Knowledge Areas

Archived Content

The National Project Management System has been replaced by Project Navigator effective October 15, 2021. Therefore, this page has been archived and will be taken down in 2024.


The Real Property Branch has incorporated project management knowledge areas as a component of its National Project Management System. These knowledge areas describe project management knowledge and practice within the context of the Treasury Board Policy on the Management of Projects and the Project Management Institute's Body of Knowledge. These processes have been organized into thirteen knowledge areas as follows:

  • Integration Management
  • Scope Management
  • Time Management
  • Cost Management
  • Quality Management
  • Human Resource Management
  • Communications Management
  • Risk Management
  • Procurement Management
  • Safety Management
  • Environmental Management
  • Financial Management
  • Claims Management
  • Stakeholder management

The deliverables of each of these knowledge areas must be updated in the Project Plan at each phase of the project as per the National Project Management System knowledge matrix.

Knowledge Area Toolkit

Date modified: