabilités

Services de soutien à l'employeur - Rôles et responsabilités (ministères, organismes et sociétés d'État desservis par le Système régional de paye)

Date de mise en œuvre : 11 avril 2011

Introduction

La responsabilité de l'administration du régime de pension de retraite de la fonction publique incombe à Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada. Au sein de Travaux Publics et Services Gouvernementaux Canada, c'est le Centre des pensions de la fonction publique (Centre des pensions) situé à Shediac, au Nouveau Brunswick, qui est principalement responsable de l'administration quotidienne du régime de pension de retraite de la fonction publique au nom des participants au régime actifs et retraités et de leurs survivants au Canada et à l'étranger.

Le 11 avril 2011, une nouvelle section du Centre des pensions, connue sous le nom des Services de soutien à l'employeur, entrera en fonctions. Les employés de cette section seront responsables de répondre aux questions relatives aux pensions des gestionnaires en rémunération et de les aider à utiliser les outils sur le Web, comme la page Web des Services de soutien à l'employeur.

Un tableau décrivant les rôles et les responsabilités de toutes les parties prenantes concernant les activités particulières des employeurs a été joint au présent Bulletin spécial du Guide sur l'administration des pensions de retraite. Le nouveau processus est décrit ci­après.

Responsabilités du Centre des pensions

Au Centre des pensions, les Services de soutien à l'employeur assurent la responsabilité de fournir l'information ainsi que le soutien connexe se rapportant aux activités suivantes des employeurs. Les spécialistes des pensions fourniront des renseignements généraux sur le régime de pension aux employeurs et les aideront à naviguer sur le Web. Les Services de soutien à l'employeur commenceront par offrir des services dans les domaines suivants :

  • Soutien des outils sur les pensions (Services de soutien à l'employeur, libre service sur le Web);
  • Services consultatifs (explications générales des règles du régime à l'appui de la saisie de données de qualité par le biais de sources d'information sur le Web);
  • Opérations (correction des données).

Nous tiendrons les employeurs informés des services additionnels qui seront fournis par les Services de soutien à l'employeur à mesure qu'ils seront disponibles.

Responsabilités de l'employeur

Les responsabilités principales de chaque employeur quant à la pension du participant au régime et à l'administration des prestations des participants au régime dans le cadre du régime de pension de retraite de la fonction publique consistent à:

  • Fournir des données épurées et exactes en temps opportun au Centre des pensions;
  • Retenir les cotisations des participants au régime (service courant, rachats de service et prestations supplémentaires de décès) de leurs traitements réguliers;
  • Amorcer, modifier et arrêter les transactions en fonction des activités du participant au régime (p. ex. congé non payé);
  • Fournir, à la demande du Centre des pensions, des précisions sur les données et l'information concernant les pensions;
  • Créer un code d'identification de dossier personnel au moyen du Système du fichier central; et
  • Consulter le site Web des Services de soutien à l'employeur.

Site Web des Services de soutien à l'employeur

La page Web des Services de soutien à l'employeur a été conçue à l'intention des employeurs à titre d'outil de référence générale et décrit les responsabilités de l'employeur se rapportant à des activités précises liées aux pensions des employés. La page Web explique en détail les nouveaux rôles de tous les employeurs assujettis à la Loi sur la pension de la fonction publique.

Puisque cette page Web représente la source principale d'information détaillée sur la pension pour les employeurs, il est toujours préférable de le consulter avant de communiquer directement avec les Services de soutien à l'employeur.

Nous tenons à préciser que les conseillers en rémunération doivent utiliser la ligne du Centre des pensions réservée aux participants actifs lorsqu'ils ont des questions en matière de pension portant sur le compte d'un employé en particulier.

Contacts pour les employeurs

À compter du 11 avril 2011, les questions générales relatives à la transmission des données sur les pensions pourront être dirigées aux Services de soutien à l'employeur au 1-877-427-1510.

Pour les questions se rapportant à un employé en particulier, veuillez communiquer avec le Centre des pensions en utilisant l'information pour les participants actifs.

Nota :

Les conseillers en rémunération ne devraient pas communiquer avec le Centre des pensions au nom des employés. Ils devraient plutôt référer les participants directement à la fiche des coordonnées des personnes-ressources du Centre des pensions, qui figure sur le portail Web Votre pension et vos avantages sociaux de la fonction publique.

Services de soutien à l'employeur - Normes et niveaux de service

  • Les demandes de renseignements téléphoniques seront traitées dans un délai de deux jours ouvrables.
  • Les demandes de renseignements sur le Web seront traitées dans un délai de cinq jours ouvrables.

Votre site Web

Les employeurs peuvent accéder au portail Web des Services de soutien à l'employeur par le biais du site Web du Secteur de la rémunération.

Le site Web du Secteur de la rémunération a été mis à jour afin d'y ajouter la nouvelle page Web des Services de soutien à l'employeur et sera disponible le 11 avril 2011. Pour les employeurs qui ne sont pas desservis par le Système régional de paye, le lien vers le portail sécurisé des sociétés d'État s'affichera en mai 2011.

Rôles et responsabilités
Activité Conseiller en rémunération Bureau de paye Centre des pensions
Fournir de l'information ou des données supplémentaires sur réception d'une demande provenant du Centre des pensions

(activité de correction des données)

Examiner le dossier et fournir l'information au Centre des pensions ou au bureau de paye

Mettre à jour le système de paye, au besoin

Remplir les formulaires et les faire parvenir au Centre des pensions, au besoin

Vérifier l'exactitude des données

Communiquer avec le conseiller en rémunération pour obtenir des précisions sur l'information, au besoin

Corriger le système de paye, au besoin

Trouver les écarts dans les données

Communiquer avec le bureau de paye ou le conseiller en rémunération pour demander les renseignements qui manquent ou pour corriger les écarts