National Project Management System Continual Improvement Process

On this page

Process

The National Project Management System (NPMS) continual improvement process forms the basis of a quality management system and offers Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) the opportunity to become a world-class leader in effective and accountable project management. The process is designed for use by the project management community, as well as those in other business lines and encourages their participation. The continual improvement process is:

  • compulsory
  • user friendly
  • accessible to all
  • accompanied by sound document and record control
  • equipped with a central repository for change activities
  • linked to other project management initiatives
  • evaluated regularly
  • rigorously maintained and well supported

Enhancements to National Project Management System Documentation and Web Content

The NPMS documents are considered as 'living documents' and are subject to change. All NPMS documentation updates, including input to the NPMS Web site, are reviewed by the NPMS Continual Improvement Team Leaders of the Advisory & Practices (Project Delivery) Directorate within Real Property Branch (RPB) and the Project Delivery Office (PDO) in Information Technology Services Branch (ITSB). The following describe continual improvement governance for changes or updates to the NPMS:

  • In the case of changes which are considered consistent with the current intent of the NPMS documentation, the RP and ITS NPMS Continual Improvement Team Leaders can authorize updates to the NPMS
  • In the case of practices which remain solely within the mandate of a specific Directorate, with no cross-cutting implications, the associated Project Delivery Director in RP or ITS can approve documentation updates on the NPMS Web site
  • In cases where updates would have cross-cutting impacts, approvals are required from the RPB Project Management Improvement Steering Committee
  • In the case of approval of changes and improvements to the NPMS Directive for Real Property Projects, the RPB Policy Management Framework is applied

In addition, in order to ensure consistency and to benefit from lessons learned, the RP and ITS NPMS Continual Improvement Team Leaders ensure that changes and improvements to the RP stream or IT-Enabled stream are submitted to the Project Management Advisory Committee for review and input where they impact cross cutting NPMS framework and/or principles.

Real Property Regional Representatives are dedicated to the project management users of NPMS in their regions, while HQ Representatives (the NPMS Team Leaders, Content Managers and Web site Coordinator) are dedicated to content as it applies on a national basis. The vast majority of new or amended documentation can be quickly incorporated into the Web site.

National Project Management System Web site and Users

The main tool to facilitate the continual improvement process is the National Project Management System Web site and most changes are initiated by Web site users sending suggestions and feedback to the NPMS Content Managers in RP and ITS who maintain a 'Comments and Actions' report for continual improvement suggestions.

NPMS Web site users include all project management stakeholders involved in the delivery of real property projects and IT-enabled business projects who will use the NPMS Web site and model for regular project management activities. Users will keep abreast of NPMS developments by regularly visiting the National Project Management System Web site and reviewing recent developments, amendments and proposed changes. Users participate in the continual improvement process by providing suggestions and proposing improvements and recommendations for further consideration through their Regional Representative in the case of RP, or by sending an email to:

Recommendations for Improvement

Real Property User-initiated Recommendations

Real Property National Project Management System User

  • Requests the regional representative or Content Manager to consider an opportunity for improvement on a topic, process, task, etc.

Real Property National Project Management System Regional Representative/Content Manager

  • reviews request, assesses its merit and ensures its applicability to the NPMS
  • consults with other regional/branch stakeholders, regions or national staff as required and obtains regional manager concurrence
  • tables the request with the RPB Team Leader to seek a national review
  • where the request is deemed to have national impact, the Content Manager has the proposal translated and initiates action to obtain comments from all team members
  • where the request is approved, the Web site is amended accordingly by the Content Manager and Team members are notified of the revisions so they can revise other documents or processes affected by the change
  • where the request has a cross-cutting impact, the RPB Team Leader consults with the IT-E Team Leader who ensures other documents or processes are not affected by the change
  • in cases where the request is rejected/accepted at any stage, the regional representative notifies the user of the decision

Information Technology-Enabled User-initiated Recommendations

Information Technology-Enabled National Project Management System User

  • Emails a request to the NPMS IT-E Team Leader to consider an opportunity for improvement on a topic, process, task, etc.

Information Technology-Enabled National Project Management System Team Leader

  • reviews request, assesses its merit and ensures its applicability to the NPMS
  • consults with NPMS PDO Director and PMAC as required and obtains concurrence to make the suggested improvements
  • where the request is approved, the Web site is amended accordingly by the IT-E Content Manager
  • where the request has a cross-cutting impact, the IT-E NPMS Team Leader consults with the RP Team Leader; RP Team members are notified of the revisions so they can revise other documents or processes affected by the change
  • in cases where the request is rejected/accepted at any stage, the IT-E Team Leader notifies the user of the decision

Department-initiated Recommendations

The RP and IT-E Team Leaders will present the CI team and PMAC with a request for improvement or change as a result of a departmental organizational initiative, revised legislation etc.

Date modified:

Processus d'amélioration continue Système national de gestion de projet

Sur cette page

Processus

Le processus d'amélioration continue du Système national de gestion de projet (SNGP) constitue le point de départ d'un système de gestion de la qualité et donne l'occasion à Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) de devenir un chef de file de calibre mondial en efficacité et responsabilisation de la gestion de projet. Ce processus s'adresse aux membres de la communauté de la gestion de projet ainsi qu'à ceux qui travaillent dans d'autres secteurs d'activité, dont nous encourageons la participation. Le processus d'amélioration continue est :

  • obligatoire
  • convivial
  • accessible à tous
  • doublé d'un contrôle rigoureux des documents et des dossiers
  • doté d'un répertoire central pour les activités de changement
  • lié à d'autres initiatives de gestion de projet
  • évalué à intervalles réguliers
  • géré rigoureusement et étayé solidement

Améliorations apportées aux documents et au contenu Web du Système national de gestion de projet

Les documents du SNGP sont jugés « évolutifs »; ils peuvent donc être modifiés. Toutes les mises à jour des documents du SNGP, y compris les ajouts sur le site Web du SNGP, sont examinées par les chefs de l'équipe chargée de l'amélioration continue, laquelle relève de Conseils et Pratiques (Exécution de projets) des Biens immobiliers (BI) et du Bureau d'exécution des projets de la Direction générale des services d'infotechnologie (SIT). La méthode de gestion concernant les modifications ou mises à jour du SNGP est décrite ci-dessous :

  • Lorsqu'il s'agit de changements qui sont considérés comme conformes à l'intention actuelle des documents du SNGP, les chefs de l'équipe d'amélioration continue du SNGP (des BI et des SIT) peuvent autoriser les mises à jour du SNGP
  • Lorsqu'il s'agit de pratiques qui relèvent strictement du mandat d'une direction précise, et qu'elles n'ont aucune incidence générale, le directeur de l'exécution des projets des BI ou des SIT visé peut approuver la mise à jour des documents sur le site Web du SNGP
  • Par contre, lorsque les mises à jour peuvent avoir des répercussions globales, il faut obtenir les approbations nécessaires du Comité directeur de l'amélioration des projets des BI
  • Dans le cas de l'approbation de modifications et d'améliorations à la Directive relative au SNGP pour les projets immobiliers, elles sont approuvées conformément au cadre de gestion des politiques de la DGBI

De plus, afin de garantir l'uniformité et de profiter des leçons apprises, les chefs de l'équipe d'amélioration continue du SNGP (des BI et des SIT) s'assurent que les modifications et améliorations apportées au volet des projets immobiliers et au volet des projets opérationnels appuyés par les TI sont soumis au Conseil consultatif sur la gestion de projets aux fins d'examen et de commentaires lorsqu'elles ont des répercussions sur le cadre du SNGP ou les principes qui le sous-tendent.

Les représentants régionaux des BI sont responsables des utilisateurs du SNGP dans leur région, tandis que les représentants de l'administration centrale (les chefs de l'équipe du SNGP, les gestionnaires du contenu et le coordonnateur du site Web) sont responsables du contenu qui s'applique à l'échelle du pays. On peut rapidement intégrer sur le site Web la grande majorité des documents nouveaux ou modifiés.

Le site Web et les utilisateurs du Système national de gestion de projet

Le site Web du Système national de gestion de projet constitue le principal outil qui vise à faciliter le processus d'amélioration continue, et la majorité des modifications découlent de suggestions et de commentaires faits par les utilisateurs du site Web aux gestionnaires de contenu du SNGP de la DGBI et de la DGSIT, lesquels rédigent un rapport de « commentaires et de suivi » concernant les suggestions relatives à l'amélioration continue.

Par utilisateurs du site Web du SNGP, on entend les intervenants qui prennent part à la réalisation de projets immobiliers et de projets opérationnels appuyés par les TI qui se serviront du site Web et du modèle du SNGP pour les activités régulières de gestion de projets. Ils se tiendront au courant du développement du SNGP en visitant régulièrement le site Web du Système national de gestion de projet et en passant en revue les récents travaux de développement, les modifications et les changements proposés. Ils participent au processus d'amélioration continue en faisant des suggestions, en proposant des améliorations et en formulant des recommandations à examiner par l'entremise de leur représentant régional, dans le cas de la DGBI, ou en envoyant un courriel au :

Recommandations pour les améliorations

Améliorations recommandées par les utilisateurs de la Direction générale des biens immobiliers

Utilisateurs du Système national de gestion de projet pour les projets immobiliers

  • Demandent au représentant régional ou au gestionnaire du contenu d'étudier une possibilité d'amélioration portant sur un sujet, un processus ou une tâche en particulier

Représentant régional/gestionnaire du contenu du Système national de gestion de projet de la Direction générale des biens immobiliers

  • Examine la demande, en évalue le bien-fondé et s'assure qu'elle s'applique au SNGP
  • consulte au besoin les autres intervenants régionaux/de la DG, les autres régions ou le personnel de l'administration centrale, et obtient l'approbation du gestionnaire régional
  • soumet sa demande au chef d'équipe de la DGBI pour lui demander de procéder à un examen national
  • lorsqu'on estime que la demande a une incidence nationale, le gestionnaire du contenu fait traduire la proposition et prend les mesures nécessaires pour obtenir les commentaires de tous les membres de l'équipe
  • lorsque la demande est approuvée, le gestionnaire du contenu modifie le site Web en conséquence et fait connaître aux membres de l'équipe les révisions apportées pour qu'ils puissent réviser les autres documents ou processus touchés par les changements;
  • lorsque la demande a des répercussions importantes ou globales, le chef d'équipe de la DGBI consulte le chef d'équipe des projets appuyés par les TI qui s'assure que la modification n'affectera pas d'autres documents ou processus
  • lorsque la demande est rejetée ou acceptée, peu importe l'étape, le représentant régional fait connaître la décision aux utilisateurs.

Améliorations recommandées par les utilisateurs pour les projets opérationnels appuyés par les technologie de l'information

Utilisateurs du Système national de gestion de projet pour les projets opérationnels appuyés par les technologie de l'information

  • Envoient un courriel au chef d'équipe des projets opérationnels appuyés par les TI lui demandant d'étudier une possibilité d'amélioration portant sur un sujet, un processus ou une tâche en particulier.

Chef de l'équipe du Système national de gestion de projet des services d'infotechnologie

  • Examine la demande, en évalue le bien-fondé et s'assure qu'elle s'applique au SNGP
  • consulte au besoin le directeur du BEP du SNGP et le CCGP afin d'obtenir l'approbation d'effectuer les modifications proposées
  • lorsque la demande est approuvée, le gestionnaire du contenu des projets opérationnels appuyés par les TI modifie le site Web en conséquence;
  • lorsque la demande a des répercussions importantes ou globales, le chef d'équipe des SIT consulte le chef d'équipe des BI. Les membres de l'équipe du SNGP des BI sont avisés des modifications afin qu'ils puissent réviser les autres documents ou processus affectés par la modification
  • lorsque la demande est rejetée ou acceptée, peu importe l'étape, le chef d'équipe des SIT fait connaître la décision aux utilisateurs.

Améliorations recommandées par le Ministère

Les chefs de l'équipe du SNGP des SIT et des BI présentent à l'équipe d'amélioration continue (EAC) et au CCGP les demandes d'amélioration ou de changement qui résultent des initiatives organisationnelles du Ministère, de la révision des lois, et ainsi de suite.

Date de modification :