Maintenance dredging—North Traverse, Cap-Santé Traverse, Bécancour and St-Pierre Lake (2019 to 2025)

Fairness monitor final report, March 17, 2017

Addendum to final report, June 5, 2017

Submitted to Knowles Consultancy Services Inc. and Hills International Inc. in joint venture

Submitted by Samson & Associates

On this page

Background and introduction

As Fairness Monitor (FM), Knowles Consultancy Services Inc. and Hill International Inc.  in Joint Venture (hereafter referred to as the Fairness Monitor) hereby submits its Fairness Monitor Contractor’s Final Report pertaining to the competitive procurement process for the Maintenance Dredging—North Traverse, Cap-Santé Traverse, Bécancour and St-Pierre Lake (2019 to 2025). This procurement process was undertaken by Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) through Invitation to Tender (IT) No. EE517-170476/B.

Knowles Consultancy Services Inc. and Hill International Inc. in Joint Venture is an independent third party with respect to this activity.

This Final Report covers our activities from the beginning of our involvement at the IT phase on November 17, 2016 through the evaluation of the offer received.

A Letter of Interest was published from August 12 to September 28, 2016 before the beginning of the services of the FM.

This report includes our attestation of assurance, a summary of the scope and objectives of our assignment, the methodologies applied, and details of our activities including any relevant findings from the activities undertaken.

Project requirement

The St. Lawrence /Great Lakes waterway is a 3,700-km international shipping route that links the Atlantic Ocean to Quebec ports the whole of its length and to 65 ports on the Great Lakes, the industrial and agricultural heartland of North America. The St. Lawrence waterway is Canada’s main shipping route and is therefore vital from an economic standpoint. The St. Lawrence River is also recognized world-wide for the variety and abundance of its wildlife habitats.

The Canadian Coast Guard is responsible for annual maintenance of the waterway’s Canadian section to ensure the safety of mariners and the protection of the environment. The objective of this dredging work is to restore the depth shown on marine charts by removing accumulated sediment caused by the phenomenon of sedimentation.

At approximately 60,000 cubic metres per year, the maintenance dredging contract for the North Traverse is the largest in the area from Montréal to Île-aux-Coudres.

The approximately 30 kilometre section of the North Traverse between Saint-Jean, Île d’Orléans and Cap Gribane has several distinguishing features that must be considered by the Contractor carrying out this dredging work. This section of the river experiences the most severe weather conditions between Montréal and Île-aux-Coudres.  The wind storms are frequent, the currents produced by tidal action and the meeting of fresh and salt waters are strong and unpredictable. One also has to face daily variations of the water level of more than 6 metres resulting from the effect of the tide.

The dredging work in this contract also consists of annually removing approximately 2,000 m3 in the Cap-Santé Traverse sector, and 21,000 m3 of sediment in the Bécancour sector. The dredging work in the Lake St-Pierre sector consists of removing approximately 5,000 m³ of sediment every two years.

Attestation of assurance

The Fairness Monitor hereby provides the unqualified assurance statement which follows concerning the competitive procurement process for the Maintenance Dredging—North Traverse, Cap-Santé Traverse, Bécancour and St-Pierre Lake (2019 to 2025).

It is the professional opinion of the Fairness Monitor that the competitive procurement process for the Maintenance Dredging Traverse, Cap Santé Traverse, Bécancour and St-Pierre Lake (2019 to 2025) was conducted in a fair, open and transparent manner.

Note: For references in this report concerning fairness related comments being provided to project officials, it is confirmed that, as necessary, project officials provided clarification to the Fairness Monitor or took appropriate action to address the comments and as a result, no fairness deficiencies were recorded.

Original signed by
Roger Bridges
President
Knowles Consultancy Services Inc.
FM Contractor’s Representative

Original signed by
Bruce Maynard, P. Eng.
FM Team Leader

Original signed by
Jean Montplaisir
FM Specialist

Original signed by
Geneviève Arcand
Back-up FM Specialist

Objectives of the fairness monitor assignment and methodology

The overall objective was to provide independent observation of the procurement process and to submit fairness related comments to project officials as early as possible, so that appropriate action could be taken to address the comments before fairness was impacted. The Director Fairness Monitoring would be advised of any fairness related concerns that were not addressed promptly. At the conclusion of the procurement process, an assurance statement as to its fairness would be provided.

To accomplish the objective, we undertook the following activities and, where applicable, provided fairness related comments to the Contracting Authority:

Fairness monitor specific activities and findings

Fairness monitor activities and findings prior to and during the invitation to tender phase

From November 18, 2016 to January 18, 2017, we reviewed draft and final versions of the Invitation to Tender which was posted on Buyandsell.gc.ca on December 1, 2016 (Document 1). Based on our reviews, we provided comments to the Contracting Authority. Appropriate actions were taken by the project officials. During the period January 11 to February 7, 2017, we reviewed the questions and answers, the amendments 1 to 5 to the Invitation to Tender (Documents 2 to 6) which had been posted on Buyandsell.gc.ca during the period January 17 to February 7, 2017. No fairness deficiencies were identified.

On December 20, 2016 we attended meetings of bidders in PSPC’s offices in Quebec City. No fairness related deficiencies were identified.

The Invitation to Tender closed on February 9, 2017.

Fairness monitor activities and findings on the evaluation phase

On February 9, 2017 we observed the evaluation of the mandatory technical criteria of the only offer received and no fairness deficiencies were identified. We were advised that the pricing of the offer was compared to the pricing provided in the prior Invitation to Tender for the same work and the pricing of the offer was considered to be reasonable.

Reference documents

The following documents are referenced by number in this report. These documents are available on buyandsell.ca or through the PSPC’s office in Quebec City.
No. Documents Date
1 Invitation to Tender Posted on buyandsell.gc.ca December 1, 2016
2 Amendment no.1 to the IT Posted on buyandsell.gc.ca January 17, 2017
3 Amendment no.2 to the IT Posted on buyandsell.gc.ca January 20, 2017
4 Amendment no.3 to the IT Posted on buyandsell.gc.ca February 3, 2017
5 Amendment no.4 to the IT Posted on buyandsell.gc.ca February 7, 2017
6 Amendment no.5 to the IT Posted on buyandsell.gc.ca February 7, 2017

Addendum to final report, June 5, 2017

Addendum to fairness monitor final report dated March 17, 2017 concerning the Maintenance dredging—North Traverse, Cap-Santé Traverse, Bécancour and St-Pierre Lake (2019 to 2025).

This addendum to the fairness monitor final report covers the period following the conclusion of the evaluation phase including contract award.

On May 5, 2017 we were advised that the contract had been awarded on May 4, 2017 to the only bidder that responded to the bid solicitation and that the bidder did not request a debriefing.

Fairness monitor attestation of assurance

It is the professional opinion of the Fairness Monitor that the post evaluation activities were carried out in a fair, open and transparent manner. 

Original signed by
Roger Bridges
President
Knowles Consultancy Services Inc.
FM Contractor’s Representative

Original signed by
Bruce Maynard, P. Eng.
FM Team Leader

Original signed by
Jean Montplaisir
FM Specialist

Original signed by
Geneviève Arcand
Back-up FM Specialist

Date modified:

Dragage d’entretien – Traverse du Nord, Traverse Cap-Santé, Bécancour et Lac Saint-Pierre (2019 à 2025)

Rapport final du surveillant de l'équité, 17 mars 2017

Addenda au rapport final, 5 juin 2017

Soumis au Directeur, Programme de surveillance de l’équité

Soumis par Knowles Consultancy Services Inc. et Hill International Inc. en coentreprise

Sur cette page

Contexte et introduction

En qualité de Surveillant de l’équité (SE), Knowles Consultancy Services Inc. et Hill International Inc. en coentreprise (ci-après dénommé le Surveillant de l’équité) soumet le présent rapport final de l’entrepreneur Surveillant de l’équité (rapport final SE) concernant le processus concurrentiel d’approvisionnement pour le dragage d’entretien – Traverse du Nord, Traverse Cap-Santé, Bécancour et Lac Saint-Pierre (2019 à 2025). Ce processus concurrentiel a été entrepris par Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) par l’appel d’offres (AO) no. EE517-170476/B.

Knowles Consultancy Services Inc.et Hill International en coentreprise est une tierce partie indépendante quant à cette activité.

Ce rapport final couvre nos activités à partir du début de notre participation à la phase de AO le 17 novembre 2016, jusqu’à l’évaluation de l’offre reçue.

Une lettre d’intérêt a été publiée du 12 août au 28 septembre 2016 avant le début des services du SE.

Ce rapport inclut notre attestation d’assurance, un résumé de la portée et des objectifs de notre mandat, les méthodologies appliquées, et les détails de nos activités incluant les observations pertinentes résultant des activités entreprises.

Exigences du projet

Le système de navigation Saint-Laurent / Grands Lacs constitue une voie internationale de 3700 km de longueur qui relie l’océan Atlantique aux ports du Québec localisés tout au long de son parcours ainsi qu’aux quelques 65 ports de la région des Grands Lacs, cœur industriel et agricole de l’Amérique du Nord. La voie navigable du Saint-Laurent constitue la principale voie de transport maritime du pays ce qui explique son importance sur le plan économique. Le fleuve St-Laurent est également reconnu au niveau mondial pour la variété et la richesse de ses habitats fauniques.

La Garde côtière canadienne a le mandat d’assurer l’entretien annuel de la portion canadienne de la voie navigable de façon à assurer la sécurité des navigateurs et la protection de l’environnement. Ces travaux de dragage visent à rétablir les profondeurs indiquées sur les cartes marines en enlevant les accumulations de sédiments provenant du phénomène de sédimentation.

Le contrat de dragage d’entretien du secteur de la Traverse du Nord avec son volume annuel estimatif de 60 000 mètres cubes est le plus important contrat de ce type dans le tronçon de la voie navigable compris entre Montréal et l’Île aux Coudres.

Le secteur de la Traverse du Nord qui s’étend entre St-Jean, Île d’Orléans et Cap Gribane est d’une longueur totale d’environ 30 kilomètres et présente plusieurs particularités devant être prises en considération par l’entrepreneur responsable de l’exécution de ces travaux de dragage. Ce tronçon du fleuve est celui où l’on retrouve les conditions de navigation les plus sévères entre Montréal et l’Île aux Coudres. Les tempêtes de vents y sont fréquentes, les courants produits sous l’effet de la marée et de la rencontre des eaux douces et salées sont puissants et imprévisibles. On doit également faire face à des variations quotidiennes du niveau d’eau de plus de 6 mètres résultant de l’effet de la marée.

Les travaux de dragage au contrat consistent également à retirer annuellement environ 2 000 m3 dans le secteur de la Traverse Cap-Santé, et environ 21 000 m3 de sediments dans le secteur de Bécancour. Les travaux de dragage du secteur Lac St-Pierre consistent à retirer aux 2 ans environ 5 000 m3 de sediments.

Attestation d’assurance

Le Surveillant de l’équité fourni le présent énoncé d’assurance sans réserve suivant, concernant le processus concurrentiel d’approvisionnement pour le dragage d’entretien – Traverse du Nord, Traverse Cap-Santé, Bécancour et Lac Saint-Pierre (2019 à 2025).

Selon l’opinion professionnelle du Surveillant de l’équité, le processus concurrentiel d’approvisionnement pour le dragage d’entretien – Traverse du Nord, Traverse Cap-Santé, Bécancour et Lac Saint-Pierre (2019 à 2025) a été mené de façon équitable, ouverte et transparente.

Remarque : Pour toutes les références dans le présent rapport concernant les commentaires relatifs à l’équité, il est confirmé que le cas échéant, les responsables du projet ont fourni au Surveillant de l’équité les éclaircissements ou ont pris les mesures appropriées pour répondre aux commentaires et en conséquence, aucune lacune en matière d’équité n’a été notée.

Original signé par
Roger Bridges
Président
Knowles Consultancy Services Inc.
Représentant de l’entrepreneur SE

Original signé par
Bruce Maynard, Ing.
Chef d’équipe SE

Original signé par
Jean Montplaisir
Spécialiste SE

Original signé par
Geneviève Arcand
Spécialiste SE suppléante

Objectifs du mandat du surveillant de l’équité et méthodologie

L’objectif global était de fournir une observation indépendante du processus et de soumettre aux responsables de l’approvisionnement, des commentaires relatifs à l’équité aussitôt que possible, afin que les mesures appropriées puissent être prises pour donner suite aux commentaires avant qu’ils influent sur l’équité. Le Directeur de la surveillance de l’équité serait informé de toute préoccupation relative à l’équité qui n’aurait pas été traitée promptement. À la conclusion du processus d’approvisionnement, une attestation d’assurance quant à son équité serait fournie.

Pour réaliser l’objectif, nous avons entrepris les activités suivantes et le cas échéant, nous avons fourni à l’Autorité contractante des commentaires relatifs à l’équité :

Activités et observations spécifiques du surveillant de l’équité

Activités et observations du surveillant de l’équité durant l’appel d’offres

Du 18 novembre 2016 au 18 janvier 2017, nous avons examiné des versions ébauche et finale de l’appel d’offres qui a été affiché sur Achatsetventes.gc.ca le 1er décembre 2016 (Document 1). Basés sur nos examens, nous avons fourni à l’autorité contractante des commentaires. Les mesures appropriées pour traiter ces commentaires ont été prises par les responsables du projet. Durant la période du 11 janvier au 7 février 2017, nous avons examiné les questions et réponses et les modifications 1 à 5 à l’appel d’offres (Documents 2 à 6) qui avaient été affichées sur Achatsetventes.gc.ca durant la période du 17 janvier au 7 février 2017. Aucune lacune en matière d’équité n’a été décelée.

Le 20 décembre 2016, nous avons assisté aux réunions de soumissionnaires, dans les bureaux de SPAC à Québec. Aucune lacune en matière d’équité n’a été relevée.

La date de clôture de l’appel d’offres était le 9 février 2017.

Activités et observations du surveillant de l’équité sur la phase de l’évaluation

Le 9 février 2017, nous avons observé l’évaluation des critères techniques obligatoires de la seule offre reçue et aucune lacune en matière d’équité n’a été décelée. Nous avons été informé que le prix de l'offre avait été comparé au prix fourni lors de l'appel d'offres précédent pour le même travail et que le prix de l'offre avait été considéré  comme étant raisonnable.

Documents de références

Les documents suivants sont référencés par numéro dans ce rapport. Ces documents sont disponibles par l'entremise du bureau régional de SPAC à Québec.
No. Documents Date
1 Appel d’offres Publié sur Achatsetventes.gc.ca le 1er décembre 2016
2 Modification no. 1 de l’appel d’offres Publié sur Achatsetventes.gc.ca le 20 janvier 2017
3 Modification no. 2 de l’appel d’offres Publié sur Achatsetventes.gc.ca le 20 janvier 2017
4 Modification no. 3 de l’appel d’offres Publié sur Achatsetventes.gc.ca le 3 février 2017
5 Modification no. 4 de l’appel d’offres Publié sur Achatsetventes.gc.ca le 7 février 2017
6 Modification no. 5 de l’appel d’offres Publié sur Achatsetventes.gc.ca le 7 février 2017

Addenda au rapport final, 10 juin 2017

Addenda au rapport final du surveillant de l’équité daté le 17 mars 2017 concernant le drainage d’entretien - Traverse du Nord, Traverse Cap-Santé, Bécancour et Lac Saint-Pierre (2019 à 2025).

Cet addenda au rapport final du Surveillant de l’équité couvre la période subséquente à la conclusion de la phase de l’évaluation et de l’octroi du contrat.

Le 5 mai 2017, nous avons été informés que le contrat avait été octroyé le 4 mai 2017 à l’unique soumissionnaire ayant répondu à l’appel d’offres et que le soumissionnaire n’avait pas demandé de compte rendu.

Attestation d’assurance du surveillant de l’équité

Selon l’opinion professionnelle du Surveillant de l’équité, les activités postérieures à l’évaluation ont été menées de façon équitable, ouverte et transparente.

Original signé par
Roger Bridges
Président
Knowles Consultancy Services Inc.
Représentant de l’entrepreneur SE

Original signé par
Bruce Maynard, Ing.
Chef d’équipe SE

Original signé par
Jean Montplaisir
Spécialiste SE

Original signé par
Geneviève Arcand
Spécialiste SE suppléante

Date de modification :