Helping Indigenous businesses participate in federal procurement

Indigenous entrepreneur Cydney Mar recently discovered that, with support from Procurement Assistance Canada, a small business owner like herself can compete effectively for federal contracts.

Close up of a person wearing a stylish face mask

Procurement Assistance Canada is a team within Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC). Through 6 regional offices, this team provides guidance and information to small business owners, and business owners from diverse backgrounds, on navigating the federal procurement process.

“The amount of support they provide is astonishing,” says Ms. Mar, who wants to share the details of her journey to becoming a federal supplier. She hopes it will inspire other entrepreneurs, especially in the Indigenous community, to try selling their goods and services to the Government of Canada:

“I want my people to be proud of what they’re doing because they have a lot of skills and talents. They just don’t necessarily know they can offer them to the government and be successful there. I want people to understand that federal procurement isn’t daunting. In fact, it can be a really safe place to find support and do business.”

How Cydney Mar became a federal supplier

The owner of a goods and services firm focusing on business consulting and product development of apparel and vitamins, Ms. Mar has particularly extensive experience in fashion design and manufacturing.

For 3 decades, she sold her apparel to major fashion retailers and on the Television Shopping Channel worldwide, but she never considered the Government of Canada as a potential buyer. “It wasn’t on my radar,” she says. This was because federal procurement seemed complex, she didn’t know what the government buys and she assumed only large firms could bid on contracting opportunities.

That all changed in the spring of 2020, when the COVID-19 pandemic hit Canada.

Ms. Mar saw people wearing ill-fitting and unflattering cloth masks. She felt that, with her expertise in apparel, she could offer the public better options and launched a new product line, Face Mask Love.

One of her contacts put her in touch with the City of Montréal, which soon became a client for her masks. From there, Ms. Mar began exploring other public tender sites and came across a federal contracting opportunity for cloth face masks. It happened to be a contract tender set aside for bids by Indigenous suppliers under the Procurement Strategy for Indigenous Business. She was eager to submit a bid but wasn’t sure where to start, until she connected with Procurement Assistance Canada.

She attended some of their free seminars on navigating the federal procurement process and reached out to them with questions, always receiving prompt and practical responses:

“They answered my endless stream of emails or hopped on quick calls to provide me with guidance, so that I don’t get in my own way for a little bit of lack of knowledge on how government procurement works.”

Fashionable cloth face mask

These services, combined with her effort and commitment, helped Ms. Mar win the masks contract. Learning how to navigate the federal procurement system was a critical factor behind her success, she explains. “Business owners need to know that there are many effective teaching tools and a support framework available.”

Procurement Assistance Canada also encouraged Ms. Mar to create a corporate profile on the federal government’s Indigenous Business Directory. They later recommended she become a pre-qualified services supplier on a database called ProServices and supported her during the registration process. As a result, Ms. Mar reached out to Elders in several Indigenous communities to work together on a bid for consultation services related to reconciliation with Indigenous Peoples.

Ms. Mar has even higher aspirations for the future. While she is Nlaka’pamux, Thompson River Salish, she is now looking at setting up a joint venture with a Mohawk community to bid on larger federal projects. When she’s ready, she knows Procurement Assistance Canada will be there to help her understand how to approach these contracting opportunities: “They will walk me through all the steps.”

There’s no doubt that Procurement Assistance Canada has opened new doors for Ms. Mar’s entrepreneurial ventures. “This has been a great way of advancing and balancing my business,” she notes. Ms. Mar believes that, if other small business owners knew they could figure out federal contracting with education and guidance, they would feel much more comfortable competing for contracting opportunities. She is now a strong advocate in the Indigenous community for building and growing Indigenous businesses by working with the federal government.

Increasing Indigenous participation in federal procurement

The Government of Canada wants to ensure we see more success stories like Cydney Mar’s.

Engagement and reconciliation with First Nations, Métis and Inuit communities is a key federal priority. One means of furthering these reconciliation goals is by increasing the participation of Indigenous businesses in the federal procurement process, which will help these firms and communities thrive.

Most recently, the federal government has made it a requirement for all departments and agencies to award a minimum of 5% of the total value of contracts each year to Indigenous businesses. PSPC is leading the implementation of this initiative, which will be fully phased in by 2024.

Meanwhile, Procurement Assistance Canada works directly with Indigenous businesses to provide them with information on selling to the government and on opportunities and initiatives (like the Indigenous Business Directory) specific to their community. They have also established partnerships with Indigenous industry associations, such as the Canadian Aboriginal and Minority Supplier Council, to deliver seminars for their members and develop a two-way dialogue that sheds light on the community’s needs.

In addition, Procurement Assistance Canada has launched a new coaching service to help business owners from diverse social backgrounds, including Indigenous Peoples, who have had limited success competing for federal contracts. The coaching involves personal sessions within a formalized program.

Increasing Indigenous representation in the economy provides exciting opportunities for Indigenous businesses while benefiting all Canadians by creating a more competitive procurement environment.

See the article Making it easier for businesses to work with the government for more information about Procurement Assistance Canada or visit Procurement support for businesses.

Date modified:

Aider le gouvernement à consulter la population canadienne

L'entrepreneure autochtone Cydney Mar a découvert récemment qu'avec l'aide de Soutien en approvisionnement Canada, une petite entreprise comme la sienne est capable de soumissionner efficacement les contrats fédéraux.

Gros plan d'une personne qui porte un masque en tissu élégant

Soutien en approvisionnement Canada fait partie de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC). Son équipe, qui est répartie dans 6 bureaux régionaux, offre des conseils et de l'information sur le fonctionnement du processus d'approvisionnement fédéral aux propriétaires de petites entreprises et aux entrepreneurs d'origines diverses.

« Tout le soutien qu'on y obtient est impressionnant », indique Mme Mar, qui tient à partager les détails de la démarche qui l’a amenée à devenir un fournisseur du gouvernement fédéral. Elle espère que son témoignage incitera d'autres entrepreneurs, en particulier des entrepreneurs autochtones, à essayer de vendre leurs produits et leurs services au gouvernement du Canada.

« Je veux que mes frères et sœurs soient fiers de ce qu'ils font, car ils ont beaucoup de compétences et de talent. Ils ne savent tout simplement pas qu'ils peuvent les offrir au gouvernement et y avoir du succès. Je veux que les gens comprennent que l'approvisionnement fédéral est accessible. En fait, on y trouve du soutien, et on peut y faire des affaires. »

L'entreprise de Cydney Mar devient un fournisseur du gouvernement fédéral

Propriétaire d'une entreprise spécialisée dans la fourniture de services-conseils en affaires et le développement de produits vestimentaires et vitaminiques, Mme Mar possède une expérience très vaste dans le domaine de la conception et de la fabrication de vêtements.

Pendant 3 décennies, elle a vendu ses vêtements à de grands détaillants de mode et sur la chaîne Television Shopping Channel dans le monde entier, sans jamais considérer le gouvernement du Canada comme un acheteur potentiel. « Je ne l'avais pas envisagé », dit-elle. L'approvisionnement fédéral lui paraissait complexe, elle ignorait ce que le gouvernement achetait, et elle supposait que seules les grandes entreprises pouvaient soumissionner les contrats fédéraux.

Or, tout a changé au printemps 2020, lorsque la pandémie de COVID-19 a frappé le Canada.

Voyant que les gens portaient des masques en tissu mal ajustés et peu flatteurs, Mme Mar a pensé qu'avec son expertise dans le domaine vestimentaire, elle pourrait offrir de meilleurs produits au public. Elle a donc lancé la nouvelle gamme de produits Face Mask Love.

L'un de ses contacts l'a mise en relation avec la Ville de Montréal, qui est devenue rapidement acheteuse de ces masques. Mme Mar a alors commencé à explorer d'autres sites d'appels d'offres publics. Elle est tombée sur un appel d'offres pour des masques en tissu du gouvernement fédéral, qui se trouvait à être un appel d'offres réservé aux fournisseurs autochtones dans le cadre de la Stratégie d’approvisionnement auprès des entreprises autochtones. Elle était très tentée de soumettre une offre, mais ne savait pas trop par où commencer. C'est alors qu'elle s'est s'adressée à l’équipe de Soutien en approvisionnement Canada.

Mme Mar a assisté à quelques-uns des séminaires offerts gratuitement sur le fonctionnement du processus d'approvisionnement fédéral. Elle a aussi posé des questions à l'équipe, qui y a toujours répondu avec rapidité et pertinence :

« L’équipe a répondu à mon flot incessant de courriels et a pris quelques minutes pour me donner des conseils par téléphone, pour qu’ainsi, je ne mette pas des bâtons dans les roues parce que j’ignorais un petit détail sur le fonctionnement de l'approvisionnement. »

Un masque en tissu élégant

Grâce à ces services, à ses efforts et à sa détermination, Mme Mar a réussi à obtenir le contrat. Selon elle, apprendre le fonctionnement du système d'approvisionnement fédéral a été essentiel à sa réussite. « Les propriétaires d'entreprises doivent savoir que du soutien et de nombreux outils d'apprentissage efficaces sont à leur disposition. »

L'équipe de Soutien en approvisionnement Canada a également encouragé Mme Mar à créer un profil d'entreprise dans le Répertoire des entreprises autochtones du gouvernement fédéral. Par la suite, elle lui a recommandé de se qualifier dans une base de données de fournisseurs de services appelée ProServices, et elle l'a soutenue durant le processus de qualification. Cela l’a amené à faire appel à des aînés de plusieurs communautés autochtones dans le but d'élaborer ensemble une proposition sur des services de consultation concernant la réconciliation avec les peuples autochtones.

Mme Mar voit l'avenir encore plus grand. Bien qu'elle soit Nlaka'pamux (Salish de la rivière Thompson), elle envisage maintenant de former une coentreprise avec une communauté mohawk en vue de soumissionner des contrats fédéraux de plus grande envergure. Elle sait que, lorsqu'elle sera prête, Soutien en approvisionnement Canada sera là pour lui expliquer comment faire. « L’équipe va me guider tout au long des étapes », affirme-t-elle.

Il ne fait aucun doute que Soutien en approvisionnement Canada a ouvert les horizons de son entreprise. « Cela a été un excellent moyen de développer et d'équilibrer mon entreprise », indique Mme Mar. Selon elle, si d'autres propriétaires de petites entreprises savaient qu'ils peuvent apprendre le fonctionnement de l'approvisionnement fédéral par de la formation et des conseils, ils se sentiraient beaucoup plus à l'aise de soumissionner des contrats fédéraux. Aujourd'hui, elle encourage fortement les entrepreneurs autochtones à développer leurs entreprises en travaillant avec le gouvernement fédéral.

Augmenter la participation des entreprises autochtones à l'approvisionnement fédéral

Le gouvernement du Canada veut qu’il y ait d'autres cas de réussite comme celui de Cydney Mar.

La collaboration et la réconciliation avec les Premières nations, les Métis et les Inuits sont une grande priorité du gouvernement fédéral. La mise en œuvre de celle-ci passe notamment par l’augmentation de la participation des entreprises autochtones au processus d'approvisionnement fédéral, afin de contribuer à la prospérité de ces entreprises et de leurs communautés.

Depuis peu, le gouvernement fédéral oblige tous les ministères et organismes à attribuer au moins 5 % de la valeur totale des contrats qu'ils passent chaque année à des entreprises autochtones. SPAC dirige la mise en œuvre de cette initiative, qui sera réalisée progressivement d'ici 2024.

Parallèlement, Soutien en approvisionnement Canada travaille directement auprès des entreprises autochtones pour les renseigner sur la façon de vendre au gouvernement et sur les occasions et les initiatives (comme le Répertoire des entreprises autochtones) offertes expressément à leurs communautés. De plus, il a établi des partenariats avec des associations industrielles autochtones, comme le Conseil canadien des fournisseurs autochtones et de minorités visibles, pour offrir des séminaires à leurs membres et établir un dialogue visant à mettre en évidence les besoins de leurs communautés.

Par ailleurs, Soutien en approvisionnement Canada a lancé un nouveau service d'accompagnement pour aider les propriétaires d'entreprises issus de divers milieux sociaux, y compris les peuples autochtones, qui ont eu peu de succès dans l'obtention de contrats fédéraux. Le service comporte notamment des séances personnalisées dans le cadre d’un programme structuré.

Si les entreprises autochtones peuvent participer davantage à l'économie, elles bénéficieront de possibilités plus intéressantes, et la concurrence qui en résultera profitera à toute la population canadienne.

Lisez l’article Faciliter la tâche des entreprises qui souhaitent faire affaire avec le gouvernement pour en savoir plus sur Soutien en approvisionnement Canada ou visitez le Soutien en approvisionnement aux entreprises.

Date de modification :