Roles and responsibilities for project teams

Guidelines for space/asset projects

Project teams – General information

Project Teams are an internal vehicle for the communication of pertinent and essential information relative to the development, implementation and ongoing activities of a project.

The purpose of these guidelines is to provide clarity to the concept of project teams and the roles and responsibilities of various project team members.

The size and make-up of project teams is determined by the Project Leader (or Project Manager in the case of Other Government Departments (OGD) projects) based on the size, complexity and type of real property project. Project team position titles may also vary; however, the following descriptions represent typical position titles and primary roles and responsibilities.

Public Services and Procurement Canada team members

Project Leader

The Project Leader represents the interests of the Real Property Branch or the key sponsor on the project team. For space projects, the Project Leader is typically the Accommodation Manager/Client Accommodation Service Advisor (CASA). For asset projects in a crown owned building where Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) is the custodian, the Project Leader is typically the Property Manager. For Major Crown Projects, Project Directors represent the Project Leader. Finally, for OGD asset projects, the client department representative acts as the project leader.

They are accountable for all aspects of the project and are responsible to lead the project through the entire National Project Management System (NPMS) lifecycle from the Inception Stage to the Delivery Stage close out, seek approval and funding to implement the project and overall leadership of the project team. This includes on-going monitoring to ensure the project is within funding approval levels with support of financial analyst. Responsibilities may include:

Accommodation Manager/Client Accommodation Service Advisor

The Accommodation Manager/Client Accommodation Service Advisor (CASA) serves as a liaison between the client department and PSPC, and should be intimately familiar with the operations, culture and needs of the occupant department. The Accommodation Manager/CASA is instrumental in assisting, and articulating client operational/space requirements to the Project Team. Often the Accommodation Manager/CASA plays the role of Project Leader. Responsibilities as a project team member may include:

Project Manager

The Project Manager is responsible for carrying out the more detailed day-to-day management of project activities. These responsibilities include:

Architecture and Engineering Design Manager

The Design Manager is primarily responsible for providing strategic and technical design advice in the development and delivery of projects, ensuring the design service requirements of the project are of a level and quality that meet stakeholder expectations. Responsibilities include, without being limited to:

Architecture and Engineering Subject Matter Technical Expert

The subject matter experts ensure that the technical and conceptual design aspects of projects are well defined and correctly expressed and communicated. They protect the best interests of the Crown and ensure that requirements are compliant with Client and departmental standards, with technical regulatory requirements, and with codes and standards. They ensure, through quality assurance and quality control processes that service providers and consultants understand and apply these requirements at all stages of the project.

Leasing Officer

The Leasing Officer is responsible for the space acquisition process for leased accommodation. These responsibilities may include:

Acquisitions—Supply Officer/Specialist

The Acquisitions Supply Officer/Specialist provides advice/guidance on the procurement tools available (e.g. Standing Offers and Supply Arrangements, Buyandsell) for the various categories of services and office furniture and furnishings. These responsibilities may include:

Key accountabilities of the Acquisitions Real Property Contracting Officer can be found in the Procurement Management Manual – Accountability Framework for the Management of Real Property Contracting Footnote 1.

Asset/Property and Facilities Manager

Asset/Property and Facility Managers are responsible for the management of property and facility operations and maintenance in Crown-owned, leased or custodial assets/facilities. Their responsibilities may include:

Appraiser

Appraisers provide valuation and appraisal expertise to PSPC and OGDs when completing Real Property transactions such as buying and selling property, leasing space, and evaluating whether it is the crown's best interest to build, buy, or lease. The unit also provides internal stakeholders valuable appraisal and valuation services that are required when preparing reports such as Asset Management Plans and IARs. Responsibilities include:

Owner Investor/Financial Analyst

Owner Investor is the internal Real Property Branch (RPB) "banker" which interfaces and arranges for funding transfers from HQ to the region, and then works with internal regional stakeholders to transfer the required funding allotments required for RPS program delivery. Responsibilities include:

Move Officer (if used)

The PSPC move officer provides specific technical assistance to the project team and stakeholders in preparing and implementing all personnel, furniture and equipment moves.

Client

The PSPC Accommodation Manager normally represents the client in the Inception and Identification stage. Client should be engaged for preliminary space plan sign-off and to provide detailed requirements for cabling, security, and furniture throughout design review and project delivery stage.

Commissioning Manager

The roles and responsibilities for PSPC Commissioning Manager may include:

Appendix A—Project team meetings

Note:

Scalability statement: The guidelines presented in this section are "ideal" and are not intended to be applied verbatim for every project. The level of detail and effort used is directly proportionate to the size and complexity of the individual project and/or the project team.

Meeting defined: Similar to the above statement, the term "meeting" can mean many project team members sitting around a boardroom table, or it can mean an electronic dialogue recorded between two members of the project team – It all depends on the scalability required.

The project team start-up meeting (see Appendix B—Project Team Start-up Meeting Agenda) should be held at the Inception Stage, or as soon as possible after the receipt of the client requirements or the identification of a potential project. Project team members' participation should be determined based on the size, scope, cost and complexity of the project.

Subsequent project team progress meetings and project delivery meetings (see Appendix C—Project Team Progress Meeting Agenda) should be held during other stages/phases of project delivery. Care should be taken to ensure that project team member participation at these meetings is appropriate to the purpose of the meeting at the relevant stage/phase of the project.

Project teams should endeavor to meet at the following stages/phases of the project:

Project inception – Project Leader: Typical chair

  1. After finalization and sign off of the Statement of Requirements (SoR).

Project identification – Project Leader: Typical chair

  1. Prior to finalization and sign off of the Preliminary Project Plan
  2. Prior to finalization and sign off of the Preliminary Project Complexity and Risk Assessment for projects over $1M
  3. Prior to finalization and sign off of the Feasibility Report and/or Investment Analysis Report (IAR).

Project delivery – Project Manager: Typical chair

  1. After Lease award (if applicable); or prior to finalization and sign off of the Project Management Plan
  2. Monthly to review scope, schedule and budget during fit-up
  3. Regularly throughout project implementation
  4. At project completion

Appendix B—Project team start-up meeting agenda

The following is a sample template for the first internal PSPC project team start-up meeting. This meeting is intended to review information on the project Planned Lease Activity Report (PLAR), Building Management Plan (BMP), Asset Management Plan (AMP) and Client Requirements Checklist, clarify/identify team members' roles and responsibilities, and discuss project requirements, schedule, service delivery options, and anticipated risks.

Depending on the complexity of the project, the suggested agenda items may be deleted and/or added to, and may need to be covered in two or more meetings.

Agenda

  1. Introductions
  2. Project Background Information (Review of PLAR, BMP and AMP)
  3. Client Accommodation Requirements Questionnaire Review (If questionnaire is not available, schedule another meeting to review it) if space based.
    1. Project Start Date and Term
    2. Amount of space requested
    3. General Purpose
    4. Special Purpose Space
    5. Full-time Employees (FTE)
    6. Non-Compliant Request
    7. Geographic Boundaries
    8. Technical Requirements (Floor loading, generator, other)
    9. Workstations, Screens/Furniture (Requirements and procurement strategy)
    10. Accessibility – Issues
    11. Security
    12. Cleaning
    13. Additional Items?
  4. Roles and Responsibilities
  5. Anticipated Project Issues
  6. Any Anticipated Project Risks
  7. Space Acquisition Process (if space based)
  8. Project Budget, Funding and Project Approvals (levels, process, etc.) – Estimate/range only
  9. Project Schedule (and contingencies)
  10. Next Steps
  11. Project Team Meetings/Teleconferences Schedule (time, location, etc)
  12. Additional Items

Appendix C—Project team progress meeting agenda

The following is a sample template for subsequent internal PSPC project team progress meetings. These meetings are intended to review project matters and progress relative to scope, schedule and budget.

Depending on the complexity of the project, the suggested agenda items may be deleted and/or added to.

Project team meeting sample template

  1. Review Records of Decision (ROD)/Action Items from Previous Meetings
  2. Project Approval Status and Amount
  3. Project Funding vs Project Expenditures
    • Year To Date (YTD)/Commitments/Forecast
    • Total Project (Multi Year Expenditures/Forecast)
  4. Project Schedule
  5. Project Scope
  6. Resource Requirements/Capacity
  7. Project Documents (Depending on Phase and complexity, may include documents such as: SoR, Feasibility Report, Project Plan, IAR, Design, Drawings, Change Orders, etc.)
  8. Project Issues/Roadblocks
Date modified:

Rôles et responsabilités des équipes de projet

Sur cette page

Lignes directrices pour les projets relatifs aux locaux et aux biens

Équipes de projet – Renseignements généraux

Les équipes de projet représentent un véhicule de communication interne de renseignements pertinents et essentiels relatifs à l'élaboration et à la réalisation de projets et d'activités continues connexes.

Les présentes lignes directrices visent à préciser le concept des équipes de projet ainsi que les rôles et les responsabilités des membres de celles-ci.

La taille et la composition des équipes responsables de projets sont déterminées par le chef de projet (ou le gestionnaire de projet dans le cas des projets financés par d'autres ministères) et varient selon l'importance, la complexité et le type de projet immobilier. Le rôle des membres des équipes de projet peut aussi varier. Toutefois, les descriptions ci-dessous correspondent aux rôles et aux responsabilités clés de postes courants.

Membres de l'équipe de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Chef de projet

Le chef de projet représente les intérêts de la Direction générale des biens immobiliers (DGBI) ou du principal parrain au sein de l'équipe de projet. Pour les projets relatifs aux locaux, le chef de projet est habituellement un gestionnaire des locaux ou un conseiller, Services aux clients. Pour les projets relatifs aux biens dans un bâtiment de la Couronne dont Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) est responsable, le chef de projet est habituellement un gestionnaire immobilier. Pour les grands projets de l'État, le directeur de projet représente le chef de projet. Finalement, pour les projets relatifs aux biens et financés par d'autres ministères, le représentant du ministère client agit comme chef de projet.

Le chef de projet est responsable de tous les aspects du projet et de la direction de celui-ci durant le cycle de vie du Système national de gestion de projet (SNGP), de l'étape de début jusqu'à la clôture de l'étape de réalisation de projet. Il doit aussi obtenir l'approbation et le financement nécessaires à la réalisation du projet et doit assurer le leadership global de l'équipe de projet. Pour ce faire, il effectue une surveillance continue du projet afin de s'assurer, avec l'aide d'un analyste financier, que le niveau de financement approuvé est respecté. Il peut avoir, entre autres, comme responsabilité :

Gestionnaire des locaux/Conseiller, Services aux clients

Le gestionnaire des locaux/CSC assure une liaison entre le ministère client et SPAC et doit posséder une connaissance approfondie des activités, de la culture et des besoins du ministère occupant. Il joue un rôle de premier plan pour ce qui est de communiquer à l'équipe de projet les exigences du client en matière d'opérations et de locaux et de contribuer à leur atteinte. De plus, le gestionnaire des locaux/CSC assume souvent les tâches du chef de projet. Il peut avoir, entre autres, comme responsabilité :

Gestionnaire de projet

Le gestionnaire de projet est chargé de gérer quotidiennement et de façon plus détaillée les activités liées au projet. Il peut avoir, entre autres, comme responsabilité :

Gestionnaire de la conception des services d'architecture et de génie

Le gestionnaire de la conception est principalement responsable de fournir des conseils stratégiques et techniques relatifs au développement et à la réalisation de projets et de s'assurer que les exigences en matière de services de conception de projet sont d'une qualité qui satisfait aux attentes des intervenants. Il peut avoir, entre autres, comme responsabilité :

Expert technique des services d'architecture et de génie

L'expert technique est chargé de s'assurer que les aspects techniques et conceptuels du projet sont bien définis et bien communiqués. Il protège les intérêts supérieurs de l'État et veille à ce que les exigences soient conformes aux normes du client et du Ministère, aux exigences réglementaires techniques, aux codes et aux normes connexes. Il s'assure, par l'intermédiaire du processus d'assurance et de contrôle de la qualité, que les fournisseurs de services et les experts-conseils comprennent et appliquent ces règlements à toutes les étapes du projet.

Agent de location

L'agent de location est responsable du processus d'acquisition de locaux loués. Il peut avoir, entre autres, comme responsabilité :

Approvisionnements – Agent ou spécialiste des approvisionnements

L'agent ou le spécialiste des approvisionnements fournit des conseils et des directives au sujet des outils d'approvisionnement disponibles (par exemple les offres à commandes, les arrangements en matière d'approvisionnement, Achatsetventes) par rapport aux diverses catégories de services, de mobilier et d'ameublement de bureau. Il peut avoir, entre autres, comme responsabilité :

Un résumé des principales responsabilités de l'agent de négociation des marchés de l'Attribution des marchés immobiliers se trouve dans le Manuel de la gestion des approvisionnements – Cadre de responsabilisation pour la gestion des marchés immobiliers Note de bas de page 1.

Gestionnaire des biens et gestionnaire des immeubles et des installations

Le gestionnaire des biens et le gestionnaire des immeubles et des installations sont chargés de gérer le fonctionnement et l'entretien des immeubles et des installations appartenant à l'État, loués ou sous la garde d'un ministère. Ils peuvent avoir, entre autres, comme responsabilité :

Évaluateur

L'évaluateur offre une expertise en matière d'évaluation à SPAC et aux autres ministères lorsqu'ils exécutent des opérations immobilières, comme l'achat et la vente de biens, la location de locaux et l'évaluation d'une construction, d'un achat ou d'une location pour déterminer si cela est dans l'intérêt supérieur de l'État. Il fournit également aux intervenants internes de précieux services d'évaluation qui sont requis pour préparer des documents comme le Plan de gestion des biens immobiliers (PGBI) et le RAI. Il peut avoir, entre autres, comme responsabilité :

Propriétaire-investisseur/Analyste financier

Le groupe de propriétaire-investisseur est le « banquier » interne de la DGBI qui assure les transferts de fonds entre l'administration centrale et les régions et qui travaille avec les intervenants régionaux afin de transférer le financement alloué qui est nécessaire à la réalisation du programme de la DGBI. Il peut avoir, entre autres, comme responsabilité :

Agent de déménagement (si nécessaire)

L'agent de déménagement de SPAC offre une aide technique particulière à l'équipe de projet et aux intervenants pour préparer et mener à bien la réinstallation de tous les employés, du mobilier et des équipements.

Client

Le gestionnaire des locaux de SPAC représente habituellement le client durant les étapes de début et d'identification de projet. On doit demander au client d'autoriser le plan de gestion des locaux préliminaire et de fournir des exigences détaillées en ce qui concerne le câblage, la sécurité et le mobilier tout au long de l'examen de la conception et de l'étape de réalisation de projet.

Gestionnaire de la mise en service

Le gestionnaire de la mise en service de SPAC peut avoir, entre autres, comme rôle et responsabilité :

Gestionnaire du changement – Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada ou projets d’autres ministères

La principale responsabilité du gestionnaire du changement est de créer et de mettre en oeuvre des stratégies et des plans de gestion du changement qui maximisent l’adoption et l’utilisation des changements de la part des employés, et qui minimisent la résistance face à ces changements, pour ainsi s’assurer que le projet de transformation du milieu de travail atteint ses objectifs. Le gestionnaire du changement travaille également à encourager une adoption plus rapide et une utilisation ultime plus importante du milieu de travail.

Gestionnaire du changement – Conseiller en gestion du changement de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada
(Unité des solutions en milieu de travail de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada)

Fournit une expertise en gestion du changement aux ministères qui modernisent leur milieu de travail. De façon générale, le conseiller en gestion du changement de SPAC travaille directement avec le gestionnaire du changement du client.

Annexe A – Réunions de l'équipe de projet

Remarques

Énoncé sur l'extensibilité : Les lignes directrices présentées dans la présente section sont pour des réunions typiques; on ne s'attend pas à ce qu'elles soient appliquées textuellement pour chaque projet. Le niveau de détails et d'efforts est directement proportionnel à l'envergure et à la complexité de chaque projet ou de l'équipe de projet.

Définition d'une réunion : Dans le même ordre d'idées que l'énoncé ci-dessus, le terme « réunion » peut représenter une rencontre entre de nombreux membres de l'équipe de projet dans une salle de réunion ou simplement une conversation électronique entre deux membres de l'équipe. Tout dépend de l'extensibilité requise.

La réunion de lancement de l'équipe de projet (voir l'Annexe B – Ordre du jour de la réunion de lancement de l'équipe de projet) doit être tenue lors de l'étape de début de projet ou dès que possible après la réception des exigences du client ou l'identification d'un éventuel projet. La participation des membres de l'équipe de projet doit être établie selon l'envergure, la portée, les coûts et la complexité du projet.

Les réunions subséquentes sur l'avancement du projet et sur la réalisation du projet (voir l'Annexe C – Ordre du jour des réunions d'avancement de l'équipe de projet) doivent être tenues durant les autres étapes ou phases du projet. On doit s'assurer que la participation des membres de l'équipe de projet aux réunions correspond à l'objectif de ces réunions tenues durant les étapes ou phases pertinentes du projet.

Les membres de l'équipe de projet doivent tenter de se réunir durant les étapes ou phases de projet ci-dessous.

Début de projet – président habituel : chef de projet

  1. Après l'achèvement et l'approbation de l'énoncé des exigences.

Identification de projet – président habituel : chef de projet

  1. Avant l'achèvement et l'approbation du plan préliminaire de projet.
  2. Avant l'achèvement et l'approbation de l'Évaluation de la complexité et des risques du projet préliminaire pour les projets dont la valeur est supérieure à un million de dollars.
  3. Avant l'achèvement et l'approbation du rapport de faisabilité et/ou du RAI.

Réalisation de projet – président habituel : gestionnaire de projet

  1. Après l'attribution du contrat de location (le cas échéant) ou avant l'achèvement et l'approbation du plan de gestion de projet.
  2. Chaque mois durant la période d'aménagement, afin d'examiner la portée, le calendrier et le budget.
  3. Périodiquement durant la mise en œuvre du projet.
  4. Lors de l'achèvement du projet.

Annexe B – Ordre du jour de la réunion de lancement de l'équipe de projet

Voici un modèle d'ordre du jour de la réunion de lancement de l'équipe de projet de SPAC. Cette réunion vise à examiner les renseignements sur le Rapport sur les activités de location planifiées (RALP) du projet, le Plan de gestion des immeubles (PGI), le Plan de gestion des biens immobiliers (PGBI) et la liste de vérification des besoins du client. Les rôles et les responsabilités des membres de l'équipe doivent aussi être établis ou précisés, et on doit également discuter des exigences du projet, du calendrier, des options pour la prestation de services et des risques prévus.

Selon la complexité du projet, des points à l'ordre du jour proposé peuvent être supprimés, ajoutés ou échelonnés sur plusieurs réunions.

Ordre du jour

  1. Présentations
  2. Renseignements contextuels sur le projet (examen du RALP, du PGI et du PGBI)
  3. Examen du Questionnaire sur les besoins en locaux du client, si le projet concerne des locaux (si le questionnaire n'est pas disponible, on doit organiser une autre réunion pour l'examiner).
    1. Date de début et de fin du projet
    2. Superficie de locaux demandée
    3. Objectif général
    4. Locaux à usage particulier
    5. Équivalents temps plein
    6. Demandes de non-conformité
    7. Limites géographiques
    8. Exigences techniques (surcharge du plancher, génératrice, etc.)
    9. Postes de travail, cloisons et mobilier (exigences et stratégie d'approvisionnement)
    10. Questions d'accessibilité
    11. Sécurité
    12. Nettoyage
    13. Autres questions
  4. Rôles et responsabilités
  5. Problèmes prévus dans le cadre du projet
  6. Risques prévus dans le cadre du projet
  7. Processus d'acquisition de locaux (si le projet concerne des locaux)
  8. Budget, financement et approbations du projet (niveaux, processus, etc.) – estimation et portée seulement
  9. Calendrier du projet (et éventualités)
  10. Prochaines étapes
  11. Calendrier des réunions ou des téléconférences de l'équipe de projet (heure, lieu, etc.)
  12. Points supplémentaires

Annexe C – Ordre du jour des réunions d'avancement de l'équipe de projet

Voici un modèle d'ordre du jour de la réunion d'avancement de l'équipe de projet de SPAC. Lors de ces réunions, les membres visent à examiner les questions liées au projet et l'avancement de celui-ci par rapport à la portée, au calendrier et au budget.

Selon la complexité du projet, des points à l'ordre du jour proposé peuvent être supprimés ou ajoutés.

Modèle d'ordre du jour de réunion de l'équipe de projet

  1. Examen du compte rendu des décisions et des mesures de suivi de la dernière réunion
  2. Le point sur l'approbation de projet et montant de celle-ci
  3. Dépenses et financement relatifs au projet
    • Cumul annuel, engagements, prévisions
    • Totaux (dépenses et prévisions pluriannuelles)
  4. Calendrier du projet
  5. Portée du projet
  6. Exigences et capacité en matière de ressources
  7. Documents relatifs au projet (selon la phase et la complexité du projet, ces documents peuvent consister en l'énoncé des exigences, le rapport de faisabilité, le plan de projet, le RAI, la conception, les dessins, les autorisations de modification, etc.)
  8. Problèmes et obstacles relatifs au projet

Notes de bas de page

Date de modification :