British Army Training Unit Suffield Adventurous Training Centre (Canada)

Fairness monitor final report, November 13, 2015

Addendum to final report, May 30, 2016

Submitted to Director, Fairness Monitoring Program

Submitted by Hallux Consulting Inc.

British Army Training Unit Suffield Adventurous Training Centre (Canada)PDF version (330KB)
Alternative formats and plug-ins

On this page

1. Introduction

Hallux Consulting Inc. was engaged as a Fairness Monitor (FM) on November 3, 2014 to observe the competitive procurement process for the British Army Training Unit Suffield (BATUS) Adventurous Training Centre (Canada) (BATC Canada) contract, issued by Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) on behalf of the British Army Training Unit Suffield (BATUS), as a result of solicitation number W0142-15X035/A for the Industry Engagement portion of the procurement and solicitation number W0142-15X035/C for the request for proposal (RFP). Hallux Consulting Inc. is an independent third party with respect to this activity.

We reviewed all of the information provided and observed all relevant activities.

We hereby submit the final report, covering the activities of the Fairness Monitor, commencing with the industry engagement day November 5, 2014 which occurred following the notice of proposed procurement (NPP) published October 15, 2014, continuing through to the bid evaluation consensus meeting held on November 3 and 4, 2015.

This report includes our attestation of assurance, a summary of the scope and objectives of our assignment, the methodologies applied and relevant observations from the activities undertaken.

2. Attestation of assurance

The FM hereby provides the following unqualified assurance statement concerning the BATUS Adventurous Training Centre (Canada) contract procurement process: It is our professional opinion that the competitive procurement process we observed was carried out in a fair, open and transparent manner.

Original signed by
Howard Dubois, CIA
FM Contractor Representative

Original signed by
Elizabeth Buckingham, CPA, CMA, CIA
FM Team Leader

Original signed by
Marthe Girouard, CPA, CA
FM Specialist

3. Project requirement

BATUS is the British Army's premier training unit co-located at Canadian Forces Base (CFB) Suffield, Ralston, Alberta. It has been in existence for over forty years. The role of BATUS is to provide training and training support, principally to armoured forces, but also to other units as required.

A contingent of approximately 200 permanent British staff reside at CFB Suffield and ensure the delivery of training to British exercise troops. The exercise season normally runs from the beginning of May through to the end of October. BATUS also conducts year round adventurous training (AT) and challenge pursuit activities (CPA) near the foothills of the Rocky Mountains in Alberta. Activities occur in backcountry areas such as Kananaskis, Banff National Park, Jasper National Park and Bieseker, Alberta. The AT and CPA is delivered to approximately 2,000 personnel annually.

This initiative has the objective to obtain the multi-year use for a BATUS Adventurous Training Centre (BATC) for the British Military deployed on permanent or temporary duty in Canada. Under the proposed contract, the successful bidder will provide facilities including accommodation, facility operation and maintenance, housekeeping and janitorial services, catering facility and support systems and site services.

4. Fairness monitor engagement and observations

Hallux Consulting Inc. was engaged as a Fairness Monitor (FM) to observe the competitive procurement process for the BATUS Adventurous Training Centre (Canada), and to attest to the fairness, openness and transparency of this monitored activity.

In accordance with the terms of our engagement, we familiarized ourselves with the relevant documents, observed request for proposal related activities identifying fairness-related matters to the appropriate parties, e.g., contracting and technical authorities, and ensuring that responses and actions were reasonable and appropriate.

4.1 Industry consultation phase

Key activities during this phase of the procurement included:

  • observation of the Industry Engagement Day held in Calgary, Alberta on November 5, 2014. Eighteen suppliers attended the meeting
  • review of amendments one to nine which provided materials presented at the Industry Engagement Day, provided feedback and supplementary questions from Industry to seven questions posed by PSPC, answered the 46 questions posed by potential suppliers either at the Industry Day or through the one-on-one sessions, or provided information on the one-on-one sessions held March 17, 2015. All of the amendments were published on buyandsell.gc.ca
  • observation of optional one-on-one sessions with potential suppliers on March 17, 2015. Four suppliers participated in these sessions, three in-person and one via teleconference. Twenty-nine questions were posed by potential suppliers during the one-on-one sessions

All observations on potential fairness issues were properly addressed during the Industry Consultation phase.

4.2 Request for proposal phase

Key activities during this phase of the procurement included:

  • reviewing the draft request for proposal (RFP)
  • participation in a teleconference where the bidders’ conference was planned
  • reviewing the final RFP
  • attending the bidders conference which was held on September 2, 2015 in Calgary, Alberta and reviewing the minutes published with amendment no. 3, including the answers to 43 questions
  • participation via teleconference in the training provided by PSPC on the BATC RFP evaluation criteria to the bid evaluators on October 20, 2015
  • reviewing questions posed by potential bidders and the responses provided by the contracting authority via amendments to the RFP

The tendering procedure was open to all interested suppliers. A one-phase selection process approach with a two envelope evaluation was used for this procurement. The notice of proposed procurement (NPP) was published on buyandsell.gc.ca on August 18, 2015. The RFP had an initial closing date of September 30, 2015 which was extended to October 30, 2015. Eleven questions were received from potential bidders and responses to the questions were provided by way of the nine amendments issued to the RFP. Three bids were received in response to the RFP.

All observations on potential fairness issues were properly addressed during the RFP phase.

4.3 Evaluation phase

Key activities during the evaluation period included:

  • participating in a teleconference November 2, 2015 when instructions were provided to the team of four evaluators; proposals and individual scoring sheets were distributed; and evaluators signed confidentiality and conflict of interest statements
  • reviewing the mandatory evaluation sheets for the three bidders
  • observing the technical evaluation sessions held November 3 and 4, 2015 in Calgary, Alberta. The evaluations were undertaken in a consistent fashion and by consensus of all the evaluation board members
  • observing the validation of the technical evaluation results by the contracting authority November 4, 2015
  • observing the calculation of the final scores for the technical rating by the contracting authority on November 4, 2015
  • observing the final evaluation spreadsheet which included both the technical and financial scores on November 4, 2015

The FM Specialist observed that the evaluation processes and instructions published in the Final RFP, the RFP amendments and the Evaluation Plan and Guidelines were followed during the evaluation phase. Comments were provided by the FM Specialist as required throughout the evaluation process to the Technical Team and the contracting authority. All comments were addressed appropriately by project officials.

One of the three bids had to be disqualified because the mandatory requirements were not met. The price proposal envelope from this bidder was not opened.

No potential fairness issues were noted during the evaluation phase.

5. Reference documents

Documents related to the Industry Engagement portion of the procurement (solicitation number WO142-15X035/A) are available on Buyandsell.gc.ca and/or through the project office.

Table summary

The following table includes a list of documents referred to in the report such as the RFP, amendments, clarification letters, debriefing letters, etc. Each row is numbered, followed by the document title, then a document identifier such as a date or document number.

Notice of proposed procurement documents
No. Document Additional information
1 Notice of proposed procurement Notice of proposed procurement released on buyandsell.gc.ca on October 15, 2014
2 Amendment No. 001 Released on buyandsell.gc.ca on November 13, 2014
3 Amendment No. 002 Released on buyandsell.gc.ca on November 18, 2014
4 Amendment No. 003 Released on buyandsell.gc.ca on November 24, 2014
5 Amendment No. 004 Released on buyandsell.gc.ca on December 17, 2014
6 Amendment No. 005 Released on buyandsell.gc.ca on December 18, 2014
7 Amendment No. 006 Released on buyandsell.gc.ca on January 7, 2015
8 Amendment No. 007 Released on buyandsell.gc.ca on January 14, 2015
9 Amendment No. 008 Released on buyandsell.gc.ca on January 15, 2015
10 Amendment No. 009 Released on buyandsell.gc.ca on January 26, 2015

A copy of the presentation made at the Industry engagement session November 5, 2014 was published on buyandsell.gc.ca April 15, 2015 as solicitation number WO142-15X035/B It was also available as an attachment to solicitation number WO142-15X035/A, Amendment 001.

Documents related to the request for proposal (archived - solicitation number WO142-15X035/C) are available on Buyandsell.gc.ca and/or through the project office.

Table summary

The following table includes a list of documents referred to in the report such as the RFP, amendments, clarification letters, debriefing letters, etc. Each row is numbered, followed by the document title, then a document identifier such as a date or document number.

Request for proposal documents
No. Document Additional information
1 Request for proposal Request for proposal (RFP) documents published on buyandsell.gc.ca on August 18, 2015
2 Amendment No. 001 Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on September 8, 2015
3 Amendment No. 002 Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on September 16, 2015
4 Amendment No. 003 Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on September 21, 2015
5 Amendment No. 004 Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on September 21, 2015
6 Amendment No. 005 Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on September 24, 2015
7 Amendment No. 006 Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on October 5, 2015
8 Amendment No. 007 Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on October 9, 2015
9 Amendment No. 008 Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on October 16, 2015
10 Amendment No. 009 Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on October 23, 2015

6. Addendum to the final report, May 30, 2016

Addendum to the final report dated November 13, 2015 for the acquisition of British Army Training Unit Suffield Adventurous Training Centre (Canada) services

This addendum to the final report covers the period following the conclusion of the evaluation phase including the contract award and debriefings.

The successful bidder was selected and the contract awarded on May 10, 2016. Letters were sent by email to the unsuccessful bidders on May 10, 2016 advising of the result. Additional feedback was provided to one of the unsuccessful bidders through a teleconference on May 25, 2016. The Fairness Monitor reviewed the correspondence sent to the successful and unsuccessful bidders and participated in the debriefing held by teleconference.

Fairness monitor attestation of assurance

The Fairness Monitor hereby provides the following unqualified assurance statement concerning the British Army Training Unit Suffield Adventurous Training Centre (Canada) contract procurement process: It is our professional opinion that the competitive procurement process we observed was carried out in a fair, open and transparent manner.

Original signed by
Howard Dubois, CIA
FM Contractor Representative

Original signed by
Elizabeth Buckingham, CPA, CMA, CIA
FM Team Leader

Original signed by
Marthe Girouard, CPA, CA
FM Specialist

Date modified:

Centre de formation par l’aventure de l’Unité d’entraînement de l’Armée britannique Suffield au Canada

Rapport final du surveillant de l'équité, 13 novembre 2015

Addenda au rapport final, 30 mai 2016

Soumis au directeur, Programme de surveillance de l’équité

Soumis par Hallux Consulting Inc.

Centre de formation par l’aventure de l’Unité d’entraînement de l’Armée britannique Suffield au Canada – Version PDF (347Ko)
Autres formats et plugiciels

Sur cette page

1. Introduction

Hallux Consulting Inc. a été engagée à titre de surveillant de l’équité (SE) le 3 novembre 2014 pour observer le processus d’approvisionnement concurrentiel concernant le Centre de formation par l’aventure de Unité d’entraînement de l’Armée britannique Suffield (BATUS) au Canada (CFAB Canada), publié par Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC), au nom de l’Unité d’entraînement de l’Armée britannique Suffield (BATUS), résultant du numéro d’appel d’offres W0142-15X035/A au titre de la partie Consultation de l’industrie de l’approvisionnement et le numéro d’appel d’offres W0142-15X035/C pour la demande de propositions. Hallux Consulting Inc. est un tiers indépendant à l’égard de cette activité.

Nous avons examiné l’ensemble de l’information fournie et observé toutes les activités pertinentes.

Nous soumettons par la présente le rapport final, portant sur les activités réalisées par le surveillant de l’équité, à commencer par la Journée de consultation de l’industrie le 5 novembre 2014 qui a eu lieu après l’avis de projet de marché (APM) publié le 15 octobre 2014, jusqu’à la réunion d’établissement de consensus des évaluateurs tenue le 3 et 4 novembre 2015.

Le présent rapport comprend notre attestation d’assurance, un résumé de la portée et des objectifs de notre mandat, les méthodes appliquées et les observations pertinentes des activités qui ont été tenues.

2. Attestation d’assurance

Par la présente, le surveillant de l’équité fournit l’énoncé d’assurance sans réserve suivant concernant le processus d’approvisionnement du Centre de formation par l’aventure de BATUS au Canada : Selon notre opinion professionnelle, le processus d’approvisionnement concurrentiel que nous avons observé a été mené en conformité avec les critères d’équité, d’ouverture et de transparence.

Original signé par
Howard Dubois, CIA
Représentant de l’entrepreneur en SE, Chef d’équipe de la SE

Original signé par
Elizabeth Buckingham, CPA, CMA, CIA
Chef d’équipe de la SE

Original signé par
Marthe Girouard, CPA, CA
Spécialiste de la SE

3. Exigences du projet

BATUS est la première unité d’entraînement de l’Armée britannique située au même emplacement que la Base des Forces canadiennes (BFC) Suffield à Ralston en Alberta. Elle existe depuis plus de quarante ans. Le rôle de BATUS consiste à assurer l’entraînement et à offrir un soutien à l’entraînement, essentiellement pour les forces blindées, mais aussi pour les autres unités au besoin.

Un contingent d’approximativement 200 employés permanents britanniques réside dans la BFC Suffield et assure l’exécution de l’entraînement des troupes britanniques. La saison d’entraînement se déroule généralement du début de mai à la fin octobre. BATUS mène également une formation par l’aventure (FA) et des activités d'épreuves de poursuite (AEP) près des contreforts des Rocheuses en Alberta pendant toute l’année. Les activités ont lieu dans les régions de l’arrière-pays telles que Kananaskis, le parc national Banff, le parc national Jasper et Bieseker en Alberta. Ces activités sont fournies à approximativement 2 000 membres du personnel par an.

La présente initiative a comme objectif d’obtenir l’utilisation du Centre de formation par l’aventure de BATUS (CFAB) pendant plusieurs années pour l’Armée britannique déployée en service permanent ou temporaire au Canada. En vertu du marché proposé, le soumissionnaire retenu fournira les installations, y compris des services d’hébergement, d’exploitation et d’entretien de l’installation, de services ménagers et de conciergerie, d’installation de restauration, de systèmes de soutien et de services de site.

4. Mandat en matière de surveillant de l’équité et observations

Hallux Consulting Inc. a été engagée à titre de surveillant de l’équité (SE) pour observer le processus d’approvisionnement concurrentiel concernant le Centre de formation par l’aventure de BATUS au Canada et pour fournir une attestation quant à l’équité, l’ouverture et la transparence de l’activité sous surveillance.

Conformément aux modalités de notre mandat, nous avons pris connaissance des documents pertinents, observé les activités reliées à la demande de propositions (DP), identifiant des points relatifs à l’équité aux parties appropriées (p. ex., les autorités contractantes et techniques) et vérifié que les réponses et les mesures de suivi étaient raisonnables et appropriées.

4.1 Phase de consultation de l’industrie

Lors de cette phase de l’approvisionnement, les principales activités comprenaient :

  • L’observation de la Journée de consultation de l’industrie tenue à Calgary en Alberta le 5 novembre 2014. Dix-huit fournisseurs ont participé à cette réunion
  • L’examen des modifications une à neuf qui ont fourni le matériel présenté lors de la Journée de consultation de l’industrie, donné une rétroaction et des questions supplémentaires de l’industrie pour sept questions posées par SPAC, répondu aux 46 questions posées par des fournisseurs éventuels à la Journée de l’industrie ou lors d’une des séances individuelles ou fourni des informations sur les séances individuelles tenues le 17 mars 2015. Toutes les modifications ont été publiées sur achatsetventes.gc.ca
  • L’observation des séances individuelles facultatives avec des fournisseurs éventuels le 17 mars 2015. Quatre fournisseurs ont participé à ces séances, trois en personne et un par téléconférence. Vingt-neuf questions ont été posées par des fournisseurs éventuels lors des séances individuelles

Toutes les observations sur les questions éventuelles d’équité ont été traitées de manière adéquate lors de la phase de consultation de l’industrie.

4.2 Phase de la demande de propositions

Lors de cette phase de l’approvisionnement, les principales activités comprenaient :

  • Examen de la version préliminaire de la DP
  • Participation à une téléconférence où la planification de la conférence des soumissionnaires était prévue
  • Examen de la version finale de la DP
  • Participation à la conférence des soumissionnaires qui a été tenue le 2 septembre 2015 à Calgary en Alberta et examen des comptes-rendus publiés avec la modification n° 3, y compris les réponses aux 43 questions
  • Participation par téléconférence à la formation menée par SPAC sur les critères d’évaluation de la DP du CFAB pour les évaluateurs de l’offre le 20 octobre 2015
  • Examen des questions posées par les soumissionnaires éventuels et des réponses données par les autorités contractantes dans les modifications à la DP

La procédure de passation de marchés était ouverte à tous les fournisseurs intéressés. Un processus de sélection en une seule phase avec l’évaluation de deux enveloppes a été utilisé pour cet approvisionnement. L’avis de projet de marché (APM) a été publié sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 18 août 2015. La date initiale de clôture de la DP était le 30 septembre 2015 et elle a été prolongée au 30 octobre 2015. Onze questions ont été reçues des soumissionnaires éventuels et les réponses aux questions ont été transmises par l’entremise de neuf modifications à la DP. Trois soumissions ont été reçues en réponse à la DP.

Toutes les observations sur les problèmes éventuels d’équité ont été traitées de manière adéquate lors de la phase de la DP.

4.3 Phase d’évaluation

Pendant la période d’évaluation, les principales activités comprenaient :

  • La participation à une téléconférence le 2 novembre 2015 pendant laquelle les instructions ont été communiquées à l’équipe des quatre évaluateurs; les propositions et les feuilles de cotation individuelle ont été distribuées; et les évaluateurs ont signé les attestations relatives à la confidentialité et aux conflits d’intérêt
  • L’examen des feuilles d’évaluation obligatoires des trois soumissionnaires
  • L’observation des séances d’évaluation technique tenues les 3 et 4 novembre 2015 à Calgary en Alberta. Les évaluations ont été menées de façon cohérente et sur consensus de tous les membres du comité d’évaluation
  • L’observation de la validation des résultats de l’évaluation technique par l’autorité contractante le 4 novembre 2015
  • L’observation du calcul des cotes finales de l’évaluation technique par l’autorité contractante le 4 novembre 2015
  • L’observation de la feuille de calcul de l’évaluation finale qui comprenait les cotes techniques et financières le 4 novembre 2015

Le spécialiste de la SE a observé que les procédures d’évaluation et les directives publiées dans la version finale de la DP, les modifications de la DP et le plan et les directives d’évaluation ont été suivies lors de la phase d’évaluation. Le spécialiste de la SE a exprimé des commentaires au besoin tout au long du processus d’évaluation à l’attention de l’équipe technique et de l’autorité contractante. Tous les commentaires ont été traités de manière appropriée par les responsables du projet.

Une des trois soumissions a été jugée irrecevable car les exigences obligatoires n’étaient pas satisfaites. L’enveloppe de prix de ce soumissionnaire n’a pas été ouverte.

Aucun problème d’équité n’a été relevé lors de la phase d’évaluation.

5. Documents de référence

Les documents liés à la partie Consultation de l’industrie de l’approvisionnement (numéro d’appel d’offres WO142-15X035/A) sont disponibles sur le site achatsetventes.gc.ca et(ou) par l’entremise du bureau de projet.

Sommaire du tableau

Le tableau suivant présente une liste des documents qui sont mentionnés dans le rapport, par exemple la demande de propositions (DP), les modifications, les lettres de précisions et les lettres d'information. Chaque ligne porte un numéro, suivi du titre du document et d'un identificateur, soit la date ou le numéro du document.

Les documents d’avis de projet de marché
No. Document Renseignements additionnels
1 Avis de projet de marché Avis de projet de marché émis sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 15 octobre 2014
2 Modification no. 001 Émis sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 13 novembre 2014
3 Modification no. 002 Émis sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 18 novembre 2014
4 Modification no. 003 Émis sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 24 novembre 2014
5 Modification no. 004 Émis sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 17 décembre 2014
6 Modification no. 005 Émis sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 18 décembre 2014
7 Modification no. 006 Émis sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 7 janvier 2015
8 Modification no. 007 Émis sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 14 janvier 2015
9 Modification no. 008 Émis sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 15 janvier 2015
10 Modification no. 009 Émis sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 26 janvier 2015

Une copie de la présentation menée lors de la séance de consultation de l’industrie le 5 novembre 2014 a été publiée sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 15 avril 2015 sous le numéro d’appel d’offres WO142-15X035/B Elle est également disponible en tant qu’annexe de l’appel d’offres WO142-15X035/A, modification no. 001.

Les documents liés à la demande de propositions (ARCHIVÉE - numéro d’appel d’offres WO142-15X035/C) sont disponibles sur le site achatsetventes.gc.ca et(ou) par l’entremise du bureau de projet.

Sommaire du tableau

Le tableau suivant présente une liste des documents qui sont mentionnés dans le rapport, par exemple la demande de propositions (DP), les modifications, les lettres de précisions et les lettres d'information. Chaque ligne porte un numéro, suivi du titre du document et d'un identificateur, soit la date ou le numéro du document.

Les documents de la demande de propositions
No.  Document Renseignements additionnels
1 Demande de propositions Documents de la demande de propositions (DP) publiés sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 18 août 2015
2 Modification no. 001 Publiée sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 8 septembre 2015
3 Modification no. 002 Publiée sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 16 septembre 2015
4 Modification no. 003 Publiée sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 21 septembre 2015
5 Modification no. 004 Publiée sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 21 septembre 2015
6 Modification no. 005 Publiée sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 24 septembre 2015
7 Modification no. 006 Publiée sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 5 octobre 2015
8 Modification no. 007 Publiée sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 9 octobre 2015
9 Modification no. 008 Publiée sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 16 octobre 2015
10 Modification no. 009 Publiée sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 23 octobre 2015

Addenda au rapport final, 30 mai 2016

Addenda au rapport final en date du 13 novembre 2015 concernant l’approvisionnement du Centre de formation par l’aventure de l’Unité d’entraînement de l’Armée britannique Suffield au Canada

Le présent addenda au rapport final couvre la période suivant la conclusion de la phase d’évaluation, y compris l’attribution du contrat et du compte rendu.

Le soumissionnaire retenu a été sélectionné et le contrat lui a été adjugé le 10 mai 2016. Les autres soumissionnaires ont été informés des résultats par une lettre envoyée par courriel le 10 mai 2016. De la rétroaction additionnelle a été donnée à un des soumissionnaires non retenus par téléconférence le 25 mai 2016. Le surveillant de l’équité a révisé la correspondance envoyée aux soumissionnaires retenus et non retenus et a participé à la rétroaction par téléconférence.

Attestation d’assurance du surveillant de l’équité

Par la présente, le surveillant de l’équité fournit l’énoncé d’assurance sans réserve suivant concernant le processus d’approvisionnement du Centre de formation par l’aventure de de l’Unité d’entraînement de l’Armée britannique Suffield au Canada : Selon notre opinion professionnelle, le processus d’approvisionnement concurrentiel que nous avons observé a été mené en conformité avec les critères d’équité, d’ouverture et de transparence.

Original signé par
Howard Dubois, CIA
Représentant de l’entrepreneur en SE, Chef d’équipe de la SE

Original signé par
Elizabeth Buckingham, CPA, CMA, CIA
Chef d’équipe de la SE

Original signé par
Marthe Girouard, CPA, CA
Spécialiste de la SE

Date de modification :