Accessibility at Public Services and Procurement Canada

As the Government of Canada’s common service provider, Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) works to provide excellent service to other federal departments. By aiming to improve access to its programs and services for people with disabilities, PSPC helps federal departments provide high-quality programs and services to all Canadians.

Our commitment to accessibility

PSPC strives to ensure that people with disabilities are considered in its policies and practices. Regardless of their disability, Canadians, employees from the Department, and its client departments benefit from the delivery of PSPC’s mandate.

How we improve accessibility

Accessibility on the Web

PSPC follows the Government of Canada Standard on Web Accessibility for all public-facing websites. This standard is based on the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0. These guidelines, developed by the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C), help to ensure that web content is accessible to people with a wide range of disabilities.

Accessibility in the workplace

Making our buildings accessible

As the Government of Canada's real estate expert, PSPC manages a large and diverse real estate portfolio across the country. PSPC oversees operation, maintenance and management services for all mechanical and electrical systems and architectural components of its buildings.

PSPC must meet certain accessibility requirements in providing access to and use of its buildings. These requirements include building components such as entrances, passenger elevators, public areas and federal work areas.

What does an accessible workplace look like

An accessible workplace has:

  • main entrances that are equipped with a power door
  • passenger elevators with visual and auditory signals and tactile identification
  • public areas, such as cafeterias and walkways, that are accessible to people with physical disabilities
  • federal work areas, such as offices and meeting rooms, that are accessible to people with visual and physical disabilities
  • interior doors and corridors that are wide enough for people in manual wheelchairs and with light levels that are high enough to accommodate people with visual impairments
  • washrooms that are properly equipped for people in wheelchairs
  • at least one public telephone that is accessible to people in wheelchairs and with hearing impairments
  • at least one drinking fountain that is accessible to people in wheelchairs
  • tactile signage for individuals with visual impairments to indicate washrooms, emergency exits, elevators, stairwells, etc.
  • visitor parking with the required number of accessible parking spaces
  • large assembly areas equipped with assistive listening systems

Note: These requirements are considered as a minimum. Federal departments and agencies may apply for other requirements that are beyond Treasury Board Secretariat’s Accessibility Standard for Real Property.

Providing accommodation for security personnel

The Canadian General Standards Board’s qualification programs for the training of security personnel contain provisions for human rights and diversity. These provisions include awareness and accommodations for people with disabilities.

Providing the right office furniture for all employees

The Canadian General Standards Board’s qualification programs for office furniture identify products compliant with standards, including adjustability. Government suppliers must ensure that their office furniture meets certain requirements.

Reducing the risk of injury, illness and disability

PSPC’s Disability Management Program Services guides employees and managers through steps to reduce the risk of injury, illness or disability in the workplace. Through this program, employees access a range of social, health and rehabilitative services to receive the required support and benefit entitlements.

Eliminating technology barriers

The Accessibility, Accommodations and Adaptive Computer Technology Program at Shared Services Canada helps PSPC managers and employees eliminate barriers presented by computer interfaces in the workplace. The program helps employees with ergonomic requirements, injuries and disabilities across the federal government gain access to computers.

Making travel more accessible

The Shared Travel Services travel management solution allows government employees with special needs to indicate travel requirements. The travel agency is also equipped to handle calls from travellers with special needs.

Advancing careers for persons with disabilities

In 2012, union representatives raised concerns to senior management regarding barriers to career advancement for designated group members, especially for persons with disabilities and Aboriginal Peoples. To address these concerns, a diversity survey was conducted in December 2014. The survey asked questions about staffing processes, promotions, language training, career development and accommodations. Recommendations resulting from the survey will be added to the current Diversity Action Plan 2014–2017 in late 2015.

Further reading

Accessibility in providing service

Helping suppliers with disabilities

PSPC strives to accommodate and be accessible to all people who wish to do business with the government. For example, the Office of Small and Medium Enterprises (OSME) provides outreach services to existing and potential suppliers across the country. These services include a toll-free information line, seminars and one-on-one meetings that are available in a way that best accommodates the supplier—in person, by phone or online.

More information

  • Contact us for more information about how PSPC accommodates people with disabilities.
  • Canadian Human Rights Act – describes the government’s obligation to provide equal opportunity to all individuals.
  • Employment Equity Act – describes the government’s obligation to ensure equality in the workplace.
Date modified:

Accessibilité à Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

À titre de fournisseur de services communs du gouvernement du Canada, Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) s’efforce de fournir d’excellents services aux autres ministères fédéraux. En visant à améliorer l’accès aux programmes et aux services offerts aux personnes handicapées, SPAC aide les ministères fédéraux à fournir des programmes et des services de grande qualité à la population canadienne.

Notre engagement envers l’accessibilité

SPAC s’efforce de s’assurer que les personnes handicapées sont prises en considération dans les politiques et les pratiques. Peu importe leur handicap, les employés canadiens du Ministère et de ses ministères clients bénéficient de la réalisation du mandat de SPAC.

Comment améliorer l’accessibilité

Accessibilité au Web

SPAC se conforme à la Norme sur l’accessibilité des sites Web du gouvernement du Canada en ce qui a trait à tous les sites Web accessibles au public. Cette norme est fondée sur les lignes directrices sur l’accessibilité des contenus Web 2.0. Élaborées par le World Wide Web Consortium (W3C), ces lignes directrices visent à s’assurer que le contenu du Web est accessible à des personnes ayant divers types de handicap.

Accessibilité en milieu de travail

Rendre nos immeubles accessibles

À titre d’expert du gouvernement du Canada dans le domaine immobilier, SPAC gère le portefeuille le plus important et le plus diversifié au pays. Il supervise les services d’exploitation, d’entretien et de gestion de l’ensemble des systèmes mécaniques et électriques ainsi que des éléments architecturaux de ses immeubles.

SPAC doit satisfaire à certaines exigences d’accessibilité pour ce qui est de l’accès à ses immeubles et de leur utilisation. Ces exigences visent notamment les éléments d’immeuble, notamment les entrées, les ascenseurs, les aires publiques et les aires de travail fédérales.

À quoi ressemble un milieu de travail accessible

Un milieu de travail accessible a :

  • des points d’entrée fréquemment utilisés munis d’un dispositif de fermeture de porte automatique;
  • des ascenseurs avec des signaux visuels et sonores ainsi qu’une signalisation tactile;
  • des aires publiques, comme des cafétérias et des passages extérieurs, accessibles aux personnes ayant un handicap physique;
  • des aires de travail fédérales, comme des bureaux et des salles de réunion, accessibles aux personnes ayant des handicaps physiques ou visuels;
  • des portes intérieures et des corridors assez larges pour que des personnes en fauteuil roulant y pénètrent ainsi qu’une intensité lumineuse assez élevée pour répondre aux besoins des personnes ayant une déficience visuelle;
  • des salles de toilettes adaptées aux personnes en fauteuil roulant;
  • au moins un téléphone public accessible aux personnes en fauteuil roulant ou ayant une déficience auditive;
  • au moins une fontaine accessible aux personnes en fauteuil roulant;
  • une signalisation tactile pour les personnes ayant une déficience visuelle qui indique les salles de toilettes, les sorties de secours, les ascenseurs, les escaliers, etc.;
  • un stationnement de visiteurs comprenant le nombre de places de stationnement d’accès requis;
  • une grande zone de rassemblement avec des appareils fonctionnels pour les personnes malentendantes.

Note : Il s’agit d’exigences minimales. Les ministères et organismes fédéraux peuvent demander d’autres exigences que celles énoncées dans la Norme d’accès facile aux biens immobiliers du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor.

Fournir des mesures d’adaptation au personnel de sécurité

Les programmes d’homologation de l’Office des normes générales du Canada pour la formation du personnel de sécurité incluent des dispositions sur les droits de la personne et la diversité. Ces dispositions portent sur la sensibilisation et les mesures d’adaptation pour les personnes handicapées.

Fournir le bon mobilier de bureau à tous les employés

Les programmes d’homologation de l’Office des normes générales du Canada pour le mobilier de bureau précisent les produits conformes aux normes, y compris le réglage. Les fournisseurs du gouvernement doivent s’assurer que leur mobilier de bureau est conforme à certaines exigences.

Réduire le risque de blessure, de maladie et d’invalidité

Les services du Programme de gestion d’invalidité de SPAC amènent les employés et les gestionnaires à prendre des mesures pour réduire le risque de blessure, de maladie ou d’invalidité au milieu de travail. Dans le cadre de programme, les employés ont accès à une gamme de services dans les domaines social, médical et de la réhabilitation pour leur permettre de recevoir le soutien requis et les avantages auxquels ils ont droit.

Supprimer les barrières technologiques

Le Programme d’accessibilité, d’adaptation et de technologie informatique adaptée de Services partagés Canada aide les employés et les gestionnaires de SPAC à supprimer les barrières technologiques posées par les dispositifs d’interface ordinateur en milieu de travail. Le programme permet aux employés ayant des exigences ergonomiques, aux employés ayant des blessures et aux employés handicapés du gouvernement fédéral d’accéder à des ordinateurs.

Rendre les déplacements plus accessibles

La solution de gestion des voyages des Services de voyage partagés permet aux employés du gouvernement qui ont des besoins spéciaux d’indiquer leurs besoins en matière de voyages. L’agence de voyages est aussi en mesure de traiter les appels des voyageurs qui ont des besoins particuliers.

Avancement des personnes handicapées sur le plan professionnel

En 2012, les représentants syndicaux ont présenté aux cadres supérieurs les préoccupations concernant les obstacles à l’avancement professionnel des membres de groupes désignés, particulièrement les personnes handicapées et les Autochtones. Pour donner suite à ces préoccupations, un sondage sur la diversité a été réalisé en décembre 2014. Le sondage contenait des questions sur les processus de dotation, les promotions, la formation linguistique, le perfectionnement professionnel et les mesures d’adaptation. Les recommandations découlant du rapport seront ajoutées au plan d’action sur la diversité 2014–2017 à la fin de 2015.

Lecture complémentaire

Accessibilité dans la prestation de services

Aider les fournisseurs handicapés

SPAC s’efforce de répondre aux besoins de toutes les personnes qui souhaitent faire affaire avec le gouvernement et d’être accessible à celles-ci. Par exemple, le Bureau des petites et moyennes entreprises (BPME) fournit des services de sensibilisation aux fournisseurs actuels et potentiels du pays. Ces services offrent une ligne d’information sans frais ainsi que des séminaires et des rencontres individuelles qui conviennent le mieux aux fournisseurs (en personne, par téléphone ou en ligne).

Renseignements supplémentaires

Date de modification :