A new high point for Canada's language industry leader

On July 26, 2021, Her Excellency the Right Honourable Mary May Simon officially became the 30th Governor General of Canada. Canadians were able to follow the installation ceremony of the new Governor General not only in English and French, but also in American Sign Language, Langue des signes québécoise and Inuktitut. Public Services and Procurement Canada's Translation Bureau was responsible for this success, and its interpretation, translation and terminology services were remarkable and praiseworthy.

Inuktitut in the spotlight

As soon as the Translation Bureau learned that an Indigenous person who speaks Inuktitut had been appointed Governor General, it contacted Rideau Hall staff to lay the groundwork for the delivery of the linguistic services needed by Ms. Simon.

In an effort to bring together the communication efforts of various stakeholders, including Canadian Heritage and the Privy Council Office, the Translation Bureau suggested a customized approach based on the new Governor General's background. With the help of its Indigenous suppliers, the Translation Bureau provided expert advice on options such as Inuktitut dialects, which vary from region to region.

For the first time, the Governor General's installation ceremony and the related documents were broadcast in Inuktitut, an accomplishment that made the four Indigenous interpreters involved very proud.

“I was so proud to be part of the first Inuk Governor General Installation Inuktitut interpreting team.”

Deborah Tagornak

“This is a big step forward to recognize the Indigenous people who contribute to Canada's nation.”

Suzie Napayok

“As an Inuk watching and witnessing the installation, I was very moved.”

Simona Arnatsiaq

“I was filled with indescribable levels of emotions. Extreme pride for one thing and, most of all, hope. Hope for reconciliation.”

Maggie Putulik

An incredible team effort

The installation ceremony was truly a multilingual effort, with the Translation Bureau's English, French and sign language professionals joining forces with their Indigenous language colleagues to make the event accessible to all Canadians. It was a major event that will long be remembered as one of the greatest achievements of these language professionals.

“This is definitely a highlight of my career.”

Émilie Vachon, Interpreter (French/English)

“I felt tremendously proud and honoured to have worked as the coordinator of the interpretation team.”

Marianne Situ, Senior Interpreter responsible for Indigenous languages

“I'm very proud to have been able to contribute to making this historic event accessible for all Canadians, and particularly for members of the various deaf communities across the country.”

Frédérick Trudeau, Sign Language Interpreter

The teamwork and language expertise of the Translation Bureau's professionals contributed greatly to the project's success. As the leader of the Canadian language industry, the Translation Bureau can be proud of having risen to this challenge.

Learn more about the many language services and tools offered by the Translation Bureau to federal departments and agencies, the Parliament of Canada and Canadians.

Two Indigenous interpreters sitting at a desk.
From left to right: Suzie Napayok and Deborah Tagornak, Inuktitut interpreters assigned to work on the live broadcast of the installation ceremony on the CBC.
A team of 7 interpreters.
From left to right: Simona Arnatsiaq, Émilie Vachon, Maggie Putulik, Sevilla Coudari, Bastien Tremblay-Cousineau, Marianne Situ and Pascal Machado, interpreters in Inuktitut, French and English.
A team of 5 people.
From left to right: Frédérick Trudeau, Claire Gallant, Maryse Touchette and Catherine Maier, sign language interpreters, and Francesco Folino, special advisor on accessibility.
Date modified:

Un nouveau haut fait pour le chef de file du secteur langagier au Canada

Le 26 juillet 2021, Son Excellence la très honorable Mary May Simon est devenue officiellement la 30e gouverneure générale du Canada. Les Canadiens ont pu suivre la cérémonie d'installation de la nouvelle gouverneure générale non seulement en français et en anglais, mais aussi en American Sign Language, en langue des signes québécoise et en inuktitut. Une réussite qui peut être attribuée au Bureau de la traduction de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada, dont le travail d'interprétation, de traduction et de terminologie a été remarqué et applaudi.

L'inuktitut à l'honneur

Dès l'annonce de la nomination d'une Autochtone parlant l'inuktitut au poste de gouverneure générale, le Bureau de la traduction a pris contact avec le personnel de Rideau Hall afin de jeter les bases de la prestation des services linguistiques dont madame Simon aurait besoin.

Soucieux de rallier les efforts de communication des divers intervenants, y compris Patrimoine canadien et le Bureau du Conseil privé, le Bureau a suggéré une approche personnalisée axée sur les origines de la nouvelle gouverneure générale. Avec l'aide de ses fournisseurs autochtones, il a offert des conseils avisés en ce qui concerne entre autres les options liées aux dialectes de l'inuktitut, qui varient d'une région à l'autre.

C'est ainsi que pour la première fois, la cérémonie d'installation de la gouverneure générale et les documents l'entourant ont été diffusés en inuktitut, un accomplissement qui a suscité la fierté des 4 interprètes autochtones y ayant participé.

« Ce fut pour moi une grande fierté de faire partie de l'équipe d'interprètes en inuktitut affectée à la cérémonie d'installation de la première Inuk nommée gouverneure générale. »

Deborah Tagornak

« Il s'agit d'un grand pas en avant dans la reconnaissance des peuples autochtones qui contribuent à la nation canadienne. »

Suzie Napayok

« En tant qu'Inuk observant et assistant à l'installation, j'ai été très émue. »

Simona Arnatsiaq

« J'ai été envahie par d'indescriptibles émotions. D'une part, une extrême fierté, et de l'autre, surtout, de l'espoir. L'espoir d'une réconciliation. »

Maggie Putulik

Un incroyable travail d'équipe

La cérémonie d'installation a véritablement été un effort multilingue, les langagiers du Bureau de la traduction en français, en anglais et en langues des signes joignant leurs forces à celles de leurs collègues en langues autochtones afin de rendre l'événement accessible à tous les Canadiens. Une tâche d'envergure qui figurera longtemps parmi les hauts faits de ces professionnels de la langue.

« Il s'agit sans aucun doute d'un moment phare de ma carrière. »

Émilie Vachon, interprète français-anglais

« Ce fut pour moi un grand honneur et une extrême fierté d'avoir travaillé en tant que coordinatrice de l'équipe d'interprétation. »

Marianne Situ, interprète principale responsable des langues autochtones

« Je ressens une grande fierté d'avoir pu contribuer à l'accessibilité de cet événement historique pour l'ensemble de la population canadienne, et particulièrement pour les membres des différentes communautés sourdes à travers le pays. »

Frédérick Trudeau, interprète en langue des signes

Le travail d'équipe et les connaissances langagières des professionnels du Bureau de la traduction ont grandement contribué à la réussite de ce projet. En tant que chef de file du secteur langagier canadien, le Bureau peut être fier d'avoir relevé ce défi avec succès.

Apprenez-en davantage sur les nombreux services et outils linguistiques que le Bureau de la traduction offre aux ministères et organismes fédéraux, au Parlement du Canada ainsi qu'aux Canadiens.

Deux interprètes autochtones assises derrière un bureau.
De gauche à droite : Suzie Napayok et Deborah Tagornak, interprètes en inuktitut attitrées à la diffusion en direct de la cérémonie d'installation, sur les ondes de la CBC.
Une équipe de 7 interprètes.
De gauche à droite : Simona Arnatsiaq, Emilie Vachon, Maggie Putulik, Sevilla Coudari, Bastien Tremblay-Cousineau, Marianne Situ et Pascal Machado, interprètes en inuktitut, en français et en anglais.
Une équipe de 5 personnes.
De gauche à droite : Frédérick Trudeau, Claire Gallant, Maryse Touchette et Catherine Maier, interprètes en langues des signes, et Francesco Folino, conseiller spécial en matière d'accessibilité.
Date de modification :