Alaska Highway

From: Public Services and Procurement Canada

The Alaska Highway is the principal land access route to northern British Columbia, the Yukon and Alaska. As such, the highway is critical to the social networks and economies of the entire region. The Government of Canada managed section of the highway consists of many components, including the roadway itself, 56 bridges/bridge culverts, many small culverts, 10 maintenance yards and salt shed structures and numerous pits and quarries.

Find out about our projects, and what is being done to maintain and improve the highway.

On this page

Project overview

Location
Fort Nelson, British Columbia
Type of project
Construction
Lead department
Public Services and Procurement Canada
Construction firms
Peter’s Bros. Construction Ltd., Penticton, British Columbia
Value
$39.6 million
Project status
Scheduled to be completed in fall 2021
Next steps
Peter’s Bros. Construction Ltd. will make a number of infrastructure improvements, including the conversion of the current road surface to a stronger, more durable pavement that will make the highway safer and reduce maintenance costs.

Project description

Projects on the highway are planned based on:

Re-surfacing

The current priority is to re-surface the southern section of the Highway. We are changing the surface from Bituminous Surface Treatment (BST), a lower grade pavement, to asphalt. Asphalt is better able to withstand truck traffic. It is more comfortable to drive on and since it is smoother, when vehicles drive on it they produce fewer greenhouse gas emissions than they do driving on BST

Cleaning up contaminated sites

We also has projects associated with the Federal Contaminated Sites Action Plan (FCSAP). Federal contaminated sites are located:

Contamination is most often a result of past activities that had environmental consequences that were not well understood at the time. The federal government renewed the program for another 15 years, so it will run until 2034. Budget 2019 announced $1.16 billion for 2020 to 2024.

Much of the effort when dealing with contaminated sites is assessment work. We want to determine how contaminated a site is. Once that is established, we remediate the site.  Remediation may include:

We are also removing abandoned structures and roadbeds. This will reduce risks and hazards.

Photo gallery

View photos of the Alaska Highway.

The Alaska Highway

Photo of a mountain panorama taken from the Alaska Highway, heading south, near kilometre 684 (in the area of Peterson Creek, British Columbia)

Benefit to Canadians

The Alaska Highway is located on the traditional territories of the Kaska Dena and the Treaty 8 First Nations. Local First Nations Peoples played a vital role during construction of the highway. They acted as guides, helping to navigate through this harsh, difficult and remote territory. They knew the area best, as their people had lived there since time immemorial.

As the construction of the Alaska Highway had gone through their traditional territories and communities, it brought:

Many local First Nations and other Indigenous Peoples continue to work on and, or operate businesses associated with the highway. We are continuing to engage with local First Nations in the economic development opportunities associated with the operation of the Highway. The goal of this engagement is to increase the participation of Indigenous-owned businesses in the Government of Canada procurement system.

The Government of Canada is committed to Reconciliation and meaningful engagement with Indigenous Peoples. As part of Canada’s commitment to Reconciliation with First Nations, Metis and Inuit, we are modernizing procurement practices and increasing bidder diversity to support Indigenous-owned businesses. The department included requirements for Indigenous partnerships in some of its contracts. Six of these were for the Alaska Highway.

Project background

The Alaska Highway was built in 1943 by the United States Corps of Engineers in response to the bombing of Pearl Harbour. It was built to provide land access to Alaska from the lower 48 states during the Second World War.

The Alaska Highway is an essential transportation corridor for local First Nations, residents, tourists and industry workers.

The highway stretches 2,450 kilometres across northern British Columbia and southern Yukon, into Alaska. Almost 80% (1,900 kilometres) of the highway is in Canada:

We are the custodian for the 835 kilometres of highway that the Government of Canada is responsible for.  As custodian of highway, we are committed to:

Latest news about this project

Related links

More information

Contact Real Property

Date modified:

La route de l’Alaska

De : Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

La route de l’Alaska constitue la principale voie d’accès vers le nord de la Colombie-Britannique, le Yukon et l’Alaska. Cette route est donc essentielle pour les réseaux sociaux et les économies de toute la région. Le tronçon de la route qui est géré par le gouvernement du Canada comprend de nombreux éléments, dont la route même, 56 ponts, de nombreux petits ponceaux, 10 centres d’entretien et abris à sel, ainsi qu’un grand nombre de puits et de carrières.

Apprenez-en plus sur nos projets et les mesures que nous prenons pour entretenir et améliorer la route.

Sur cette page

Aperçu du projet

Emplacement
Fort Nelson (Colombie-Britannique)
Type de projet
Construction
Ministère responsable
Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada
Entreprise de construction
Peter’s Bros. Construction Ltd. (disponible en anglais seulement), Penticton (Colombie-Britannique)
Valeur
39,6 millions de dollars
État du projet
Achèvement prévu pour l’automne 2021
Prochaines étapes
Peter's Bros. Construction Ltd. apportera un certain nombre d'améliorations à l'infrastructure, notamment en remplaçant le revêtement actuel de la route par un revêtement plus robuste et durable qui rendra la route plus sécuritaire et réduira les coûts d'entretien.

Description du projet

Les projets entrepris à l’égard de la route sont déterminés d’après :

Remplacement du revêtement

La priorité est actuellement donnée à la réfection du revêtement du tronçon sud de la route. Nous remplaçons l’actuel revêtement bitumineux, qui est de qualité inférieure, par de l'asphalte. L'asphalte résiste mieux à la circulation des camions. De plus, il permet une conduite plus aisée, et comme il est plus lisse, les véhicules qui y circulent produisent moins d'émissions de gaz à effet de serre que sur un revêtement bitumineux. 

Assainissement des sites contaminés

Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada mène également des projets visés par le Plan d'action pour les sites contaminés fédéraux (PASCF). Il y a des sites contaminés fédéraux sur :

La contamination résulte le plus souvent d’activités passées ayant eu des conséquences sur l’environnement qui n’étaient pas bien comprises à l’époque. Le gouvernement fédéral a reconduit le programme pour 15 autres années, si bien qu'il durera jusqu'en 2034.

Dans le budget de 2019, 1,16 milliard de dollars sont prévus pour la période allant de 2020 à 2024.

La prise en charge des sites contaminés consiste surtout en un travail d'évaluation. Nous voulons déterminer leur degré de contamination. Une fois que nous le savons, nous procédons à leur assainissement, qui peut impliquer ce qui suit :

Nous enlevons également les structures et les chaussées abandonnées, afin de réduire les risques et les dangers.

Galerie de photos

Voici des photos de la route de l'Alaska.

La route de l'Alaska

Panorama de montagnes photographié à partir de la route de l’Alaska, en direction sud, aux environs du kilomètre 684 (secteur de Peterson Creek, Colombie-Britannique)

Avantages pour les Canadiens

La route de l'Alaska est située sur les territoires traditionnels des Kaska Dena et des Premières Nations visées par le Traité no. 8. Les peuples autochtones de la région ont joué un rôle vital pendant la construction de l'autoroute. Ils ont servi de guides sur ce territoire rude, difficile et éloigné. Comme leur peuple y vivait depuis des temps immémoriaux, ce sont eux qui connaissaient le mieux la région.

La construction de la route de l'Alaska sur leurs territoires traditionnels et dans leurs communautés a amené :

Encore aujourd’hui, l'autoroute est une source de travail pour les nombreuses Premières nations locales, d'autres peuples autochtones et leurs entreprises. Nous continuons de mobiliser les Premières nations locales à l'égard des possibilités de développement économique liées à la route. Cette mobilisation a pour objectif d'accroître la participation des entreprises appartenant à des Autochtones au système d'approvisionnement du gouvernement du Canada.

Le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à la réconciliation et à une collaboration significative avec les peuples autochtones. Dans le cadre de l'engagement du Canada à l'égard de la réconciliation avec les Premières  Nations, les Métis et les Inuits, nous modernisons les pratiques d'approvisionnement et augmentons la diversité des soumissionnaires pour soutenir les entreprises appartenant à des Autochtones. C'est pourquoi le Ministère a inclus, dans certains de ses contrats, des exigences concernant l'établissement de partenariats avec les Autochtones. Six de ces contrats visent la route de l'Alaska.

Contexte du projet

La route de l’Alaska a été construite par l’Army Corps of Engineers des États-Unis en 1943, à la suite du bombardement de Pearl Harbor. Elle visait à établir un accès terrestre entre l'Alaska et les 48 états situés plus au sud durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

La route de l'Alaska est un couloir de transport essentiel aux Premières nations locales, aux résidents, aux touristes et aux travailleurs.

La route de l’Alaska s’étend sur 2 450 kilomètres dans le nord de la Colombie-Britannique, le sud du Yukon et l’Alaska. Presque 80 % de la route (1 900 kilomètres) se trouvent au Canada.

Nous assurons la garde des 835 kilomètres de la route que le gouvernement du Canada est chargé d’entretenir. En notre qualité de gardien de la route, nous sommes déterminés à :

Dernières nouvelles concernant ce projet

Liens connexes

Renseignements supplémentaires

Communiquer avec les Biens immobiliers

Date de modification :