Public Works and Government Services Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Education and Experience Requirements for Teaching Resources

All resources proposed by the Offeror must have mastered the language being taught and be sufficiently proficient in the other official language to explain basic concepts in the language being taught.

Pedagogical Advisers

For all training modes, the Standing Offer Authority is the only authority who can verify and approve the qualifications of a pedagogical adviser.

The resources proposed to replace primary and backup pedagogical advisers must meet the mandatory qualification requirements set out below.

Primary and Backup Pedagogical Advisers – Mandatory Qualifications

All primary and backup pedagogical advisers must have at least one of the following qualifications:

A bachelor’s degree from a recognized Canadian university. In cases where studies were completed in an institution outside Canada, only an equivalency certificate from an accredited institution recognizing the credentials as Canadian equivalences will be accepted. These institutions include the credential assessment services of the federal or provincial governments and the International Credential Assessment Service of Canada, as well as others recognized as credential assessment services for comparing degrees and diplomas to Canadian standards and identified on the Canadian Information Centre for International Credentials Web site AND at least one (1) year of experience since January 2007 supervising at least two (2) teaching resources, at the same time, who taught full-time, English and/or French as a second language, for a minimum of 30 hours per week, to adults, on an individual or group basis. One (1) year of experience in supervision is defined as at least 30 hours per week, over a period of at least 40 weeks within a period of 12 consecutive months.

OR

A bachelor’s degree from a recognized Canadian university. In cases where studies were completed in an institution outside Canada, only an equivalency certificate from an accredited institution recognizing the credentials as Canadian equivalences will be accepted. These institutions include the credential assessment services of the federal or provincial governments and the International Credential Assessment Service of Canada, as well as others recognized as credential assessment services for comparing degrees and diplomas to Canadian standards and identified on the Canadian Information Centre for International Credentials Web site AND at least 1,200 hours of experience since January 2007 supervising at least two (2) teaching resources at the same time, delivering part-time English and/or French as a second language courses to adults, on an individual or group basis;

OR

A bachelor’s degree from a recognized Canadian university. In cases where studies were completed in an institution outside Canada, only an equivalency certificate from an accredited institution recognizing the credentials as Canadian equivalences will be accepted. These institutions include the credential assessment services of the federal or provincial governments and the International Credential Assessment Service of Canada, as well as others recognized as credential assessment services for comparing degrees and diplomas to Canadian standards and identified on the Canadian Information Centre for International Credentials Web site AND at least 3,600 hours of teaching experience since January 2007 delivering full-time English and/or French as a second language training to groups of at least three (3) adults, using one or more of the following training programs: PBFTPFL2 – A and B or PFL2 – C, CEWP, a program used by a recognized Canadian post-secondary institution or any other English or French as a second language adult education program. A full-time training is defined as at least 30 hours per week.

OR

Seven (7) years of experience, since January 2002, in one of the following fields. One (1) year of experience is defined as at least 1,200 hours over a period of 12 consecutive months, using one or more of the following training programs: PBFTPFL2 – A and B or PFL2 – C, CEWP, a program used by a recognized Canadian post-secondary institution or any other English or French as a second language adult education program.

  1. teaching French and/or English as a second language to adults, full time and/or part time,
  2. supervising at least two (2) teaching resources at the same time delivering full-time and/or part-time English and/or French as a second language courses to adults.
  3. a combination of a) and b) above. 

Teaching resources

Teaching resources Proposed for the First Time and Replacements – Mandatory Qualifications

All teaching resources must hold at least a bachelor’s degree from a recognized Canadian university. In cases where studies were completed in an institution outside Canada, only an equivalency certificate from an accredited institution recognizing the credentials as Canadian equivalences will be accepted. These institutions include the credential assessment services of the federal and provincial governments and the International Credential Assessment Service of Canada, as well as others recognized as credential assessment services for comparing degrees and diplomas to Canadian standards and identified on the Canadian Information Centre for International Credentials Web site.

Upon Standing Offer’s Authority approval, for teaching resources who do not detain a bachelor’s degree or an equivalency, a combination of education and experience may be considered.

Teaching resources meeting the educational requirement above will fall into one of the following categories:

Teaching resources with Minimum Experience

A main teaching resource is a teaching resource who, since January 2007, has acquired at least 500 hours of experience teaching English or French as a second language (depending on which work stream the resource is assigned to) to adults on an individual or group basis. Moreover, these hours of training must have been delivered using one or more of the following programs: PBFTPFL2 – A and B or PFL2 – C, CEWP, a program used by a recognized Canadian post-secondary institution or any other English or French as a second language adult education program.

Teaching resources without Minimum Experience

A teaching resource who does not have the experience described in “Teaching Resources with minimum Experience’’ will be considered a teaching resource in training. Teaching resources in training will be paired with main teaching resources until they have met the requirements of the ‘’Teaching Resources with minimum Experience’’. Their progress will constantly be monitored by a pedagogical adviser.

All teaching resources proposed for this SO must be evaluated by the Offeror’s pedagogical adviser during the first month on the job, and a detailed report (Teaching Evaluation Report) must be submitted to the Standing Offer Authority on the first business day of the following month for review and approval of the teaching resources’ qualifications.

When teaching resources are proposed for the first time, the Offeror must provide the Standing Offer Authority with proof of education in the form of a document confirming the level of education for all the teaching resources. The SO Authority may at any time require an original document or a true copy of the original certified by a commissioner of oaths.

The Offeror must also provide a certificate confirming each main teaching resource’s experience. The certificate must provide the following information regarding the pedagogical adviser’s experience: name of the client organization, name and telephone number of a contact person, number of hours of experience as a teaching resource or pedagogical adviser, and start and end dates of the experience.

Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Exigences relatives à l'éducation et à l'expérience pour les ressources d'enseignement

Toutes les ressources proposées par l'offrant doivent maîtriser la langue enseignée et maîtriser suffisamment l'autre langue officielle pour expliquer les concepts de base liés à la langue enseignée.

Conseillers pédagogiques

Pour toutes les modalités de formation, le responsable de l'offre à commandes est la seule autorité qui peut vérifier et accepter les qualifications d'un conseiller pédagogique.

Les ressources proposées pour remplacer le conseiller pédagogique (principal et substitut) doivent satisfaire aux exigences de qualification obligatoires figurant ci-après.

Conseillers pédagogiques principaux et substituts – Compétences obligatoires

Tous les conseillers pédagogiques (principaux et substituts) doivent détenir, au minimum l'une ou l'autre des qualifications suivantes :

Un baccalauréat d'une université canadienne reconnue. Dans les cas où les études ont été réalisées dans un établissement à l'extérieur du Canada, seule une attestation d'équivalence octroyée par une institution accréditée pour la reconnaissance d'équivalences canadiennes des titres de compétence sera acceptée. Ces institutions incluent les organismes d'évaluation des compétences du gouvernement fédéral et des gouvernements provinciaux et le Service canadien d'évaluation de documents scolaires internationaux ainsi que certains autres services d'évaluation comparative des titres de compétence reconnus pour comparer les certificats et diplômes aux normes canadiennes identifiées sur le site web de Centre d'information canadien sur les diplômes internationaux ET depuis janvier 2007, un minimum d'une (1) année d'expérience dans la supervision d'au moins deux (2) ressources enseignantes en même temps, ayant enseigné à temps plein d'une durée minimale de 30 heures par semaine, des cours de français et/ou d'anglais langue seconde aux adultes, en enseignement individuel ou de groupe. Une (1) année d'expérience de supervision est l'équivalent d'au moins 30 heures par semaine, réparties sur une période d'au moins 40 semaines par année de 12 mois consécutifs.

OU

Un baccalauréat d'une université canadienne reconnue. Dans les cas où les études ont été réalisées dans un établissement à l'extérieur du Canada, seule une attestation d'équivalence octroyée par une institution accréditée pour la reconnaissance d'équivalences canadiennes des titres de compétence sera acceptée. Ces institutions incluent les organismes d'évaluation des compétences du gouvernement fédéral et des gouvernements provinciaux et le Service canadien d'évaluation de documents scolaires internationaux ainsi que certains autres services d'évaluation comparative des titres de compétence reconnus pour comparer les certificats et diplômes aux normes canadiennes identifiées sur le site web de Centre d'information canadien sur les diplômes internationaux ET depuis janvier 2007, un minimum de 1 200 heures d'expérience dans la supervision d'au moins deux (2) ressources enseignantes en même temps ayant offert des cours à temps partiel de français et/ou d'anglais langue seconde aux adultes, en enseignement individuel ou de groupe.

OU

Un baccalauréat d'une université canadienne reconnue. Dans les cas où les études ont été réalisées dans un établissement à l'extérieur du Canada, seule une attestation d'équivalence octroyée par une institution accréditée pour la reconnaissance d'équivalences canadiennes des titres de compétence sera acceptée. Ces institutions incluent les organismes d'évaluation des compétences du gouvernement fédéral et des gouvernements provinciaux et le Service canadien d'évaluation de documents scolaires internationaux ainsi que certains autres services d'évaluation comparative des titres de compétence reconnus pour comparer les certificats et diplômes aux normes canadiennes identifiées sur le site web de Centre d'information canadien sur les diplômes internationaux ET depuis janvier 2007, en tant que ressource enseignante, un minimum de 3 600 heures d'expérience de la prestation de cours à temps plein, en français et/ou en anglais langue seconde, à des adultes, en groupe d'un minimum de trois (3) apprenants en utilisant un ou plusieurs des programmes de formation suivants : le PBFT, le PFL2 A et B ou le PFL2 C, le CEWP, un programme utilisé par une institution postsecondaire canadienne reconnue ou tout autre programme d'enseignement aux adultes du français ou de l'anglais, langue seconde.

Une formation à temps plein est l'équivalent d'au moins 30 heures par semaine.

OU

Depuis janvier 2002, sept (7) ans d'expérience dans un des domaines suivants. Une (1) année d'expérience est l'équivalent d'au moins 1 200 heures, réparties sur une période de 12 mois consécutifs en utilisant un ou plusieurs des programmes de formation suivants : le PBFT, le PFL2 A et B ou le PFL2 C, le CEWP, un programme utilisé par une institution postsecondaire canadienne reconnue ou tout autre programme d'enseignement aux adultes du français ou de l'anglais, langue seconde.

  1. enseignement du français et/ou de l'anglais langue seconde aux adultes, à temps plein et/ou à temps partiel.
  2. supervision d'au moins deux ressources enseignantes en même temps ayant offert des cours de français et/ou d'anglais langue seconde aux adultes, à temps plein et/ou à temps partiel.
  3. une combinaison des deux domaines ci-dessus a) et b).

Ressources enseignantes

Les ressources enseignantes qui répondent à l'exigence éducationnelle ci-dessus appartiennent à l'une ou l'autre des catégories suivantes :

Ressources enseignantes proposées pour la première fois et remplacements - Compétences obligatoires

Toutes les ressources enseignantes doivent détenir, au minimum, un baccalauréat d'une université canadienne reconnue. Dans le cas où les études ont été complétées dans un établissement à l'extérieur du Canada, seule une attestation d'équivalence octroyée par une institution accréditée pour la reconnaissance d'équivalences canadiennes des titres de compétence sera acceptée. Ces institutions incluent les organismes d'évaluation des compétences du gouvernement fédéral et des gouvernements provinciaux et le Service canadien d'évaluation de documents scolaires internationaux ainsi que certains autres services d'évaluation comparative des titres de compétence reconnus pour comparer les certificats et diplômes aux normes canadiennes identifiées sur le site web de Centre d'information canadien sur les diplômes internationaux.

Sur approbation du responsable des offres à commandes, pour les ressources enseignantes qui ne détiennent pas un baccalauréat ou diplôme équivalent, une combinaison d'études et d'expérience pourrait être considérée.

Ressources enseignantes titulaires

Une ressource enseignante titulaire est une ressource enseignante qui, depuis janvier 2007, a acquis de l'expérience dans l'enseignement du français ou de l'anglais langue seconde aux adultes (dépendamment du champ de travail pour lequel la ressource est affectée), en individuel ou en groupe, pendant un minimum de 500 heures. De plus, ces heures de formation doivent avoir été livrées en utilisant l'un ou plusieurs des programmes suivants : le PBFT, le PFL2 A et B ou le PFL2 C, le CEWP, un programme utilisé par une institution postsecondaire canadienne reconnue ou tout autre programme d'enseignement aux adultes du français ou de l'anglais, langue seconde.

Ressources enseignantes en développement

Une ressource enseignante qui ne possède pas l'expérience décrite ci-dessus (Ressources enseignantes titulaires) sera considérée comme une ressource enseignante en développement. Elle doit être jumelée à une ressource enseignante titulaire jusqu'à ce que l'exigence minimale exigée pour la ressource titulaire soit satisfaite. Elle fera l'objet d'un suivi constant de sa progression par un conseiller pédagogique.

Toute ressource enseignante proposée pour cette OC doit être évaluée par le conseiller pédagogique de l'offrant le premier mois suivant son entrée en fonction et un rapport détaillé (Rapport d'évaluation de l'enseignement) doit être présenté au responsable des offres à commandes pour étude et acceptation de la qualification de la ressource enseignante, le premier jour ouvrable suivant le mois évalué.

Lorsqu'il proposera la ressource enseignante pour la première fois, l'offrant doit présenter au responsable des offres à commandes, comme preuve de scolarité, une copie du document confirmant le niveau d'éducation de la ressource enseignante. À tout moment, le responsable de l'offre à commande pourrait exiger un document original ou une copie certifiée conforme à l'original par un commissaire à l'assermentation.

De plus, l'offrant doit fournir une attestation confirmant l'expérience de chaque ressource enseignante titulaire. L'attestation doit contenir l'information suivante : nom de l'organisation cliente, nom et numéro de téléphone d'une personne contact, nombre d'heures d'expérience comme ressource enseignante et dates de début et de fin de cette expérience.