Strengthening the National Shipbuilding Strategy

The National Shipbuilding Strategy (NSS), launched in 2010, is a long-term commitment to domestic shipbuilding that is creating well-paying stable employment and generating economic benefits across Canada, supporting Canadian technological innovation, and revitalizing a world-class marine industry.

Following a competitive process, the Government of Canada formed partnerships with 2 Canadian shipyards, Irving Shipbuilding's Halifax Shipyard and Seaspan's Vancouver Shipyards, to deliver much-needed large vessels to the Royal Canadian Navy and the Canadian Coast Guard.

On May 22, 2019, the Government of Canada announced major investments to renew the Canadian Coast Guard fleet and enhancements to the NSS.

Expanding current National Shipbuilding Strategy agreements

As part of a major renewal of the Canadian Coast Guard fleet, the Government of Canada will be investing in up to 18 large, state-of-the-art ships to be built at Canadian shipyards.

Irving Shipbuilding will build 2 new Arctic Offshore Patrol Vessels, which will be adapted for the Coast Guard to perform tasks including offshore patrols.

Seaspan Vancouver Shipyards will build up to 16 Multi-Purpose Vessels for the Canadian Coast Guard to support a variety of missions, including light icebreaking, environmental response, and offshore search and rescue.

These additional vessels will provide both shipyards with steady work over the next 2 decades and will help maximize production to ensure the timely delivery to the Canadian Coast Guard. It will also create jobs, generate economic growth for Canada, and help build a sustainable Canadian marine sector.

More information on the Canadian Coast Guard fleet is available on its website.

A third long-term strategic partner

To support future shipbuilding needs, including the construction of 6 new icebreakers for the Canadian Coast Guard, the Government of Canada is currently in the process of adding a third Canadian shipyard as a partner under the NSS.

For more information on the process, please refer to the December 19, 2019 announcement and the following backgrounder.

In July 2021, Public Services and Procurement Canada received Chantier Davie’s request for proposal submission. Should the complete submission meet the stated requirements, the Government of Canada will begin negotiations with Chantier Davie for an Umbrella Agreement, which is expected to be in place by the end of 2021.

More information

Date modified:

Renforcer la Stratégie nationale de construction navale

La Stratégie nationale de construction navale (SNCN), qui a été lancée en 2010, est un engagement à long terme à l’égard de la construction navale canadienne qui vise à générer des emplois stables bien rémunérés et des retombées économiques partout au Canada, à appuyer l’innovation technologique canadienne et à revitaliser une industrie maritime de calibre mondial.

À la suite d’un processus concurrentiel, le gouvernement du Canada a établi des partenariats avec 2 chantiers navals canadiens, Halifax Shipyard d’Irving Shipbuilding et Vancouver Shipyards de Seaspan, afin d’obtenir les gros navires dont la Marine royale canadienne et la Garde côtière canadienne avaient grandement besoin.

Le 22 mai 2019, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé des investissements importants dans le renouvellement de la flotte de la Garde côtière canadienne ainsi que des améliorations à la SNCN.

Élargir la portée des ententes actuelles de la Stratégie nationale de construction navale

Dans le cadre d’un renouvellement d’envergure de la flotte de la Garde côtière canadienne, le gouvernement du Canada investira dans de gros navires (jusqu’à 18) à la fine pointe de la technologie qui seront construits dans des chantiers navals canadiens.

Irving Shipbuilding construira 2 navires de patrouille extracôtiers et de l’Arctique, qui seront adaptés pour permettre à la Garde côtière canadienne de réaliser certaines tâches, entre autres des patrouilles en haute mer.

Vancouver Shipyards de Seaspan construira, pour la Garde côtière canadienne, jusqu’à 16 navires polyvalents appelés à participer à diverses missions, notamment du déglaçage léger, des interventions environnementales et des opérations de recherche et de sauvetage en mer.

La construction de ces navires occupera les 2 chantiers navals pour les 2 prochaines décennies. Elle permettra également une production optimale pour que la Garde côtière canadienne puisse obtenir livraison de ses navires dans les délais voulus. Il en résultera de nouveaux emplois, des retombées économiques au Canada et un secteur maritime canadien durable.

Vous trouverez plus de renseignements sur la flotte de la Garde côtière canadienne sur le site Web de celle-ci.

Un troisième partenaire stratégique à long terme

Afin de pouvoir répondre aux besoins à venir en matière de construction navale, incluant la construction de 6 nouveaux brise-glaces pour la Garde côtière canadienne, le gouvernement du Canada est présentement dans un processus pour ajouter un troisième chantier naval canadien, dans le cadre de la SNCN.

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez consulter l’annonce du 19 décembre 2019 et le document d’information lié au processus.

Au mois de juillet 2021, Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada a reçu la réponse de Chantier Davie à la demande de propositions. Si la réponse complète répond aux critères établis, le gouvernement du Canada entamera des négociations avec Chantier Davie en vue de conclure une entente-cadre. Celle-ci devrait être en place d’ici la fin 2021.

Plus de renseignements

Date de modification :