Maternity and parental leave

From Public Services and Procurement Canada

If you are a public servant who is expecting or preparing to take leave to care for a newborn or adopted child, find out what to do to ensure you get the appropriate time and benefits.

Disclaimer: Pay and changes in your life

About maternity and parental leave

Maternity leave is unpaid leave that allows employees time for pregnancy, childbirth, post-childbirth recuperation, adoption and childcare.

Parental leave without pay is unpaid leave that allows an employee time to care for their newly born or adopted child.

Your manager must grant maternity and parental leave to you upon request.

Maximum duration of maternity and parental leave

Maternity leave: You may begin your maternity leave without pay before, on the day, or after your pregnancy ends. Your leave without pay must end no later than 18 weeks after your pregnancy ends.

Parental leave following maternity leave: You are entitled to 52 weeks of combined maternity and parental leave following the date of your child’s birth.

Parental leave not following maternity leave: You may take up to 37 weeks of leave without pay in the 52-week period following the date of your child’s birth. At the discretion of your employer, you may take this leave in 2 periods.

Care of family (or equivalent): You may take leave without pay for care of family if you wish to extend your leave beyond the 52 week period after the date of birth of the child. Please refer to your collective agreement for details.

Exceptions: If your newborn needs to be hospitalized, your maternity or parental leave may be extended if certain conditions are met. Check your collective agreement specific to your classification group.

Parental leave for adoption: You may take up to 37 weeks of leave without pay in the 52-week period beginning on the day a child you are in the process of adopting comes into your care. At the discretion of your employer, you may take this leave in 2 periods. In addition, a provincially legal adoption process must be underway before you request this leave.

Maximum duration of maternity and parental leave More information

  • Collective agreements for the public service: (Note: not all collective agreements are listed here) Check your collective agreement, terms and conditions of employment and other legally binding rules specific to your classification group

Combining maternity leave with other forms of leave

Most collective agreements and terms and conditions of employment provide for the use of sick, annual or compensatory leave for a period preceding or following the end of a pregnancy.

Combining maternity leave with other forms of leave More information

  • Collective agreements for the public service: (Note: not all collective agreements are listed here) Check your collective agreement, terms and conditions of employment and other legally binding rules specific to your classification group

About the maternity and parental allowance

Refer to your collective agreement to confirm eligibility criteria for the maternity or parental allowance. Generally, to be eligible for the maternity or parental allowance, you must:

About the maternity and parental allowance More information

Allowances and rates of pay

In general, the maternity or parental allowance consists of:

  • 93% of your weekly rate of pay for the waiting period under the Supplemental Unemployment Benefit Plan (that is, 1 week), minus any earnings made during this period
  • the difference between 93% of your weekly rate of pay and the maternity or parental benefit that you are eligible for under the EI or the Quebec Parental Insurance Plan (QPIP), minus any earnings made during this period

If you are considering the extended option for EI parental benefits, please note that the maximum combined maternity and parental allowances payable will remain at 52 weeks, which includes 35 weeks of parental allowance.

More information

Acting

If you have been acting for more than 4 months, including the day immediately preceding the maternity or parental leave, your allowance will generally be based on your acting rate of pay.

Pay increments or revisions

Your maternity or parental allowance will be adjusted to reflect changes to your salary following a pay increment or revision.

Allowances and rates of pay More information

  • Collective agreements for the public service: (Note: not all collective agreements are listed here) Check your collective agreement, terms and conditions of employment and other legally binding rules specific to your classification group

Disability and maternity and parental leave and allowances

Most collective agreements and terms and conditions of employment contain special provisions for totally disabled employees requesting a maternity or parental allowance.

Disability and maternity and parental leave and allowances More information

  • Collective agreements for the public service: (Note: not all collective agreements are listed here) Check your collective agreement, terms and conditions of employment and other legally binding rules specific to your classification group

Medical appointment leave for pregnant employees

Generally, you are allowed up to 3.75 hours of leave with pay to attend routine medical appointments related to your pregnancy. If you need to book a series of appointments for the treatment of a particular condition relating to the pregnancy, you should use sick leave to account for your time off work.

Medical appointment leave for pregnant employees More information

In this section, learn what you need to do to ensure you get the appropriate leave and allowances.

Notify your manager about your planned leave as soon as possible or at least 6 weeks before your expected leave date. Your manager must approve your request for leave. Once this is done, work with your manager and human resources personnel, including your department’s trusted source, to ensure the Pay Centre receives the necessary documentation and information before your leave begins.

Assessing the impact of maternity or parental leave on your pay, insurances and benefits

You will receive a benefit letter outlining what happens to your pay, insurance and benefits as a result of your leave without pay. You may also contact the Pay Centre for an assessment of the impact your leave may have on these benefits.

Obtaining a Record of Employment

You need a Record of Employment (ROE) to claim benefits under EI or the Quebec Parental Insurance Plan. A ROE establishes your eligibility and level of benefits. You can, however, apply for benefits even if your ROE has not yet been issued.

A web-based record of employment will be issued on your behalf within 5 calendar days of the end of the pay period during which the earnings are interrupted and retained by Economic and Social Development Canada.

Obtaining a Record of Employment More information

Recording your leave

Before you begin your leave, ensure the information in your departmental leave system is accurate and up to date. It is your responsibility to request and receive authorization for any absences.

In addition, complete a leave application and absence report (GC-178) and submit it to your manager before you begin your leave. Your manager will be responsible for approving your leave request and having it submitted through your trusted source, under cover of a pay action request form, to the Pay Centre. Upon receipt, a compensation advisor will record your maternity or parental leave without pay in the system

Recording your leave More information

  • Leave application and absence report (Form GC-178) (accessible in PDF format and only on the Government of Canada network)

Completing your return-to-work agreement

You must complete, sign and return a return-to-work agreement under cover of a pay action request form. Without this agreement in place, the Pay Centre will be unable to issue any maternity or parental allowance.

If you do not fulfill your return-to-work agreement, you will have to repay part, or all of the allowance, as applicable. Check your collective agreement or terms and conditions of employment for more information.

Term employees

Before receiving the maternity or parental allowance, make sure your term of employment extends long enough for you to fulfill your return-to-work agreement. You may retroactively receive the maternity or parental allowance if applicable.

If you cannot fulfill your return-to-work agreement because your term of employment expires before the date in which the agreement is fulfilled, you will have to repay part or all of the allowance.

Completing your return-to-work agreement More information

  • Collective agreements for the public service: (Note: not all collective agreements are listed here) Check your collective agreement, terms and conditions of employment and other legally binding rules specific to your classification group

Obtaining the maternity or parental allowance

To initiate payment of the maternity or parental allowance, submit the following documents to the Pay Centre:

  • an original EI payment stub or letter confirming your eligibility for EI, if applicable
  • an original Quebec Parental Insurance Plan (QPIP) payment stub or letter from QPIP confirming your eligibility, if applicable
  • a pay action request form (PAR)

Save all your subsequent EI/QPIP payment stubs. You must submit all of your payment stubs to the Pay Centre by the end of your maternity/parental leave, under cover of a PAR form. We need these stubs so that we can reconcile your allowance payments.

If you do not submit the payment stubs or EI/QPIP letter confirming your eligibility, we will treat the allowances you received as an overpayment (Debt to the Crown.)

Getting an advance on the maternity or parental allowance

Send your return-to-work agreement and leave application and absence report to the Pay Centre. We will estimate and advance your maternity or parental allowance while you are waiting for EI or QPIP to confirm your eligibility or issue you a first payment.

Reconciling an advance

If you received an advance on your maternity or parental allowance, the Pay Centre will reconcile this advance against what your original payments should have been.

This reconciliation will occur once you provide proof of receipt of EI or QPIP benefits. Should there be an underpayment or overpayment, the Pay Centre will adjust your next payment accordingly. If an overpayment occurs and there are not enough maternity or parental allowances left to adjust before you return to work, we will give you repayment options for this overpayment.

Notifying your pay and benefits providers

You will need to submit information and certain documents (example: a copy of your child’s birth certificate) to the Pay Centre and your insurers. These documents ensure an accurate calculation of your pay, benefits and insurance coverage for you and members of your family. For more information, refer to Becoming a parent.

Important forms

Work with your manager to ensure you complete the following form. Your trusted source must submit it to the Pay Centre before you begin your maternity or parental leave:

  • Leave application and absence report (Form GC-178) (accessible in PDF format and only on the Government of Canada network)

A compensation advisor will provide you with the following forms to complete and return to the Pay Centre:

  • Public Service Health Care Plan: Leave without pay option form (if applicable)
  • Return to work agreement
  • Employee statement for Quebec Parental Insurance Plan (for all residents of Quebec)

Important: Send these forms under cover of a pay action request form.

Related links

Date modified:

Congé de maternité et congé parental

De Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Si vous êtes fonctionnaire et que vous attendez un enfant ou que vous pensez prendre un congé pour prendre soin d’un nouveau-né ou un d’un enfant adopté, découvrez ce que vous devez faire pour vous assurer d’obtenir les congés et les indemnités appropriés.

Avertissement : Votre paye et les changements dans votre vie

À propos du congé de maternité et parental

Le congé de maternité est un congé non payé qui donne aux employées du temps pour la grossesse, l’accouchement, le rétablissement après l’accouchement, l’adoption et la garde d’un enfant.

Le congé parental est un congé non payé qui donne aux employés du temps pour prendre soin de leur nouveau-né ou d’un enfant adopté.

Votre gestionnaire doit accorder un congé de maternité ou un congé parental sur demande.

Durée maximale du congé de maternité et parental

Congé de maternité : Vous pouvez commencer votre congé de maternité non payé avant la fin de la grossesse, le jour de la fin de la grossesse, ou après la fin de la grossesse. Votre congé non payé doit se terminer au plus tard 18 semaines après la fin de la grossesse.

Congé parental suivant un congé de maternité : Vous avez droit à 52 semaines de congé de maternité et parental combiné après la date de la naissance de votre enfant.

Congé parental ne suivant pas un congé de maternité : Vous avez droit de prendre jusqu’à 37 semaines de congé non payé pendant la période de 52 semaines suivant la date de la naissance de votre enfant. À la discrétion de votre employeur, vous pouvez prendre ce congé en deux périodes.

Congé pour s’occuper de la famille (ou l’équivalent) : Vous pouvez prendre un congé non payé pour vous occuper de votre famille si vous souhaitez prolonger votre congé au-delà de la période de 52 semaines suivant la naissance de l’enfant. Reportez-vous à votre convention collective pour en savoir plus à ce sujet.

Exceptions : Si votre nouveau-né doit être hospitalisé, votre congé de maternité ou parental peut être prolongé si certaines conditions sont respectées. Consultez la convention collective propre à votre groupe de classification.

Congé parental aux fins d’adoption : Vous pouvez prendre jusqu’à 37 semaines de congé non payé pendant la période de 52 semaines commençant le jour où l’enfant pour lequel une procédure d’adoption est en cours vous est confié. À la discrétion de votre employeur, vous pouvez prendre ce congé en deux 2 périodes. De plus, un processus d’adoption légal à l’échelle provinciale doit être en cours avant que vous demandiez ce congé.

Durée maximale du congé de maternité et parental Renseignements supplémentaires

  • Conventions collectives de la fonction publique : (Remarque : Les conventions collectives ne sont pas toutes énumérées ici.) Veuillez consulter votre convention collective, vos conditions d’emploi et les autres règles juridiquement contraignantes propres à votre groupe de classification.

Combinaison du congé de maternité avec d’autres formes de congé

La plupart des conventions collectives et des conditions d’emploi permettent l’utilisation des crédits de congé annuel, de congé de maladie et de congé compensatoire pendant la période précédant ou suivant la fin d’une grossesse.

Combinaison du congé de maternité avec d’autres formes de congé Renseignements supplémentaires

  • Conventions collectives de la fonction publique : (Remarque : Les conventions collectives ne sont pas toutes énumérées ici.) Veuillez consulter votre convention collective, vos conditions d’emploi et les autres règles juridiquement contraignantes propres à votre groupe de classification.

À propos de l’indemnité de maternité et parentale

Consultez votre convention collective pour confirmer les critères d’admissibilité pour l’indemnité de maternité ou parentale. De façon générale, pour être admissible à une indemnité de maternité ou parentale, vous devez :

À propos de l’indemnité de maternité et parentale Renseignements supplémentaires

Indemnités et taux de rémunération

En général, l’indemnité de maternité ou parentale se compose de ce qui suit :

  • 93 % de votre taux de rémunération hebdomadaire pour la période d’attente au titre du régime de prestations supplémentaires de chômage (c’est-à-dire une semaine), moins toute autre somme touchée durant cette période;
  • la différence entre 93 % de votre taux de rémunération hebdomadaire et les prestations auxquelles vous êtes admissibles au titre de l’Assurance-emploi ou du Régime québécois d’assurance parentale, moins toute autre somme touchée durant cette période.

Si vous étudiez la possibilité de vous prévaloir aux prestations parentales prolongées de l’assurance-emploi, veuillez noter que le maximum d’indemnité de maternité et d’indemnité parentale payable ne change pas, c’est-à-dire qu’il ne dépasse pas 52 semaines, incluant les 35 semaines de prestations parentales.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Assurance-emploi : Prestations de maternité et parentales

Affectation intérimaire

Si vous êtes en affectation intérimaire depuis plus de 4 mois, comprenant le jour précédant immédiatement le congé de maternité ou parental, votre indemnité sera généralement basée sur votre taux de rémunération intérimaire.

Augmentations ou révisions de la rémunération

Votre indemnité de maternité ou parentale sera rajustée en fonction des changements apportés à votre salaire en raison d’une augmentation ou d’une révision de la rémunération.

Indemnités et taux de rémunération Renseignements supplémentaires

  • Conventions collectives de la fonction publique : (Remarque : Les conventions collectives ne sont pas toutes énumérées ici.) Veuillez consulter votre convention collective, vos conditions d’emploi et les autres règles juridiquement contraignantes propres à votre groupe de classification.

Congé d’invalidité et congé de maternité et parental et indemnités connexes

La majorité des conventions collectives et des conditions d’emploi contiennent des clauses spéciales pour les employés totalement invalides qui demandent une indemnité de maternité ou parentale.

Congé d’invalidité et congé de maternité et parental et indemnités connexes Renseignements supplémentaires

  • Conventions collectives de la fonction publique : (Remarque : Les conventions collectives ne sont pas toutes énumérées ici.) Veuillez consulter votre convention collective, vos conditions d’emploi et les autres règles juridiquement contraignantes propres à votre groupe de classification.

Rendez-vous médical pour les employées enceintes

En règle générale, vous aurez droit à du temps libre payé pendant au plus 3,75 heures pour vous rendre à vos rendez-vous médicaux de routine relatifs à votre grossesse. Si vous devez prendre une série de rendez-vous pour le traitement d’une condition particulière liée à votre grossesse, vous devriez utiliser vos congés de maladie.

Rendez-vous médical pour les employées enceintes Renseignements supplémentaires

Dans cette section, vous apprendrez ce qu’il faut faire pour vous assurer d’obtenir les congés et les indemnités appropriés.

Avisez votre gestionnaire de votre congé prévu dès que possible ou au moins 6 semaines avant la date prévue de votre congé. Votre gestionnaire doit approuver votre demande de congé. Lorsque c’est fait, collaborez avec votre gestionnaire et le personnel des ressources humaines, y compris la source fiable de votre ministère, afin de veiller à ce que le Centre des services de paye reçoive la documentation et l’information nécessaires avant le début de votre congé.

Évaluation de l’incidence de votre congé de maternité ou parental sur votre paye, vos assurances et vos avantages sociaux

Vous recevrez une lettre sur les avantages sociaux décrivant les conséquences sur votre paye, vos assurances et vos avantages sociaux découlant de votre congé sans paye. Vous pouvez aussi communiquer avec le Centre des services de paye pour une évaluation de l’incidence que pourrait avoir votre congé sur ces avantages sociaux.

Obtention d’un relevé d’emploi

Il vous faut un relevé d’emploi (RE) pour pouvoir demander des prestations au titre de l’Assurance emploi ou du Régime québécois d’assurance parentale. Un RE établit votre admissibilité et le niveau des avantages sociaux. Vous pouvez cependant demander des prestations même si votre RE n’a pas encore été émis.

Un relevé d’emploi en ligne sera émis en votre nom dans les cinq jours civils suivant la fin de la période de paye durant laquelle les revenus sont interrompus et retenus par Emploi et Développement social Canada.

Obtention d’un relevé d’emploi Renseignements supplémentaires

Consignation de votre congé

Avant de partir en congé, vérifiez que l’information dans votre système ministériel de gestion des congés est exacte et à jour. Il vous incombe de faire autoriser vos absences.

Vous devez en outre remplir une demande de congé et un rapport d’absence (GC-178) et le soumettre à votre gestionnaire avant le début de votre congé. Votre gestionnaire aura la responsabilité d’approuver votre demande de congé et d’organiser sa soumission par l’intermédiaire de votre source fiable, au moyen d’un formulaire de demande d’intervention de paye, au Centre des services de paye. À la suite de sa réception, un conseiller en rémunération consignera votre congé de maternité ou congé parental non payé dans le système.

Consignation de votre congé Renseignements supplémentaires

  • Demande de congé et rapport d’absence (formulaire GCGC-178) (accessible en format PDF uniquement sur le réseau du gouvernement du Canada)

Exécution de votre entente de retour au travail

Vous devez remplir, signer et retourner une entente de retour au travail au moyen d’un formulaire de demande d’intervention de paye. En l’absence de cet accord, le Centre des Services de paye ne sera pas en mesure d’émettre l’indemnité de maternité ou parentale.

Si vous ne respectez pas votre entente de retour au travail, vous devrez rembourser une partie ou la totalité de l’indemnité, selon le cas. Veuillez vérifier votre convention collective ou vos conditions d’emploi pour en savoir plus.

Employés nommés pour une période déterminée

Avant de recevoir l’indemnité de maternité ou parentale, assurez-vous que votre mandat couvre une période assez longue vous permettre de respecter votre entente de retour au travail. Vous pourriez recevoir rétroactivement l’indemnité s’il y a lieu.

Si vous n’êtes pas en mesure de respecter l’entente de retour au travail parce que votre mandat expire avant la date de fin de l’entente, vous devrez rembourser une partie ou la totalité de l’indemnité.

Exécution de votre entente de retour au travail Renseignements supplémentaires

  • Conventions collectives de la fonction publique : (Remarque : Les conventions collectives ne sont pas toutes énumérées ici.) Veuillez consulter votre convention collective, vos conditions d’emploi et les autres règles juridiquement contraignantes propres à votre groupe de classification.

Obtention de l’indemnité de maternité et parentale

Pour lancer le paiement de l’indemnité de maternité ou parentale, soumettez les documents suivants au Centre des services de paye :

  • un relevé de paiement de l’Assurance-emploi original ou une lettre confirmant votre admissibilité à l’Assurance-emploi, le cas échéant;
  • un relevé de paiement du Régime québécois d’assurance parentale original ou une lettre du régime confirmant votre admissibilité, le cas échéant;
  • un formulaire de demande d’intervention de paye (DIP).

Conservez tous vos relevés de paiement de l’Assurance-emploi et du Régime québécois d’assurance parentale subséquents. Vous devez soumettre tous vos relevés de paiement au Centre des services de paye d’ici la fin de votre congé de maternité ou parental, au moyen d’un formulaire de DIP. Nous avons besoin de ces relevés pour rapprocher les versements de vos indemnités.

À défaut de recevoir les relevés de paiement ou la lettre de l’Assurance-emploi et du Régime québécois d’assurance parentale confirmant votre admissibilité, nous traiterons les indemnités que vous avez perçues comme un trop-payé (dette envers l’État).

Obtention d’une avance sur l’indemnité de maternité ou parentale

Envoyez votre entente de retour au travail ainsi que votre demande de congé et votre rapport d’absence au Centre des Services de paye. Nous estimerons et avancerons votre indemnité de maternité ou parentale pendant que vous attendez que l’Assurance-emploi ou le Régime québécois d’assurance parentale confirme votre admissibilité ou vous fasse parvenir un premier paiement.

Rapprochement d’une avance

Si vous avez reçu une avance sur votre indemnité de maternité ou parentale, le Centre des Services de paye rapprochera cette avance avec le montant des paiements initiaux qui auraient dû être versés.

Ce rapprochement aura lieu une fois que vous aurez fourni la preuve de réception des prestations de l’Assurance-emploi ou du Régime québécois d’assurance parentale. S’il y a moins-payé ou trop-payé, le Centre des Services de paye rajustera votre prochain paiement en conséquence. Si un trop-payé est versé et qu’il ne reste pas assez d’indemnités de maternité ou parentales à rajuster avant votre retour au travail, nous vous donnerons des options de remboursement pour ce trop-payé.

Avis à vos fournisseurs de paye et d’indemnités d’assurance

Vous devrez fournir des renseignements et certains documents (par exemple, une copie du certificat de naissance de votre enfant) au Centre des Services de paye et à vos assureurs. Ces documents assurent un calcul exact de votre paye, des avantages sociaux et de la couverture d’assurance pour vous et les membres de votre famille. Pour en savoir plus, consultez Devenir parent.

Formulaires importants

Collaborez avec votre gestionnaire pour vous assurer de remplir et de soumettre ces formulaires au Centre des services de paye avant le début de votre congé de maternité ou parental :

  • Demande de congé et rapport d’absence (formulaire GC-178) (accessible en format PDF uniquement sur le réseau du gouvernement du Canada)

Un conseiller en rémunération vous fournira les formulaires suivants à compléter et retourner au Centre des services de paye :

  • Régime de soins de santé de la fonction publique (le cas échéant)
  • Entente de retour au travail
  • Déclaration de l’employé pour le Régime québécois d’assurance parentale (pour tous les résidents du Québec)

Important : Envoyez ces formulaires au Centre des services de paye accompagnés du formulaire de demande d'intervention de paye.

Liens connexes

Date de modification :