Canadian Forces School of Aerospace Technology and Engineering

Fairness monitor final report, February 10, 2016

Addendum to final report, June 17, 2016

Submitted to Director, Fairness Monitoring Program

Submitted by Samson & Associates

Canadian Forces School of Aerospace Technology and EngineeringPDF version (427KB)
Alternative formats and plug-ins

On this page

1. Introduction

Samson & Associates was engaged as a Fairness Monitor (FM) on May 8, 2015 to observe the competitive selection process for Canadian Forces School of Aerospace Technology and Engineering (CFSATE) issued by Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) as a result of solicitation number W0113-14CS31. Samson & Associates is an independent third party with respect to this activity.

We reviewed all of the information provided and observed all relevant activities. We had full access to all aspects of the procurement process and co-operation from all stakeholders at the Department of National Defence (DND) and PSPC.

We hereby submit the final report, covering the activities of the FM, commencing with the Letter of Interest (LOI) and continuing through the evaluation phase of the request for proposal (RFP).

This report includes our attestation of assurance, a summary of the scope and objectives of our assignment, the methodologies applied and relevant observations from the activities undertaken.

2. Project requirement

CFSATE is a DND establishment located at Canadian Forces Base Borden (CFB Borden) that is part of 16 Wing and is operationally responsible for the 2 Canadian Air Division. The role of CFSATE is to provide the Royal Canadian Air Force (RCAF) with qualified aircraft maintenance personnel by developing and carrying out individual aerospace technical and engineering training in accordance with aviation and military approved doctrine and standards.

The school conducts apprentice level training for various trades, including Avionics Military Occupation Structure Identification Avionics (AVS) MOSID 00136, Aviation (AVN) MOSID 00135, Aircraft Structures (ACS) MOSID 00138 and Air Weapons (AWS) MOSID 00261 technicians as well as Aerospace Engineering Officers (AERE) MOSID 00185. CFSATE is bilingual as an institution, meaning that different facets of training, administration and operations involve the use of both official languages. CFSATE’s vision is tied to the evolving needs of the RCAF; its commitment to people, efficiency and responsiveness enables the creation and continuous operation of a dedicated, modern, bilingual training environment for all future aircraft technicians and aerospace engineers.

CFSATE has a requirement for the provision of professional services, on an ‘as and when requested’ basis, to provide course management and course delivery to military personnel, course review and design as well as administrative and technology support.

3. Attestation of assurance

The FM hereby provides the following unqualified assurance statement concerning the competitive selection process for Canadian Forces School of Aerospace Technology and Engineering, commencing with the Letter of Interest and continuing through the evaluation phase of the request for proposal.

It is our professional opinion that the competitive selection process we observed for the above services, was carried out in a fair, open and transparent manner.

Original signed by
Mathieu Farley, CPA, CA, CIA, CISA
FM Team Leader
Partner, Audit & Advisory
Samson & Associates

Original signed by
Ted Pender
FM Specialist

4. Methodology

Samson & Associates was engaged as a FM to observe the competitive selection process for CFSATE and to attest to the fairness, openness and transparency of this monitored activity.

In accordance with the terms of our engagement, we familiarized ourselves with the relevant documents and observed procurement activities (e.g. LOI publication, Q&A process, Industry Day and related minutes and one-on-one session, RFP publication and related Q&A process), identified fairness-related matters to the contracting and technical authorities and ensured that responses and actions were reasonable and appropriate.

4.1 Fairness monitor activities and findings related to the letter of interest phase

The LOI was posted on buyandsell.gc.ca on June 1, 2015. The closing date was extended through amendments until July 13, 2015.

The LOI advised prospective proponents of an Industry Day, which was held on June 18, 2015. The minutes of the Industry Day advised bidders that one-on-one sessions could be requested.

Thirteen questions were submitted and responded to during the process. A total of six amendments were issued during the LOI Phase.

The FM attended the Industry Day and the sole one-on-one session held by PSPC, to ensure fairness-related considerations were satisfactorily addressed. The one-on-one session was held on July 28, 2015 and was the concluding event of the LOI Phase of the acquisition process. The FM reviewed the LOI, related amendments and all questions and answers provided during the period to ensure fairness-related considerations were satisfactorily addressed.

No fairness issues resulted from any of the noted observations.

Observation : The LOI document was written in a clear and understandable manner. All questions submitted were responded to in a clear and understandable fashion and responses were provided to all proponents through the amendments issued.

Fairness monitor summary of findings: It is the opinion of the FM that the LOI Phase for the CFSATE contract was conducted in a fair manner. In this context, fairness refers to decisions being made objectively, free from bias, favouritism or influence and conform to established rules.

4.2 Fairness monitor activities and findings related to the request for proposal phase

The RFP was posted on buyandsell.gc.ca on October 14, 2015. The initial closing date of December 3, 2015 was extended through amendments until December 11, 2015. There were eight amendments issued, the last of which was posted to buyandsell.gc.ca on December 7, 2015.

The responses to 13 questions submitted during the question period were provided through the amendment process. The FM reviewed the RFP, related amendments and all questions and answers provided during the bidding period to ensure fairness-related considerations were satisfactorily addressed.

No fairness issues resulted from any of the noted observations.

Observation: The RFP document was written in a clear and understandable manner. All questions submitted were responded to in a clear and understandable fashion through the amendment process.

FM Summary of Findings: It is the opinion of the FM that the RFP Phase for the CFSATE requirement was conducted in a fair manner. In this context, fairness refers to decisions being made objectively, free from bias, favouritism or influence and conformed to established rules.

4.3 Fairness monitor activities and findings related to the request for proposal evaluation phase

There was only one bid submitted in response to the RFP.

The bid was evaluated individually by the three evaluators, who met on January 13, 2016, to determine whether the bidder had met the mandatory and rated requirements. The FM and the contracting authority were also in attendance; the FM participation was via teleconference.

As a result of the evaluation consensus meeting, a successful proponent was selected based on the criteria and methodology stated in the RFP.

No fairness issues were identified.

Observation: The instructions and tools of the evaluators were complete, respected the terms of the RFP and were consistent with the principles and practices of fairness, and they were executed fairly. Evaluation criteria, weighting and points awarded complied fully with what had been established in the RFP. The evaluation was performed as described by the RFP and the scoring was performed in strict accordance with the criteria. Consensus discussions were open, all evaluators were present, and a consensus was reached for all the criteria.

Fairness monitor summary of findings: It is the opinion of the FM that the Evaluation Phase for the CFSATE requirement was conducted in a fair manner. In this context, fairness refers to decisions being made objectively, free from bias, favouritism or influence and conforming to established rules.

5. Reference documents

The following documents are referenced by number in this report and unless otherwise indicated, are available through PSPC.

Table summary

The following table includes a list of documents referred to in the report such as the request for proposal (RFP), amendments, clarification letters, debriefing letters, etc. Each row is numbered, followed by the document title, then a document identifier such as a date or document number.

No. Document Date
1 Letter of Interest Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on June 1, 2015
2 Amendment No. 001 Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on June 16, 2015
3 Amendment No. 002 Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on June 23, 2015
4 Amendment No. 003 Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on June 29, 2015
5 Amendment No. 004 Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on July 6, 2015
6 Amendment No. 005 Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on July 8, 2015
7 Amendment No. 006 Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on July 10, 2015
8 Request for proposals Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on October 14, 2015
9 Amendment No. 001 Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on November 5, 2015
10 Amendment No. 002 Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on November 9, 2015
11 Amendment No. 003 Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on November 18, 2015
12 Amendment No. 004 Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on November 24, 2015
13 Amendment No. 005 Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on November 25, 2015
14 Amendment No. 006 Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on December 2, 2015
15 Amendment No. 007 Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on December 4, 2015
16 Amendment No. 008 Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on December 7, 2015

6. Addendum to fairness monitor final report, February 10, 2016 on the competitive selection process for Canadian Forces School of Aerospace Technology and Engineering

This addendum to the Fairness Monitoring (FM) final report covers the period following the conclusion of the evaluation phase.

Fairness monitor activities related to contract award and debriefings

There was one bid submitted in response to the RFP. The firm was deemed qualified and the successful bidder was announced on April 21, 2016.

The successful bidder requested information regarding their score on specific rated requirements to potentially improve areas of their proposed management and risk plans.

This information was provided by the contracting authority in writing on May 26, 2016.

Fairness monitor attestation of assurance

The Fairness Monitor hereby provides the following unqualified assurance statement concerning Canadian Forces School of Aerospace Technology and Engineering commencing with the Request for Information continuing through contract award.

It is our professional opinion that the competitive selection process that we observed, was carried out in a fair, open and transparent manner.

Original signed by
Mathieu Farley, CPA, CA, CIA, CISA
FM Team Leader
Partner, Audit & Advisory
Samson & Associates

Original signed by
Ted Pender
FM Specialist

Date modified:

École de technologie et du génie aérospatial des Forces canadiennes

Rapport final du surveillant de l'équité, 10 février 2016

Addenda au rapport final, 17 juin 2016

Soumis au directeur, Programme de surveillance de l’équité

Soumis par Samson & Associés

École de technologie et du génie aérospatial des Forces canadiennes – Version PDF (482Ko)
Autres formats et plugiciels

Sur cette page

1. Introduction

Les services de Samson & Associés ont été retenus à titre de surveillant de l'équité (SE) le 8 mai 2015, pour observer le processus de sélection concurrentiel de l'École de technologie et du génie aérospatial des Forces canadiennes (ETGAFC) entrepris par Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) dans le cadre de l'appel d'offres W0113-14CS31. Samson & Associés est un tiers indépendant à l’égard de cette activité.

Nous avons examiné tous les renseignements fournis et observé toutes les activités pertinentes. Nous avons eu un accès complet à tous les aspects du processus d'acquisition et obtenu la collaboration de tous les intervenants du ministère de la Défense nationale (MDN) et de SPAC.

Par la présente, nous soumettons le rapport final des activités menées par le SE à partir de la lettre d’intérêt (LI) jusqu'à l'étape d'évaluation de la Demande de proposition (DDP).

Le présent rapport comprend notre attestation d’assurance, un résumé de la portée et des objectifs de la mission, les méthodes employées ainsi que les observations faites au cours des activités menées.

2. Exigences du projet

L'ETGAFC est un organisme du MDN situé à la Base des Forces canadiennes Borden (BFC Borden) qui fait partie de la 16e Escadre et qui est responsable sur le plan opérationnel de la 2e Division aérienne du Canada. L’ETGAFC fournit à l’Aviation royale canadienne du personnel qualifié dans le but d’assurer l’état de fonctionnement des aéronefs, en élaborant et en offrant de l’instruction individuelle en génie aérospatial et de la formation technique, conformément à la doctrine et aux normes approuvées de l’aviation et de l’armée.

L'école assure la formation d'apprentis pour plusieurs métiers comme technicien en systèmes avioniques (TEC AVIO) IDGPM 00136, technicien en systèmes aéronautiques (TEC AÉRO) IDGPM 00135, technicien en structures d'aéronefs (TEC SA) IDGPM 00138, technicien en systèmes d'armement (TEC SA) IDGPM 00261, ainsi que technicien et génie aérospatial pour officier (G AERO) IDGPM 00185. L'ETGAFC est un établissement bilingue, c'est-à-dire que le français et l'anglais y sont utilisés dans toutes les facettes de l'entraînement, de l'administration et des opérations. La vision de l’ETGAFC est liée aux besoins en constante évolution de l’ARC, alors que son engagement est sur le plan humain. En matière d’efficacité et de réceptivité, elle peut créer et exploiter de manière continue un environnement de formation à la fois spécialisé, moderne et bilingue pour les techniciens d’aéronefs et les ingénieurs en aérospatiale de l’avenir.

L'ETGAFC souhaite engager des services professionnels pour répondre à des besoins ponctuels ou sur demande, pour gérer et offrir de l’instruction du personnel militaire, pour examiner et concevoir des cours et offrir un soutien administratif et technologique.

3. Attestation d’assurance

Le SE émet par la présente l’énoncé d’assurance sans réserve concernant le processus de sélection concurrentiel pour l'École de technologie et du génie aérospatial des Forces canadiennes en commençant par la lettre d'intérêt jusqu'à l'étape d'évaluation de la Demande de proposition.

Selon notre opinion professionnelle, le processus de sélection concurrentiel que nous avons observé ci-dessus a été mené en conformité avec les critères d'équité, d'ouverture et de transparence.

Original signé par
Mathieu Farley, CPA, CA, CIA, CISA
Chef d'équipe de la SE
Associé, Vérification et services-conseils
Samson & Associés

Original signé par
Ted Pender
Spécialiste en SE

4. Méthodologie

Samson & Associés a été engagé à titre de SE pour observer le processus de sélection concurrentiel concernant l’ETGAFC et pour fournir une attestation quant à l’équité, l’ouverture et la transparence de l’activité sous surveillance.

Conformément aux modalités de notre contrat, nous avons lu les documents pertinents, observé les activités d’appel d’offres (comme la LI, le processus de questions et réponses, le jour de l'industrie et le compte-rendu de la rencontres individuelle, la DDP et les questions et réponses qui en relèvent), nous avons identifié les questions relatives à l’équité aux autorités contractantes et techniques, et nous nous sommes assurés que les réponses et les actions étaient raisonnables et appropriées.

4.1 Activités et observations du surveillant de l’équité concernant l’étape de la lettre d'intérêt

La Lettre d'intérêt a été publiée sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 1er juin 2015. La date de clôture initiale a été reportée au 13 juillet 2015.

La LI avisait les soumissionnaires potentiels que la journée de consultation de l'industrie allait avoir lieu le 18 juin 2015. Le compte-rendu de la journée de consultation de l'industrie indique que les soumissionnaires pouvaient faire une demande de rencontres individuelles s'ils le souhaitaient.

Treize questions ont été posées et les réponses ont été traitées durant le processus. Six modifications ont été publiées au cours de l'étape de la LI.

Le SE a participé à la journée de consultation de l’industrie et à la seule rencontre individuelle tenue par le SPAC, pour s'assurer que les aspects relatifs à l'équité furent abordés de manière satisfaisante. La rencontre individuelle qui fut le dernier événement de l'étape de la LI, a eu lieu le 28 juillet 2015, clôturant l'étape du processus d'acquisition. Le SE a examiné la LI et les modifications qui s'y rapportent et toutes les questions et réponses fournies au cours du processus pour s'assurer que les aspects relatifs à l'équité soient abordés de manière satisfaisante.

Aucune lacune en matière d’équité n’a été observée.

Observation : La LI a été rédigée de manière claire et compréhensible. Les questions soulevées ont été traitées et répondues de manière claire et compréhensible, et elles ont été communiquées à tous les fournisseurs en temps opportun, par la publication de modifications.

Sommaire des résultats du surveillant de l’équité : Selon le surveillant de l'équité, l’étape de la LI pour l'ETGAFC a été menée d'une manière équitable. Dans ce contexte, l'équité fait référence aux décisions prises de manière objective, libre de biais, favoritisme ou influence, et se conformant aux règles établies.

4.2 Activités et observations du surveillant de l’équité concernant l’étape de la demande de propositions

La DDP a été publiée sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 14 octobre 2015. La date de clôture initiale du 3 décembre 2015 a été reportée au 11 décembre 2015. Huit modifications ont été publiées sur achatsetventes.gc.ca, dont la dernière, le 7 décembre 2015.

Les réponses aux 13 questions soumises durant la période de questions ont été publiées par le biais de modifications. Le SE a examiné la DDP et les modifications qui s'y rapportaient, et toutes les questions et réponses fournies au cours de la période de soumission pour s'assurer que les aspects relatifs à l'équité soient abordés de manière satisfaisante.

Aucune lacune en matière d’équité n’a été observée.

Observation : La DDP a été rédigée de manière claire et compréhensible. Les questions soulevées ont été traitées et répondues de manière claire et compréhensible, et elles ont été communiquées par la publication de modifications.

Sommaire des résultats du surveillant de l’équité : Selon le surveillant de l'équité, l’étape de la DDP pour les besoins de l'ETGAFC a été menée d'une manière équitable. Dans ce contexte, l'équité fait référence aux décisions prises de manière objective, libre de biais, favoritisme ou influence, et se conformant aux règles établies.

4.3 Activités et observations du surveillant de l’équité concernant l’étape de l'évaluation de la demande de propositions

Une seule proposition a été soumise en réponse à la DDP.

Trois évaluateurs se sont rencontrés le 13 janvier 2016 pour évaluer individuellement la soumission afin de déterminer si le soumissionnaire avait répondu aux exigences obligatoires et côtés établies. Le SE et l'autorité contractante étaient présents à la rencontre; le SE par téléconférence.

À la suite de la rencontre consensuelle d'évaluation, un soumissionnaire a été retenu selon les critères et la méthode énoncés dans la DDP.

Aucune lacune en matière d’équité n’a été observée.

Observation : Les consignes et outils des évaluateurs étaient complets, respectaient les modalités de la DDP, et étaient conformes aux principes et aux pratiques en matière d'équité et furent exécutés de façon équitable. Les critères d'évaluation, la pondération, les points et les notes de passage respectaient intégralement ce qui avait été établi dans la DDP. L'évaluation a été exécutée telle que décrite dans la DDP. L'attribution des points a été effectuée en respectant rigoureusement les critères énoncés. Les discussions consensuelles étaient ouvertes et tous les évaluateurs étaient présents, et un consensus a été atteint pour tous les critères.

Sommaire des résultats du surveillant de l’équité : Selon le surveillant de l'équité, l’étape de l'évaluation de la DDP pour les besoins de l'ETGAFC a été menée d'une manière équitable. Dans ce contexte, l'équité fait référence aux décisions prises de manière objective, libre de biais, favoritisme ou influence, et se conformant aux règles établies.

5. Documents de référence

Les documents suivants sont cités dans le présent rapport par ordre numérique. À moins d'indication contraire, ils peuvent être obtenus auprès de SPAC.

Sommaire du tableau

Le tableau suivant présente une liste des documents qui sont mentionnés dans le rapport, par exemple la demande de propositions (DP), les modifications, les lettres de précisions et les lettres d'information. Chaque ligne porte un numéro, suivi du titre du document et d'un identificateur, soit la date ou le numéro du document.

No. Document Date
1 Lettre d'intérêt Publié sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 1er juin 2015
2 Modification no. 001 Publié sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 16 juin 2015
3 Modification no. 002 Publié sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 23 juin 2015
4 Modification no. 003 Publié sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 29 juin 2015
5 Modification no. 004 Publié sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 6 juillet 2015
6 Modification no. 005 Publié sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 8 juillet 2015
7 Modification no. 006 Publié sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 10 juillet 2015
8 Demande de proposition Publié sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 14 octobre 2015
9 Modification no. 001 Publié sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 5 novembre 2015
10 Modification no. 002 Publié sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 9 novembre 2015
11 Modification no. 003 Publié sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 18 novembre 2015
12 Modification no. 004 Publié sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 24 novembre 2015
13 Modification no. 005 Publié sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 25 novembre 2015
14 Modification no. 006 Publié sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 2 décembre 2015
15 Modification no. 007 Publié sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 4 décembre 2015
16 Modification no. 008 Publié sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 7 décembre 2015

6. Addenda au rapport final de surveillance de l’équité en date du 10 février 2016 concernant le processus de sélection concurrentiel de l'École de technologie et du génie aérospatial des Forces canadiennes

Le présent addenda au rapport final du surveillant de l’équité (SE) porte sur la période ultérieure à la fin de la phase d’évaluation.

Activités du surveillant de l’équité relatives à l’adjudication du contrat et aux comptes rendus

Une soumission a été reçue en réponse à l’appel d'offres. La firme s’est qualifiée et le soumissionnaire gagnant a été informé de l'attribution du contrat le 21 avril 2016.

Une demandes d’information été reçues de soumissionnaires gagnant afin d’obtenir des détails sur leur pointage concernant des critères côtés spécifiques afin de potentiellement améliorer leur plans de risques et de gestion proposés.

L’information a été fournie par écris par l’autorité contractante le 26 mai 2016.

Attestation d’assurance du surveillant de l’équité

SE le fournit l’énoncé d’assurance sans réserve concernant le processus de sélection concurrentiel de l'École de technologie et du génie aérospatial des Forces canadiennes, en commençant par la lettre d'intérêt jusqu'à l’adjudication du contrat.

Selon notre opinion professionnelle, le processus de sélection concurrentiel que nous avons observé a été mené en conformité avec les critères d’équité, d’ouverture et de transparence.

Original signé par
Mathieu Farley, CPA, CA, CIA, CISA
Chef d'équipe de la SE
Associé, Vérification et services-conseils
Samson & Associés

Original signé par
Ted Pender
Spécialiste en SE

Date de modification :