About the National Shipbuilding Strategy

In 2010, the government made a commitment to create jobs and equip the Royal Canadian Navy and the Canadian Coast Guard with much-needed vessels. The National Shipbuilding Strategy is helping restore our shipyards, rebuild our marine industry and create sustainable jobs in Canada while ensuring our sovereignty and protecting our interests at home and abroad.

Eliminating cycles of boom and bust

From the mid-1990s to 2010, Canada’s shipbuilding industry had slowed down significantly. There had not been any substantial new orders to construct vessels for many years. Compared to other countries, Canada’s shipyards were outdated and there was no easy access to equipment, supply lines and skilled workers. It was time for a new approach.

In 2010, the government made the decision to support Canada’s marine industry and build vessels here in Canada. This approach, called the National Shipbuilding Strategy, is developing a sustainable, long-term shipbuilding plan that benefits Canadians and the Canadian marine industry. Through the strategy, we are revitalizing Canadian shipyards and constructing vessels for the Navy and Coast Guard here in Canada.

The strategy allows the government and the shipyards to make significant investments in Canada’s marine industry, such as developing and maintaining expertise and creating sustainable employment across the country. It brings predictability to federal vessel procurement and aims to eliminate the boom and bust cycles of vessel procurement that slowed down Canadian shipbuilding in the past.

The government has not acted alone in building the strategy. It was developed following industry consultations. Third party experts are consulted on an ongoing basis to provide impartial assessments, advice and assistance to ensure that the government makes informed decisions.

Third party advice and reviews for the National Shipbuilding Strategy

Overall contracts related to the Strategy between 2012 and June 2019 are estimated to contribute $13 billion to our gross domestic product, and create or maintain nearly 12,000 jobs in the Canadian economy annually during the period of 2012 to 2022.

Social and economic benefits for Canada

The government’s Industrial and Regional Benefits Policy (IRB) and the Industrial and Technological Benefits Policy (ITB) ensure that Canadian industry benefits from Canada’s defence and security purchases. These policies are playing an important role in leveraging Canada’s defence and security spending to generate economic benefits for the country. Under these policies, shipyards and their major suppliers are undertaking business activities in Canada equal to the value of the contract, and providing important investments into targeted areas, such as:

In fact, the average salary in Canadian shipyards is 30% higher than the manufacturing average. Overall, the Canadian marine industry is innovative, and supports skilled workers, with a 2.5-times higher share of employment in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) fields (such as engineers, scientists and researchers) than total manufacturing.

The strategy also continues to provide fair opportunities in the marine sector to businesses led by under-represented groups in the shipbuilding industry, including women, Indigenous Peoples and persons with disabilities. Partnerships are being forged with the 2 large vessel shipyards, federal departments, academic institutions, research organizations and other joint ventures to increase participation of under-represented groups in the sector.

In addition, through the Value Proposition, the strategy requires the shipyards to invest a value equal to 0.5% of contracts to benefit the domestic marine industry in three priority areas: human resources development; technology investment; and industrial development. To date, the shipyards’ contracts have generated over $20 million in obligations under the strategy’s Value Proposition.

Related link

Generating social and economic benefits for Canadians: The Industrial and Regional Benefits, Industrial and Technological Benefits and Value Proposition

What the strategy looks like

The strategy is focused on 3 pillars:

Construction of large vessels

Following a competitive, fair, open and transparent process, the government established long-term strategic relationships for the construction of large vessels with two Canadian shipyards: Seaspan’s Vancouver Shipyards in British Columbia, and Irving Shipbuilding Inc. in Halifax, Nova Scotia. Together, the Vancouver and Halifax shipyards have invested more than $500 million, at no cost to the government, to upgrade their facilities to meet the shipbuilding requirements for a modern Canadian fleet.

Learn about the two shipyards and stay updated on the status of current and upcoming large vessel construction projects:

Current projects to construct large vessels

Construction of small vessels

Under the third pillar of the strategy, opportunities are available for Canadian shipyards and businesses across the country for small ship construction, maintenance repair and refit.

Explore our projects involving small vessels and stay updated on the status of current and upcoming projects:

Current projects to construct small vessels

Vessel repair, refit and maintenance projects

Under the strategy, all Canadian shipyards may compete for the repair, refit and maintenance of vessels. Extending a vessel’s life typically involves repairs and upgrades to improve its reliability and safety. Mid-life modernizations keep a vessel in service for its full operational life and maintain its reliability and efficiency.

Repair, refit and maintenance projects

Partners

The National Shipbuilding Strategy is comprised of federal and non-federal partners working together on the shipbuilding projects.

Further reading

News about the National Shipbuilding Strategy: Browse news releases, backgrounders, speeches and technical briefings related to the strategy

Date modified:

À propos de la Stratégie nationale de construction navale

En 2010, le gouvernement s’est engagé à créer des emplois et à doter la Marine royale canadienne et la Garde côtière canadienne de navires s’avérant plus que nécessaires. La Stratégie nationale de construction navale aide à remettre en état nos chantiers navals, à rebâtir notre industrie maritime et à créer des emplois durables au Canada tout en assurant notre souveraineté et en protégeant nos intérêts au pays et à l’étranger.

Élimination des cycles d’expansion et de ralentissement

Du milieu des années 1990 à 2010, l’industrie de la construction navale au Canada a connu un ralentissement considérable. Il n’y avait eu aucune nouvelle grande commande de construction de navires depuis de nombreuses années. Par rapport à d’autres pays, les chantiers navals du Canada étaient désuets et ne pouvaient pas accéder facilement à de l’équipement, aux voies d’approvisionnement et à des travailleurs qualifiés. Un changement d’approche s’imposait.

En 2010, le gouvernement a décidé d’appuyer l’industrie maritime du Canada et de construire des navires ici même, au Canada. Cette approche, appelée la Stratégie nationale de construction navale, vise à élaborer un plan de construction navale durable à long terme profitant à la population canadienne et à l’industrie maritime canadienne. Par l’intermédiaire de cette stratégie, nous revitalisons les chantiers navals canadiens et construisons des navires pour la Marine royale canadienne et la Garde côtière canadienne ici, au Canada.

La stratégie permet au gouvernement et aux chantiers navals de faire d’importants investissements dans l’industrie maritime du Canada, notamment en perfectionnant et en conservant l’expertise et en créant des emplois durables dans l’ensemble du pays. Elle offre la possibilité de prévoir les besoins en approvisionnement de navires fédéraux et vise à éliminer les cycles d’expansion et de ralentissement dans l’approvisionnement des navires qui ont défini la construction navale canadienne par le passé.

Le gouvernement n’est pas le seul à avoir contribué à l’élaboration de la stratégie. En effet, la stratégie a été élaborée à la suite de consultations de l’industrie. Des experts indépendants ont été consultés de façon continue en vue d’obtenir des évaluations, des conseils et de l’assistance de façon impartiale afin que le gouvernement prenne des décisions éclairées.

Experts et conseils par un tiers pour la Stratégie nationale de construction navale

De façon globale, on estime que les contrats attribués entre 2012 et 2019 dans le cadre de la Stratégie ont contribué à notre produit intérieur brut à hauteur de 13 milliards de dollars et qu’ils ont créé ou maintenu près de 12 000 emplois par année dans l’économie canadienne, pendant la période allant de 2012 à 2022.

Retombées sociales et économiques pour le Canada

La Politique des retombées industrielles et régionales et la Politique des retombées industrielles et technologiques du gouvernement du Canada permettent de s’assurer que les entreprises canadiennes tirent profit des achats du Canada en matière de défense et de sécurité. Ces politiques jouent un rôle important dans l’optimisation des dépenses du Canada en matière de défense et de sécurité afin de générer des retombées économiques pour le pays. En vertu de ces politiques, les chantiers navals et leurs principaux fournisseurs doivent entreprendre des activités commerciales au Canada d’une valeur équivalente à celle du contrat et investir des sommes importantes dans des secteurs ciblés, comme :

En fait, le salaire moyen dans les chantiers navals canadiens est de 30 % supérieur à la moyenne du secteur manufacturier. Dans l’ensemble, l’industrie maritime canadienne est novatrice et soutient les travailleurs qualifiés, ayant une part d’emplois 2,5 fois plus élevée dans les domaines des sciences, de la technologie, du génie et des mathématiques (ingénieurs, scientifiques et chercheurs) que dans l’ensemble du secteur manufacturier.

La Stratégie continue par ailleurs d’offrir des chances équitables dans le secteur maritime aux entreprises dirigées par des membres des groupes sous-représentés dans l’industrie de la construction navale, notamment les femmes, les Autochtones et les personnes handicapées. Des partenariats sont en cours d’établissement avec les deux chantiers navals chargés de construire les gros navires, des ministères fédéraux, des établissements d’enseignement, des organismes de recherche et d’autres coentreprises en vue d’accroître la participation des groupes sous-représentés dans le secteur.

De plus, par la proposition de valeur, la Stratégie oblige les chantiers navals à investir 0,5 % de la valeur des contrats dans le soutien de l’industrie maritime canadienne, plus précisément les trois priorités suivantes : le développement des ressources humaines, les investissements technologiques et le développement industriel. À ce jour, les contrats des chantiers navals ont généré plus de 20 millions de dollars en obligations en vertu de la proposition de valeur de la Stratégie.

Lien connexe

Générer des retombées sociales et économiques pour la population canadienne : les retombées industrielles et régionales, les retombées industrielles et technologiques et la proposition de valeur

Aperçu de la stratégie

La Stratégie est axée sur 3 piliers :

Construction de grands navires

À la suite d’un processus concurrentiel équitable, ouvert et transparent, le gouvernement a établi des relations stratégiques à long terme avec deux chantiers navals canadiens pour la construction de grands navires : Vancouver Shipyards de Seaspan en Colombie-Britannique, ainsi qu’Irving Shipbuilding Inc. à Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse. Ensemble, les chantiers navals d’Halifax et de Vancouver ont investi plus de 500 M$ dans la modernisation de leurs installations sans coût pour le gouvernement, afin de satisfaire aux besoins en construction navale d’une flotte canadienne moderne.

Projets actuels de construction de grands navires

Construction de petits navires

Le troisième pilier de la Stratégie prévoit que les chantiers navals canadiens et les entreprises de tout le pays auront accès à des projets de construction, d’entretien, de réparation et de radoub de petits navires.

Explorez nos projets visant les petits navires et tenez-vous au fait de l’avancement des projets en cours et à venir ici :

Projets actuels de construction de petits navires

Projets de réparation, de radoub et d’entretien de navires

Dans le cadre de la stratégie, tous les chantiers navals peuvent soumissionner pour la réparation, le radoub et l’entretien des navires. La prolongation de la durée de vie d’un navire nécessite des travaux de réparation et de modernisation afin d’améliorer sa fiabilité et sa sécurité. La modernisation de mi-durée permet de maintenir un navire en service pour l’ensemble de sa durée de vie opérationnelle et de préserver sa fiabilité et son efficacité.

Projets de réparation, de radoub et d’entretien

Partenaires

La Stratégie nationale de construction navale fait appel à la collaboration de partenaires fédéraux et non fédéraux dans le cadre des projets de construction navale.

Lectures complémentaires

Nouvelles concernant la Stratégie nationale de construction navale : Consultez des communiqués de presse, des documents d’information, des discours et des séances d’information concernant la stratégie

Date de modification :