Public Works and Government Services Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Annex E – Basic Standards for Testing the Office Support Classification (Stream 1)

1. Provision of Examinations

Standardized examinations must be provided for the assessment of the qualifications in the Classification and as a minimum, Offeror/Suppliers must have available the following four types of examinations for the selection and classification of its resources. Public Service testing will be accepted where appropriate and relevant to the Designated User requirements.

1.1 Keyboarding Examinations

Keyboarding examinations must be available separately in English and French to evaluate the following:

  1. Keyboarding skill in English or French or English and French at a speed of at least 40 words per minute with not more than 5 percent error rate,
  2. keyboarding skill in English or French or English and French, at a speed of at least 25 words per minute with not more than a 3 percent error rate.

1.2 Grammar, Spelling and Punctuation Proficiency Tests

A good knowledge of the fundamental rules of grammar, spelling and punctuation is normally required.

1.3 Clerical Ability

These examinations, generally administered in the candidates' official language, are designed to assess basic abilities required in satisfactorily carrying out office duties. Although the number and types of abilities measured may vary from one examination to another, a clerical test should normally contain a series of sub-tests designed to evaluate:

  1. filing ability,
  2. coding ability,
  3. checking ability,
  4. arithmetic ability.

1.4 Commonly Used Software

Testing of commonly used software such as Word, WordPerfect, Excel, Powerpoint, depending on the candidate's abilities and desired classification must be performed by Offeror/Supplier.

2. Identification of Examinations

Where the Offeror/Supplier develop their own examinations, either with staff trained or experienced in test development or with assistance from outside consultants, such examinations must be consistent with the standards set out herein.

A number of commercial tests also exist which meet the minimal requirements outlined below.

3. Administration of Examinations

The Offeror/Supplier must ensure that individuals responsible for administering these various examinations possess adequate training and experience to carry out this function. The task of administering an examination to one or more individuals cannot be carried out without preparation; it requires a good knowledge of the examination itself and the conditions of test administration.

The Offeror/Supplier must ensure that the individual assigned to administer these examinations be completely familiar with the oral and written instructions that are to be given to the candidates. The Offeror/Supplier must ensure that the test administrator periodically verifies that all test equipment is in good working condition and ensure that general test conditions permit candidates to perform at their best (e.g. that there is adequate lighting, sufficient work space, a quiet environment, and accommodation of any special needs a candidate may have.)

3.1 Time Limits

The Offeror/Supplier must rigorously apply and adhere to time limits, if applicable, established for examinations or examination sections. It is strongly recommended that the Test Administrator ensure the accurate timing of the various sections of the ability tests.

3.2 Examination Scoring

The Offeror/Supplier must score skill examinations according to precise guidelines and procedures outlined in a clear scoring guide or manual.

The Offeror/Supplier must ensure that test scorers have adequate training and experience in the scoring of skill examinations and are completely familiar with the scoring guidelines provided for each examination.

Scores for each ability must be totalled for each section of the examination and/or for the examination as a whole.

3.3 Security of Examination Material

All examination material which may include answers, tests and manuals must be securely stored. Only those individuals responsible for administering and/or scoring examinations should have access to examination material.

4. Examination Specifications

4.1 Keyboarding Examinations

  1. Two equivalent versions in each language must be available for the assessment of the skills listed in section 1. above, that is two parallel forms of the French keyboarding test and two parallel forms of the English keyboarding test.
  2. The equivalency of the two forms of the examination will be determined by an evaluation of the following two factors:
    • stroke intensity
    • syllabic intensity
  3. Each equivalent form must comprise the following:
    • a page of general instructions preceding the test,
    • a practice keyboarding text of approximately 150 words (3 to 5 minutes),
    • a first examination text of 1,350 to 1,550 strokes in narrative format (that is not containing numbers or symbols) with a time limit of 5 minutes,
    • a second examination text of 1,350 to 1,550 strokes in narrative of 5 minutes duration.
  4. For each keyboarding text the mean number of strokes per dictionary word must fall between 5.90 and 6.10. The average stroke intensity may be calculated by dividing the total number of key-strokes in the keyboarding text by the total number of words.
  5. The syllabic intensity of each keyboarding text must fall between 1.45 and 1.55. The average syllabic intensity can be calculated by dividing the total number of syllables by the total number of words in the text.
  6. At the completion of the examination the candidates will be asked to decide which of the two examination texts typed they wish to be scored. Only the one text designated by them will be scored.
  7. The scoring of the examination must take into account the two criteria below:
    • the speed in number of words typed per minute, determined by dividing the total number of keyboarding strokes by 25,
    • accuracy by percentage of errors, determined by dividing the number of errors by the total number of words typed.
  8. The pass mark required on the keyboarding examination is either:
    • a speed of 40 words per minute with no more than 5% error
    • a speed of 25 words per minute with no more than 3% error.
  9. To be fully qualified each candidate must be able to meet the criterion for both speed and accuracy. Failure on either one or the other of these criteria will result in a failure on the examination.
  10. In the case of a failure the candidate may be re-tested within a reasonable time. However in this case a different form of the examination must be used and the examination administered under the same conditions as in the first test session.

4.2 Grammar, Spelling and Punctuation Tests

  1. An examination of grammar, spelling and punctuation must be available in each official language to evaluate the knowledge qualifications, that is a separate English and a separate French test of grammar, spelling and punctuation.
  2. The examination must be able to provide a reliable measure of fundamental rules of grammar, spelling and punctuation at the tenth grade level.
  3. The examination and related material (i.e. answer sheet, administration and technical manual) must be accompanied by appropriate normative data, based on one or more properly identified norm groups. Among these may be 10th grade students, applicants to clerical positions or incumbents.
  4. The pass mark on the examination must be established according to appropriate norm group data. When this data is expressed in terms of percentiles, it is recommended that the pass mark be established at the 40th percentile.
  5. A candidate who has failed the examination may be tested again within a reasonable time.
  6. The raw scores obtained on this examination (including scores obtained on each sub-test of the examination) together with data recorded on the candidates must be filed systematically and maintained.

4.3 Clerical Ability Tests

  1. An examination of clerical abilities must be available in each official language to evaluate the qualifications.
  2. The examination must provide a reliable and valid measure of abilities judged necessary to successful office work:
    • speed and accuracy in activities related to filling, coding and checking of numerical and/or alphabetical material,
    • arithmetic abilities
  3. The examination and related material (that is answer sheet, administration and technical manual) must be accompanied by appropriate normative data based on one or more carefully identified reference groups. Among these may be students and incumbents of clerical positions.
  4. The pass mark for the examination must be based on the normative data available. When this data is expressed in terms of percentiles for female and male subjects separately, it is recommended that a pass mark corresponding to the 40th percentile for each normative group be established.
  5. A candidate who has failed the examination may be tested again within a reasonable time.
  6. The raw scores obtained on this examination (including scores obtained on each sub-test of the examination) together with data recorded on the candidates must be filed systematically and maintained.

Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Annexe E – Normes relatives aux examens pour la classification du groupe 1 – Soutien de bureau

1. Nature des examens

L'existence des qualités requises chez les employés à la classification du soutien administratif doit être établie au moyen d'épreuves uniformes spécialement conçues à cet effet. Chaque fournisseur doit pouvoir recourir à au moins quatre types distincts d'épreuves pour la sélection et le classement de ses ressources. Les examens de la fonction publique seront acceptés lorsqu'ils conviennent et sont conformes aux exigences de l'utilisateur désigné.

1.1 Les examens de saisie au clavier

Disponibles séparément en anglais et en français, les examens de saisie au clavier servent à évaluer :

  1. la compétence voulue pour le saisie du clavier en anglais ou en français, ou en anglais et en français, à la vitesse minimum de 40 mots à la minute avec, au plus, 5 % d'erreur; ou
  2. la compétence voulue pour le saisie de clavier en anglais ou en français, ou en anglais et en français, à la vitesse minimum de 25 mots à la minute avec, au plus, 3 % d'erreurs.

1.2 Les examens d'orthographe, de grammaire et de ponctuation

Une bonne connaissance des règles fondamentales de l'orthographe, de la grammaire et de la ponctuation est normalement exigée.

1.3 Les examens d'habiletés cléricales

Ces examens, généralement subis dans la première langue officielle seulement, doivent servir à apprécier les habiletés manifestes reliées à la bonne exécution du travail de bureau. Bien que le nombre et la désignation des habiletés mesurées puissent varier d'un examen à un autre, on devrait normalement y retrouver une série de sous-tests destinés à évaluer :

  1. l'habileté à classer;
  2. l'habileté à coder;
  3. l'habileté à vérifier;
  4. l'habileté arithmétique.

1.4 Logiciels largement répandus

Le fournisseur doit effectuer des tests de maîtrise des logiciels largement répandus, tels que Word, Excel et PowerPoint, selon les aptitudes du candidat et la classification souhaitée.

2. Élaboration des examens

Lorsque les fournisseur élaborent leurs propres examens, soit avec un personnel formé ou détenant de l'expérience dans l'élaboration d'examens soit avec l'aide d'experts-conseils, ces examens doivent respecter les normes décrites dans la présente.

Il existe également un certain nombre de tests commerciaux qui répondent aux normes minimales décrites ci-dessous.

3. Administration des examens

Le fournisseur doit s’assurer que les personnes chargées d'administrer ces divers types d'examen bénéficier d'une formation et d'une expérience adéquates. La tâche de faire subir un examen à une personne ou à un groupe de personne ne s'improvise pas; elle exige une connaissance approfondie de l'examen lui-même et de ses conditions d'administration.

Le fournisseur doit s’assurer que la personne désignée pour administrer ces examens est parfaitement familiarisée avec les directives orales et écrites à communiquer aux candidats. Le fournisseur doit s’assurer que la personne désignée vérifie que l'équipement est en bon état de fonctionnement et faire en sorte que les conditions d'examen générales n'entravent pas aux efforts des candidats (p. ex. Assurer un éclairage adéquat, un espace de travail suffisant, un environnement silencieux et répondre à tout besoin particulier qu'un candidat pourrait avoir).

3.1 Limites de temps

Le fournisseur doit s'assurer que les limites de temps établies (si applicable) pour chaque examen ou partie d'examen rigoureusement respectées. Il est fortement recommandé de contrôler le temps maximum alloué à chacune des parties du test d'habiletés

3.2 Correction des examens

Le fournisseur doit s'assurer que les examens de compétences sont corrigés selon des règles précises et des procédés uniformes, contenus dans un guide ou un manuel rédigé aussi clairement que possible.

Le fournisseur doit s'assurer que les personnes chargées de la correction de ces examens bénéficient d'une formation et d'une expérience suffisantes; elles doivent être parfaitement familiarisées avec les méthodes de correction fournies dans ce guide ou manuel.

La somme des scores pour chacune des compétences doit être calculée dans chaque section de l'examen et/ou pour l'ensemble de l'examen.

3.3 Sécurité du matériel d'examen

Tout le matériel d'examen qui pourrait contenir des réponses, des examens et des manuels doit être entreposé en lieu sûr. Seules les personnes responsables de l'administration et/ou de la correction des examens doivent avoir accès au matériel d'examen.

4. Normes relatives aux examens

4.1 Les examens de saisie au clavier

  1. Deux versions équivalentes doivent être disponibles dans chaque langue officielle pour évaluer les compétences énumérées à la section 1, soit deux formules parallèles de l'examen de saisie au clavier française et deux formules parallèles de l'examen de saisie au clavier anglaise.
  2. L'équivalence des deux formules d'examen sera déterminée par l'évaluation des deux aspects suivants :
    • l'intensité moyenne des frappes
    • l'intensité moyenne des syllabes
  3. Chaque formule équivalente doit comprendre :
    • une page de directives générales, séparée du texte;
    • un texte d'environ 150 mots servant à l'exercice de réchauffement (3 à 5 minutes);
    • un premier texte d'environ 1350 à 1550 frappes, entièrement narratif (ne contenant ni chiffres ni symboles) assorti d'un délai d'exécution de cinq (5) minutes;
    • un deuxième texte d'environ 1350 à 1550 frappes, exclusivement narratif, d'une durée de cinq (5) minutes.
  4. A l'intérieur de chaque texte, le nombre moyen de frappes par mot du dictionnaire doit varier entre 5,90 et 6,10. On peut calculer l'indice moyen d'intensité des frappes en divisant le nombre total de frappes nécessaires pour le texte entier par le nombre total des mots.
  5. L'intensité syllabique moyenne de chaque texte doit varier entre 1,45 et 1,55. On peut calculer l'indice moyen d'intensité des syllabes en divisant le nombre total de syllabes par le nombre total de mots.
  6. À la fin de l'examen de dactylographie, les candidats seront appelé à désigner, parmi les deux textes dactylographiés, celui qu'ils désirent voir corriger. Seul le texte désigné sera corrigé.
  7. La correction devra tenir compte des deux critères suivants :
    • la vitesse, établie en nombre de mots tapés à la minute, obtenue en divisant le nombre total de frappes par le chiffre 25;
    • la précision, établie en un pourcentage d'erreurs, obtenu en divisant le nombre total d'erreurs par le nombre total de mots dactylographiés.
  8. La note de passage requise à l'examen de dactylographie est :
    • soit de 40 mots à la minute, avec au plus 5 % d'erreurs;
    • soit de 25 mots à la minute, avec au plus 3 % d'erreurs.
  9. Pour être proprement qualifié, chaque candidat doit satisfaire à la fois au critère de vitesse et au critère de précision. Un échec à l'un ou l'autre de ces deux critères entraînera un échec global à l'examen.
  10. En cas d'échec, le candidat peut passer à nouveau l'examen dans un délai raisonnable. Toutefois, dans un tel cas, il faudra utiliser une formule différente et s'assurer que l'examen se déroule dans les mêmes conditions que celles imposées lors de l'évaluation précédente.

4.2 Les examens d'orthographe, de grammaire et de ponctuation

  1. Un examen d'orthographe, de grammaire et de ponctuation doit être disponible dans chaque langue officielle pour évaluer les connaissances énumérées à la section 1.3, soit un examen d'orthographe, de grammaire et de ponctuation françaises et un examen d'orthographe, de grammaire et de ponctuation anglaises.
  2. Cet examen doit pouvoir fournir une mesure fiable des règles fondamentales de l'orthographe, de la grammaire et de la ponctuation, dont une connaissance suffisante devra normalement être acquise au terme d'une dixième année d'études.
  3. L'examen et le matériel connexe (p.ex., feuille de réponses, guide d'administration et manuel technique) doivent être accompagnés de données normatives appropriées basées sur une ou plusieurs groupes de référence proprement identifiés. Parmi ceux-ci, mentionnons les normes obtenues à partir de populations étudiantes de 10e année, de candidats ou de titulaires à des postes de nature cléricale.
  4. La note de passage à cet examen doit être établie à partir de données satisfaisantes des groupes de référence. Lorsque ces données sont exprimées en rangs percentiles, il est recommandé d'adopter une note de passage correspondant au 40e percentile.
  5. En cas d'échec, le candidat peut passer à nouveau l'examen dans un délai raisonnable.
  6. Les résultats bruts à cet examen (c.-à-d. le nombre de bonnes réponses obtenues à chacune des parties et à l'ensemble de l'examen) de même que certaines données de base concernant le candidat devraient être classés de façon systématique et conservés.

4.3 Examens d'habiletés cléricales

  1. Un examen d'habiletés cléricales doit être disponible dans chaque langue officielle pour évaluer les qualités énumérées.
  2. Cet examen doit pouvoir fournir une mesure fidèle et valide des habiletés de base jugées nécessaires à la bonne exécution du travail de bureau :
    • vitesse et précision dans les activités de classement, de codage et de vérification de matériel numérique ou alphabétique,
    • habiletés arithmétiques.
  3. L'examen et le matériel connexe (p.ex., feuille de réponses, guide d'administration et manuel technique) doivent être accompagnés de données normatives appropriées basées sur une ou plusieurs groupes de référence identifiés. Parmi ceux-ci, mentionnons les étudiants et les titulaires d'emplois de nature cléricale.
  4. La note de passage à cet examen doit être établie à partir de données normatives disponibles. Lorsque ces données normatives sont exprimées en rangs percentiles, séparément pour les sujets du sexe féminin et ceux du sexe masculin, il est recommandé d'adopter une note de passage correspondant au 40e rang percentile de chaque groupe normatif.
  5. En cas d'échec, le candidat peut passer à nouveau l'examen dans un délai raisonnable.
  6. Les résultats bruts à cet examen (c.-à-d. le nombre de bonnes réponses obtenues à chacune des parties et à l'ensemble de l'examen), de même que certaines données doivent être classés de façon systématique et conserver en filière.