Deputy Minister of Public Services and Procurement and Deputy Receiver General for Canada

Marie Lemay

Photo of Marie Lemay

On March 8, 2016, the Prime Minister announced the appointment of Marie Lemay to the position of Deputy Minister, Public Services and Procurement. She started her new position on April 11, 2016.

Ms. Lemay previously held the position of Deputy Minister and President of Canada Economic Development for Quebec Regions. In this capacity, she worked to promote economic development, diversification, cooperation and complementarity with Quebec and communities in Quebec.

From 2012 to 2013, Ms. Lemay was Associate Deputy Minister of Infrastructure Canada, spearheading the federal government’s efforts to ensure that Canadians had modern world-class public infrastructure. She was also Chief Executive Officer of the National Capital Commission from 2008 to 2012, where she exhibited the leadership required to make this organization more dynamic and transparent. Throughout her career, Ms. Lemay has developed both a national and international perspective, particularly during her seven years of service as Chief Executive Officer of Engineers Canada. She has also worked with the City of Gatineau and the Municipality of Chelsea.

Ms. Lemay has received a number of awards. She is chair of national and international programs and a member of the Board of Directors of the Institute of Public Administration of Canada. She was a member of the University of Ottawa’s Board of Governors from 2009 to 2014.

Ms. Lemay, who is an engineer, has a degree from the University of Ottawa and a degree in public administration from the École nationale d’administration publique. She is also a member of the Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec and of Professional Engineers Ontario, as well as a fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering.

Date modified:

Sous-ministre des Services publics et de l’Approvisionnement et sous-receveur général du Canada

Marie Lemay

Photo du Marie Lemay

Le 8 mars 2016, le premier ministre a annoncé la nomination de Marie Lemay au poste de sous-ministre des Services publics et de l’Approvisionnement. Elle est entrée en fonction le 11 avril 2016.

Mme Lemay occupait auparavant le poste de sous-ministre et présidente de Développement économique Canada pour les régions du Québec. À ce titre, elle a travaillé à promouvoir le développement économique, la diversification, la coopération ainsi que la complémentarité avec le Québec et les collectivités du Québec.

De 2012 à 2013, Mme Lemay a exercé les fonctions de sous-ministre déléguée d’Infrastructure Canada, guidant les efforts déployés par le gouvernement fédéral pour s’assurer que la population canadienne bénéficie d’une infrastructure publique moderne et de calibre mondial. Elle a également assumé le rôle de première dirigeante à la Commission de la capitale nationale de 2008 à 2012 en exerçant le leadership nécessaire pour faire de cette dernière une organisation plus dynamique et transparente. Au cours de sa carrière, Mme Lemay a développé une perspective nationale et internationale, notamment durant ses sept années de service à titre de chef de la direction d’Ingénieurs Canada. Elle a aussi œuvré auprès de la Ville de Gatineau et de la Municipalité de Chelsea.

Mme Lemay est récipiendaire de plusieurs prix. Elle est présidente des programmes national et international et membre du conseil d’administration de l’Institut d’administration publique du Canada. Elle a été membre du Bureau des gouverneurs de l’Université d’Ottawa de 2009 à 2014.

Ingénieure, Mme Lemay est titulaire d’un diplôme de l’Université d’Ottawa et d’un diplôme en administration publique de l’École nationale d’administration publique. Elle est également membre de l’Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec et de l’Ordre des ingénieurs de l’Ontario, ainsi que membre de l’Académie canadienne du génie.

Date de modification :