Shipbuilding across Canadian communities

In 2020, the Government of Canada awarded approximately $3.5 billion in new contracts to Canadian companies under the National Shipbuilding Strategy (NSS), including $132.1 million that went to small and medium-sized businesses with fewer than 250 full-time employees. These contracts contribute to creating and sustaining jobs for the Canadian marine industry within their communities, generating important economic impacts from coast to coast to coast. Featured in this series are companies whose employees and communities have benefited from NSS contracts.

Articles

Image of Zodiac Hurricane

Built for safety, built for speed and built in Canada

Under Canada’s National Shipbuilding Strategy, Public Services and Procurement Canada signed a $35 million contract on behalf of the Royal Canadian Navy for 30 fast, safe and agile multi-role boats designed and made by a Delta, British Colombia company named Zodiac Hurricane Technologies.

Image of The Canadian Coast Guard ship Cape Roger

Upgrades for senior citizens of the sea

Since the late 19th century, ship repair company NEWDOCK has been a fixture in the harbour of St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador. In 2021, the company will start working on a new departmental contract to upgrade 2 of the Canadian Coast Guard’s ships.

Our stories

Gallery

Media inquiries

Stay connected

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Date modified:

Articles sur la construction navale partout au Canada

En 2020, le gouvernement du Canada a attribué environ 3,5 milliards de dollars en nouveaux contrats à des entreprises canadiennes dans le cadre de la Stratégie nationale de construction navale (SNCN), dont 132,1 millions de dollars à des petites et moyennes entreprises comptant moins de 250 employés à temps plein. Ces contrats contribuent à créer et à maintenir des emplois pour l'industrie maritime canadienne au sein de leurs collectivités, générant des retombées économiques importantes d'un océan à l'autre. Cette série met en vedette des entreprises dont les employés et les collectivités ont bénéficié de contrats de la SNCN.

À moitié terminée : la nouvelle flotte de bateaux de recherche et de sauvetage de la Garde côtière canadienne

Une grue qui sort un bateau de sauvetage de l'atelier

Hike Metal Products a exécuté la moitié de son contrat de 79 millions de dollars lié à la Stratégie nationale de construction navale. Ayant terminé 5 navires, le constructeur de Wheatley, en Ontario, est en bonne voie de livrer les 5 autres d'ici 2024.

Des embarcations sécuritaires, rapides et canadiennes

Zodiac Hurricane

Dans le cadre de la Stratégie nationale de construction navale du Canada, Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada a conclu, au nom de la Marine royale canadienne, un contrat de 35 millions de dollars pour l’acquisition de 30 embarcations multirôles rapides, sécuritaires et agiles qui sont conçus et fabriqués par une entreprise de Delta, en Colombie-Britannique, appelée Zodiac Hurricane Technologies.

Travaux de modernisation pour les aînés de la mer

Navire de la Garde côtière

Depuis la fin du 19e siècle, l’entreprise de réparation navale NEWDOCK fait partie du port de St. John’s, à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. En 2021, l’entreprise commencera à travailler sur un nouveau contrat du Ministère pour moderniser 2 des navires de la Garde côtière canadienne.

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Date de modification :