Annex A—Status of large vessel projects—National Shipbuilding Strategy: 2016 annual report

Document navigation for National Shipbuilding Strategy

On this page

Arctic and Offshore Patrol Ships

The Arctic and Offshore Patrol Ships will conduct armed sea-borne surveillance in Canada's waters, including in the Arctic. They will enhance the government's ability to assert Canadian sovereignty and provide surveillance and support to other government departments. Project includes funding for jetty infrastructure in Halifax and Esquimalt, and berthing and fuelling facility in Nunavut.

  • Shipyard of build: Irving Shipbuilding’s Halifax Shipyard
  • Client department: Department of National Defence
  • Status: Construction in progress
  • Scope: 5 or 6 vessels
  • Project budget: $3.5 billion

Given that the Arctic and Offshore Patrol Ships are complex vessels and Irving Shipbuilding’s Halifax Shipyards are using new equipment and processes, there were initial start-up issues and delays to production. However, the implementation of improvements has yielded very positive results. Full production of the first vessel began in September 2015, as scheduled. By August 2016, the shipbuilder had made significant progress on the construction of the future Her Majesty’s Canadian Ship (HMCS) Harry DeWolf and had cut steel on the second vessel, the future HMCS Margaret Brooke.

The year ahead

Work continues on the construction of the first 2 Arctic and Offshore Patrol Ships. The construction of the third vessel will commence in 2017.

Canadian Surface Combatant

The Canadian Surface Combatant fleet will be capable of meeting multiple threats in both the open ocean and the highly complex coastal environment. These ships will ensure that Canada can continue to monitor and defend its waters and make significant contributions to international naval operations. This fleet will replace the Royal Canadian Navy's Iroquois class destroyers and the Halifax class frigates.

  • Shipyard of build: Irving Shipbuilding’s Halifax Shipyard
  • Client department: Department of National Defence
  • Status: Definition phase
  • Scope: 15 vessels
  • Project budget: Under review

In June 2016, the government announced a streamlined approach designed to accelerate the delivery of the Canadian Surface Combatant ships. The new approach will competitively select an existing warship design and design team and, to a large extent, the original systems and equipment as the starting point. The design will be modified it to the extent necessary to satisfy the requirements of the Royal Canadian Navy, and maximize the opportunity for Canadian content.

The year ahead

In October 2016, Irving Shipbuilding’s Halifax Shipyard issued the Request for Proposals to the bidders which have qualified to participate in the solicitation process for the selection of the starting point design and design team. Given the scope and complexity of the solicitation and the corresponding work involved in preparing and evaluating bid responses, it is expected that the announcement of the selected bid team will be made in 2018. Canada will then award the prime design contract to Irving Shipbuilding’s Halifax Shipyard who will subsequently issue the design sub-contract to the successful bidder. The Canadian Surface Combatant project will then commence work with the entire design team to complete the design work necessary to optimize the bid design to meet the Royal Canadian Navy’s requirements and to incorporate Canadian content in accordance with the winning bid's Value Proposition proposal.

Offshore Fisheries Science Vessels

The Offshore Fisheries Science Vessels will provide an important platform from which scientific research and ecosystem-based management can be performed. These "floating laboratories" will contribute to Canada’s stewardship of fishery and ocean resources and will replace the aging Canadian Coast Guard Ship (CCGS) Teleost, CCGS Alfred Needler and CCGS W.E. Ricker on Canada’s west and east coasts.

  • Shipyard of build: Seaspan’s Vancouver Shipyards
  • Client department: Fisheries and Oceans Canada
  • Status: Construction in progress
  • Scope: 3 vessels
  • Project budget: $687 million

The Offshore Fisheries Science Vessels are being built by Seaspan’s Vancouver Shipyards and will be the first large vessels delivered under the National Shipbuilding Strategy. The non-combat package, with its short production runs and 2 government clients, represent an extraordinary challenge for any shipyard, especially one that has had to expand and reconfigure to the extent that Seaspan’s Vancouver Shipyards has done over the past few years. Seaspan’s Vancouver Shipyards has undertaken significant work to upgrade its infrastructure, hire staff and establish key systems and processes. Construction of the first two ships is well underway, having commenced in June 2015 and March 2016, respectively.

The year ahead

The third and final Offshore Fisheries Science Vessel began construction in February 2017. Construction on all 3 Offshore Fisheries Science Vessels is expected to continue throughout the year ahead.

Offshore Oceanographic Science Vessel

The Offshore Oceanographic Science Vessel will support oceanographic, fishery, geological, and hydrographic survey missions, contributing directly to our understanding of the oceans and the impacts of climate change. It will be outfitted for scientific research on ocean currents and on the seabed. This ship will replace the oldest vessel in the Canadian Coast Guard’s fleet, CCGS Hudson, which operates on Canada’s east coast.

  • Shipyard of build: Seaspan’s Vancouver Shipyards
  • Client department: Fisheries and Oceans Canada
  • Status: Basic design development underway
  • Scope: 1 Offshore Oceanographic Science Vessel
  • Project budget: Under review

In November 2015, Canada awarded the initial construction engineering contract to Seaspan’s Vancouver Shipyards to commence the work required for the preparation of construction. In February 2016, Canada awarded the long lead items/material contract to Seaspan’s Vancouver Shipyards, which enables the shipyard to initiate early discussions with potential suppliers and to purchase required material and equipment.

The year ahead

Over the coming year, the Offshore Oceanographic Science Vessel project will continue with construction engineering, including the functional and production design stages. A construction contract will be negotiated with Seaspan’s Vancouver Shipyards once the required engineering work has been initiated.

Joint Support Ships

The Joint Support Ship will increase the range and endurance of naval task groups, permitting them to remain at sea for significant periods of time without returning to port for replenishment. They will also provide a home base for helicopter maintenance and operation, a limited sealift capability and support to operations ashore. They will replace the Royal Canadian Navy’s retired Protecteur-class auxiliary oiler replenishment vessels.

  • Shipyard of build: Seaspan’s Vancouver Shipyards
  • Client department: Department of National Defence
  • Status: Definition phase
  • Scope: 2 Support Ships (with option to build a third)
  • Project budget: Under review

The Joint Support Ship are being built by Seaspan’s Vancouver Shipyards based on the TKMS Bonn/Berlin design and will include Canadian modifications. The initial design review work is now complete, and procurement activity has started on competitively selecting the major equipment and systems to be installed in the first ship.

The year ahead

With the awarding of the Joint Support Ship design and production engineering contract in December 2016, the design work on the Joint Support Ship project will move into high gear in 2017. Concurrently, the Government of Canada will engage in contract negotiations with Seaspan’s Vancouver Shipyards for the construction phase, presently scheduled to start in 2019.

Advanced procurement of major equipment identified as long lead items and required for the construction phase will also commence in 2017. Seaspan’s Vancouver Shipyards and its subcontractors will be procuring the long lead items from various suppliers in Canada and abroad.

Polar Icebreaker

The Polar Icebreaker will replace Canada's current largest and most capable icebreaker, CCGS Louis S. St-Laurent. It will become one of the most powerful conventional icebreakers in the world. Expected to be Canada’s “flagship” in the Canadian Arctic, the Polar Icebreaker will significantly enhance on-water capability in the Arctic on a year-round basis. It will be able to consistently operate farther north, in more difficult ice conditions, and for longer periods than is currently the case.

  • Shipyard of build: Seaspan’s Vancouver Shipyards
  • Client department: Fisheries and Oceans Canada
  • Status: Contract design stage (completed)
  • Scope: 1 Vessel
  • Project budget: $1.3 billion

Canada has committed to keeping CCGS Louis S. St-Laurent in service at least until the delivery of the Polar Icebreaker. The project has successfully completed necessary initial design work and will transition to construction engineering once work on preceding projects has advanced.

The year ahead

Negotiations on a construction engineering contract are planned to begin in 2017.

Document navigation for National Shipbuilding Strategy

Annexe A – État d’avancement des projets de construction de grands navires – Stratégie nationale de construction navale : rapport annuel 2016

Navigation pour le Document « Stratégie nationale de construction navale »

Sur cette page

Navires de patrouille extracôtiers et de l’Arctique

Les Navires de patrouille extracôtiers et de l’Arctique serviront à assurer une surveillance armée des eaux du Canada, dont celles de l’Arctique. Ils permettront au gouvernement de faire mieux respecter la souveraineté du Canada; ils feront de la surveillance et aideront les autres ministères. Le projet comprend le financement d’infrastructures de jetée à Halifax et à Esquimalt, et une installation de mouillage en eau profonde et de ravitaillement en carburant au Nunavut.

  • Chantier naval responsable de la construction : Chantier naval d’Irving Shipbuilding à Halifax
  • Ministère client : Ministère de la Défense nationale
  • État : Travaux de construction en cours
  • Portée : 5 ou 6 navires
  • Budget du projet : 3,5 milliards de dollars

Étant donné que les Navires de patrouille extracôtiers et de l’Arctique sont complexes et que le chantier naval d’Irving Shipbuilding à Halifax utilise du nouvel équipement et de nouveaux processus, il y a eu des problèmes de lancement initiaux et des retards de production. Cependant, les améliorations apportées ont donné des résultats très positifs. La production complète du premier navire a commencé en septembre 2015, comme prévu. En août 2016, le constructeur avait fait des progrès importants dans le cadre de la construction du futur Navire canadien de Sa Majesté (NCSM) Harry DeWolf et avait fait le découpage de l’acier pour le deuxième navire, le futur NCSM Margaret Brooke.

Ce que nous réserve l’année qui vient

Les travaux de construction des 2 premiers Navires de patrouille extracôtiers et de l’Arctique se poursuivront. La construction du troisième navire commencera en 2017.

Navires de combat canadiens

La flotte de navires de combat canadiens sera capable d’affronter les multiples menaces en plein océan et dans l’environnement littoral très complexe. L’acquisition de ces navires permettra au Canada de continuer à surveiller et à défendre ses eaux et d’apporter des contributions importantes dans les opérations navales internationales. Cette flotte remplacera les destroyers de classe Iroquois et les frégates de classe Halifax de la Marine royale canadienne.

  • Chantier naval responsable de la construction : Chantier naval d’Irving Shipbuilding à Halifax
  • Ministère client : Ministère de la Défense nationale
  • État : Phase de définition
  • Portée : 15 navires
  • Budget du projet : En cours d’examen

En juin 2016, le gouvernement a annoncé une approche simplifiée, conçue pour accélérer le processus de construction de Navires de combat canadiens. Dans le cadre de cette nouvelle approche, on obtiendra, au moyen d’un processus concurrentiel, un modèle de navire de guerre existant et une équipe de conception et, dans une grande mesure, les systèmes et l’équipement originaux comme point de départ. La conception sera adaptée aux besoins de la Marine royale canadienne et maximisera les possibilités d’utiliser du contenu canadien.

Ce que nous réserve l’année qui vient

En octobre 2016, le chantier naval d’Irving Shipbuilding à Halifax a communiqué la demande de propositions aux soumissionnaires admissibles au processus d’invitation à soumissionner pour la sélection de la conception et de l’équipe de conception du projet de départ. Compte tenu de la portée et de la complexité de la demande de soumissions et du travail correspondant de préparation et d’évaluation des réponses à la demande de soumissions, l’équipe d’évaluation des soumissions retenue devrait être annoncée en 2018. Le gouvernement du Canada attribuera ensuite le premier marché de conception au chantier naval d’Irving Shipbuilding à Halifax, qui attribuera à son tour le marché de conception en sous-traitance au soumissionnaire retenu. Le projet des Navires de combat canadiens s’amorcera alors avec toute l’équipe de conception. Le but est d’achever les travaux de conception nécessaires pour optimiser la conception de la soumission, et ainsi satisfaire aux exigences de la Marine royale canadienne et intégrer du contenu canadien, conformément à la proposition de valeur du soumissionnaire retenu.

Navires hauturiers de science halieutique

Les Navires hauturiers de science halieutique fourniront une plateforme importante sur laquelle des recherches scientifiques essentielles ainsi qu’une gestion de l’écosystème pourront être effectuées. Ces « laboratoires flottants » aideront le Canada à être bon intendant des pêches et des ressources océaniques et remplaceront les navires vieillissants Navire de la Garde côtière canadienne (NGCC) Teleost, le NGCC Alfred Needler et le NGCC W.E. Ricker sur la côte Ouest et la côte Est.

  • Chantier naval responsable de la construction : Chantier naval de Seaspan à Vancouver
  • Ministère client : Pêches et Océans Canada
  • État : Travaux de construction en cours
  • Portée : 3 navires
  • Budget du projet : 687 millions de dollars

Les Navires hauturiers de science halieutique construits par le chantier naval de Seaspan à Vancouver seront les premiers grands navires construits dans le cadre de la Stratégie nationale de construction navale. Le lot de navires non destinés au combat, avec ses cycles de production courts et ses deux clients gouvernementaux, représente un défi formidable pour tout chantier naval, particulièrement pour un chantier qui a dû agrandir et réaménager ses installations comme l’a fait le chantier naval de Seaspan à Vancouver au cours des dernières années. Le chantier naval de Seaspan à Vancouver a entrepris d’importants travaux pour moderniser son infrastructure, embaucher du personnel et établir les principaux systèmes et processus. La construction des deux premiers navires, qui a commencé en juin 2015 et en mars 2016 respectivement, va bon train.

Ce que nous réserve l’année qui vient

La construction du troisième et dernier navire hauturier de science halieutique commencera en février 2017. La construction des 3 navires hauturiers de science halieutique devrait se poursuivre au cours de la prochaine l’année.

Navire hauturier de science océanographique

Le Navire hauturier de science océanographique effectuera des missions océanographiques, halieutiques, et de levés géologiques et hydrographiques, ce qui contribuera directement à notre compréhension des océans et des répercussions des changements climatiques. Il sera doté d’équipements lui permettant de réaliser des études scientifiques sur les courants océaniques et sur les fonds marins. Ce navire remplacera le plus ancien navire de la flotte de la Garde côtière canadienne, le NGCC Hudson, qui navigue sur la côte Est du Canada.

  • Chantier naval responsable de la construction : Chantier naval de Seaspan à Vancouver
  • Ministère client : Pêches et Océans Canada
  • État : Conception de base en cours
  • Portée : 1 navire hauturier de science océanographique
  • Budget du projet : En cours d’examen

En novembre 2015, le gouvernement du Canada a attribué le marché d’ingénierie de construction initial au chantier naval de Seaspan à Vancouver afin d’amorcer les travaux requis en vue de la préparation des travaux de construction. En février 2016, le gouvernement du Canada a attribué un marché visant les articles à long délai de livraison et l’équipement au chantier naval de Seaspan à Vancouver, ce qui permet à ce dernier d’amorcer des discussions préliminaires avec des fournisseurs potentiels et d’acquérir les matériaux et l’équipement requis.

Ce que nous réserve l’année qui vient

Au cours de la prochaine année, le projet de construction de navire hauturier de science océanographique se poursuivra avec la réalisation de l’étape de l’ingénierie de construction, y compris l’étape de conception fonctionnelle et l’étape de l’organisation de la production. Un marché de construction sera négocié avec le chantier naval de Seaspan à Vancouver une fois que les travaux d’ingénierie requis auront été lancés.

Navires de soutien interarmées

Les Navires de soutien interarmées augmenteront le rayon d’action et l’autonomie des groupes opérationnels navals en leur permettant de rester en mer durant de longues périodes sans avoir à faire escale pour se ravitailler. Ils serviront également de base principale pour l’entretien et l’utilisation des hélicoptères, en plus d’offrir une capacité de transport maritime limitée et d’assurer le soutien des opérations à terre. Ils remplaceront les pétroliers ravitailleurs d’escadre de la classe Protecteur mis hors service de la Marine royale canadienne.

  • Chantier naval responsable de la construction : Chantier naval de Seaspan à Vancouver
  • Ministère client : Ministère de la Défense nationale
  • État : Phase de définition
  • Portée : 2 navires de soutien (avec la possibilité de construire un troisième navire)
  • Budget du projet : En cours d’examen

Les Navires de soutien interarmées sont construits par le chantier naval de Seaspan à Vancouver en suivant la conception de TKMS Bonn/Berlin, et cela comprendra les modifications canadiennes. Le travail d’examen de la conception initiale est maintenant terminé, et les activités d’approvisionnement ont commencé par la sélection, à la suite d’un processus concurrentiel, des principaux biens d’équipement et systèmes qui doivent être installés à bord du premier navire.

Ce que nous réserve l’année qui vient

L’attribution du marché de conception et d’organisation de la production des Navires de soutien interarmées ayant eu lieu en décembre 2016, les travaux de conception du projet des Navires de soutien interarmées passeront à une vitesse supérieure en 2017. Parallèlement, le gouvernement du Canada participera aux négociations de marché avec le chantier naval de Seaspan à Vancouver pour la phase de construction, que l’on prévoit commencer en 2019.

L’approvisionnement en avance de l’équipement important, identifié comme étant les articles à long délai de livraison et requis pour la phase de construction, commencera également en 2017. Le chantier naval de Seaspan à Vancouver et ses sous-traitants feront l’acquisition des articles à long délai de livraison auprès de divers fournisseurs au Canada et à l’étranger.

Brise-glace polaire

Le Brise-glace polaire remplacera le brise-glace le plus grand et le plus puissant à l’heure actuelle du gouvernement du Canada, le NGCC Louis S. St-Laurent. Il deviendra l’un des brise-glace conventionnels les plus puissants au monde. Pressenti comme vaisseau amiral du Canada dans l’Arctique canadien, le Brise-glace polaire améliorera grandement la capacité sur l’eau dans l’Arctique à longueur d’année. Il sera en mesure de mener des opérations plus au nord, dans des conditions de glace plus difficiles, et pour des périodes plus longues qu’à l’heure actuelle.

  • Chantier naval responsable de la construction : Chantier naval de Seaspan à Vancouver
  • Ministère client : Pêches et Océans Canada
  • État : Étape de conception (terminée)
  • Portée : 1 navire
  • Budget du projet : 1,3 milliard de dollars

Le gouvernement du Canada s’est engagé à maintenir le NGCC Louis S. St-Laurent en service au moins jusqu’à la livraison du Brise-glace polaire. L’équipe de projet a achevé avec succès les travaux de conception initiaux nécessaires et elle fera la transition aux travaux d’ingénierie de construction une fois que le travail sur les projets précédents sera suffisamment avancé.

Ce que nous réserve l’année qui vient

Les négociations relatives à un marché d’ingénierie de construction devraient débuter en 2017.

Navigation pour le Document « Stratégie nationale de construction navale »