Wellness, community and diversity

Indigenous cultures and Acadian heritage, as well as wellness and greening, will be part of the Pension Centre Revitalization Project in Shediac, New Brunswick.

The essence of the Government of Canada Pension Centre Revitalization Project

Revitalizing a government building may sound primarily like a construction matter. However, when the focus is on employee wellness, community engagement and cultural diversity, the project takes on a whole new meaning.

Workplace wellness has become a priority for a growing number of employees, managers and employers. The federal government is no exception. The team responsible for the Pension Centre Revitalization Project is putting every effort into making the exterior environment as pleasant as possible, while also focusing on greening.

Two sidewalks surrounding a tree in front of a red brick building

Located in Shediac, New Brunswick, the Government of Canada Pension Centre's exterior landscape will be gradually changed throughout the course of the project. The Pension Centre is celebrating its 40th anniversary this year and revitalization of the site has been largely untouched since 1982. The objective is to improve the harmony between the building, the natural environment, the history of the town of Shediac, the Indigenous and Acadian heritages, and the use of clean energy. The project is expected to be complete by August 2022.

Honouring Indigenous and Acadian cultures

The city name of Shediac has Mi’kmaq origins and means “running far in.” It reflects the essence of Shediac’s rich land-based histories and deeply rooted connection to the natural bodies of water in the area.

Construction of a curved concrete wall facing a red brick building

The inspiration came from discussions with Elder Gloria Augustine of the Elsipogtog First Nation. Her idea was to bring water into the landscape. In many Indigenous cultures, the sounds and sights of water can have calming and healing effects. So, to recall these elements, a design of waves and curves around the building was chosen.

Elder Augustine suggested exploring the healing potential by incorporating a wellness garden. Wellness, healing and symbiosis between people and nature are central ideas in Indigenous teachings. In Mi’kmaq culture, the garden is a place for peace and healing. At the Pension Centre’s wellness garden, traditional medicines will be cultivated and protected, like sage for cleansing, sweetgrass for prayer and cedar for curing.

The concept was designed with some flexibility, to ensure that spaces can be used in different ways and by different groups, whether by employees or members of the general public. The outdoor spaces will be designed to enhance the benefits of nature, and bring a sense of mental balance, wellness and collaboration. A traditional prayer etched in a runnel along Weldon Street will call for visitors to engage all 5 senses when visiting the garden, while meeting and gathering with friends and colleagues, or reflecting in quiet contemplation.

May my hands respect the many beautiful things you have made.
My ears be sharp to hear your voice,
May I always walk in your beauty,
And let my eyes ever behold the red and purple sunsets.
– Excerpt from a traditional prayer

Low curved concrete wall on clay bordering a red brick building

When Acadian peoples arrived, they established an agricultural industry marking the terrain with linear plots of land, oriented toward the waterways. While the curved elements around the building and the presence of medicinal plants celebrate the Indigenous culture, the straight lines and the planting of certain tree species are a tribute to the Acadian culture.

Interpretive panels will provide visitors and employees with an explanation of the connections between Indigenous culture and heritage design influences, Acadian history, the connection to the harbour and the site’s green initiatives.

From water to solar energy

With the focus on the benefits of being surrounded by nature, it was only natural to incorporate renewable energy as an option to power the Pension Centre.

With its commitment to reduce the building’s carbon footprint, Public Services and Procurement Canada has partnered with NB Power, through funding from Natural Resources Canada and Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada, to participate in a community-based initiative that will help the Pension Centre, among others, achieve net-zero energy usage. Earlier this year, the installation of a 75-kilowatt solar array and a 400-kilowatt-hour battery storage unit was completed and connected to the community solar farm, helping the Pension Centre achieve this goal.

The Pension Centre is the largest employer in Shediac, with more than 900 employees. To learn more about the project and the collaboration with NB Power, visit NB Power Government of Canada Pension Centre.

Date modified:

Bien-être, collectivité et diversité

Les cultures autochtones et le patrimoine acadien, ainsi que l’écologie et le bien-être, seront au cœur du projet de revitalisation du Centre des pensions de Shédiac, Nouveau-Brunswick.

Au cœur du projet de revitalisation du Centre des pensions du gouvernement du Canada

De prime abord, la revitalisation d’un édifice gouvernemental peut sembler une simple question de construction. Cependant, le projet prend un tout autre visage lorsque l’accent est mis sur le bien-être des employés, l’engagement auprès de la collectivité et la diversité culturelle.

Le bien-être au travail est devenu une priorité pour un nombre croissant d’employés, de gestionnaires et d’employeurs. Le gouvernement fédéral n’est pas en reste. L’équipe responsable du projet de revitalisation du Centre des pensions met tout en œuvre pour agrémenter autant que possible l’environnement extérieur, tout en misant sur le volet écologique.

Deux trottoirs de part et d'autre d'un arbre devant un édifice en briques rouges

Situé à Shédiac, au Nouveau-Brunswick, le Centre des pensions du gouvernement du Canada verra son aménagement extérieur progressivement modifié tout au long du projet. Cette année, le Centre des pensions célèbre son 40e anniversaire et aucune revitalisation importante du site n’a été réalisée depuis 1982. L’objectif est d’améliorer l’harmonie entre l’édifice, le milieu naturel, l’histoire de Shédiac, les patrimoines autochtones et acadien, et le recours à l’énergie propre. Le projet devrait être achevé en août 2022.

Honorer les cultures autochtones et acadienne

Le nom de la ville de Shédiac a des origines micmaques et signifie « aller loin ». Il témoigne essentiellement de la riche histoire des terres de Shédiac et de ses liens très intimes avec les plans d’eau naturels de la région.

Chantier d'un muret de béton courbé face à un édifice en briques rouges

C’est l’aînée Gloria Augustine de la Première Nation Elsipogtog qui a donné l’inspiration à ce projet. Son idée était d’intégrer l’eau dans le paysage. Dans de nombreuses cultures autochtones, les sons et les images de l’eau peuvent avoir des effets calmants et guérisseurs. C’est donc pour rappeler ces éléments que l’on a choisi de reproduire la silhouette de vagues et de courbes autour du bâtiment.

L’aînée Augustine a suggéré d’explorer le potentiel de guérison en incorporant des jardins de bien-être. De fait, le bien-être, la guérison et la symbiose entre l’humain et la nature sont des idées centrales des enseignements autochtones. Dans la culture micmaque, les jardins sont des lieux de paix et de guérison. Des herbes médicinales traditionnelles seront cultivées et protégées dans les jardins de bien-être du Centre des pensions, comme la sauge pour la purification, le foin d’odeur pour la prière et le cèdre pour la guérison.

Le concept a été élaboré dans une perspective de flexibilité, afin que les espaces puissent être utilisés de différentes manières et par différents groupes, qu’il s’agisse d’employés ou du grand public. Les espaces extérieurs seront conçus pour mettre en valeur les bienfaits de la nature, et favoriser un certain équilibre mental de même que le bien-être et la collaboration. Une prière traditionnelle gravée dans un caniveau le long de Weldon Street invitera aussi les visiteurs à mettre leurs cinq sens à profit durant leur visite des jardins, que ce soit au fil de leurs rencontres avec des amis et collègues ou encore lorsqu’ils se recueilleront en toute quiétude.

Que mes mains respectent les nombreuses et belles choses que vous avez faites.
Que mes oreilles soient aptes à entendre ta voix,
Que je puisse toujours marcher parmi ta beauté,
Et que mes yeux contemplent toujours ces rouges et violacés couchers de soleil.
– Extrait d’une prière traditionnelle

Muret de béton courbé sur terre battue bordant un édifice en briques rouges

À leur arrivée, les Acadiens ont établi une industrie agricole en marquant le terrain avec des parcelles linéaires, orientées vers les cours d’eau. Si les éléments courbes autour du bâtiment et la présence de plantes médicinales célèbrent les cultures autochtones, toutes les lignes droites et la plantation de certaines espèces d’arbres servent d’hommage à la culture acadienne.

Grâce à des panneaux d’interprétation, les visiteurs et employés comprendront également comment le site intègre à la fois les cultures autochtones, l’influence patrimoniale, l’histoire acadienne, la vie portuaire et les initiatives écologiques du site.

De l’eau à l’énergie solaire

Puisque l’accent est mis sur les avantages d’un milieu naturel englobant, il était de mise de faire appel à l’énergie renouvelable pour alimenter le Centre des pensions.

Dans le cadre de son engagement à réduire l’empreinte carbone de l’édifice, Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada s’est associé à Énergie NB (grâce aux fonds de Ressources naturelles Canada et d’Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada) pour participer à une initiative communautaire qui aidera le Centre des pensions, entre autres, à réaliser un bilan net-zéro au chapitre de la consommation énergétique. Plus tôt cette année, on a terminé l’installation d’un panneau solaire de 75 kilowatt et d'une unité de stockage par batterie de 400 kilowattheure. Ces dispositifs ont été connectés au parc solaire communautaire, aidant ainsi le Centre des pensions à atteindre cet objectif.

Comptant plus de 900 employés, le Centre des pensions est le plus important employeur de Shédiac. Pour en savoir davantage sur le projet et la collaboration avec Énergie NB, consultez l’Énergie NB consacrée au Centre des pensions du gouvernement du Canada.

Date de modification :