Reimagining the historic Chaudière Crossing

For over 190 years, the Chaudière Crossing has remained a critical link between Ottawa and Gatineau. It accommodates nearly 18,000 vehicles between Gatineau and Ottawa each day. Given its age, use and exposure to the elements, the crossing needs rehabilitation.

The crossing, which includes the Union Bridge and the Hull Causeway, has been worn down through years of use. Some of the steel and concrete components are at the end of their useful life and require repair or replacement. In March of 2022, Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) started a year-long project to rehabilitate portions of the Chaudière Crossing. This project is just one of many planned during the rehabilitation.

2 people talking on a platform next to a river and one of them is pointing toward the sky.
PSPC project managers at the work site. The Union Bridge and Hull Causeway are visible to the right.

The rehabilitation of the Chaudière Crossing will extend the life of the bridge and prepare it for climate-related events, all while ensuring this vital link continues to support local economic activity. In addition, the rehabilitation will contribute to the Government of Canada’s objective to encourage the development of Indigenous businesses and their workforce through federally funded opportunities, by including an Indigenous Participation Plan that will bring social and economic benefits to Indigenous communities.

A project of this magnitude requires careful preparation and close collaboration with partners. Before the project began, there were consultations with the cycling community to inform them of upcoming work and consult them on the potential design of new cycling lanes. PSPC is also working with many partners, such as the National Capital Commission, the Ontario and Quebec provincial governments, the City of Ottawa, the City of Gatineau, Energy Ottawa, as well as Zibi, which is a large development being built around the Chaudière Crossing.

A close-up of a bridge structure with a river running in the background.
The impressive current of the Ottawa River coming through the Chaudière dam can be seen through the Union Bridge beams.
Construction workers working on a bridge structure.
The extension of the Union Bridge trusses, as well as some of the beams that require replacement, are visible.

A green aspect of the rehabilitation project is the gathering of excess steam from the Kruger plant downstream to help with the heating and cooling of buildings on both sides of the crossing, with pipes running underneath the Chaudière Crossing.

Moreover, with its active and green transportation concept, the new Chaudière Crossing will provide improved safety for users, with continuous raised cycling lanes in both directions and a wider sidewalk across the entire crossing, as well as the integration of a new lighting system. This complete street concept will be done in harmony with the Zibi development project.

A rendering of a bridge, bicycle pathway and pedestrian crossing, along with vehicles, pedestrians and bikers on the move.
An artist’s rendering of the rehabilitated crossing, which will greatly improve safety and promote sustainable mobility for the surrounding communities.
A group of people looking at a bridge structure under construction.
A project manager looking at the infrastructure that will widen the crossing, as well as the pipes that will carry the steam for the Zibi development across the bridge.

This is not only the restoration of an important heritage asset, but also bridge building on a larger scale, bringing Indigenous and local communities together.

For more information, visit Chaudière Crossing: Union Bridge rehabilitation and Hull Causeway widening.

Date modified:

Repenser la traverse historique des Chaudières

Depuis plus de 190 ans, la traverse des Chaudières est un lien essentiel entre Ottawa et Gatineau. Près de 18 000 véhicules y circulent chaque jour. En raison de son usure, de son âge et des éléments auxquels elle est exposée, la traverse doit être réhabilitée.

La traverse, qui comprend le pont Union et le pont-jetée de Hull, s'est détériorée au fil des années. Certaines des composantes en acier et en béton sont à la fin de leur durée de vie utile et doivent être réparées ou remplacées. En mars 2022, Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) a lancé un projet visant à réhabiliter certaines parties de la traverse des Chaudières sur une période d'un an. Ce projet est l’un des nombreux qui doivent avoir lieu dans le cadre de cette réhabilitation.

Deux personnes discutent sur une plateforme près d'une rivière, et l'une d'elles pointe vers le ciel.
Des gestionnaires de projet de SPAC sont sur le chantier. On peut avoir le pont Union et le pont-jetée de Hull à droite.

La réhabilitation de la traverse des Chaudières permettra d'en prolonger la durée de vie, de la préparer aux événements météorologiques à venir et de faire en sorte qu'elle continue de soutenir l'activité économique locale. De plus, elle contribuera à réaliser l'objectif du gouvernement du Canada voulant que le développement des entreprises autochtones et de leurs effectifs soit favorisé au moyen de possibilités financées par le gouvernement fédéral, sous forme de plans de participation des Autochtones ayant des retombées sociales et économiques sur leurs communautés.

Un projet d'une telle ampleur nécessite une préparation minutieuse et une collaboration étroite avec les partenaires concernés. Avant le lancement du projet, des consultations ont été menées auprès des cyclistes pour les informer des travaux à venir et obtenir leur avis sur la conception éventuelle des nouvelles pistes cyclables. SPAC collabore par ailleurs avec de nombreux autres partenaires, comme la Commission de la capitale nationale, les gouvernements de l'Ontario et du Québec, la Ville d'Ottawa, la Ville de Gatineau, Énergie Ottawa, ainsi que Zibi (un vaste projet de mise en valeur du quartier où se trouve la traverse des Chaudières).

Gros plan de la structure d'un pont, à l'arrière de laquelle coule une rivière.
Le courant impressionnant de la rivière des Outaouais qui s'écoule du barrage Chaudière est visible entre les poutres du pont Union.
Ouvriers en train de travailler sur la structure d'un pont.
On peut voir le prolongement des fermes du pont Union, ainsi que certaines des poutres qui doivent être remplacées.

Le projet de réhabilitation a également une dimension écologique : l'excès de vapeur produit par la centrale en aval de la rivière est récupéré pour chauffer et refroidir les édifices de part et d'autre de la traverse, grâce aux tuyaux qui passent sous celle-ci.

De plus, la nouvelle traverse des Chaudières, qui repose sur un concept de transport actif et écologique, sera plus sécuritaire pour les usagers, car elle comprendra des pistes cyclables surélevées et continues dans les 2 directions, un trottoir plus large sur toute la longueur et un nouveau système d'éclairage. Ce concept de rue complet sera réalisé en harmonie avec le projet de quartier Zibi.

Rendu d'un pont, d'une piste cyclable et d'un passage pour piétons où circulent des véhicules, des piétons et des cyclistes.
Représentation de la traverse réhabilitée, qui sera beaucoup plus sécuritaire et qui favorisera la mobilité durable dans les collectivités avoisinantes.
Groupe de personnes en train de regarder la structure d'un pont en construction.
Un gestionnaire de projet examine l’infrastructure qui élargira la traverse, ainsi que les tuyaux qui achemineront la vapeur au quartier Zibi.

Le projet vise non seulement à restaurer un bien patrimonial important, mais aussi à bâtir des ponts à plus grande échelle en rapprochant les communautés locales et autochtones.

Pour plus de renseignements, visitez Traverse des Chaudières : réhabilitation du pont Union et élargissement du pont-jetée de Hull.

Date de modification :