West Memorial Building asset integrity project

Fairness monitor final report, November 4, 2015

Addendum to final report, February 10, 2016

Submitted to Director, Fairness Monitoring Program

Submitted by PPI Consulting Limited
Centrepointe Chambers
86 Centrepointe Drive
Ottawa ON K2G 6B1

Telephone:
613‑567‑0000

Ottawa | Toronto | Atlantic Canada

West Memorial Building asset integrity projectPDF version (515KB)
Alternative formats and plug-ins

On this page

1. Introduction

PPI Consulting Limited was engaged by Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) as a fairness monitor (FM) to observe the procurement process of a prime consultant for the west memorial building (WMB) asset integrity project.

We hereby submit this FM final report covering the activities and monitored observations of the FM for WMB prime consultant Request for Proposals (RFP), solicitation # EH900-160145/A.

PPI Consulting Limited is an independent third party with respect to this activity. We reviewed all of the information provided and observed all relevant activities as described below in accordance with our mandate.

This report includes our attestation of assurance, a summary of the scope and objectives of our assignment, the methodologies applied and relevant observations from the activities undertaken.

1.1 Background

Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) intends to retain an architectural firm in the capacity of prime consultant, supported by a multidisciplinary team of sub-consultants, in the design and implementation of the WMB asset integrity project. The prime consultant is to prepare design and construction documents, as well as to provide administration services during the construction stage. Project approval was received in May 2015 for preparation of design and construction documents. Effective approval will be requested in 2016, in order to proceed with construction.

The purpose of this project is to remove designated substances and perform selective demolition in order to prepare the building for a future base building renovation and fit-up for use by PSPC and its client departments.

The acquisition of this architecture and engineering services contract has involved a public solicitation of bids via a one-stage Request for Proposals (RFP). The intent of the procurement process was to obtain proposals from technically qualified bidders based on their strategy for delivering services. Proposals were evaluated in accordance with established experience and performance criteria, resulting in technical scores for each bidder. Based on the current project schedule, the architecture and engineering services contract is planned to be awarded in late 2015.

2. Attestation of assurance

The FM hereby provides the following unqualified assurance statement concerning the competitive procurement process for the prime consultant for the WMB asset integrity project.

It is our professional opinion that the procurement process, including the evaluation of the proposals received in response to the prime consultant for the WMB asset integrity project, that we observed, was carried out in a fair, open and transparent manner.

Original signed by
John Davis, CEO, PPI Consulting Limited

Original signed by
Ian Brennan, CSCMP,
FM Team Leader

Original signed by
Jocelyn Décoste, FM Specialist

3. Methodology

PPI Consulting Limited was engaged as a FM to observe the procurement process for the prime consultant for the WMB asset integrity project and to attest to the fairness, openness and transparency of this monitored activity.

In accordance with the terms of our engagement, we familiarized ourselves with the relevant draft and final documents, observed activities up to the end of the Request for Proposals (RFP) evaluation stage, identified fairness-related matters to the Contracting Authority (CA) and to the PSPC project team and ensured that responses and actions were reasonable and appropriate.

4. Request for proposal process

4.1 Document review process

A formal document review process was established by PSPC and the project team. All draft documents were forwarded to the FM electronically and reviewed by the FM prior to being posted on the web site. When issues and/or concerns were identified by the FM, they were addressed to the satisfaction of the FM prior to being posted.

A total of six amendments to the RFP were issued.

All documents and other communications intended to be delivered to bidders were reviewed by the FM.

Observations (4.1)

The process conducted conformed to the requirements of the RFP. All bidders were treated consistently and fairly. All observations and/or requests for clarification made by the FM were addressed by the contracting authority and the PSPC project team.

4.2 Question and answer process

A formal question and answer process was defined in the RFP. Questions were submitted via electronic mail to a defined address which was monitored daily by PSPC. The questions were modified by PSPC to remove references to a particular bidder. The anonymous questions were then forwarded to appropriate members of the PSPC project teams for response generation.

A final date for submitting questions was established in the RFP – seven calendar days prior to the bid closing date and time, which was September 18, 2015.

Questions and their associated responses were uniquely numbered and accumulated in a master list.

The master question and answer list was delivered to bidders on a periodic basis. On each delivery, the materials were published on Buy-and-Sell.

A total of 26 questions were received prior to the final question submission date. Responses to all 26 questions were delivered to the bidders.

All questions and responses were reviewed by the FM prior to posting. Feedback, where appropriate, was provided by the FM.

Observations (4.2)

The process conducted conformed to the requirements of the RFP. All bidders were treated consistently and fairly. All observations and/or requests for clarification made by the FM were addressed by the contracting authority and the PSPC project team.

4.3 Site visit process

The RFP defined a process for allowing bidders to visit the WMB site to gather specific information which the bidder may require in order to prepare its proposal.

A protocol was established to govern the site visit process, to ensure fair and consistent treatment of all bidders. The major elements were as follows:

  • All bidders were provided the same notice of the period during which site visits would be permitted. The period was identified in the RFP and was not modified
  • All bidders were offered the same amount of time to visit the WMB site
  • PSPC representatives were asked to provide factual information only
  • A CD containing supplementary project related material was handed to bidder representatives
  • Bidder representatives were instructed that if they intended to rely on information learned during a site visit when preparing a proposal in response to the RFP, the Bidder should submit a request to confirm the information in the form of a question via the RFP enquiries process
  • Bidder representatives were restricted from asking questions or raising issues during a site visit relating to:
    • the procurement process
    • any procurement documents
    • previously submitted questions or provided answers
    • the RFP evaluation criteria

The site visit was held on August 12, 2015.

The site visit was attended and observed by the FM.

Observations (4.3)

The process conducted conformed to the requirements of the RFP. All bidders were treated consistently and fairly. All observations and/or requests for clarification made by the FM were addressed by the contracting authority and the PSPC project team.

4.4 Evaluation phase process

PSPC received eight (8) proposals by the closing date and time on September 18, 2015. The FM attended the evaluator briefing and distribution of evaluation documents. The evaluation team was briefed on all issues related to conducting the evaluation in accordance with the stipulated selection process, including roles and responsibilities, confidentiality, document control, evaluator conduct, independent assessment, consensus process, schedule, and an explanation of clarification versus bid repair.

The following process was undertaken to evaluate the proposal:

  • Each evaluator conducted their own independent review and scoring of the proposal in their evaluator workbook
  • Once the independent reviews were completed, the evaluators participated in consensus meetings to agree to the score to be assigned to each rated requirement. The scores and the rationale for the scores were recorded in the master record
  • Evaluators recorded and initialled any changes agreed to during consensus in their individual workbooks
  • The FM confirmed with each member of the evaluation team that they were in agreement with the final consensus scores
  • All evaluators confirmed their agreement
  • The evaluation team signed the consensus record

The FM monitored the consensus session and confirms that the process was conducted appropriately in accordance with the process established in the RFP and in a fair, open and transparent manner.

Observations (4.4)

The evaluation process conducted conformed to the requirements of the RFP. All bidders were treated consistently and fairly. All observations and/or requests for clarification made by the FM were addressed by the contracting authority and the PSPC project team.

5. Reference documents

5.1 Request for proposal documents

Archived - Documents related to Solicitation Number EH900-160145/A are available on Buyandsell.gc.ca and/or through the project office. This process was used for the delivery of the RFP documents, amendments, and question and answer sets.

A total of six amendments to the RFP were created by Canada. All amendments were reviewed by the FM.

Table summary

The following table includes a list of documents referred to in the report such as the Request for Proposal (RFP), amendments, clarification letters, debriefing letters, etc. Each row is numbered, followed by the document title, then a document identifier such as a date or document number.

No. Documents Delivery date
1 Request for Proposal (RFP) July 31, 2015
2 RFP – Amendment 1 August 10, 2015
3 RFP – Amendment 2 August 21, 2015
4 RFP – Amendment 3 August 28, 2015
5 RFP – Amendment 4 September 2, 2015
6 RFP – Amendment 5 September 8, 2015
7 RFP – Amendment 6 September 11, 2015

6. Addendum to the final report
February 10, 2016

Addendum to fairness monitor final report dated November 4, 2015 for the procurement of the prime consultant for the west memorial building asset integrity project

Addendum to FM final report dated November 4, 2015 for the procurement of the prime consultant for the WMB asset integrity project.

This addendum to the FM final report covers the period following the conclusion of the evaluation phase.

Contract award, communications and debriefing

The contract was awarded on November 23, 2015. Along with the notification of award, information was provided to all bidders on November 23, 2015 explaining the results of the evaluation of their proposals. Debriefings were held with all seven unsuccessful bidders. Two debriefings were held on December 8, 2015, four debriefings were held on December 17, 2015, and the final debriefing was held on February 5, 2016.

The notification of award and the results of the evaluation of each proposal were reviewed by the FM before being provided to each bidder. The FM attended all debriefings. The process conducted conformed to the requirements of the Request for Proposals. All Bidders were treated consistently and fairly.

The FM hereby provides the following unqualified assurance statement concerning the notification of award, communications and debriefing of each bidder.

It is our professional opinion that the procurement process for the prime consultant for the WMB asset integrity project we observed was carried out in a fair, open and transparent manner.

Original signed by
John Davis, CEO, PPI Consulting Limited

Original signed by
Ian Brennan, CSCMP,
FM Team Leader

Original signed by
Jocelyn Décoste, FM Specialist

Date modified:

Projet d'intégrité des biens de l'édifice commémoratif de l'Ouest

Rapport final du surveillant de l'équité, 4 novembre 2015

Addenda au rapport final, 10 février 2016

Soumis au directeur, Programme de surveillance de l'équité

Soumis par PPI Consulting Limited (disponible en anglais seulement)
Centrepointe Chambers
86, promenade Centrepointe
Ottawa ON K2G 6B1

Téléphone :
613‑567‑0000

Ottawa | Toronto | Canada Atlantique

Projet d'intégrité des biens de l'édifice commémoratif de l'Ouest – Version PDF (600Ko)
Autres formats et plugiciels

Sur cette page

1. Introduction

PPI Consulting Limited a été embauché par Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) à titre de surveillant de l'équité pour observer le processus d'approvisionnement concernant l'expert-conseil pour le projet d'intégrité des biens de l'Édifice commémoratif de l'Ouest.

Nous soumettons par la présente le rapport final du surveillant de l'équité portant sur les activités réalisées et les observations surveillées par le surveillant de l'équité dans le cadre de la demande de propositions (DP) de l'expert-conseil, numéro de soumission EH900-160145/A.

PPI Consulting Limited est un tiers indépendant en ce qui concerne la présente activité. Nous avons examiné tous les renseignements fournis et avons pu observer toutes les activités pertinentes telles que décrites ci-dessous et conformément à notre mandat.

Le présent rapport comprend notre attestation d'assurance, un résumé de la portée et des objectifs de notre mandat, des détails relatifs à la méthodologie appliquée et les observations pertinentes des activités qui ont été tenues.

1.1 Contexte

Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada entend faire appel à une société d'architecture qui agira à titre d'expert-conseil principal, ainsi qu'à une équipe pluridisciplinaire de sous-experts-conseils, pour assurer la conception et la mise en œuvre du projet d'intégrité des biens de l'Édifice commémoratif de l'Ouest. L'expert-conseil principal doit préparer des documents de conception et de construction, et offrir des services administratifs pendant l'étape de la construction. La préparation des documents de conception et de construction du projet a été approuvée en mai 2015. L'approbation finale sera demandée en 2016 afin de procéder à la construction.

Le projet a pour but d'enlever les substances désignées et de procéder à une démolition sélective dans le but de préparer l'édifice pour d'éventuelles rénovations et aménagement de l'édifice de base en vue d'une utilisation par SPAC et ses ministères clients.

L'acquisition du contrat de services d'architecture et d'ingénierie a nécessité un appel d'offres public au moyen d'une demande de propositions à une étape. Le but du processus d'approvisionnement était d'obtenir des propositions de soumissionnaires techniquement qualifiés fondées sur leur stratégie pour livrer les services. Les propositions ont été évaluées selon l'expérience établie et les critères de rendement, ce qui a donné une note technique pour chaque soumissionnaire. Selon l'échéancier actuel du projet, le contrat de services d'architecture et d'ingénierie sera attribué à la fin de 2015.

2. Attestation d'assurance

Le surveillant de l'équité émet par la présente l'opinion sans réserve suivante concernant le processus d'approvisionnement concurrentiel pour l'expert-conseil principal du projet d'intégrité des biens de l'Édifice commémoratif de l'Ouest.

Selon notre avis de professionnels, le processus d'approvisionnement, y compris l'évaluation des propositions reçues en réponse à l'expert-conseil principal du projet d'intégrité des biens de l'Édifice commémoratif de l'Ouest, que nous avons observé a été réalisé de façon équitable, ouverte et transparente.

Original signé par
John Davis, PDG, PPI Consulting Limited

Original signé par
Ian Brennan, PGCA,
Chef d'équipe de la SE

Original signé par
Jocelyn Décoste, Spécialiste en SE

3. Méthodologie

PPI Consulting Limited a été embauché à titre de surveillant de l'équité pour observer le processus d'approvisionnement concernant l'expert-conseil principal du projet d'intégrité des biens de l'Édifice commémoratif de l'Ouest et attester de l'équité, de l'ouverture et de la transparence de cette activité surveillée.

Conformément aux conditions de notre mandat, nous avons pris connaissance des versions provisoires et des documents définitifs pertinents, nous avons observé les activités jusqu'à la fin de l'étape d'évaluation des demandes de propositions, nous avons fait part des points relatifs à l'équité à l'autorité contractante et à l'équipe de projet de SPAC et nous avons veillé à ce que les réponses fournies et les mesures de suivi soient raisonnables et appropriées.

4. Processus de demande de propositions

4.1 Processus d'examen des documents

Un processus officiel d'examen des documents a été créé par SPAC, l'équipe de projet et le surveillant de l'équité. Toutes les ébauches ont été transmises électroniquement au surveillant de l'équité et examinées par ce dernier avant d'être affichées sur le site web. Lorsque le surveillant de l'équité a fait ressortir des problèmes et/ou des préoccupations, ils ont été abordés à sa satisfaction avant l'affichage.

En tout, six modifications à la DP ont été publiées.

Tous les documents et les autres communications destinés aux soumissionnaires ont été examinés par le surveillant de l'équité.

Observations (4.1)

Le processus suivi respectait les exigences de la DP. Tous les soumissionnaires ont été traités de la même manière et de façon équitable. Toutes les observations et/ou les demandes de précision du surveillant de l'équité ont été abordées par l'autorité contractante et l'équipe de projet de SPAC.

4.2 Processus de questions et de réponses

Un processus officiel de questions et de réponses a été défini dans la DP. Les questions ont été transmises par courriel à une adresse indiquée, qui était surveillée quotidiennement par SPAC. Les questions ont été modifiées par SPAC afin de supprimer les références à un soumissionnaire en particulier. Les questions anonymes ont ensuite été acheminées aux membres concernés de l'équipe de projet de SPAC pour obtenir les réponses.

Une date limite pour soumettre les questions a été précisée dans la DP, soit sept jours civils avant la date et l'heure de clôture de la soumission du 18 septembre 2015.

Les questions et leurs réponses ont été numérotées et rassemblées dans une liste maîtresse.

La liste maîtresse des questions et des réponses a été régulièrement transmise aux soumissionnaires. À chaque transmission, les documents ont été affichés sur Achatsetventes.

En tout, 26 questions ont été reçues avant la date limite pour soumettre des questions. Les réponses aux 26 questions ont été transmises aux soumissionnaires.

Toutes les questions et les réponses ont été examinées par le surveillant de l'équité avant d'être affichées. Le surveillant de l'équité a fourni des commentaires, le cas échéant.

Observations (4.2)

Le processus suivi respectait les exigences de la DP. Tous les soumissionnaires ont été traités de la même manière et de façon équitable. Toutes les observations et/ou les demandes de précision du surveillant de l'équité ont été abordées par l'autorité contractante et l'équipe de projet de SPAC.

4.3 Processus de visite des lieux

La DP définissait un processus pour permettre aux soumissionnaires de visiter le site de l'Édifice commémoratif de l'Ouest afin de recueillir des renseignements précis dont ils peuvent avoir besoin pour préparer leurs propositions.

Un protocole a été établi afin de régir le processus de visite des lieux pour veiller au traitement équitable et uniforme de tous les soumissionnaires. Les éléments importants étaient les suivants :

  • Tous les soumissionnaires ont reçu le même préavis de la période pendant laquelle les visites seraient permises. La période a été précisée dans la DP et n'a pas été modifiée
  • On a accordé à tous les soumissionnaires le même temps pour visiter le site de l'Édifice commémoratif de l'Ouest.
  • Les représentants de SPAC ont été invités à fournir des renseignements factuels uniquement
  • Un CD contenant des documents supplémentaires liés au projet a été donné aux représentants des soumissionnaires
  • Les représentants des soumissionnaires ont été informés que s'ils avaient l'intention de se fier aux renseignements obtenus pendant la visite des lieux pour préparer une proposition en réponse à la DP, le soumissionnaire devrait soumettre une demande pour confirmer l'information sous forme de question dans le cadre du processus de demande de la DP
  • Il était interdit aux représentants des soumissionnaires de poser ou de soulever des questions pendant une visite des lieux concernant :
    • le processus d'approvisionnement
    • les documents d'approvisionnement
    • les questions déjà soumises et les réponses fournies
    • les critères d'évaluation de la DP

La visite des lieux a eu lieu le 12 août 2015.

Le surveillant de l'équité a participé et observé la visite des lieux.

Observations (4.3)

Le processus suivi respectait les exigences de la DP. Tous les soumissionnaires ont été traités de la même manière et de façon équitable. Toutes les observations et/ou les demandes de précision du surveillant de l'équité ont été abordées par l'autorité contractante et l'équipe de projet de SPAC.

4.4 Processus de l'étape d'évaluation

SPAC à reçu huit (8) propositions avant la date et l'heure de clôture du 18 septembre 2015. Le surveillant de l'équité a participé à la séance d'information des évaluateurs et à la distribution des documents d'évaluation. L'équipe d'évaluation a été informée des questions liées à la réalisation de l'évaluation conformément au processus de sélection prévu, y compris les rôles et responsabilités, la confidentialité, le contrôle des documents, le comportement de l'évaluateur, l'évaluation indépendante, le processus consensuel, le calendrier et une explication des précisions comparativement à la modification d'une soumission.

Le processus suivant a été suivi afin d'évaluer la proposition :

  • Chaque évaluateur a effectué son propre examen indépendant et sa propre notation de la proposition dans son cahier de travail
  • Après la réalisation des examens indépendants, les évaluateurs ont participé à des réunions consensuelles pour s'entendre sur la note à attribuer à chaque exigence évaluée. Les notes et la justification des notes ont été consignées dans le registre principal
  • Les évaluateurs ont consigné et parafé tout changement accepté dans leurs cahiers de travail individuels
  • Le surveillant de l'équité a confirmé que chaque membre de l'équipe d'évaluation était d'accord quant aux notes consensuelles définitives
  • Tous les évaluateurs ont confirmé leur accord
  • L'équipe d'évaluation a signé le registre consensuel

Le surveillant de l'équité a surveillé les séances de consensus. Il confirme que le processus a été mené de façon équitable, ouverte et transparente conformément au processus établi dans la demande de propositions.

Observations (4.4)

Le processus d'évaluation suivi respectait les exigences de la DP. Tous les soumissionnaires ont été traités de la même manière et de façon équitable. Toutes les observations et/ou les demandes de précision du surveillant de l'équité ont été abordées par l'autorité contractante et l'équipe de projet de SPAC.

5. Documents de référence

5.1 Documents de demande de proposition

Archivé - Les documents liés au numéro de soumission EH900-160145/A sont affichés sur le site Achatsetventes.gc.ca et/ou peuvent être consultés au bureau du projet. Ce processus a été utilisé pour livrer les documents de la DP, les modifications, ainsi que les ensembles de questions et réponses.

En tout, six modifications de la DP ont été effectuées par le Canada. Toutes les modifications ont été examinées par le surveillant de l'équité.

Sommaire du tableau

Le tableau suivant présente une liste des documents qui sont mentionnés dans le rapport, par exemple la demande de propositions (DP), les modifications, les lettres de précisions et les lettres d'information. Chaque ligne porte un numéro, suivi du titre du document et d'un identificateur, soit la date ou le numéro du document.

No. Documents du DP Date de livraison
1 Demande de proposition (DP) Le 31 juillet 2015
2 DP – Modification 1 Le 10 août 2015
3 DP – Modification 2 Le 21 août 2015
4 DP – Modification 3 Le 28 août 2015
5 DP – Modification 4 Le 2 septembre 2015
6 DP – Modification 5 Le 8 septembre 2015
7 DP – Modification 6 Le 11 septembre 2015

6. Addenda au rapport final
10 février 2016

Addenda au rapport final du surveillant de l'équité en date du 4 novembre 2015 pour l'approvisionnement de l'expert-conseil principal pour le projet d'intégrité des biens de l'édifice commémoratif de l'Ouest

Le présent addenda au Rapport final du surveillant de l'équité porte sur la période suivant la conclusion de la phase d'évaluation.

Attribution du contrat, communications et compte rendu

Le contrat a été attribué le 23 novembre 2015. En plus de la notification d'un marché, tous les promoteurs ont reçus, le 23 novembre 2015, les résultats de l'évaluation de leurs propositions. Des comptes rendus ont été tenus avec tous les sept soumissionnaires non retenus. Deux comptes rendus ont été tenus le 8 décembre 2015, quatre comptes rendus le 17 décembre 2015, et le dernier compte rendu le 5 février 2016.

L'attribution du contrat et les résultats de l'évaluation de chaque proposition ont été examinés par le surveillant de l'équité avant d'être remis à chaque promoteur. Le surveillant de l'équité a assisté à tous les comptes rendus. Le processus d'approvisionnement suivi est conforme aux exigences de la demande de propositions. Tous les soumissionnaires ont été traités de façon uniforme et équitable.

Le surveillant de l'équité émet par la présente l'opinion sans réserve suivante concernant l'attribution du contrat, communications et compte rendu à chaque soumissionnaire.

Selon notre avis de professionnels, le processus d'approvisionnement de l'expert-conseil principal pour le projet d'intégrité des biens de l'Édifice commémoratif de l'Ouest que nous avons observé a été mené de façon équitable, ouverte et transparente.

Original signé par
John Davis, PDG, PPI Consulting Limited

Original signé par
Ian Brennan, PGCA,
Chef d'équipe de la SE

Original signé par
Jocelyn Décoste, Spécialiste en SE

Date de modification :