Better Buying: Improving federal procurement for suppliers, government and Canadians

Better Buying: Improving federal procurement for suppliers, government and Canadians (PDF, 7.8Mb)

The Government of Canada purchases on average $22 billion in goods and services each year to help deliver programs and services to Canadians. Shared Services Canada (SSC) and Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) handle more than 75% of the value of these purchases, which range from vaccines to military equipment to IT solutions, and so much more.

Government procurement can provide tremendous economic benefits for Canadian businesses and advance priorities that matter to Canadians. We are taking action to realize these opportunities by modernizing federal procurement so that it works better for Canada.

We are making procurement processes easier, faster and more accessible for suppliers and buyers, including small and medium-sized enterprises. At the same time, we want to use federal procurement to support businesses led by under-represented groups, provide increased opportunities for Indigenous businesses, and help address important issues, like climate change.

Our plan is based on 3 pillars:

  1. building a modern procurement foundation
  2. delivering a simpler and more responsive procurement system
  3. advancing socio-economic goals, increasing competition and fostering innovation

On this page

Building a modern procurement foundation

The best buildings have the strongest foundations. The same goes for federal procurement, and it starts with our people. We have already been developing strategies and programs to better recruit, train and develop our professional buyers.

We are also looking at digital technologies and international best practices to better align our procurement processes with today’s evolving business environment.

Electronic procurement solution

We are building a new digital foundation for government procurement. This means moving away from our current, outdated paper-based system to a new electronic procurement solution.

The electronic procurement solution will be user-friendly and will give suppliers and government purchasers the online shopping experience they are used to in their day-to-day lives. This will make it easier and faster for suppliers to do business with the government, as they will be able to see all their orders, transaction history and status in one place, similar to their Amazon or eBay account.

In addition to streamlining buying and selling, this new tool will also help us gather data on the participation of businesses owned by under-represented groups, so that we can ensure that procurement is inclusive of all Canadians.

The electronic procurement solution is expected to be gradually implemented within PSPC starting late 2019.

Vendor performance management

We are developing new tools to track and manage vendor performance. This will give suppliers incentives to deliver high-quality goods and services. Past contracting performance will be considered in future bid processes so that suppliers that perform well will end up with an advantage in future solicitations over companies that have performed poorly.

Improved vendor performance management tools will be gradually implemented in 2019.

Delivering a simpler and more responsive procurement system

Good progress is being made to make buying processes less burdensome. We have already taken a number of steps to improve both the supplier and purchaser experience by:

Simplified contracts

One of the barriers for suppliers when competing for government contracts is the complexity of documents. That’s why, moving forward, we are focused on simplifying paperwork to make it easier and less time consuming for suppliers. We will reduce the size of routine and highly competed goods and services contracts by at least 50% by 2020.

Advancing socio-economic goals, increasing competition and fostering innovation

As the largest public buyer of goods and services, the Government of Canada can use its purchasing power for the greater good. So far, we have established an ethical procurement policy, which requires apparel suppliers to abide by local laws and international standards on labour and human rights.

Moving forward, we are focused on using procurement to help advance other social objectives, such as:

Accessible Procurement Resource Centre

We are establishing an Accessible Procurement Resource Centre, where PSPC and SSC will develop processes for ensuring goods and services are accessible by design, where possible, so that Canadians with disabilities can use them without adaptation.

The Accessible Procurement Resource Centre will serve 2 functions:

  1. create and maintain a list of commodities across government for which accessible procurement is relevant
  2. provide direction, guidance and advice on accessible procurement to all federal organizations

We continue to consider international best practices in accessible procurement and are collaborating with our government partners and stakeholders.

Opportunities for under-represented groups

We are aiming to increase participation of women-owned businesses in federal procurement by 50% (from 10% to 15%) by 2025.

Over the next two years, we will be experimenting with social procurement practices to increase the number of under-represented groups, such as women, visible minorities and persons with disabilities, participating in federal procurement. For example, we recently established a list of under-represented suppliers (businesses owned by women and visible minorities) and social enterprises capable of delivering catering and hospitality services in the National Capital Region.

Opportunities for Indigenous businesses

Indigenous economic development is crucial to increasing the socio-economic outcomes and self-determination of Indigenous Peoples.

We are leveraging procurement to support Indigenous businesses by providing them with increased opportunities to access the federal government market. To further help stimulate Indigenous economic development, we are increasingly incorporating requirements for benefits for Indigenous Peoples and businesses into federal procurement. In collaboration with Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada, we are also encouraging departments that procure more than $1 million annually to find ways to increase the value of contracts awarded to Indigenous businesses. Departments have been asked to aspire to an Indigenous procurement objective of 5% by the end of the next five years.

To help stimulate Indigenous entrepreneurship and business development, and to provide Indigenous enterprises with more opportunities to participate in the economy through federal procurement, PSPC’s Office of Small and Medium Enterprises (OSME) offers seminars, presentations and meetings to Indigenous businesses and organizations across Canada.

Green procurement

The Greening Government Strategy sets specific targets for federal government light-duty vehicle purchases. Starting in 2019, 75% of new light-duty administrative fleet vehicle purchases will be zero-emissions vehicles (ZEV) or hybrids, while all new executive vehicle purchases will be ZEVs or hybrids.

Green procurement is also included in the Greening Government Strategy, and we are implementing it at each phase of the process. We are currently managing 35 commodity groups that include environmental considerations. We are prioritizing commodities that will have the greatest overall impact in reducing plastic waste, and ensuring that where plastics are procured, they are recyclable or manufactured from recycled content.

The Government of Canada is also transforming how it heats 80 buildings and cools 67 buildings in the National Capital Region. Investing in more efficient technologies for our heating and cooling plants will reduce costs and lower greenhouse gas emissions. We have reduced emissions by more than 30% since 2005 and are on track to further reduce total emissions to 65% by 2025.

We are implementing Smart Buildings, a technology that improves the way the government monitors and controls mechanical, heating, cooling and lighting systems in federal buildings across the country to increase the efficiency of these systems. Currently installed in 13 buildings in the National Capital Region, the Smart Buildings technology has resulted in energy savings of up to 17%, which equals savings of approximately $1 million annually.

Over and above all of this, we will continue to develop different approaches to advance socio-economic goals through procurement.

Engaging with smaller businesses

OSME is actively engaging with smaller businesses to promote federal procurement opportunities and find ways to reduce barriers to accessibility and inclusivity. OSME is also reviewing its services to ensure these respond to the needs of small enterprises at each stage of the procurement process.

Follow our progress

As we are moving forward, we will continue to engage with industry and suppliers, take stock of our progress, make adjustments and refine our approaches as required.

We will provide regular updates on these initiatives and more through the Better Buying web page: Canada.ca/better-buying. Progress will also be tracked through annual plans and reports tabled in Parliament and the Open Government Portal.

Get involved

We are always looking for input from the supplier community on how to improve federal procurement. We are also looking to help your company do business with the federal government. Contact OSME, at bpmeclient.osmeclient@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca, to provide your input and to learn about how to sell to the Government of Canada.

More information

For further information on these initiatives and more, please visit Canada.ca/better-buying.

Date modified:

Mieux acheter : améliorer l’approvisionnement du gouvernement fédéral pour celui-ci, les fournisseurs et la population canadienne

Mieux acheter : améliorer l’approvisionnement du gouvernement fédéral pour celui-ci, les fournisseurs et la
population canadienne (PDF, 6.8Mb)

Chaque année, le gouvernement du Canada dépense, en moyenne, 22 milliards de dollars pour l’achat de biens et de services à l’appui de la prestation des services et des programmes à la population canadienne. Services partagés Canada (SPC) et Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) traitent plus de 75 % de la valeur de ces achats, lesquels visent à acquérir des vaccins, du matériel militaire et bien plus encore.

Les achats du gouvernement peuvent générer des retombées économiques considérables sur les entreprises canadiennes, en plus de faire avancer les priorités qui importent à la population. Nous passons donc à l’action pour tirer parti de ce potentiel : nous modernisons l’approvisionnement fédéral afin de mieux répondre aux besoins du Canada.

En outre, nous facilitons les processus d’approvisionnement, en accélérons le déroulement et en améliorons l’accessibilité pour les acheteurs et les fournisseurs, y compris les petites et moyennes entreprises. Par ailleurs, nous voulons utiliser l’approvisionnement fédéral pour soutenir les entreprises dirigées par des membres de groupes sous-représentés, offrir plus d’occasions d’affaires aux entreprises autochtones et  essayer de résoudre des enjeux importants, comme les changements climatiques.

Notre plan repose sur 3 piliers :

  1. jeter les bases d’un approvisionnement moderne;
  2. offrir un système d’approvisionnement plus simple et plus adapté;
  3. faire avancer les objectifs socioéconomiques, accroître la concurrence et favoriser l’innovation.

Sur cette page

Jeter les bases d’un approvisionnement moderne

Les meilleurs immeubles reposent sur les fondations les plus solides. Il en va de même pour l’approvisionnement du gouvernement fédéral, à commencer par nos employés. Nous élaborons d’ailleurs déjà, depuis un certain moment, des stratégies et des programmes pour mieux recruter, former et perfectionner nos acheteurs professionnels.

Nous examinons aussi les technologies numériques et les pratiques exemplaires en usage dans le monde afin de mieux adapter nos processus d’approvisionnement à l’environnement opérationnel changeant d’aujourd’hui.

Solution d’achats électroniques

Nous sommes à établir une nouvelle plateforme numérique sur laquelle reposera l’approvisionnement du gouvernement. Nous allons ainsi remplacer notre actuel système papier désuet par une nouvelle solution d’achats électroniques.

La solution d’achats électroniques sera conviviale. Elle offrira aux fournisseurs et aux acheteurs du gouvernement l’expérience de magasinage en ligne à laquelle ils sont habitués dans leur quotidien. Ainsi, les fournisseurs pourront faire affaire plus facilement et rapidement avec le gouvernement, car ils pourront voir toutes leurs commandes, l’historique de leurs transactions et l’état de leur traitement au même endroit, comme dans Amazon ou eBay.

Ce nouvel outil nous permettra non seulement de simplifier les achats et les ventes, mais aussi de recueillir des données sur la participation des entreprises appartenant à des groupes sous-représentés pour faire en sorte que l’approvisionnement soit accessible à toute la population canadienne.

La solution d’achats électroniques doit être mise en place graduellement à SPAC, à compter de la fin de 2019.

Gestion du rendement des fournisseurs

Nous élaborons de nouveaux outils qui nous permettront de suivre et de gérer le rendement des fournisseurs, ce qui les incitera à offrir des biens et des services de grande qualité. Le rendement des fournisseurs lié à l’exécution de contrats antérieurs sera pris en compte dans les processus d’appel d’offres futurs. Ainsi, les soumissionnaires qui affichent un bon rendement jouiront d’un avantage par rapport à ceux dont le rendement est insatisfaisant.

Les outils améliorés pour la gestion du rendement des fournisseurs seront mis en place graduellement au cours de 2019.

Offrir un système d’approvisionnement plus simple et plus adapté

L’allègement des processus d’achat avance bien. Nous avons déjà pris un certain nombre de mesures pour améliorer l’expérience offerte aux fournisseurs et aux acheteurs, en :

Contrats simplifiés

L’un des obstacles auxquels sont confrontés les fournisseurs qui soumissionnent les marchés du gouvernement est la complexité des documents. C’est pourquoi nous voulons maintenant mettre l’accent sur la simplification des formalités administratives dans le but de faciliter la tâche des fournisseurs et de leur faire gagner du temps. Nous réduirons d’au moins 50 % d’ici 2020 la taille des contrats de biens et de services courants qui suscitent beaucoup de soumissions.

Faire avancer les objectifs socioéconomiques, accroître la concurrence et favoriser l’innovation

Étant le plus gros acheteur de biens et de services du secteur public, le gouvernement du Canada peut mettre à profit son pouvoir d’achat pour le bien commun. Jusqu’à présent, nous avons établi une politique sur l’approvisionnement éthique qui oblige les fournisseurs de vêtements à respecter les lois locales et les normes internationales en matière de droit du travail et de droits de la personne.

Nous comptons ensuite nous servir de l’approvisionnement pour faire avancer d’autres objectifs sociaux, comme :

Centre de ressources et d’approvisionnement en produits accessibles

Nous sommes à mettre sur pied un Centre de ressources et d’approvisionnement en produits accessibles. SPAC et SPC y élaboreront des processus qui permettront d’acquérir des biens et des services conçus pour être accessibles, dans la mesure du possible, pour que les Canadiens handicapés puissent les utiliser sans adaptation.

Le Centre de ressources et d’approvisionnement en produits accessibles aura 2 fonctions :

Nous continuons d’examiner les pratiques exemplaires internationales en matière d’achats de produits accessibles, et nous collaborons avec nos intervenants et partenaires gouvernementaux.

Marchés pour les groupes sous-représentés

Nous voulons augmenter de 50 % (de 10 % à 15 %) la proportion d’entreprises appartenant à des femmes qui participent aux marchés fédéraux, d’ici 2025.

Au cours des deux prochaines années, nous allons mettre à l’essai des pratiques d’approvisionnement social dans le but d’augmenter le nombre de groupes sous-représentés, comme les femmes, les minorités visibles et les personnes handicapées, qui participent aux marchés fédéraux. Par exemple, nous avons dressé récemment une liste de fournisseurs diversifiés (entreprises appartenant à des femmes ou à des membres de minorités visibles) et d’entreprises sociales capables de fournir des services de traiteur et d’accueil dans la région de la capitale nationale.

Marchés pour les entreprises autochtones

Le développement économique des peuples autochtones est primordial pour accroître leurs perspectives socioéconomiques et leur autodétermination.

Nous utilisons l’approvisionnement fédéral pour soutenir les entreprises autochtones en leur offrant plus d’occasions de faire affaire avec le gouvernement fédéral. Afin de stimuler davantage le développement économique des peuples autochtones, nous exigeons de plus en plus que ceux-ci et leurs entreprises bénéficient de retombées dans les marchés fédéraux. De plus, en collaboration avec Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada, nous encourageons les ministères dont les achats totalisent annuellement plus de 1 million de dollars à trouver des façons d’augmenter la valeur des contrats qu’ils attribuent aux entreprises autochtones. À cet égard, nous leur avons demandé d’aspirer à un objectif de 5 % d’ici la fin des cinq prochaines années.

Pour stimuler l’entrepreneuriat et le développement des entreprises chez les Autochtones, ainsi qu’offrir à celles-ci plus d’occasions de participer à l’économie par le truchement de l’approvisionnement fédéral, le Bureau des petites et moyennes entreprises (BPME) de SPAC offre des séminaires, des séances d’information et des rencontres aux entreprises et aux organisations autochtones d’un bout à l’autre du Canada.

Approvisionnement écologique

La Stratégie pour un gouvernement vert fait état d’objectifs précis en ce qui concerne l’achat des véhicules légers du gouvernement fédéral. À compter de 2019, 75 % des nouveaux véhicules légers destinés au parc « administratif » seront des véhicules à émission zéro (VEZ) ou hybrides, et tous les nouveaux véhicules de fonction seront des VEZ ou des véhicules hybrides.

L’approvisionnement écologique fait également partie de la Stratégie pour un gouvernement vert, et nous le mettons en œuvre à chaque étape du processus. À l’heure actuelle, nous gérons 35 groupes de produits qui comportent des considérations environnementales. Nous donnons la priorité aux produits qui permettront de réduire dans une plus grande mesure les déchets plastiques, et nous nous assurons que les articles en plastique que nous achetons sont recyclables ou fabriqués à partir de contenu recyclé.

De plus, le gouvernement du Canada transforme la façon dont il chauffe 80 édifices et en refroidit 67 dans la région de la capitale nationale. En investissant dans des technologies plus efficaces pour ses centrales de chauffage et de refroidissement, il compte réduire ses coûts et ses émissions de gaz à effet de serre. Il a réduit ses émissions de plus de 30 % depuis 2005, et il est en bonne voie de réduire l’ensemble de ses émissions de 65 % d’ici 2025.

Nous mettons en œuvre la technologie liée aux bâtiments intelligents, qui permet d’améliorer la façon dont le gouvernement surveille et contrôle les systèmes mécaniques, de chauffage, de refroidissement et d’éclairage dans les immeubles fédéraux de tout le pays pour en accroître l’efficacité. Actuellement installée dans 13 immeubles de la région de la capitale nationale, la technologie liée aux bâtiments intelligents a permis de réduire de 17 % la consommation d’énergie de ces immeubles, ce qui s’est traduit par des économies annuelles d’environ 1 million de dollars.

Mais surtout, nous comptons continuer de mettre au point différentes façons de faire avancer les objectifs socioéconomiques grâce à l’approvisionnement.

Action auprès des entreprises plus petites

Le Bureau des petites et moyennes entreprises de SPAC s’emploie activement auprès des entreprises plus petites à promouvoir les projets de marchés du gouvernement fédéral et à les consulter sur les façons possibles de réduire les obstacles à l’accessibilité et à l’inclusivité. De plus, il est à examiner ses services pour s’assurer que ceux-ci répondent aux besoins des petites entreprises à toutes les étapes du processus d’approvisionnement.

Suivez nos progrès

Au fur et à mesure que nous avancerons, nous continuerons de consulter les fournisseurs et le secteur privé, de faire le bilan de nos progrès, d’apporter les ajustements qui s’imposent et d’améliorer nos approches s’il y a lieu de le faire.

Nous ferons le point régulièrement sur ces initiatives et plus encore sur la page Mieux acheter à l’adresse suivante : Canada.ca/mieux-acheter. Le suivi de nos progrès sera également fait dans les plans et les rapports annuels déposés au Parlement, ainsi que sur le portail du gouvernement ouvert.

Comment participer

Nous voulons toujours connaître l’avis des fournisseurs sur la façon d’améliorer l’approvisionnement du gouvernement fédéral. Nous voulons également aider votre entreprise à faire affaire avec le gouvernement fédéral. Communiquez avec le BPME, au bpmeclient.osmeclient@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca, pour donner votre avis et vous renseigner sur la façon dont vous pouvez vendre vos produits au gouvernement du Canada.

Plus de renseignements

Pour plus de renseignements sur ces initiative et plus encore, visitez Canada.ca/mieux-acheter.

Date de modification :