Rehabilitation of the Lester B. Pearson Building

From: Public Services and Procurement Canada

Learn about the rehabilitation of the Lester B. Pearson Building.

On this page

Project overview

Location
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario
Type of project
Rehabilitation
Lead department
Public Services and Procurement Canada
View enlarged image of street view of the Lester B. Pearson building

Project description

On September 2017, Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) announced that it would rehabilitate the Lester B. Pearson Building (LBPB). This project is an initiative driven by both the occupant, Global Affairs Canada, and PSPC with a focus on employee wellness, universal accessibility, and environmental sustainability.

The total budget for the rehabilitation of the LBPB is estimated at more than $700 million. The main objective of the project is to plan and implement a complete building retrofit inclusive of base building, fit-up and information technology (IT) requirements. This project provides the opportunity to modernize building elements such as plumbing, electrical, heating and cooling systems, which will improve the environmental performance of the building.

While conserving LBPB’s heritage character, the project will bring a modern workplace adhering to the latest GCworkplace fit-up standard and incorporating Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) gold certification. GCworkplace is an innovative and future-oriented approach to modernize workplaces so that they better leverage technology and support collaboration, innovation, and flexibility. The workspaces will be fully accessible by providing solutions such as:

Exterior work

Exterior project work includes:

Interior work

Interior project work includes:

Benefits to Canadians

The rehabilitation of the LBPB will provide significant benefits to the local and national economies through contract opportunities in the construction industry and related sectors, such as construction materials, manufacturing and professional services.

As the Government of Canada moves forward with the design and construction of the building, it will preserve the historical significance and character of LBPB and introduce sustainable and energy efficient features.

Project background

The building is the flagship headquarter of Global Affairs Canada and is home to approximately 3,300 employees.

Completed in 1973, the LBPB has not undergone any major building rehabilitation since its construction more than 45 years ago. This project will provide employees with a safe and modern workplace in addition to extending the life span of the building.

For the rehabilitation of the LBPB, PSPC is leading the overall planning and management of the project to ensure it is completed on time, on budget and that it meets the needs of the current occupants of the LBPB.

The project team includes EllisDon, Construction Manager, DIALOG and McRobie Architects and Interiors, Prime Consultants, and Brookfield Global Integrated Solutions, Project Manager.

History of the building

Construction of the LBPB began in May 1970 and took nearly three years to complete. The construction of the building was part of an intensive period of urban planning, which accelerated in the 1950s and 1960s, continued into the 1970s, and transformed Ottawa into a true national capital. The building was named after the 14th Prime Minister of Canada.

The building was completed in 1973 to the designs of Webb Zerafa Menkes (now WZMH), the same firm that is also responsible for designing such iconic buildings as the CN Tower, in Toronto.

In 2012, the LBPB was designated as a federal heritage building. Federal government buildings, such as departmental headquarters, often employ robust materials that gain value as they age. They are eventually evaluated by agents of the Federal Heritage Building Review Office to determine if there is sufficient heritage value to warrant formal recognition. Where there is such value, designations include classified or recognized, depending on the score obtained. The LBPB is a classified federal heritage building, the highest Federal Heritage Building Review Office designation. With designation comes a certain measure of protection via additional intervention oversight and advice.

The LBPB is located on Indigenous land. As we are currently rehabilitating the building, PSPC is investigating opportunities to include permanent land acknowledgment onsite and Indigenous art in the design of LBPB (both interior and exterior).

The LBPB is a large, multi-tiered, irregular-shaped office complex built to accommodate the national headquarters of the Department of External Affairs, which became the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade, and is now Global Affairs Canada. The building occupies a prominent site along the Ottawa River and is visible from the Macdonald-Cartier Bridge, and the adjacent roads.

Photo gallery

Click on the image to view larger version.

Rendering of the new security pavilion and perimeter fence
Rendering of the new security pavilion and perimeter fence (on Sussex)
Rendering of the interior fit-up of Tower D—Lounge kitchen
Rendering of the interior fit-up of Tower D—Washroom
Rendering of the interior fit-up of Tower D—Workstation and open space
Rendering of the interior fit-up of Tower D—Large meeting room
Rendering of the interior fit-up of Tower D—Medium meeting room

Latest news about the project

Planning and design activities for the LBPB rehabilitation project started in 2017. The rehabilitation began during summer 2019 with Tower D. The renovation of a single tower (there are four towers in total) will take two years, with the completion of the entire building scheduled for 2028.

The project is divided into four phases.

Concurrent projects

The LBPB garage project is scheduled to be completed in April 2021 and includes structural upgrades, new floor toppings, mechanical and electrical upgrades, fire protection upgrades and traffic control devices.

A LBPB security upgrade project is scheduled to be completed in spring 2021. The purpose of this project is to improve security for occupants and operations through the implementation of:

More information

Contact Real Property Services

Date modified:

Réhabilitation de l’édifice Lester-B.-Pearson

De : Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Apprenez-en plus sur la réhabilitation de l’édifice Lester-B.-Pearson.

Sur cette page

Aperçu du projet

Emplacement
125, Promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario)
Type de projet
Réhabilitation
Ministère responsable
Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada
Vue de l’édifice Lester-B.-Pearson depuis la rue. (Cliquer sur l'image pour l'agrandir.)

Description du projet

En septembre 2017, Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) a annoncé qu'il allait réhabiliter l'édifice Lester-B.-Pearson (ELBP). Le projet, qui a été initié par l'occupant, Affaires mondiales Canada et SPAC, est axé sur le mieux-être des employés, l'accessibilité universelle et la durabilité de l’environnement.

Le budget total de la réhabilitation de l’ELBP s’élève approximativement à plus de 700 millions de dollars. Le projet vise principalement à planifier et à exécuter la rénovation complète de l’édifice, ce qui comprend l’immeuble de base, l’aménagement des lieux et les besoins en technologie de l’information. Le projet offre la possibilité de moderniser des éléments du bâtiment tels que la plomberie, l'électricité et les systèmes de chauffage et de refroidissement, et d’améliorer ainsi la performance environnementale de l’édifice.

Tout en conservant le caractère patrimonial de l’ELBP, le projet permettra de créer un milieu de travail moderne qui adhérera aux plus récentes normes d’aménagement du Milieu de travail GC et qui sera certifié Or selon le programme Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED). Le Milieu de travail GC est une approche novatrice axée sur l’avenir qui vise à moderniser les lieux de travail pour qu’ils mettent davantage à profit la technologie et favorisent la collaboration, l’innovation et la souplesse. Les lieux de travail seront pleinement accessibles, car ils comprendront des solutions comme :

Travaux extérieurs

Les travaux extérieurs du projet incluent :

Travaux intérieurs

Les travaux intérieurs du projet incluent :

Avantages pour la population canadienne

La réhabilitation de l’ELBP aura d’importantes retombées sur les économies locale et nationale grâce aux possibilités de contrats qui en découleront dans l'industrie de la construction et les secteurs connexes, tels que les matériaux de construction, la fabrication et les services professionnels.

Alors que le gouvernement du Canada procède à la conception et à la construction de l’édifice, il entend préserver l'importance et le caractère historiques de l’ELBP et y introduire des éléments durables et efficaces sur le plan énergétique.

Contexte du projet

L’ELBP abrite l’administration centrale d’Affaires mondiales Canada et environ 3300 employés.

L’édifice n’a jamais subi de réhabilitation majeure depuis sa construction en 1973, il y a plus de 45 ans. Ce projet permettra d’offrir aux employés un milieu de travail sûr et moderne, en plus de prolonger la durée de vie de l’édifice.

SPAC dirige la planification et la gestion globales du projet de réhabilitation de l’ELBP afin de s’assurer qu’il soit exécuté en respectant les délais et le budget prévus, et qu’il réponde aux besoins des occupants actuels de l’édifice.

L’équipe du projet comprend EllisDon, gestionnaire du volet construction, DIALOG et McRobie Architects and Interiors, experts-conseils principaux, et Brookfield Global Integrated Solutions, gestionnaire du projet.

Histoire de l’édifice

La construction de l’ELBP a commencé en mai 1970 et a duré presque trois ans. Elle coïncide avec une période d’urbanisation intensive, qui s’est accélérée dans les années 1950 et 1960, qui s’est poursuivie dans les années 1970, et qui a fait d’Ottawa une véritable capitale nationale. L’édifice a été baptisé en l’honneur du 14e premier ministre du Canada.

Achevé en 1973, l’édifice a été construit selon les plans de Webb Zerafa Menkes (maintenant WZMH), le cabinet d’architectes à qui l’on doit également la conception d’immeubles emblématiques comme la Tour du CN à Toronto.

En 2012, l’ELBP a été désigné édifice fédéral du patrimoine. Les immeubles du gouvernement fédéral, comme ceux qui abritent les administrations centrales des ministères, sont souvent construits avec des matériaux solides qui prennent de la valeur avec l’âge. Éventuellement, des agents du Bureau d'examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine les évaluent afin de déterminer s’ils présentent une valeur patrimoniale qui justifie une reconnaissance officielle. Lorsque c’est le cas, la désignation Classé ou Reconnu leur est attribuée selon la note obtenue. L’ELBP est un édifice fédéral du patrimoine classé, soit la désignation la plus élevée attribuée par le Bureau d’examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine. Une désignation implique une certaine mesure de protection sous la forme d’une surveillance et de conseils supplémentaires à l’égard des interventions.

L’ELBP est situé sur des terres autochtones. Comme SPAC procède actuellement à la réhabilitation de l’édifice, il étudie les façons possibles d’y inclure en permanence une reconnaissance des droits territoriaux ainsi que de l’art autochtone à la conception de l’aménagement (intérieur et extérieur).

L’édifice est un grand complexe de bureaux de plusieurs étages et de forme irrégulière qui a été construit pour abriter l’administration centrale du ministère des Affaires extérieures, qui est devenu par la suite le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international, puis aujourd’hui Affaires mondiales Canada. Il occupe un emplacement central au bord de la rivière des Outaouais, qui est visible depuis le pont Macdonald-Cartier et les routes adjacentes.

Galerie de photos

Cliquez sur l’image pour l’agrandir.

Rendu du nouveau pavillon de sécurité et de la clôture périmétrique.
Rendu du nouveau pavillon de sécurité et de la clôture périmétrique (sur la Promenade Sussex).
Rendu de l’aménagement intérieur de la tour D - cuisine de style « lounge ».
Rendu de l’aménagement intérieur de la tour D - toilettes.
Rendu de l’aménagement intérieur de la tour D - postes de travail et aire ouverte.
:
Rendu de l’aménagement intérieur de la tour D - Salle de réunion (grande)
Rendering of the interior fit-up of Tower D - Medium meeting room

Dernières nouvelles sur le projet

Les activités de planification et de conception du projet de réhabilitation de l’ELBP ont débuté en 2017. Les travaux de réhabilitation ont commencé au cours de l’été 2019 dans la tour D. La rénovation d'une seule tour (il y en a quatre au total) prendra deux ans; ainsi, la rénovation de tout l’édifice devrait prendre fin en 2028.

Le projet compte quatre phases.

Projets parallèles

Un projet visant le garage de l’ELBP doit prendre fin en Avril 2021. Il comporte des améliorations structurelles, de nouveaux revêtements de sol, des améliorations mécaniques et électriques, des améliorations de la protection contre les incendies et des dispositifs de contrôle de la circulation.

Un projet de mise à niveau de la sécurité de l’ELBP doit prendre fin au printemps 2021. Il a pour objectif d'améliorer la sécurité des occupants et de la conduite des opérations grâce à la mise en œuvre des mesures suivantes :

Renseignements supplémentaires

Communiquer avec les Biens immobiliers

Date de modification :