Forensic accounting: More than just numbers

Who hasn’t needed the sound advice of their accountant, especially during tax season? Accountants are known for their expertise in accounting, audits and tax returns. But did you know that Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) has forensic accountants who help in criminal investigations with a financial component, such as fraud, money laundering or terrorist financing?

Since 2002, PSPC has provided independent and neutral expert forensic accounting services, upon request, to provincial, territorial, municipal and Indigenous governments and their police forces.

John, one of PSPC’s forensic accountants (whose name was changed to maintain anonymity), is part of the Forensic Accounting Management Group at PSPC. As a member of the investigation team, he supports clients in a neutral advisory role and serves as an independent expert witness to help the courts understand the financial elements of the cases before them, mainly for criminal investigations.

“As forensic accounting experts, we provide a skill set to the police that is very specialized. We look at the evidence, do the analysis and write reports for the prosecutor,” says John.

He works with a wide range of clients, from small municipal police forces to the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, from provincial civil forfeiture units to large federal departments. He and his colleagues on the team are chartered professional accountants with specialized accounting expertise in specific financial sectors, such as cryptocurrencies.

With more than 6 years of experience in forensic accounting and 20 more split between both the private and public sectors of the financial industry, John has provided expertise in many financial court cases. His first file at PSPC was a case involving elder financial abuse. These kinds of incidents occur all too often and investigations can be complex. In this case, the perpetrators defrauded their parents who were stricken with Alzheimer’s and dementia. John’s analysis was able to demonstrate intentional wrongdoing and the defendant(s) pleaded guilty. “I looked at the activity in the account prior to and after that moment. I saw the money climbing, like savings, over the years and then, in 12 months, it was gone,” he explains.

An illustration of a hand shining a flashlight on a fleeing individual holding a large dollar sign.

He believes that his communications background helps him in his daily job “because I tell stories,” he says. He sees it as an advantage. “It’s amazing the stories you can tell from looking at someone’s bank account or credit card statements since these documents have descriptions of what was spent, where it was spent, and sometimes locations and other critical details.”

Identifying financial wrongdoing

Law enforcement agencies need forensic accounting expertise to properly investigate cases with complex financial components, as these experts help make sense of financial evidence.

The input and testimony of staff from the Forensic Accounting Management Group have been quoted in court decisions and are highly valued in the justice system. Their services and expertise when it comes to financial crimes are often crucial for the proper administration of justice in Canada.

You can also check out PSPC’s Our stories to explore more stories from the people and projects making a difference in the lives of Canadians.

Date modified:

Comptabilité judiciaire : bien plus que des chiffres

Qui n’a jamais eu besoin des conseils avisés de son comptable, surtout pendant la saison des impôts? Les comptables sont connus pour leur expertise en comptabilité, en vérification et en déclarations de revenus. Mais saviez-vous que Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) dispose de juricomptables qui aident les enquêtes criminelles ayant une composante financière, comme la fraude, le blanchiment d’argent ou le financement du terrorisme?

Depuis 2002, SPAC fournit des services d’expertise comptable judiciaire indépendants et neutres, sur demande, aux gouvernements provinciaux, territoriaux, municipaux et autochtones ainsi qu’à leurs forces de police.

« John », l’un des juricomptables de SPAC (dont le nom a été changé pour préserver son anonymat), fait partie du Groupe de la gestion juricomptable de SPAC. En tant que membre de l’équipe d’investigation, il soutient les clients dans un rôle de conseil neutre et sert de témoin expert indépendant pour aider les tribunaux à comprendre les éléments financiers des affaires dont ils sont saisis, principalement pour les enquêtes criminelles.

« En tant qu’experts en comptabilité judiciaire, nous fournissons un ensemble de compétences à la police qui est très spécialisé. Nous examinons les preuves, effectuons les analyses et rédigeons des rapports pour le procureur », explique John.

Il travaille avec un large éventail de clients, des petits services de police municipaux à la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, des unités provinciales de confiscation civile aux grands ministères fédéraux. Lui et ses collègues de l’équipe sont des comptables professionnels agréés (CPA) possédant une expertise comptable spécialisée dans des secteurs financiers précis, tels que les cryptomonnaies.

Avec plus de 6 ans d’expérience en comptabilité judiciaire et 20 autres répartis entre le secteur privé et le secteur public dans l’industrie financière, John a été mis à contribution pour son expertise dans de nombreux cas de tribunaux financiers. Son premier dossier à SPAC était une affaire d’abus financier sur des personnes âgées. Ce genre d’incidents se produit trop souvent et les enquêtes peuvent être complexes. Dans ce cas-ci, des individus ont escroqué leurs parents, frappés d’Alzheimer et de démence. Par le biais de son analyse, John a pu démontrer l’existence d’une faute intentionnelle et le ou les défendeurs ont plaidé coupables. « J’ai regardé l’activité sur le compte avant et après ce moment. J’ai vu l’argent grimper, comme des économies, pendant des années, puis, en 12 mois, il avait disparu », explique-t-il.

Illustration d’une main tenant une lampe de poche qui éclaire un individu se sauvant avec un gros signe de dollar.

Il estime que sa formation en communication l’aide dans son travail quotidien « parce que je raconte des histoires », dit-il. Il y voit un avantage. « C’est incroyable les histoires que l’on peut raconter en regardant le compte bancaire ou les relevés de carte de crédit de quelqu’un, puisque ces documents contiennent des descriptions de ce qui a été dépensé, où cela a été dépensé, et parfois des lieux et d’autres détails essentiels. »

Reconnaître les malversations financières

Les organismes chargés de l’application de la loi ont besoin d’une expertise en comptabilité judiciaire pour enquêter correctement sur les affaires comportant des éléments financiers complexes, car ces experts aident à donner un sens aux preuves financières.

Les contributions et les témoignages du personnel du Groupe de la gestion juricomptable ont été cités dans des décisions de justice et sont très appréciés dans le système judiciaire. Ses services et son expertise sont souvent cruciaux pour la bonne administration de la justice au Canada lorsqu’il s’agit de crimes financiers.

Vous pouvez également consulter Nos histoires pour découvrir d’autres histoires sur les personnes et les projets de SPAC qui font une différence dans la vie de la population canadienne.

Date de modification :