Supporting the revitalization of Canada's Indigenous languages

Matilada Lewis
Mathilda Andrew Lewis, a Plains Cree interpreter, proudly stands in front of her interpretation booth at the English-language debate.

The leaders’ debates, which took place on September 8 and 9, highlighted the Government of Canada’s commitment to inclusion and dialogue with Indigenous nations across the country. In addition to English and French, as well as American Sign Language and Langue des signes québécoise, this year’s debates were interpreted in Inuktitut, East Cree, Plains Cree, Dene, Innu and Ojibway.

Interpretation was made possible by Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC)’s Translation Bureau.

With the help of more than 100 suppliers, the Translation Bureau provides translation and interpretation services in over 50 of the approximately 90 different Indigenous languages and dialects spoken in Canada, allowing the Government of Canada and Parliament to communicate with members of Indigenous communities in their own languages.

Why is this work so important? Making the information in these debates and other important public events inclusive and accessible to all Canadians will help them make life decisions and supports the revitalization of Canada’s Indigenous languages.

For more information, visit the PSPC Translation Bureau webpage.
Date modified:

Soutenir la revitalisation des langues autochtones du Canada

Matilada Lewis
Mathilda Andrew Lewis, une interprète en cri des plaines, se tient fièrement devant sa cabine d'interprétation lors du débat en anglais.

Les débats des chefs, qui ont eu lieu les 8 et 9 septembre, ont mis en évidence l'engagement du gouvernement du Canada à faire preuve d’inclusion et à poursuivre le dialogue avec les nations autochtones du pays. Outre le français et l’anglais, ainsi que la langue ASL et la langue des signes québécoise, les débats de cette année ont été interprétés en inuktitut, en cri oriental, en cri des plaines, en déné, en innu et en ojibwé.

L'interprétation a été rendue possible par le Bureau de la traduction de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC).

Avec l'aide de plus de 100 fournisseurs, le Bureau de la traduction offre des services de traduction et d'interprétation dans plus de 50 des quelque 90 langues et dialectes autochtones parlés au Canada. Il permet ainsi au gouvernement du Canada et au Parlement de communiquer avec les membres des communautés autochtones dans leur propre langue.

Pourquoi ce travail est-il si important? Rendre l'information de ces débats, ou celle d’autres événements publics importants, de façon inclusive et accessible aidera tous les Canadiens à prendre des décisions éclairées en plus de soutenir la revitalisation des langues autochtones du Canada.

Pour plus d'informations, visitez la page Web du Bureau de la traduction de SPAC.

Date de modification :