Uniting an important National Wildlife Area

Sometimes, an expansion project achieves more than just adding space. A property acquired by Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) not only increased the size of a National Wildlife Area but resulted in other benefits, such as uniting the once divided site.

An opportunity arises

Shoreline where the lake meets the beach.

Under the Nature Legacy for Canada Initiative, Environment and Climate Change Canada (ECCC) was given the authority in 2019 to expand 11 priority National Wildlife Areas, including the Prince Edward Point National Wildlife Area (PEP NWA), located near Picton, Ontario.

Established in 1978, the PEP NWA was one of the first protected areas managed by ECCC to protect habitat for migratory birds, and with good reason, as this is a very special site.

At no other location on the Canadian side of Lake Ontario are birds known to gather in such high numbers during migration. The area is also a migratory bird research hub, as well as a stopover for migrating bats and Monarch butterflies.

Given the opportunity to expand this protected area, PSPC was engaged by ECCC to assist them with the purchase of a suitable property, as PSPC is the federal government’s real property expert. With 1 transaction, the project improved the PEP NWA in several ways.

Purchasing the right property

Sunset over a park landscape.

At the time of the project, there were 4 properties adjacent to the PEP NWA listed for sale. Among them was a 33.7-hectare property that was considered the most desirable because it cut through the PEP NWA, separating it into 2 distinct units.

The purchase of the property would amalgamate the PEP NWA into one larger, undivided protected area for the benefit of both local wildlife and the visitors who explore the park.

In addition, the property includes part of a rare wetland system and is situated in a designated “Important Bird Area” that contains essential bird habitat and is known for its unique value to biodiversity.

PSPC led the negotiations that resulted in the purchase of this important property and carried out the many preparatory activities involved in real estate acquisitions by the federal government, including a title search, property appraisal and environmental assessment.

Now, the entire area will be managed by ECCC to support the over 30 species at risk that call the PEP NWA home and more than 300 species of migratory birds that pass through the site.

Watch a video of how the Prince Edward Point National Wildlife Area has improved through this project.

You can also find additional information about Canada’s 55 National Wildlife Areas under the custodianship of ECCC, which provide over 2.1 million hectares of protected habitat for wildlife, or learn more about the services provided by Public Services and Procurement Canada.

Date modified:

Une importante réserve nationale de faune enfin unifiée

Parfois, un projet d'agrandissement apporte plus qu’un simple ajout d'espace. Un bien acquis par Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) a non seulement permis d'augmenter la superficie d'une réserve nationale de faune, mais a aussi offert d’autres avantages, comme l’unification d’un site autrefois divisé.

Saisir l’occasion

Rivage où le lac rencontre la plage.

En 2019, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (ECCC) a obtenu, dans le cadre de l'initiative Patrimoine naturel du Canada, l'autorisation d'agrandir 11 réserves nationales de faune prioritaires, dont la réserve nationale de faune de la Pointe-du-Prince-Édouard (RNF de la Pointe-du-Prince-Édouard) située près de Picton, en Ontario.

La RNF de la Pointe-du-Prince-Édouard a été créée en 1978. Elle est l’une des premières aires protégées gérées par ECCC pour la préservation de l'habitat des oiseaux migrateurs. Et non sans raison, car il s’agit d’un site très spécial.

Aucun autre endroit du côté canadien du lac Ontario n’accueille un si grand nombre d’oiseaux pendant la migration. La réserve est également un pôle de recherche sur les oiseaux migrateurs, ainsi qu’une halte pour les chauves-souris migratrices et les papillons monarques.

Devant la possibilité d'agrandir cette aire protégée, ECCC a demandé à SPAC, l'expert en immobilier du gouvernement fédéral, de l'aider à acheter la parcelle de terrain qui convenait. Avec 1 seule transaction, le projet a permis d'améliorer la RNF de la Pointe-du-Prince-Édouard de plusieurs façons.

Acheter le terrain qui convient

Rivage où le lac rencontre la plage.

Au moment du projet, 4 parcelles de terrain voisines de la RNF de la Pointe-du-Prince-Édouard étaient à vendre, dont un terrain de 33,7 hectares. C’est ce terrain qui était privilégié parce qu'il passait à travers la RNF de la Pointe-du-Prince-Édouard, séparant celle-ci en 2 sections distinctes.

L'acquisition du terrain permettrait enfin de créer une seule et plus grande aire protégée, pour le bien de la faune locale et le plaisir des visiteurs du parc.

De plus, cette parcelle contient des terres humides rares, et elle est située dans une « aire importante de nidification » désignée qui comprend un habitat essentiel des oiseaux et qui est reconnue pour sa grande importance à l’égard de la biodiversité.

SPAC a mené les négociations qui se sont conclues par l'achat de ce terrain important. Il a aussi effectué les nombreux préparatifs qu'implique l'acquisition d'un bien immobilier par le gouvernement fédéral, notamment la recherche de titre, l'évaluation du bien et l'évaluation environnementale.

Maintenant, toute l’aire sera gérée par ECCC dans le souci de protéger la trentaine d'espèces en péril qui vivent dans la RNF de la Pointe-du-Prince-Édouard et les quelque 300 espèces d'oiseaux migrateurs qui y transitent.

Regardez cette vidéo montrant comment la réserve nationale de faune de Prince Edward Point a bénéficié de ce projet.

Vous trouverez de plus amples renseignements sur les 55 réserves nationales de faune du Canada dont ECCC a la garde, lesquelles protègent l'habitat d'espèces sauvages sur plus de 2,1 millions d'hectares, ou renseignez-vous sur les services offerts par Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada.

Date de modification :