Future Aircrew Training Program

Explore the procurement program to develop the Future Aircrew Training (FAcT) Program.

On this page

Program at a glance

Overview
The program will renew aircrew training services to help maintain a multi-purpose and combat capable air force. The program will include delivery of pilot training, as well as aircrew training for air combat systems officers and airborne electronic sensor operators
Procuring
Comprehensive aircrew training program that provides aircraft, simulators, civilian instructors and classroom training systems, as well as other essential services, such as aircraft and airfield maintenance, accommodation, and food services
Program status
Request for proposals (RFP) has been provided to qualified suppliers. Formal engagement with industry and qualified suppliers continues
Next steps
Contract award anticipated in 2023

Program description

The Government of Canada is renewing its existing aircrew training services. The new procurement will result in 1 contract covering all the requirements, including maintenance and infrastructure services. The contract period is expected to be at least 20 years.

Existing contracts

Training services are currently provided through 2 separate contracts:

  • North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) Flying Training in Canada is provided by CAE Military Aviation Training through a contract that expires in 2023
    • The contract includes an additional option year, which could extend the services to 2024
  • Contracted flying training and support is provided by Allied Wings
    • The contract will expire in 2027

Locations

The training services take place at the following locations:

  • 15 Wing Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan
  • Southport (formerly known as Canadian Forces Base Portage la Prairie), Manitoba
  • 17 Wing Winnipeg, Manitoba

New training services

Following a review, the Government of Canada determined the new training services will continue to be provided at the existing locations.

Canada’s Industrial and Technological Benefits Policy applies to this procurement, requiring the winning suppliers to place investments in Canada equal to the value of the contract. This procurement will leverage the strength of Canadian industry in areas related to training, simulation, and in-service support. This will ensure the Canadian aerospace and defence industries are well positioned to participate, grow and compete in the global marketplace.

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada is involved in this process to ensure the Canadian aerospace and defence industries are well positioned to participate.

Qualified suppliers will be asked to submit an Indigenous Benefits Plan as part of their bids. The winning supplier will commit to supporting Indigenous Benefits in Canada. Public Services and Procurement Canada continues to engage with Indigenous groups on this procurement.

Engagement with the qualified suppliers is ongoing.

Through this engagement, Canada has defined its requirements, and industry representatives have had the opportunity to provide feedback on items such as procurement approach, schedule, solicitation documents and economic benefits to Canada.

Current status

On February 11, 2022, the Government of Canada provided the RFP to qualified suppliers.

Procurement progress and engagement

The procurement is being completed through an open, fair and transparent competitive process.

2013 and 2016

  • 2013: Preliminary consultations began
  • 2016: Industry was advised of the new scope of this procurement through a Letter of Interest

2018 to 2020

  • May 2, 2018: The government held a FAcT Industry Engagement Session in Ottawa
  • November 15, 2018: Canada launched an Invitation to Qualify to establish a list of qualified suppliers
  • December 10, 2018: The Government of Canada published a list of qualified suppliers that demonstrated their ability to meet Canada’s needs, as defined in an Invitation to Qualify. The companies currently engaging as qualified suppliers are:
    • SkyAlyne Canada Limited Partnership
    • Babcock Canada
    • Leonardo Canada
  • December 16, 2020: The Government of Canada provided the draft RFP to qualified suppliers

Only these suppliers can participate in the next phases of engagement and submit proposals in the competition. Both suppliers will be subject to the same evaluation criteria. Proposals will be assessed on cost, technical requirements and economic benefits.

BAE Systems, Airbus Defence and Space, and Lockheed Martin Canada were originally on the list of qualified suppliers for the program. BAE Systems, Airbus Defence and Space, and Lockheed Martin Canada informed the Government of Canada of their decisions to withdraw from the competition on April 2, 2019, September 13, 2019, and December 14, 2020, respectively. These companies can no longer submit proposals for this procurement. In August 2021 Babcock Canada and Leonardo Canada, both qualified suppliers under the FAcT Invitation to Qualify, advised Canada that they had formed a joint venture in support of FAcT.

2022 and beyond

  • February 11, 2022: The RFP was provided to qualified suppliers
    • Formal engagement with industry and qualified suppliers continues
  • 2023: The contract award is anticipated

Related links

Date modified:

Programme de formation du personnel navigant de l'avenir

Explorez le projet d’approvisionnement qui mènera à l’établissement du Programme de formation du personnel navigant de l’avenir (FPNA).

Sur cette page

Programme en bref

Aperçu
Le programme vise à renouveler les services de formation du personnel navigant qui permettent de maintenir une force aérienne polyvalente et prête au combat. Il comprendra la prestation de l'entraînement au pilotage, ainsi que la formation du personnel navigant destinée aux officiers de systèmes de combat aérien et aux opérateurs de détecteurs électroniques aéroportés
Acquisition
Un programme de formation du personnel navigant exhaustif qui comprend des aéronefs, des simulateurs, des instructeurs civils, des systèmes d’entraînement en classe ainsi que d’autres services essentiels, comme l’entretien des aéronefs et de l’aérodrome, l’hébergement et des services de restauration
État du programme
La demande de propositions (DP) a été remise aux fournisseurs qualifiés. La mobilisation en bonne et due forme de l'industrie et des fournisseurs qualifiés se poursuit
Prochaines étapes
L’attribution du contrat est prévue pour 2023

Description du programme

Le gouvernement du Canada renouvèle ses services existants de formation du personnel navigant. Le projet d’approvisionnement donnera lieu à un seul contrat qui répondra à toutes les besoins, y compris des services d’entretien et d’infrastructures. Le contrat doit durer au moins 20 ans.

Contrats actuels

Les services de formation sont actuellement assurés dans le cadre de 2 contrats distincts :

  • Le programme d'Entraînement en vol de l'Organisation du Traité de l'Atlantique Nord (OTAN) au Canada est dispensé par la division Formation à l'aviation militaire de CAE dans le cadre d'un contrat qui arrivera à échéance en 2023
    • Le contrat comprend une option de prorogation d’une année, qui permettrait de prolonger les services jusqu'en 2024
  • Les services contractuels d'entraînement au vol et de soutien sont fournis par Allied Wings.
    • Le contrat prendra fin en 2027

Emplacements

Les services d'entraînement sont offerts aux endroits suivants :

  • 15e Escadre Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan
  • Southport (anciennement appelé Base des Forces canadiennes Portage la Prairie), Manitoba
  • 17e Escadre, Winnipeg (Manitoba)

Nouveaux services de formation

À la suite d'un examen, le gouvernement du Canada a conclu que les nouveaux services de formation continueront d'être fournis aux endroits actuels.

La politique des Retombées industrielles et technologiques du Canada s'applique à ce projet d’approvisionnement. Elle exige que les soumissionnaires retenus investissent au Canada des sommes égales à la valeur du contrat. Ce projet d’approvisionnement permettra de tirer parti de la force de l'industrie canadienne dans des domaines de la formation, de la simulation et du soutien en service. Ainsi, les industries canadiennes de l'aérospatiale et de la défense seront en bonne position pour participer au marché mondial, y croître et y être concurrentielles.

Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada participe au processus pour faire en sorte que les industries canadiennes de l'aérospatiale et de la défense soient bien positionnées pour y participer.

On demandera aux fournisseurs qualifiés d’inclure un Plan d’avantages offerts aux Autochtones dans leur soumission. Le fournisseur retenu s’engagera à offrir des avantages aux Autochtones du Canada. Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada continue de mobiliser les groupes autochtones en ce qui concerne ce projet d’approvisionnement.

La mobilisation des fournisseurs qualifiés se poursuit.

Grâce à cette mobilisation, le Canada définira ses exigences, et les représentants de l'industrie auront l'occasion de formuler de la rétroaction sur certains éléments, comme la méthode d'approvisionnement, le calendrier, les documents de la demande de soumissions et les retombées économiques au Canada.

Situation actuelle

Le 11 février 2022, le gouvernement du Canada a remis la DP aux fournisseurs qualifies.

État d’avancement du processus d’approvisionnement et mobilisation

L’approvisionnement est mené dans le cadre d’un processus concurrentiel qui est ouvert, équitable et transparent.

En 2013 et en 2016

  • 2013 : Les consultations préliminaires commencent
  • 2016 : L'industrie a été informée de la nouvelle portée du projet d’approvisionnement dans une lettre d'intérêt

De 2018 à 2020

  • Le 2 mai 2018 : Le gouvernement tient une séance de consultation de l'industrie sur la FPNA de l'avenir à Ottawa
  • Le 15 novembre 2018 : Le Canada publie une invitation à se qualifier en vue d’établir une liste de fournisseurs qualifiés
  • Le 10 décembre 2018 : Le gouvernement de Canada publie la liste des fournisseurs qualifiés ayant démontré qu’ils étaient capables de répondre aux besoins du Canada, tels qu'ils définis dans l'invitation à se qualifier. Voici les entreprises qui participent actuellement au processus comme fournisseurs qualifiés :
    • SkyAlyne Canada Limited Partnership
    • Babcock
    • Leonardo Canada
  • Le 16 décembre 2020 : Le gouvernement du Canada remet l'ébauche de la demande de la DP aux fournisseurs qualifiés

Seuls ces fournisseurs peuvent participer aux prochaines étapes et soumettre des propositions dans le cadre du processus. Les 2 fournisseurs seront soumis aux mêmes critères d'évaluation. Les propositions seront évaluées en fonction des coûts, des exigences techniques et des retombées économiques.

BAE Systems, Airbus Defence and Space et Lockheed Martin Canada figuraient initialement sur la liste des fournisseurs qualifiés pour le projet d’approvisionnement. BAE Systems, Airbus Defence and Space et Lockheed Martin Canada ont informé le gouvernement du Canada de leur décision de se retirer du processus concurrentiel le 2 avril 2019, le 13 septembre 2019 et le 14 décembre 2020, respectivement. Ces entreprises ne peuvent donc plus soumettre de propositions dans le cadre de ce projet d’approvisionnement. En août 2021, Babcock Canada Inc. et Leonardo Canada, deux fournisseurs qui s’étaient qualifiés à la suite de l'invitation à se qualifier lancée pour le Programme de FPNA, ont informé le Canada qu'ils avaient formé une coentreprise pour les besoins du Programme.

En 2022 et après

  • Le 11 février 2022 : La DP est remise aux fournisseurs qualifiés
    • La mobilisation et bonne et due forme de l’industrie et des fournisseurs qualifiés se poursuit
  • 2023 : Attribution prévue du contrat

Liens connexes

Date de modification :