Clean energy initiative

On this page

Government of Canada and Province of Nova Scotia join forces to reduce greenhouse gas emissions in federally owned facilities

One of the commitments in the Pan-Canadian Framework on Clean Growth and Climate Change is the requirement for all federally owned facilities to use 100% renewable electricity by 2025, by producing or purchasing renewable electricity equivalent to that produced by the high-carbon portion of the electricity grid.

In order to meet this objective, Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) created the Atlantic Clean Energy (ACE) Initiative in June 2018. The ACE Initiative’s initial focus is in the province of Nova Scotia, where the majority of electricity (approximately 70%) is currently produced from greenhouse gas (GHG) emitting fuel sources. More specifically, the ACE Initiative’s work is focused on:

  • working with large Government of Canada GHG emitters, such as National Defence (DND), to provide cleaner sources of electricity for their facilities in Nova Scotia
  • transitioning some of PSPC’s land holdings from the former federal coal mining industry in Cape Breton from environmental liabilities to environmental assets, potentially using these sites for renewable energy projects
  • exploring opportunities to partner with First Nations in Nova Scotia on clean electricity projects

This clean electricity work is building on various other efforts already underway by federal organizations to green their facilities, including conducting carbon-neutral building studies and energy efficiency work, introducing green building technologies, and switching to cleaner fuel sources.

Federal-provincial agreement

In July 2019, the Government of Canada and the Province of Nova Scotia signed an Agreement for Implementation to Purchase Net-New Renewable Electricity.

This federal-provincial agreement aims to establish new renewable energy projects through an open, transparent and fair procurement process that will generate additional clean electricity in Nova Scotia. The Province of Nova Scotia will put in place an independent third-party procurement administrator, who will oversee a competitive bidding process for renewable energy projects to supply the clean electricity needs of federally owned facilities. This renewable electricity will be purchased by the Government of Canada at a fair price.

The agreement between the Government of Canada and the Province of Nova Scotia aims to:

  • increase electrical generation from renewable energy sources on the provincial electricity grid 
  • define roles within this federal-provincial collaborative effort, with PSPC acting as the lead on behalf of federal departments and agencies that own Crown assets, and Nova Scotia’s Department of Energy and Mines as the province’s primary electricity policy lead
  • create a pathway for Nova Scotia to put in place a competitive procurement process to fulfill the Government of Canada’s clean electricity requirements in the province by 2025, which are estimated to be approximately 100 million kilowatt hours

As the central purchasing agent for the Government of Canada, PSPC will coordinate the acquisition of clean electricity at a fair price on behalf of federal departments and agencies that own and operate facilities in Nova Scotia.

The federal-provincial agreement also represents an important step in significantly reducing GHG emissions from electricity use in federally owned facilities in Nova Scotia. This includes DND facilities that make up Canadian Forces Base (CFB) Halifax and CFB Greenwood, which account for approximately 70% of the federal government’s electrical consumption in the province.

Working with other Atlantic provinces

Discussions with New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island began this spring, and initial discussions are planned to begin with Newfoundland and Labrador later this year regarding potential clean electricity solutions.

Date modified:

Initiative d’énergie propre

Sur cette page

Le gouvernement du Canada et la Province de la Nouvelle-Écosse unissent leurs forces pour réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre des installations fédérales

Parmi les engagements pris dans le Cadre pancanadien sur la croissance propre et les changements climatiques figure l’obligation voulant que toutes les installations qui appartiennent au gouvernement fédéral n’utilisent que de l’électricité renouvelable d’ici 2025, en produisant ou en achetant de l’électricité renouvelable équivalente à l’électricité produite par la portion riche en carbone du réseau électrique.

Pour concrétiser cet engagement, Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) a mis sur pied l’initiative Énergie propre de l’Atlantique (EPA) en juin 2018. L’initiative EPA cible d’abord la Nouvelle-Écosse, où la majeure partie de l’électricité (environ 70 %) est actuellement produite à partir de sources de carburant qui émettent des gaz à effet de serre (GES). Plus précisément, l’initiative EPA consiste principalement à :

  • aider les grands émetteurs de GES du gouvernement du Canada, comme la Défense nationale (DN), à adopter des sources d’électricité propres pour leurs installations en Nouvelle-Écosse;
  • transformer certains biens fonciers de SPAC provenant de l’ancienne industrie charbonnière fédérale du Cap-Breton de telle manière que, de passifs environnementaux, ils deviennent des biens environnementaux, par la réalisation d’éventuels projets d’énergie renouvelable;
  • explorer les possibilités de collaboration avec les Premières Nations de la Nouvelle‑Écosse à la réalisation de projets d’électricité propre.

Tout ce travail pour de l’électricité propre prend appui sur les différents autres efforts que les organisations fédérales déploient déjà afin d’écologiser leurs installations, notamment la réalisation d’études sur la neutralité carbonique des immeubles et de travaux d’amélioration du rendement énergétique, la mise en place de technologies écologiques dans les immeubles et l’adoption de sources de carburant plus propres.

Entente fédérale-provinciale

En juillet 2019, le gouvernement du Canada et la Province de la Nouvelle-Écosse ont signé une entente pour l’achat de nouvelle électricité renouvelable nette.

Cette entente fédérale-provinciale vise à établir, dans le cadre d’un processus d’approvisionnement ouvert, transparent et équitable, de nouveaux projets d’énergie renouvelable qui permettront de générer plus d’électricité propre en Nouvelle-Écosse. La Province de la Nouvelle-Écosse nommera un administrateur indépendant chargé de superviser un processus d’approvisionnement concurrentiel, en vue d’établir les projets d’énergie renouvelable qui permettront de produire l’électricité propre dont les installations appartenant au gouvernement fédéral ont besoin. Cette électricité renouvelable sera achetée par le gouvernement du Canada à un prix raisonnable.

Cette entente passée entre le gouvernement du Canada et la Province de la Nouvelle-Écosse vise à :

  • accroître la production d’électricité à partir de sources d’énergie renouvelables dans le réseau électrique de la province; 
  • définir les rôles joués par le gouvernement fédéral et la province dans le cadre de cette initiative, à savoir que SPAC agit comme responsable au nom des ministères et des organismes fédéraux propriétaires de biens de l’État et que le ministère de l’Énergie et des Mines de la Nouvelle-Écosse agit comme principal responsable de la politique de la province en matière d’électricité;
  • établir les paramètres selon lesquels lav Nouvelle-Écosse lancera le processus d’approvisionnement concurrentiel qui permettra de répondre aux besoins en électricité propre du gouvernement du Canada dans la province, c’est-à-dire approximativement 100 millions de kilowattheures, d’ici 2025.

Comme SPAC est le principal acheteur du gouvernement du Canada, il coordonnera l’achat d’électricité propre à un prix raisonnable au nom des ministères et des organismes fédéraux qui possèdent et exploitent des installations en Nouvelle-Écosse.

Cette entente fédérale-provinciale constitue par ailleurs un jalon déterminant dans la réduction importante des émissions de GES attribuables à la consommation d’électricité dans les installations qui appartiennent au gouvernement fédéral, en Nouvelle-Écosse. Il s’agit notamment des installations de la DN à la Base des Forces Canadiennes (BFC) Halifax et à la BFC Greenwood. Ces bases représentent environ 70 % de la consommation d’électricité du gouvernement fédéral dans la province.

Collaborer avec les autres provinces de l’Atlantique

Des discussions ont été entamées avec le Nouveau-Brunswick et l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard au printemps dernier. On prévoit également entamer des pourparlers avec Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador plus tard cette année au sujet d’éventuelles solutions d’électricité propre.

Date de modification :