Responding to access to information or privacy requests

The Access to Information Act provides Canadian citizens and permanent residents, all individuals as well as all corporations present in Canada, with the right of access to records under the control of a government institution subject to the Access to Information Act.

The Privacy Act provides Canadian citizens and permanent residents with a right of access to and correction of personal information about themselves that is under control of a government institution.

All access to information program requests are managed by departmental access to information and privacy which are listed on the Treasury Board website. The coordinators sit in the access to information program office but are responsible for an individual department.

The access to information program coordinators reach out to the relevant office of primary interest within their department.

The office of primary interest is responsible for reviewing the request and providing any requested information to the access to information program coordinators in accordance with either the Access to Information Act or Privacy Act. 

The office of primary interest may reach out to other areas within their department to assist in collecting the relevant information, including managers, human resources, finance and in the case of Public Services and Procurement Canada the Pay Centre.

Employee

If the employee wishes to make a request under either the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

Manager

Assist in retrieving information under an access to information program request (if required).

Note:  The request will have been received by the access to information program office and passed on to the office of primary interest within the relevant department.

If the manager does not have the information being requested or believes a different department may be in possession of the information. Advise the office of primary interest who will in turn advise the access to information program office.

Human resources

Assist in retrieving information under an access to information program request (if required).

Note:  The request will have been received by the access to information program office and passed on to the office of primary interest within the relevant department.

If human resources does not have the information being requested or believe a different department may be in possession of the information. Advise the office of primary interest who will in turn advise the access to information program office.

Finance

Assist in retrieving information under an access to information program request (if required).

Note:  The request will have been received by the access to information program office and passed on to the office of primary interest within the relevant department.

If finance does not have the information being requested or believes a different department may be in possession of the information. Advise the office of primary interest who will in turn advise the access to information program office.

Pay Centre

Assist in retrieving information under an access to information program request (if required).

Note:  The request will have been received by the Access to Information program office and passed on to the office of primary interest within the relevant department.

If the Pay Centre does not have the information being requested or believes a different department may be in possession of the information. Advise the office of primary interest who will in turn advise the Access to Information program office.

Date modified:

Répondre aux demandes d’information en vertu du programme d’accès à l’information et de protection des renseignements personnels

La Loi sur l’accès à l’information confère aux citoyens canadiens et aux résidents permanents ainsi qu’à toutes les personnes et à tous les organismes présents au Canada le droit d’accès aux dossiers qui relèvent d’une institution gouvernementale assujettie à la Loi.

Elle accorde aux citoyens canadiens et aux résidents permanents le droit d’accéder aux renseignements personnels qui les concernent et qui relèvent des institutions gouvernementales fédérales et de demander à ce que des corrections y soient apportées.

Toutes les demandes d’information du programme d’accès à l’information et de protection des renseignements personnels sont gérées par les accès à l'information et protection des renseignements personnels, dont la liste figure sur le site Web du Conseil du Trésor.

Les coordonnateurs siègent au Bureau de l’accès à l’information et de protection des renseignements personnels sont responsables d’un ministère en particulier.

Les coordonnateurs de l’accès à l’information et de protection des renseignements personnels communiquent avec le Bureau de première responsabilité au sein de leur ministère. Ce bureau est chargé d’examiner la demande et de fournir les renseignements demandés aux coordonnateurs de l’accès à l’information et de protection des renseignements personnels, conformément à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information ou à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Le Bureau de première responsabilité peut communiquer avec d’autres secteurs au sein de son ministère pour recueillir des renseignements pertinents : gestionnaires, ressources humaines, finances et, en ce qui a trait à Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada, le Centre des services de paye.

Employé

Si un employé souhaite faire une demande en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Gestionnaire

Aider dans la recherche de l’information visée par une demande d’accès à l’information et de protection des renseignements personnels (au besoin).

Remarque : La demande aura été reçue par le Bureau de l’accès à l’information et de protection des renseignements personnels et transmise, par la suite, au Bureau de l’accès à l’information et de protection des renseignements personnels du ministère concerné.

Si le gestionnaire ne dispose pas de l’information demandée ou s’il croit qu’un autre ministère pourrait être en possession de cette information, il devra en aviser le Bureau de l’accès à l’information et de protection des renseignements personnels, qui avisera à son tour le Bureau de l’accès à l’information et de protection des renseignements personnels.

Ressources humaines

Aider dans la recherche de l’information visée par une demande de l’accès à l’information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels (au besoin).

Remarque : La demande aura été reçue par le Bureau de l’accès à l’information et de protection des renseignements personnels et transmise, par la suite, au Bureau de l’accès à l’information et de protection des renseignements personnels du ministère concerné.

Si les ressources humaines ne disposent pas de l’information demandée ou si elles croient qu’un autre ministère pourrait être en possession de cette information, elles devront en aviser le Bureau de l’accès à l’information et de protection des renseignements personnels, qui avisera à son tour le Bureau de l’accès à l’information et de protection des renseignements personnels.

Finance

Aider dans le but de récupérer l’information visée par une demande de l’accès à l’information et de protection des renseignements personnels (au besoin).

Remarque : La demande aura été reçue par le Bureau de l’accès à l’information et de protection des renseignements personnels et transmise, par la suite, au Bureau de l’accès à l’information et de protection des renseignements personnels du ministère concerné.

Si le service des finances ne dispose pas de l’information demandée ou s’il croit qu’un autre ministère pourrait être en possession de cette information, il devra en aviser le Bureau de l’accès à l’information et de protection des renseignements personnels, qui avisera à son tour le Bureau de l’accès à l’information et de protection des renseignements personnels.

Centre des services de paye

Aider dans la recherche de l’information visée par une demande d’accès à l’information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels (au besoin).

Remarque : La demande aura été reçue par le Bureau de l’accès à l’information et de protection des renseignements personnels et transmise, par la suite, au Bureau de l’accès à l’information et de protection des renseignements personnels du ministère concerné.

Si le Centre des services de paye ne dispose pas de l’information demandée ou s’il croit qu’un autre ministère pourrait être en possession de cette information, il devra en aviser le Bureau de l’accès à l’information et de protection des renseignements personnels, qui avisera à son tour le Bureau de l’accès à l’information et de protection des renseignements personnels.

Date de modification :