Annex C—Quotes—National Shipbuilding Strategy: 2016 annual report

Document navigation for National Shipbuilding Strategy

The National Shipbuilding Strategy (NSS) project is a great opportunity for Thales in Canada to secure high-skilled jobs on both the west and the east coasts. Our new maritime lab that we recently unveiled in Ottawa embodies our value proposition as innovative systems integrator and our exceptional capabilities that will benefit future projects.

Dale Potter, Vice President, Defence Mission Systems

Bluedrop is proud to be part of this important project [Arctic Offshore Patrol Ships] for Canada. Our state-of-the-art virtual training and simulation centre here in Halifax is the only facility of its kind in Canada and will ensure our Navy is trained to manage their future fleet.

Jean-Claude Siew, Vice-President, Technology and Simulation, Bluedrop Training & Simulation

Shipbuilding has given me the opportunity to pursue my passion for welding, setting a positive example for my daughter and other women who want to pursue a career in trades.

Vicki Berg, Welder, Irving Shipyards

Having a stable career that keeps me in Nova Scotia with my family means the world to me. I am so happy to have the opportunity to watch my little girl grow each and every day.

Dale Boudreau, Fabricator, Irving Shipyards

Shipbuilding has provided me with the opportunity to complete the Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering program at the University of British Columbia.

Corey Lutes, Liaison Engineer, Seaspan’s Vancouver Shipyards

The National Shipbuilding Strategy (NSS) has given me a lot of confidence. My day consists of working together with a diverse range of individuals, all with the same goal of delivering great ships on time!

Kendall Trout, Steel Fitter Apprentice, Seaspan’s Vancouver Shipyards

A very large opportunity is the shipbuilding contract, which has the potential to transform the region for many years to come. It's a great feeling to contribute to retaining and attracting high-tech talent to Halifax.

Jordan Kyriakidis, President and Chief Executive Officer of QRA Corp.

We very much appreciate this contract, that we were chosen. It means a great deal to us … It will give us and our employees some more security ... I'm very proud of the group we have here.

Manfred Kanter Jr., President of Kanter Marine Inc.

Our Lockheed Martin Canada team is proud of our longstanding support to the Royal Canadian Navy for more than three decades on the most successful naval projects in Canada’s history, from the Canadian Patrol Frigate project of the mid-‘80s to the Halifax Class Modernization project of today.

Rosemary Chapdelaine, Vice-President and General Manager, Lockheed Martin Canada, Rotary and Mission Systems

Ideal Welders Ltd. is pleased to be involved in the process of rebuilding the shipbuilding industry in Canada via the National Shipbuilding program. We hope to build our participation in this program to become competitive on a global basis in the shipbuilding industry.

Dale Hamill, Vice-President, Operations, Ideal Welders Ltd.

Document navigation for National Shipbuilding Strategy

Annexe C – Citations – Stratégie nationale de construction navale : rapport annuel 2016

Navigation pour le Document « Stratégie nationale de construction navale »

Le projet de la Stratégie nationale de construction navale (SNCN) représente une excellente occasion pour Thales au Canada de maintenir des emplois hautement qualifiés sur la côte Ouest et la côte Est. Notre nouveau laboratoire naval, que nous avons récemment dévoilé à Ottawa, englobe notre proposition de valeur à titre d’intégrateur de systèmes novateurs et nos capacités exceptionnelles, qui seront avantageuses pour les futurs projets.

Dale Potter, vice-président, Defence Mission Systems

Bluedrop est fière de participer à cet important projet [navire de patrouille extracôtier et de l’Arctique] pour le Canada. Notre centre de formation et de simulation virtuelle à la fine pointe ici à Halifax est la seule installation du genre au Canada et permettra à la Marine royale canadienne d’obtenir la formation nécessaire à la gestion future de sa flotte.

Jean-Claude Siew, vice-président, Technologie et simulation, Bluedrop Training & Simulation

La construction navale m’a donné la possibilité de faire quelque chose de ma passion pour le soudage, ce qui m’a permis de donner un exemple positif à ma fille et à d’autres femmes qui désirent poursuivre une carrière dans le domaine des métiers spécialisés.

Vicki Berg, soudeuse, chantier naval d’Irving Shipbuilding à Halifax

Le fait d’avoir un emploi stable qui me permet de rester en Nouvelle-Écosse avec ma famille est très important pour moi. Je suis très heureux d’avoir l’occasion de regarder ma petite fille grandir chaque jour.

Dale Boudreau, transformateur, chantier naval d’Irving Shipbuilding à Halifax

La construction navale a m’a donné la possibilité de suivre le programme d’architecture et de génie navals à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique (UBC).

Corey Lutes, ingénieur de liaison, chantier naval de Seaspan à Vancouver

La Stratégie nationale de construction navale (SNCN) m’a donné beaucoup de confiance. Ma journée consiste à collaborer avec diverses personnes, qui ont toutes pour but de livrer de superbes navires dans le respect des délais!

Kendall Trout, apprenti charpentier en acier, chantier naval de Seaspan à Vancouver

Le marché de construction navale offre d’énormes possibilités et peut transformer la région pour de nombreuses années à venir. C’est un réel privilège de contribuer à attirer et à conserver les talents du secteur de la haute technologie à Halifax.

Jordan Kyriakidis, président-directeur général de QRA Corp.

Nous aimons beaucoup ce projet; nous sommes reconnaissants d’avoir été choisis. Cela revêt beaucoup d’importance pour nous...Il nous donnera plus de sécurité, à nous et à nos employés...Je suis très fier du groupe de travailleurs que nous avons ici.

Manfred Kanter fils, président de Kanter Marine Inc.

Notre équipe Lockheed Martin Canada est fière du soutien de longue date que nous avons offert à la Marine royale canadienne, plus de trois décennies, dans le cadre des plus grands projets navals de l’histoire du Canada, soit du projet des frégates canadiennes de patrouille du milieu des années 1980 à l’actuel projet de modernisation des navires de la classe Halifax.

Rosemary Chapdelaine, vice-présidente et directrice générale, Lockheed Martin Canada, Systèmes de mission et d’entraînement

Ideal Welders Ltd. est heureuse de participer au processus de reconstruction de l’industrie de la construction navale au Canada par l’intermédiaire du programme national de construction navale. Nous espérons augmenter notre participation à ce programme et devenir concurrentiels à l’échelle mondiale dans l’industrie de la construction navale.

Dale Hamill, vice-président, opérations, Ideal Welders Ltd.

Navigation pour le Document « Stratégie nationale de construction navale »