Real Property-1

Public Services and Procurement Canada's (PSPC) Real Property Management and Project Delivery Services (RP-1)

As the Government of Canada's real estate expert, Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) manages a large and diverse real estate portfolio across the country.

PSPC must therefore ensure the provision of building maintenance services such as the operation, maintenance and management services for all mechanical, electrical systems and architectural components of the facilities and sites.

On November 7, 2014, following a full competitive procurement process, PSPC announced the awarding of six multi-year contracts to Brookfield Johnson Controls Canada LP for the delivery of diverse real property services, including the management of approximately 3,800 Crown-owned and leased buildings and assets across Canada (8 million m²).

On this page

History of building management of federal government properties

For decades, real property management and related services were directly provided by Government of Canada employees. In the mid-1990s, in response to multiple challenges such as fiscal constraint, downsizing objectives of program reviews and other reform initiatives, PSPC chose to focus on its strategic advisory and service management roles, while identifying a more efficient method of providing day-to-day operational services. To achieve this, PSPC initiated in 1998 the outsourcing of property management and project delivery services.

The first generation of real property services outsourced to the private sector involved 13 contracts competitively tendered and awarded to Brookfield LePage Johnson Controls (now known as Brookfield Johnson Controls Canada LP). These contracts were for the management of 300 PSPC office facilities across the country, representing 2.5 million square metres.

With the success of the first generation of contracts, the initiative was renewed in 2005. The second generation of Real Property Services Management contracts was competitively tendered and eight contracts were awarded to SNC-Lavalin ProFac (now known as SNC-Lavalin Operations and Maintenance Inc.). These contracts, which have an operational end date of March 31, 2015, are for the management of over 1,000 Crown facilities owned by PSPC, the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA), the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) and Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) across the country, representing a maximum managed space of 3.34 million square metres.

The awarding of the third generation of contracts through a fair, open and transparent procurement process is a successful example of PSPC's continuing transformation agenda, moving towards greater use of private sector expertise, with the objective of being more efficient and offering best value to Canadians.

The six competitively tendered contracts for the delivery of diverse real property services include the management of up to approximately 3,800 Crown facilities owned by PSPC, CBSA, RCMP and NRCan and leased facilities across Canada (8 million m²).

The Real Property Services Management contract award

After three years of extensive consultation with national and regional firms, PSPC posted a competitive Request for proposal between October 2013 and January 2014 on the Government Electronic Tendering Service. Industry, including industry associations and small and medium enterprises, was unanimous in recommending that market forces should prevail in selecting one or multiple firms based on the results obtained through a fair, open and transparent procurement process.

On November 7, 2014, following a fair, open and transparent procurement process, Brookfield Johnson Controls Canada LP was awarded six multi-year contracts for the provision of property management services, project delivery services, lease services and optional related real property services across Canada.

The initial contracts are for a period of up to eight years, at a total cost not to exceed $9.559 billion.

The contracts include options to extend the period by three additional two-year options.

The total potential value of the six contracts, including all optional services and all option years, is $22.8 billion.

Due to the nature of the work, many small and medium enterprises across the country will have access to the work through thousands of competitive subcontracting opportunities offered by the contractor. The contracts include a requirement that the contractor engage subcontractors through fair, open, transparent and competitive processes. In fact, about 50 per cent of the total value of the contracts will be subcontracted.

Why use the Real Property Management and Project Delivery Services model?

Real Property Services Management contracts leverage the private sector's ability to build human resources capacity and thus have the private-sector contractor absorb the risk related to the fluctuation of demand for real property services.

Leveraging the private sector contributes to key government priorities like achieving value for money, realizing efficiencies, eliminating duplication of efforts by the public and private sectors and fostering economic growth in Canada.

This model represents best value to Canadians. In fact, to date, PSPC has identified savings of $20 million per year as a result of the use of the private sector for the national delivery of real property services. The $20 million in costs savings related to the contracts awarded in 1998 has been permanently removed from PSPC's budget.

Furthermore, an additional $181 million for the first five years of the existing 2005 contracts was identified, bringing the total confirmed savings to $521 million.

Based on this information, the Department estimates additional savings of $181 million for the last five years of the 2005 contracts, which would bring the total confirmed and estimated savings from 1998 to 2015 to $702 million.

Additional efficiencies will be realized by increasing the number of properties covered by these contracts and enhancing PSPC's and other departments' access to maintenance and building management expertise.

Oversight measures in place for all PSPC contracts

While recognizing the value of leveraging the expertise of the private sector, PSPC maintains its commitment to due diligence and good stewardship through continually improving procurement practices. This is achieved through the use of fairness monitors, strong governance mechanisms and third-party expertise to ensure that all phases of the tender and award processes are conducted in an open, fair and transparent manner.

In this case, an independent third-party fairness monitor was engaged to observe the RP-1 procurement process and to attest to the fairness, openness and transparency of the process. The fairness monitor's services included reviewing relevant solicitation documents, monitoring communications with proponents and observing evaluation consensus meetings. The fairness monitor's reports concluded that the procurement was conducted in a fair, open and transparent manner and that equitable treatment was given to all bidders.

As the government's main buyer of goods and services, PSPC puts in place ongoing monitoring and continual improvement processes for the duration of its contracts. As part of this due diligence, PSPC has established numerous measures to ensure contract compliance and value for money. These measures include audits, inspections, performance measurement and reporting, internal controls over the approval of payments, and client satisfaction surveys.

Improving the process for Real Property Services Management contracts

In response to the recommendations of the various audits and reviews completed over the past few years, the government has implemented improvements to strengthen the management and controls of the Real Property Services Management contracts, including RP-1. These include the enhancement of the oversight framework; the development and application of tools to ensure that contractual obligations are met; the implementation of a performance delivery regime; and the use of monitoring and training activities to ensure consistency across regions and that procedures are well understood and applied systematically.

These improvements help ensure continued efficiency in the delivery of real property management services and value to Canadians.

Date modified:

Biens immobiliers-1

Services de gestion immobilière et de réalisation de projets (BI-1) de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC)

En tant qu'expert du gouvernement du Canada en matière de biens immobiliers, Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) gère un vaste portefeuille diversifié de biens immobiliers à l'échelle du pays.

SPAC doit donc assurer la prestation de services d'entretien des immeubles, comme des services liés au fonctionnement, à l'entretien et à la gestion de tous les systèmes mécaniques et électriques et composants architecturaux des installations et des sites.

Le 7 novembre 2014, au terme d'un processus entièrement concurrentiel, SPAC a annoncé l'attribution de six contrats pluriannuels à Brookfield Johnson Controls Canada LP pour la prestation de divers services immobiliers, y compris la gestion d'environ 3 800 biens appartenant à l'État et biens loués dans l'ensemble du Canada (pour une superficie de huit millions de mètres carrés).

Sure cette page

Historique de la gestion immobilière des propriétés du gouvernement fédéral

Pendant des décennies, la gestion immobilière et la prestation des services connexes étaient directement assurées par des employés du gouvernement du Canada. Dans le milieu des années 90, en réponse à plusieurs défis, tels que les restrictions budgétaires, les objectifs de réduction découlant des examens de programmes et d'autres initiatives de réforme, SPAC a choisi de mettre l'accent sur ses rôles en matière de consultation stratégique et de gestion des services, tout en trouvant un moyen plus efficient de fournir des services opérationnels courants. Pour atteindre ses objectifs, SPAC a amorcé, en 1998, l'impartition des services de gestion immobilière et de réalisation de projets.

La première génération de services immobiliers impartis au secteur privé comprenait treize contrats qui ont fait l'objet d'un processus d'approvisionnement concurrentiel et qui ont été attribués à l'entreprise Brookfield LePage Johnson Controls (aussi appelée Brookfield Johnson Controls Canada). Ces contrats visaient la gestion de 300 immeubles à bureaux de SPAC partout au pays, pour une superficie de 2,5 millions de mètres carrés.

Compte tenu de la réussite de la première génération de contrats, l'initiative a été renouvelée en 2005. La deuxième génération de contrats de services de gestion immobilière a fait l'objet d'un appel d'offres concurrentiel et huit contrats ont été octroyés à SNC-Lavalin ProFac (aussi appelé SNC-Lavalin Operations and Maintenance Inc.). Ces contrats, qui prendront fin le 31 mars 2015, visent la gestion de plus de 1 000 immeubles de l'État appartenant à SPAC, à l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC), à la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) et à Ressources naturelles Canada (RNCan) qui sont situés partout au pays et qui totalisent une superficie maximale de 3,34 millions de mètres carrés.

L'attribution de la troisième génération de contrats par l'entremise d'un processus d'approvisionnement juste, ouvert et transparent est un bon exemple du programme de transformation continue de SPAC, vers une utilisation accrue de l'expertise du secteur privé dans le but d'être plus efficient et de faire un usage optimal des fonds publics.

Les six contrats attribués par voie concurrentielle pour la prestation de divers services immobiliers portent notamment sur la gestion d'environ 3 800 immeubles appartenant à l'État (SPAC, ASFC, GRC et RNCan) et biens loués à l'échelle du Canada (pour une superficie totale de huit millions de mètres carrés).

Attribution des contrats de services de gestion immobilière

Après trois années de consultations intensives avec des entreprises nationales et régionales, SPAC a affiché une demande de propositions concurrentielle d'octobre 2013 à janvier 2014 sur le Service électronique d'appels d'offres du gouvernement. L'industrie, soit des associations industrielles et des petites et moyennes entreprises, a unanimement recommandé que les forces du marché prévalent en sélectionnant une ou plusieurs entreprises en fonction des résultats obtenus à la suite d'un processus d'approvisionnement juste, ouvert et transparent.

Le 7 novembre 2014, au terme d'un processus d'approvisionnement juste, ouvert et transparent, Brookfield Johnson Controls Canada LP a obtenu six contrats pluriannuels pour la prestation de services de gestion immobilière, de services de réalisation de projets, de services de location et de services immobiliers facultatifs à l'échelle du Canada.

La période des contrats initiaux est d'une durée maximale de huit ans, à un coût total de tout au plus 9,559 milliards de dollars.

Les contrats comprennent une option de prolongation de la période initiale de trois périodes supplémentaires de deux ans.

La valeur totale potentielle des six contrats, incluant tous les services facultatifs et toutes les années d'option, se chiffre à 22,8 milliards de dollars.

En raison de la nature des travaux, des centaines de petites et moyennes entreprises partout au pays pourront participer à des milliers de marchés concurrentiels de sous-traitance offerts par l'entrepreneur. Les contrats comprennent une exigence voulant que l'entrepreneur fasse appel à des sous-traitants au moyen de processus concurrentiels justes, ouverts et transparents. En fait, environ 50 % de la valeur totale des contrats sera donné en sous-traitance.

Pourquoi utiliser le modèle des services de gestion immobilière et de réalisation de projets?

Les contrats de services de gestion immobilière misent sur la capacité du secteur privé d'accroître le bassin de ressources humaines et font donc en sorte que l'entrepreneur du secteur privé absorbe le risque lié à la fluctuation de la demande de services immobiliers.

Ce recours au secteur privé contribue aux priorités clés du gouvernement, comme l'optimisation des ressources, les gains d'efficience, l'élimination du chevauchement des efforts par les secteurs public et privé et la promotion de la croissance économique au Canada.

Cela représente le meilleur rapport qualité-prix pour les Canadiens. À ce jour, SPAC a réalisé des économies de 20 millions de dollars par année en ayant recours au secteur privé pour la prestation de services immobiliers à l'échelle nationale. Les 20 millions de dollars d'économies attribuables aux contrats octroyés en 1998 ont été retirés à jamais du budget de SPAC.

De plus, on a réalisé des économies supplémentaires de 181 millions de dollars pour les cinq premières années des contrats actuels de 2005, portant le total des économies confirmées à 521 millions de dollars.

Faisant fond sur cette information, le Ministère prévoit réaliser des économies supplémentaires de 181 millions de dollars pour les cinq dernières années des contrats de 2005, ce qui porterait le total des économies confirmées et estimatives de 1998 à 2015 à 702 millions de dollars.

Des gains d'efficience supplémentaires seront réalisés en augmentant le nombre de propriétés incluses dans ces contrats et en améliorant l'accès de SPAC et d'autres ministères à une expertise en matière d'entretien et de gestion des immeubles.

Mesures de surveillance mises en œuvre pour tous les contrats de SPAC

Tout en reconnaissant la valeur du recours à l'expertise du secteur privé, SPAC maintient son engagement à faire preuve de diligence raisonnable et de bonne gérance au moyen de pratiques d'approvisionnement toujours meilleures. Pour ce faire, le Ministère fait appel à des surveillants de l'équité et à l'expertise de tierces parties et utilise de solides mécanismes de gouvernance pour s'assurer que toutes les étapes des processus d'appel d'offres et d'attribution de contrats sont justes, ouvertes et transparentes.

Dans ce cas-ci, SPAC a fait appel à un surveillant de l'équité de tierce partie indépendant pour observer le processus d'approvisionnement BI-1 et attester son caractère juste, ouvert et transparent. Le surveillant de l'équité devait notamment examiner les documents d'invitation pertinents, contrôler les communications avec les soumissionnaires et observer les réunions d'évaluation sur consensus. Dans ses rapports, le surveillant de l'équité a conclu que le processus d'approvisionnement avait été mené de manière juste, ouverte et transparente et que tous les soumissionnaires avaient fait l'objet d'un traitement équitable.

En tant que principal acheteur de biens et de services du gouvernement, SPAC met en place des processus de surveillance et d'amélioration continues pour toute la durée de ses contrats. Dans le cadre de cette diligence raisonnable, SPAC a établi de nombreuses mesures visant à assurer le respect des obligations contractuelles et l'optimisation des ressources. Entre autres mesures, notons des vérifications, des inspections, des évaluations du rendement et l'établissement de rapports, des contrôles internes sur l'approbation des paiements et des sondages sur la satisfaction des clients.

Amélioration du processus d'attribution de contrats de services de gestion immobilière

En réponse aux recommandations tirées des vérifications et des examens réalisés au cours des dernières années, le gouvernement a mis en œuvre des améliorations visant à renforcer et à préciser les de services de gestion immobilière, y compris BI-1. Au nombre de ces mesures d'amélioration, notons le perfectionnement du cadre de surveillance, la création et la mise en application d'outils visant à assurer le respect des obligations contractuelles, la mise en œuvre d'un régime de contrôle du rendement et l'utilisation d'activités de surveillance et de formation visant à garantir l'uniformité dans toutes les régions et à s'assurer que les procédures sont bien comprises et mises en pratique de manière systématique.

Ces améliorations aident à s'assurer de l'efficience constante de la prestation des services de gestion immobilière et de l'utilisation optimale des fonds publics.

Date de modification :