Acting in a position

Information: Life events disclaimer

The following material is intended to provide you with information about some of the common types of change in employment situations and the effects it will have on your employment.

I have been asked by my manager to act in a position with a higher classification level. How is the salary for my acting pay calculated?

The promotion or deployment calculations are used to determine the rate of pay in an acting position.

Generally speaking, a promotion occurs when the maximum rate of pay of the position you are moving to exceeds the maximum rate of pay of the position you are leaving by:

  • the lowest pay increment of the new position; or
  • 4% of the maximum rate of the new position if there is only one rate of pay i.e. GL, GS, HP, HS; or
  • 4% of the maximum rate of the new position where the appointment is to a group governed by performance pay i.e. AS-07, PE-06, FI-04 etc

Reference 2.2.3 and 2.2.4 of the Directive on Terms and Conditions of Employment.

Please note that some classifications such as Executive Group, Law Group and others have specific calculations identified in their terms and conditions of employment or salary administration plan relative to their appointments.

I have been asked to continue acting in the higher level position; however, my salary has reverted back to my basic pay rate. Why is this?

The Pay Centre can only pay acting pay for an identified period and only when all documentation is received authorizing the payment. As pay is processed in advance, unless authorization is received to continue payment at least three weeks in advance of the initial end date, action to revert your salary to the basic rate will be automatically initiated.

I received payment for 10 days acting pay and am entitled to 4 of those days. When will the additional days be recovered from my pay cheque?

It is the practice of the Pay Centre to revert the salary to the basic pay rate in the pay period following the acting pay cessation date. The additional days of acting pay that may result from this process will be recovered from the next regular pay cheque.

I have been asked to continue acting in the same position which will take me beyond a year. Am I entitled to a pay increment?

While in an acting situation you will continue to receive pay increments in your substantive (basic) level. You may also be entitled to receive a pay increment in the acting level. This is dependent on where you are on the scale of rates in your substantive (base) level. The Pay Centre will perform various calculations and apply specific rules based on these calculations. Reference 6.4.1 and 6.4.2 of the Directive on Terms and Conditions of Employment.

If I receive a pay increment or a salary revision in my substantive (base) level, will my acting pay rate be recalculated?

If you receive a pay increment or a salary revision in your substantive (base) level, your acting pay rate will be recalculated and your acting pay rate will be adjusted accordingly. If as a result of the recalculation the rate is less, you will continue to receive the rate prior to the recalculation. Reference 6.3.1 of the Directive on Terms and Conditions of Employment.

If there is a revision to the salary range in my acting classification, am I entitled to it?

You are entitled to a revision to the salary range of the acting level. Reference 6.3.2 of the Directive on Terms and Conditions of Employment.

What collective agreement will I be covered by while acting?

You will be subject to the terms and conditions of employment or the collective agreement of the acting group, except while acting in the Executive Group. While acting in the Executive Group, you will remain covered by the terms and conditions of employment or the collective agreement of your basic level; however, you will not be entitled to overtime, call back, reporting pay, standby, shift premiums, travelling time or any other cash compensation which is dependent on completing a specified number of hours in a normal workweek. Reference 6.8.1 and 6.8.2 of the Directive on Terms and Conditions of Employment.

While acting, I have been asked to act at a higher level for a short period of time, after which I will revert back to my first acting duties. How will my pay rate be calculated for the second acting period and will it affect my first acting rate?

The rate of pay for the second acting will be calculated using your substantive (base) salary. If after the calculation the rate of acting is less than the first acting rate, you will be paid at the rate in the second acting level that is nearest to, but not less than, what you were making in the first acting.

Once you revert to your previous acting duties, you will receive the rate you were previously receiving before you had left that position. Reference 6.5.b of the Directive on Terms and Conditions of Employment.

I have been acting in a position and have now been promoted or deployed to a position at a higher group and level than the acting position. How will my pay be calculated?

Your rate of pay will be calculated using your substantive (base) salary. If after the calculation the rate is less than the acting rate you were previously receiving, you will be paid at the rate that is nearest to, but not less than, your previous acting rate. Reference 6.6.1.b of the Directive on Terms and Conditions of Employment.

If I am promoted or deployed to a new substantive (base) position that has a lower maximum rate of pay than my current acting rate and, will my acting rate of pay be recalculated?

The acting rate will be recalculated based on your new substantive (base) position. If the recalculation results in a rate of pay that is equal to or less than your previous acting rate of pay, you will retain the previous established acting rate and pay and increment date. Reference 6.6.2 of the Directive on Terms and Conditions of Employment.

Date modified:

Rémunération d’intérim

Information : Avertissement événements de la vie

La section Évènements de la vie du site web du Centre des services de paye de la fonction publique a été élaborée pour vous fournir des renseignements généraux au sujet de la paye et vous guider dans les divers processus liés à la paye. Veuillez prendre note que les renseignements fournis ne sont pas exhaustifs et qu'ils doivent être lus en parallèle avec votre convention collective ou vos conditions d’emploi particulières. Si le contenu contredit les autorités compétentes, les autorités compétentes ont préséance.

Mon gestionnaire m'a demandé d'occuper un poste intérimaire ayant un niveau de classification plus élevé. Comment ma rémunération d’intérim sera-t-elle calculée?

Les calculs relatifs à la promotion ou à la mutation sont utilisés pour déterminer le taux de rémunération d’intérim.

Généralement, une promotion se produit lorsque le taux de rémunération maximum du poste auquel vous êtes nommé dépasse le taux de rémunération maximum du poste que vous quittez de :

  • la plus faible augmentation de salaire du nouveau poste; ou
  • 4 % du taux maximum du nouveau poste, lorsqu'il n'y a qu'un taux de salaire (groupes GL, GS, HP et HS); ou
  • 4 % du taux maximum du nouveau poste, lorsque la nomination vise un groupe régi par un régime de rémunération au rendement (p. ex. AS-07, PE-06 et FI 04).

Voir les sections 6.2, 2.2.3 et 2.2.4 de la Directive sur les conditions d’emploi.

Les conditions d'emploi de certaines classifications (Groupe de la direction ou groupe Droit) prévoient des calculs précis en ce qui a trait aux nominations.

On m'a demandé de continuer à occuper le poste de niveau plus élevé de façon intérimaire; toutefois, mon salaire est retourné à mon taux de rémunération de base. Pourquoi?

Le Centre des services de paye peut seulement verser une rémunération d’intérim pour une période déterminée, et ce, seulement lorsque tous les documents ont été reçus pour autoriser le versement. Étant donné que la paye est traitée à l'avance, à moins qu'une autorisation soit accordée pour poursuivre le versement du paiement au moins trois semaines avant la date de fin initiale, l'intervention visant à retourner à votre taux de rémunération de base sera automatiquement entamée.

J'ai été rémunéré pour dix jours de rémunération d’intérim, mais je n'ai droit qu'à quatre de ces jours. Quand les jours excédentaires seront-ils déduits de mon chèque de paye?

La pratique du Centre des services de paye consiste à retourner au taux de rémunération de base à la période de paye suivant la date de fin de la rémunération d’intérim. Les jours supplémentaires de rémunération d’intérim qui peuvent découler de ce processus seront déduits du chèque de paye ordinaire suivant.

On m'a demandé de continuer à occuper le même poste de façon intérimaire; j'aurai donc occupé ce poste pendant plus d'un an. Ai-je droit à une augmentation de salaire?

Dans le cas d’une nomination intérimaire, vous continuerez à recevoir des augmentations de salaire à votre niveau de titularisation (de base). Vous pourriez également avoir droit à une augmentation de salaire à votre niveau intérimaire. Cela dépend de votre échelon à votre niveau de titularisation (de base). Le Centre des services de paye effectuera divers calculs et appliquera des règles précises reposant sur ces calculs. Voir les sections 6.4.1 et 6.4.2 de la Directive sur les conditions d’emploi.

Si je reçois une augmentation de salaire ou une révision de salaire à mon niveau de titularisation (de base), mon taux de rémunération d’intérim sera-t-il recalculé?

Si vous recevez une augmentation ou une révision de salaire à votre niveau de titularisation (de base), votre taux de rémunération d’intérim sera recalculé et rajusté en conséquence. Si, après le nouveau calcul, votre taux est plus bas, vous continuerez à recevoir le taux antérieur au nouveau calcul. Voir la section 6.3.1 de la Directive sur les conditions d’emploi.

Si l'échelle de rémunération de ma classification intérimaire est révisée, y ai-je droit?

Vous avez droit à une révision de l'échelle salariale du niveau intérimaire. Voir la section 6.3.2 de la Directive sur les conditions d’emploi.

Par quelle convention collective serai-je protégé pendant ma nomination intérimaire?

Vous serez assujetti aux conditions d'emploi ou à la convention collective du groupe intérimaire, sauf si vous occupez un poste intérimaire dans le groupe Direction (EX). Pendant une nomination intérimaire au sein du groupe Direction, vous demeurerez assujetti aux conditions d'emploi ou à la convention collective de votre niveau de base; toutefois, vous n'aurez pas le droit d’être rémunéré pour les heures supplémentaires et les rappels au travail et ne pourrez pas toucher d'indemnité de rentrée au travail, d’indemnité de disponibilité, de primes de poste, d’indemnité liée au temps de déplacement ou toute autre rémunération en espèces qui requiert l’achèvement d’un nombre précis d'heures dans une semaine normale de travail. Voir les sections 6.8.1 et 6.8.2 de la Directive sur les conditions d’emploi.

Pendant ma nomination intérimaire, on m'a demandé d'occuper un poste de niveau supérieur pendant une courte période, après laquelle je réintégrerai mes fonctions intérimaires initiales. Comment sera calculé mon taux de rémunération pendant la deuxième période d'intérim et quelle sera l’incidence sur mon premier taux de rémunération?

Le taux de rémunération de la deuxième période d'intérim sera calculé au moyen du salaire de votre poste d'attache (de base). Si, après le calcul, le taux provisoire est inférieur au premier taux provisoire, vous serez rémunéré au taux du deuxième niveau d'intérim le plus proche de votre premier taux, sans toutefois y être inférieur.

Lorsque vous reprendrez vos fonctions intérimaires précédentes, vous recevrez le taux que vous receviez avant de quitter ce poste. Voir la section 6.5.b de la Directive sur les conditions d’emploi.

J'occupais un poste intérimaire et j'ai maintenant été promu ou muté à un poste de groupe et niveau supérieurs à mon poste intérimaire actuel. Comment mon salaire sera t il calculé?

Votre taux de rémunération sera calculé au moyen du salaire de votre poste d'attache (de base). Si, après le calcul, le taux est inférieur au taux provisoire que vous receviez, vous serez rémunéré au taux le plus proche de votre taux provisoire précédent, sans toutefois y être inférieur. Voir la section 6.6.1.b de la Directive sur les conditions d’emploi.

Si je suis promu ou muté à un nouveau poste d'attache (de base) ayant un taux de rémunération maximum inférieur à ma rémunération d’intérim actuelle, mon taux de rémunération d’intérim sera-t-il recalculé?

Le taux provisoire sera recalculé en fonction de votre nouveau poste d'attache (de base). Si le nouveau calcul donne lieu à un taux de rémunération égal ou inférieur à votre taux de rémunération d’intérim précédent, vous conserverez le taux provisoire établi précédemment et la date d'augmentation d'échelon. Voir la section 6.6.2 de la Directive sur les conditions d’emploi.

Date de modification :