Royal Canadian Mounted Police Operations communication centre relocation project—Prime consultant

Fairness monitor final report, January 23, 2017

Addendum to final report, April 18, 2017

Submitted to Director, Fairness Monitoring Program

Submitted by Samson & Associates

On this page

1. Introduction

Samson & Associates was engaged as a Fairness Monitor (FM) on June 14, 2016 to observe the competitive selection process for the services of a Prime Consultant for the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) Operations Communication Centre Relocation Project, issued by Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) as a result of solicitation #M7594-170001/A. Samson & Associates is an independent third party with respect to this activity.

We reviewed all of the information provided and observed all relevant activities. We had full access to all aspects of the procurement process and co-operation from all stakeholders at the RCMP and PSPC.

We hereby submit the Final Report, covering the activities of the FM, commencing with the issuance of the Phase One Request for Proposal (RFP) and continuing through the close of the RFP evaluation phase.

This report includes our attestation of assurance, a summary of the scope and objectives of our assignment, the methodologies applied and relevant observations from the activities undertaken.

2. Attestation of assurance

The Fairness Monitor hereby provides the following unqualified assurance statement concerning the competitive selection process for the services of a Prime Consultant for the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Operations Communication Centre Relocation Project, commencing with the issuance of the Phase One Request for Proposal and continuing through the close of the Phase Two Request for Proposal evaluation phase.

It is our professional opinion that the competitive selection process we observed for the above services, was carried out in a fair, open and transparent manner.

Original signed by
Mathieu Farley, CPA auditor, CA, CIA, CISA
FM Team Leader
Partner, Audit & Advisory
Samson & Associates

Original signed by
Christian Dugas, CPA, CA
FM Specialist

3. Project requirement

The project objective is to deliver a permanent asset to be utilized by the RCMP. The facility will be operated on a 24 hour, seven-day-per-week basis and must be designed to post-disaster standards to ensure business continuity.

The services of an Architectural firm, acting as Prime Consultant, are required to undertake the design, construction administration, and review services needed to construct a new secure special purpose operational facility in the National Capital Region for the RCMP.

The overall project will consist of construction of a new building to be located on an existing secure RCMP campus in the National Capital Region, of which the above services of the Prime Consultant is the initial stage. The new building will have an estimated functional area requirement of 1,415 of net usable space (2,024 gross area), to house all the functions of the RCMP. Site development will be required to provide site preparation, road access, parking areas, pedestrian access routes, support functions to the new facility and facilitate utility connections.

As Prime Consultant, the selected Architectural firm will provide a full consulting Team including the required expertise in civil, structural, mechanical, electrical, Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) certification, landscape architecture, interior design, systems furniture and equipment specialists, audio visual systems specialists, network infrastructure systems specialists, signage and way finding specialists, project costing, scheduling and commissioning Consultants.

The Procurement Process is structured in two phases. Phase One evaluated and rated the teams proposed consisting of the prime consultant and their key sub-consultants and specialists; Phase Two evaluated the bidders’ understanding of the project, the scope of the services, the management of the services, and the design philosophy and approach based on the requirements described in the Project Brief.

4. Methodology

Samson & Associates was engaged as a FM to observe the competitive selection process for the services of a Prime Consultant for the RCMP Operations Communication Centre Relocation Project and to attest to the fairness, openness and transparency of this monitored activity.

In accordance with the terms of our engagement, we familiarized ourselves with the relevant documents, and observed bid solicitation activities (e.g., RFP Phase one and two, related questions and responses, site visit, as well as the RFP evaluation), identified fairness-related matters to the contracting and technical authorities, and ensured that responses and actions were reasonable and appropriate.

4.1 Activities and observations: Request for proposal phase one

The RFP for Phase One was posted via buyandsell.gc.ca on September 2, 2016 and closed October 25, 2016.

Questions from the potential bidders were accepted and answers were addressed and distributed via buyandsell.gc.ca prior to the closing date. The FM reviewed the RFP documents as well as all questions and answers provided during the RFP period to ensure fairness-related considerations were satisfactorily addressed.

No site visits were held during this phase.

At the close of the Phase One RFP, six (6) amendments were communicated as a result of questions from potential proponents and requested clarifications. The FM reviewed all amendments issued prior to their publication.

Fifteen (15) submissions were received by interested bidders, however, one submission was disqualified as the bidder delivered the submission to an incorrect location.

Observation: Questions arising during the RFP Phase One were handled in accordance with the terms of the RFP and responses were clear and understandable and communicated to all vendors in a timely fashion. All fairness considerations were satisfactorily resolved. No fairness issues were identified.

Summary of Findings: The RFP activities were conducted in a fair manner. In this context, fairness refers to decisions being made objectively, free from bias, favouritism or influence and conform to established rules.

4.2 Activities and observations: Request for proposal phase two

The results of the Phase One RFP were released on November 17, 2016 to all fourteen (14) successful bidders. The RFP documents for Phase Two, which formed part of the Phase One RFP, were not re-distributed to the bidders. Phase Two closed on December 14, 2016.

Questions from the potential bidders were accepted and answers were addressed and distributed via direct correspondence to the qualified respondents prior to the closing date. The FM reviewed the RFP documents as well as all questions and answers provided during the RFP period to ensure fairness-related considerations were satisfactorily addressed.

A site visit was held on November 30, 2016; the FM along with the CA and seven (7) interested bidders was present during this visit. The site visit was not mandatory for bidders.

At the close of the Phase Two RFP, one additional amendment was communicated as a result of questions from potential proponents and requested clarifications. A total of seven (7) amendments for both Phase One and Phase Two were issued. The FM reviewed all amendments issued prior to their publication.

Six (6) submissions were received by interested bidders at the close of the Phase Two.

Observation: Questions arising during the RFP Phase Two were handled in accordance with the terms of the RFP and responses were clear and understandable and communicated to all vendors in a timely fashion. All fairness considerations were satisfactorily resolved. No fairness issues were identified.

Summary of Findings: The RFP Phase Two activities were conducted in a fair manner. In this context, fairness refers to decisions being made objectively, free from bias, favouritism or influence and conform to established rules.

4.3 Activities and observations: Request for proposal evaluation phase

An evaluation kick-off meeting was held on December 19, 2016 with the evaluators to review roles and responsibilities. The CA and the FM were in attendance.

Only bids deemed to be responsive at the completion of Phase One were invited to submit a proposal under Phase Two; which consisted of a technical and financial evaluation of the responsive bids. Technical bids received in Phase Two were evaluated using rated criteria.

Bids were evaluated individually by the evaluators. The evaluators then met to arrive at consensus on the results of the evaluation. The FM and the Contracting Authority were in attendance for the consensus discussions.

As a result of the final evaluation consensus meetings, all six proponents were deemed to have met the minimum criteria stated in the RFP. The financial evaluation based on the criteria and methodology stated in the RFP determined the final ranking of the proponents and a successful proponent was identified on January 17, 2017. The FM reviewed the financial evaluation. One financial submission, however, was deemed non-compliant.

No fairness issues were identified.

Observation: The instructions and tools of the evaluators were complete, respected the terms of the RFP. Evaluation criteria, weighting and points awarded complied with what had been established in the RFP. Consensus discussions were open and a consensus was reached for all the criteria.

Summary of Findings: It is the opinion of the FM that the RFP Evaluation Phase was conducted in a fair manner. In this context, fairness refers to decisions being made objectively, free from bias, favouritism or influence and conforming to established rules.

5. Reference documents

The following documents referenced by number in this report and unless otherwise indicated, are all available through PSPC.

  Document Tracking Distribution Date
1 RFP notification published
Solicitation # M7594-170001/A
Buy and Sell Canada September 2, 2016
4 Amendment 1
Solicitation # M7594-170001/A
Buy and Sell Canada September 8, 2016
5 Amendment 2
Solicitation # M7594-170001/A
Buy and Sell Canada September 19, 2016
7 Amendment 3
Solicitation # M7594-170001/A
Buy and Sell Canada September 22, 2016
8 Amendment 4
Solicitation # M7594-170001/A
Buy and Sell Canada October 4, 2016
9 Amendment 5
Solicitation # M7594-170001/A
Buy and Sell Canada October 7, 2016
10 Amendment 6
Solicitation # M7594-170001/A
Buy and Sell Canada October 12, 2016
11 Amendment 7
Solicitation # M7594-170001/A
Direct Notification December 8, 2016
12 RFP Bid Evaluation Plan and
Technical Evaluation Worksheet
Distributed internally by email December 19, 2016

6. Addendum to final report, April 17, 2017

Addendum to fairness monitor final report dated January 23, 2017 on the competitive selection process for the services of a Prime Consultant for the Royal Canadian Mounted Police operations communication centre relocation project issued by Public Services and Procurement Canada.

This Addendum to the FM Final Report covers the period following the conclusion of the evaluation phase.

Fairness monitor activities related to contract award and debriefings

There were 15 bids submitted in response to the Phase One Request for Proposal. The Phase Two Request for Proposal was subsequently issued, for which six bids were received. The bidders were advised of the results and the contract award on January 28, 2017.

Debriefing letters, which provided information on the results of the evaluation, were reviewed by the FM and provided to the bidders on January 28, 2017. Meetings to discuss the results of the evaluation were requested by eight bidders and held during the week of April 3, 2017. The FM attended each debriefing meeting.

No FM issues were noted.

Fairness monitor attestation of assurance

The FM hereby provides the following unqualified assurance statement concerning the competitive selection process for the services of a Prime Consultant for the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Operations Communication Centre Relocation Project.

It is our professional opinion that the competitive selection process that we observed, was carried out in a fair, open and transparent manner.

Original signed by
Mathieu Farley, CPA auditor, CA, CIA, CISA
FM Team Leader
Partner, Audit & Advisory
Samson & Associates

Original signed by
Christian Dugas, CPA, CA
FM Specialist

Date modified:

Station de transmission opérationnelle pour la Gendarmerie royale du Canada – expert-conseil principal

Rapport final du surveillant de l'équité, 23 janvier 2017

Addenda au rapport final, 18 avril 2017

Soumis au directeur, Direction de la surveillance de l’équité

Soumis par Samson & Associés

Sur cette page

1. Introduction

Les services de Samson & Associés ont été retenus à titre de surveillant de l’équité (SE) le 22 avril 2016, pour observer le processus d’approvisionnement concurrentiel pour les services d’expert-conseil principal dans le cadre du projet de station de transmission opérationnelle pour la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC), entrepris par Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) dans le cadre de l’appel d’offres no. M7594-170001/A. Samson & Associés est un tiers indépendant à l’égard de cette activité.

Nous avons révisé l’ensemble des informations fournies, observé toutes les activités pertinentes. Nous avons eu un accès complet à tous les aspects du processus d’acquisition et obtenu la collaboration de tous les intervenants de la GRC et de SPAC.

Par la présente, nous soumettons le rapport final des activités observées par le SE, à commencer par la publication de la phase un de la demande de proposition (DDP) jusqu’à la fermeture de l’étape d’évaluation de la DDP.

Le rapport comprend une attestation d’assurance, un résumé de la portée et des objectifs de notre mandat, les méthodologies appliquées et les observations pertinentes découlant des activités exécutées.

2. Attestation d’assurance

Le surveillant de l’équité émet par la présente l’énoncé d’assurance sans réserve concernant le processus de sélection concurrentiel pour les services d’expert-conseil principal dans le cadre du projet de station de transmission opérationnelle pour la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, à commencer par la phase un de la demande de proposition jusqu’à la clôture de l’étape d’évaluation de la phase deux de la demande de proposition.

Selon notre opinion professionnelle, le processus de sélection concurrentiel que nous avons observé ci-dessus a été mené en conformité avec les critères d’équité, d’ouverture et de transparence.

Original signé par
Mathieu Farley, CPA auditeur, CA, CIA, CISA
Spécialiste SE
Associé, Vérification et services-conseils
Samson & Associés

Original signé par
Christian Dugas, CPA, CA
Spécialiste SE

3. Exigences du projet

L’objectif du projet consiste à fournir un bien immobilisé qui sera utilisé par la GRC. L’installation sera exploitée en permanence (24 heures par jour, sept jours par semaine). Elle doit répondre aux normes applicables aux bâtiments de protection civile pour assurer la continuité des activités.

La GRC a besoin des services d’un cabinet d’architectes investi du rôle d’expert-conseil principal. Ce cabinet devra assurer la prestation des services d’administration de la conception et de la construction, ainsi que des services d’examen nécessaires pour la construction d’une nouvelle installation opérationnelle sécurisée à usage spécial dans la région de la capitale nationale pour la GRC.

Le projet consiste en la construction d’un nouveau bâtiment qui sera situé sur un site sécurisé de la GRC qui existe déjà dans la région de la capitale nationale. Le nouveau bâtiment aura une superficie fonctionnelle estimative de 1 415  de surface utile nette (2 024  de surface brute), pour accueillir toutes les fonctions que la GRC veut y assurer. Des services d’aménagement du site seront requis de manière à assurer la préparation du chantier, à prévoir des accès routiers, des aires de stationnement et des voies d’accès pour les piétons, à assurer l’apport des fonctions de soutien à la nouvelle installation et à faciliter les raccordements aux services publics.

À titre d’expert-conseil principal, le cabinet d’architectes sélectionné fournira une équipe de conseil complète, dotée de l’expertise requise en génie structurel, en génie mécanique, en génie électrique, en certification Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED). Cette équipe doit aussi compter des spécialistes dans plusieurs domaines : architecture paysagère, aménagement intérieur, équipements et meubles de bureau classés en systèmes, systèmes audiovisuels, systèmes d’infrastructures de réseaux, signalisation et orientation. Enfin, elle doit inclure des experts-conseils en établissement des coûts de projet, en planification et en mise en service.

La demande de proposition du processus d’approvisionnement concurrentiel est séparée en deux phases. La phase un avait pour but d’évaluer et de coter les équipes, qui selon la proposition, comprendront un expert-conseil principal et des sous-experts-conseils et spécialistes. La phase deux a permis d’évaluer les soumissionnaires en égard à leur compréhension du projet, la portée des services offerts et la gestion de ceux-ci, leurs conceptions philosophiques et approche, basée sur les exigences telles que décrit dans l’énoncé du projet.

4. Méthodologie

Les services de Samson & Associés ont été retenus comme surveillant de l’équité pour observer le processus de sélection concurrentiel pour les services d’expert-conseil principal dans le cadre du projet de station de transmission opérationnelle pour la GRC et pour attester de l’équité, de l’ouverture et de la transparence de cette activité.

En conformité avec les exigences de notre tâche, nous avons pris connaissance des documents pertinents et observé les activités relatives à l’appel d’offres (c’est-à-dire, la DDP pour la phase un et deux, les questions et réponses y afférents, la visite des lieux ainsi que l’évaluation de la DDP) et nous avons soumis les points relatifs à l’équité à l’attention des autorités contractantes et techniques, puis nous avons vérifié si les réponses et les mesures prises étaient raisonnables et appropriées.

4.1 Activités et observations : phase un de la demande de proposition

La phase un de la DDP a été publiée le 2 septembre 2016 sur le Service électronique d’appels d’offres du gouvernement, achatsetventes.gc.ca. La date de clôture était le 25 octobre 2016.

Les questions des soumissionnaires potentiels ont été acceptées et les réponses ont été publiées sur achatsetventes.gc.ca avant la date de clôture. Le SE a examiné tous les documents de la DDP ainsi que toutes les questions et réponses traitées durant l’étape de la DDP pour s’assurer que les aspects relatifs à l’équité étaient abordés de manière satisfaisante.

Il n’y a pas eu de visite de lieux durant la phase un de la DDP.

À la clôture de la phase un de la DDP, six (6) modifications ont été publiées, résultant des questions et des demandes de clarification des soumissionnaires potentiels. Le SE a examiné toutes les modifications avant leur publication.

Quinze (15) soumissions ont été reçues par des soumissionnaires intéressés, toutefois une soumission a été disqualifiée parce que le soumissionnaire a fait parvenir sa soumission au mauvais endroit.

Observation : Les questions posées durant la phase un de la DDP ont été traitées et répondues selon les conditions de la DDP. Les réponses étaient claires et compréhensibles et communiquées à tous les fournisseurs en temps opportun. Toutes les questions d’équité ont été traitées de manière satisfaisante. Aucune problématique en matière d’équité n’a été observée.

Sommaire des résultats : Les activités de la DDP ont été menées d’une manière équitable, ouverte et transparente. Dans ce contexte, l’équité fait référence aux décisions prises de manière objective, libre de biais, favoritisme ou influence, et se conformant aux règles établies.

4.2 Activités et observations : phase deux de la demande de proposition

Les résultats de la phase un de la DDP ont été publiés le 17 novembre 2016 aux quatorze (14) soumissionnaires sélectionnés. Les documents de la DDP de la phase deux qui comprenait des sections de la phase un, n’ont pas été redistribués aux soumissionnaires. La date de clôture de la phase deux était le 14 décembre 2016.

Les questions des soumissionnaires potentiels ont été acceptées et les réponses ont été traitées et envoyées directement aux soumissionnaires qualifiés avant la date de clôture. Le SE a examiné les documents relatifs à la DDP ainsi que toutes les questions et réponses traitées durant l’étape de la DDP pour s’assurer que les questions concernant l’équité ont été traitées de manière satisfaisante.

Une visite des lieux a eu lieu le 30 novembre 2016. Le SE, l’autorité contractante et sept (7) soumissionnaires intéressés ont participé à la visite. La visite des lieux n’était pas obligatoire pour les soumissionnaires.

À la clôture de la phase deux de la DDP, une modification additionnelle résultant de questions et des demandes de clarification des soumissionnaires potentiels a été publiée.

Un total de sept (7) modifications ont été publiées pour les deux phases de la DDP. Le SE a examiné toutes les modifications avant leur publication.

Six (6) soumissionnaires intéressés ont soumis leur soumission à la clôture de la phase deux.

Observation : Les questions posées durant la phase deux de la DDP ont été traitées et répondues selon les conditions de la DDP, les réponses étaient claires et compréhensibles et communiquées à tous les fournisseurs en temps opportun. Toutes les questions d’équité ont été traitées de manière satisfaisante. Aucune problématique en matière d’équité n’a été observée.

Sommaire des résultats : Les activités relatives à la phase deux de la DDP ont été menées d’une manière équitable, ouverte et transparente. Dans ce contexte, l’équité fait référence aux décisions prises de manière objective, libre de biais, favoritisme ou influence, et se conformant aux règles établies.

4.3 Activités et observations : étape de l’évaluation de la demande de proposition

Une réunion de lancement pour réviser le rôle et les responsabilités des évaluateurs quant à l’évaluation des soumissions a eu lieu le 19 décembre 2016. L’autorité contractante et le SE ont assisté à la réunion.

Seules les soumissionnaires ayant soumis une proposition jugée recevable à la conclusion de la phase un ont été invités à soumettre une proposition à la phase deux. La proposition consistait en une évaluation technique et financière des soumissions recevables. Les soumissions techniques reçues durant la phase deux ont été évaluées à l’aide de critères cotés.

Les soumissions ont été évaluées individuellement par les évaluateurs, puis ils se sont rencontrés pour arriver à un consensus quant aux résultats de l’évaluation. Le SE et l’autorité contractante ont assisté aux discussions de consensus.

Suite à aux rencontres d’évaluation consensuelles, six soumissionnaires se conformaient aux exigences minimum énoncées dans la DDP. Le classement final des soumissionnaires a été déterminé en fonction de l’évaluation financière basée sur les critères et la méthodologie énoncés dans la DDP. Le soumissionnaire gagnant a été identifié le 17 janvier 2017. Le SE a examiné l’évaluation financière. Une soumission financière a été jugée non conforme.

Aucune problématique sur l’équité n’a été identifiée.

Observation : Les instructions et outils d’évaluation étaient complets et conformes aux conditions de la DDP. Les critères d’évaluation, la pondération et l’attribution des points ont été effectuée en respectant la DDP. Les discussions consensuelles étaient ouvertes et un consensus a été atteint pour tous les critères.

Sommaire des résultats : Selon le SE, l'étape de l’évaluation de la DDP a été menée d’une manière équitable, ouverte et transparente. Dans ce contexte, l’équité fait référence aux décisions prises de manière objective, libre de biais, favoritisme ou influence, et se conformant aux règles établies.

5. Documents de références

Les documents ci-dessous sont cités par numéro et à moins d’indication contraire, ils peuvent être obtenus auprès de SPAC.

  Suivi de document Distribution Date
1 Notification de la publication de la DDP
Soumission no M7594-170001/A
Achats et ventes Canada 2 septembre 2016
4 Modification 1
Soumission no M7594-170001/A
Achats et ventes Canada 8 septembre 2016
5 Modification 2
Soumission no M7594-170001/A
Achats et ventes Canada 19 septembre 2016
7 Modification 3
Soumission no M7594-170001/A
Achats et ventes Canada 22 septembre 2016
8 Modification 4
Soumission no M7594-170001/A
Achats et ventes Canada 4 octobre 2016
9 Modification 5
Soumission no M7594-170001/A
Achats et ventes Canada 7 octobre 2016
10 Modification 6
Soumission no M7594-170001/A
Achats et ventes Canada 12 octobre 2016
11 Modification 7
Soumission no M7594-170001/A
Notification directe 8 décembre 2016
12 Plan d’évaluation des soumissions et les fiches d’évaluation technique DDP Distribution interne par courriel 19 décembre 2016

6. Addenda au rapport final, 18 avril 2017

Addenda au rapport final de surveillance de l’équité en date du 23 janvier 2017 concernant le processus de sélection concurrentiel pour les services d’expert-conseil principal dans le cadre du projet de station de transmission opérationnelle pour la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, entrepris par Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada.

Le présent addenda au rapport final de surveillance de l’équité porte sur la période ultérieure à la fin de la phase d’évaluation.

Activités de surveillant de l’équité relatives à l’adjudication du contrat et aux comptes rendus

Quinze soumissions ont été reçues en réponse à la demande de proposition initial. La seconde phase de la demande de proposition a ensuite été émise, pour laquelle six soumissions ont éré reçues. Les soumissionnaires ont été avisé des résultats et de l’octroi du contrat le 28 janvier 2017.

Des lettres de compte rendu fournissant de l’information sur les résultats de l’évaluation ont été envoyées aux soumissionnaires le 28 janvier 2017, après avoir été révisées par le SE. Des rencontres de compte rendu ont été demandées par huit soumissionnaires. Les rencontres ont eu lieu durant la semaine du 3 avril 2017 et le SE était présent à chacune d’elle.

Aucune problématique sur l’équité n’a été identifiée.

Attestation d’assurance du surveillant de l’équité

Le SE fournit l’énoncé d’assurance sans réserve à l’égard du processus de sélection concurrentiel pour les services d’expert-conseil principal dans le cadre du projet de station de transmission opérationnelle pour la Gendarmerie royale du Canada.

Selon notre opinion professionnelle, le processus de sélection concurrentiel que nous avons observé a été mené en conformité avec les critères d’équité, d’ouverture et de transparence.

Original signé par
Mathieu Farley, CPA auditeur, CA, CIA, CISA
Spécialiste SE
Associé, Vérification et services-conseils
Samson & Associés

Original signé par
Christian Dugas, CPA, CA
Spécialiste SE

Date de modification :