Removing barriers for Canadians with disabilities

This year on December 3, Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) is recognizing the International Day of Persons with Disabilities. This day aims to increase awareness and promote the rights and well-being of persons with disabilities in every aspect of life.

At PSPC, accessibility is about providing support to build a country where all people, regardless of disability, are included in society and can fully take advantage of our programs and services.

Accessibility in Canada’s Parliamentary Precinct

As the centre of our democracy and the symbolic heart of our nation, Parliament Hill is a place where all Canadians are welcome.

A woman reading a brail sign in the Parliamentary Precinct

Through the Long Term Vision and Plan for the Parliamentary Precinct (a multi-decade strategy to restore and modernize the Precinct), PSPC has committed to ensuring that buildings and grounds are accessible, family-friendly and open to the public. That’s why the new and restored buildings on Parliament Hill are now designed and built with enhanced accessibility and inclusion measures, such as:

  • barrier-free amenities
  • tactile signage
  • enhanced broadcast capabilities and simultaneous translation
A man in a wheelchair sitting in the balcony in the House of Commons

PSPC is also working to deliver a Universal Accessibility Review and Action Plan for the Parliamentary Precinct, a measure that is being applied to the entire campus. The action plan’s Established Universal Accessibility Best Practices will guide all major projects and ongoing accessibility improvements to the grounds and buildings.

This approach will ensure that the Parliamentary Precinct becomes a leader and model in universal accessibility and moves PSPC well above and beyond current codes and standards to help develop a clear and defined strategy for accessibility in the Parliamentary Precinct.

Watch the Improved accessibility in the Parliamentary Precinct video on how PSPC has made the restored and modernized Senate of Canada Building and West Block more accessible for everyone.

The Translation Bureau and accessibility

A woman interpreting in sign language

Every year, PSPC’s Translation Bureau provides more than 6,300 hours of sign language interpretation (American Sign Language and Langue des signes québécoise), along with other accessible communication modes such as French and English tactile interpretation and oral transliteration (lip reading).

The Bureau also provides approximately 6,000 hours a year of real-time closed captioning services of parliamentary proceedings. These services are in place to ensure equal access to communication and information for Canadians who are deaf, deafened, deafblind or hard of hearing.

Accessibility in GCworkplace

GCworkplace has been developed to be an accessible and inclusive workplace design standard. The program provides occupants with full control over the work setting that best suits their functional needs. By integrating accessibility at the onset of the design phase, GCworkplace is promoting an inclusive, equitable and adaptive workplace.

GCworkplace Consultation Series on Accessibility

An open-concept GCworkplace with desks and computers

The Office of Accessibility in the Built Environment partnered with the Centre for GCworkplace Innovation to host 25 consultations. More than 250 participants from 36 departments across the country participated. The consultations helped them to better understand the barriers that persons with disabilities face in the workplace.

Individual reports were prepared for 8 categories of disabilities, as follows:

  • mobility, flexibility and dexterity disabilities
  • visual disabilities
  • hearing disabilities
  • cognitive disabilities
  • mental health disabilities
  • intellectual disabilities
  • chronic pain
  • environmental/sensory disabilities
A lounge area with chairs and a long couch in the GCworkplace

A final report summarizing key findings will be published by the end of 2021 and shared with stakeholders and other departments. Also, as a result of the feedback received through the Consultation Series, updates have been made to the GCworkplace Design Guide (PDF, 5Mb) to improve acoustics, integrate elements of nature, as well as emphasize intuitive wayfinding and visual distinctions between spaces.

With a commitment to accessibility and well-being, GCworkplace will be continually adapted to ensure that all current and future Government of Canada employees can work in a barrier-free environment.

The International Day of Persons with Disabilities increases awareness of diverse abilities and promotes inclusion for all Canadians with disabilities. PSPC is committed to provide accessible programs and services, and to ensure that the needs of persons with disabilities are taken into consideration every step of the way.

For more information, visit the Accessibility at Public Services and Procurement Canada webpage.

Date modified:

Éliminer les obstacles pour les Canadiens en situation de handicap

Cette année, le 3 décembre, Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) souligne la Journée internationale des personnes handicapées, pour accroître la sensibilisation à cette cause et promouvoir les droits et le bien-être au quotidien des personnes en situation de handicap.

À SPAC, l’accessibilité consiste à fournir du soutien pour faire de notre pays un endroit où toutes les personnes sont incluses dans la société, sans égard à leur handicap, afin de leur permettre de profiter pleinement de nos programmes et services.

L’accessibilité au sein de la Cité parlementaire du Canada

La Colline du Parlement est au cœur de notre démocratie et occupe une place symbolique à l’échelle nationale. C’est un lieu où tous les Canadiens sont les bienvenus.

Une femme lisant une affiche en braille dans la Cité parlementaire

Dans le cadre de la vision et du plan à long terme pour la Cité parlementaire (une stratégie de restauration et de modernisation de la Cité qui s’échelonne sur plusieurs décennies), SPAC s’est engagé à rendre le site et les édifices plus accessibles, plus accueillants pour les familles et plus ouverts au grand public. Voilà pourquoi les édifices restaurés ou nouvellement construits sur la Colline du Parlement sont désormais conçus et érigés avec le souci de favoriser l’accessibilité et l’inclusion, grâce à des mesures comme :

  • des aménagements pour les personnes à mobilité réduite
  • la signalisation tactile
  • des capacités améliorées de diffusion et d’interprétation simultanée
Un homme en fauteuil roulant à la mezzanine de la Chambre des communes

SPAC s’emploie également à mettre en œuvre un processus d’examen de l’accessibilité universelle et un plan d’action connexe pour la Cité parlementaire, dont les mesures s’appliquent à l’ensemble du complexe. Les pratiques exemplaires d’accessibilité universelle contenues dans le plan d’action serviront à orienter tous les projets importants et les améliorations continues de l’accessibilité du site et des édifices.

Grâce à cette approche, la Cité parlementaire sera perçue comme un chef de file et un modèle en matière d’accessibilité universelle, ce qui permettra à SPAC de surpasser largement les normes et codes actuels afin de favoriser l’élaboration d’une stratégie claire et définie pour l’accessibilité de la Cité parlementaire.

Visionnez cette vidéo sur l'amélioration de l'accessibilité dans la Cité parlementaire pour découvrir comment SPAC a réussi à améliorer l’accessibilité pour tous dans le cadre des travaux de restauration et de modernisation de l’édifice du Sénat du Canada et de l’édifice de l’Ouest.

Le Bureau de la traduction et l’accessibilité

Une interprète utilisant le langage gestuel

Chaque année, les employés du Bureau de la traduction de SPAC effectuent plus de 6 300 heures de services d’interprétation gestuelle (American Sign Language et Langue des signes québécoise), en plus des autres modes de communication accessible comme la translittération orale (lecture labiale) ou l’interprétation tactile en français ou en anglais.

De plus, le Bureau fournit annuellement environ 6 000 heures de services de sous-titrage codé en temps réel pour les travaux parlementaires. Ces services en place visent à assurer l’accès égal aux communications et à l’information pour les Canadiens sourds, devenus sourds, sourds-aveugles ou malentendants.

L’initiative Milieu de travail GC au chapitre de l’accessibilité

L’initiative Milieu de travail GC au chapitre de l’accessibilité est une norme de conception pour l’accessibilité et l’inclusion en milieu de travail. Ce programme vise à procurer aux utilisateurs le plein contrôle de leur espace de travail pour répondre le mieux possible à leurs besoins fonctionnels. En intégrant l’accessibilité dès le début de la phase de conception, le programme Milieu de travail GC favorise un lieu de travail inclusif, équitable et adaptable.

Série de consultations Milieu de travail GC en matière d’accessibilité

Zone de travail à aire ouverte avec bureaux et ordinateurs dans le milieu de travail GC

En partenariat avec le Bureau de l’accessibilité de l’environnement bâti, le Centre d’innovation Milieu de travail GC a organisé 25 consultations auprès de plus de 250 participants issus de 36 ministères de toutes les régions du pays. Ces consultations ont permis de mieux comprendre les obstacles en milieu de travail auxquels sont confrontées les personnes en situation de handicap.

Ces initiatives ont donné lieu à des rapports distincts axés sur 8 catégories de handicaps, soit :

  • les handicaps de mobilité-flexibilité-dextérité
  • les handicaps visuels
  • les troubles de l’audition
  • les handicaps cognitifs
  • les troubles de santé mentale
  • les handicaps intellectuels
  • les douleurs chroniques
  • les sensibilités environnementales
Aire de repos avec des chaises et un long divan dans le milieu de travail GC

Un rapport final résumant les principales constatations sera publié d’ici la fin de 2021 et communiqué aux parties prenantes ainsi qu’à d’autres ministères. Par ailleurs, compte tenu de la rétroaction issue de la série de consultations, le Guide de conception du Milieu de travail GC (PDF, 5 Mo) a été mis à jour afin d’améliorer certains aspects liés à l’acoustique, intégrer divers éléments naturels et accroître l’orientation intuitive et les indices visuels de démarcation des aires.

En accord avec l’engagement pour l’accessibilité et le bien-être, l’initiative Milieu de travail GC sera adaptée en continu pour s’assurer que tous les employés actuels et futurs du gouvernement du Canada bénéficient d’un environnement de travail sans obstacles.

La Journée internationale des personnes handicapées favorise la sensibilisation à la diversité des capacités, tout en préconisant l’inclusion pour l’ensemble des Canadiens en situation de handicap. SPAC s’engage à fournir des programmes et des services accessibles, et à faire en sorte que les besoins des personnes en situation de handicap soient pris en considération à toutes les étapes du processus.

Pour en savoir davantage, consultez la page Web consacrée à l’accessibilité à Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada.

Date de modification :