Safety Management

Archived Content

The National Project Management System has been replaced by Project Navigator effective October 15, 2021. Therefore, this page has been archived and will be taken down in 2024.

Description

Safety management is the component of the Project Plan concerned with the prevention, mitigation and resolution of safety issues on real property project construction sites including the strategies and processes to mitigate related risks.

Objective

to ensure that real property construction sites are safe and that persons granted access to Crown construction projects are provided with the full protection afforded them by the prescribed occupational health and safety legislation.

Real Property Context

Health and safety on construction sites is an important component of the department's occupational health and safety program and a major responsibility of the project manager. Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) has developed a construction health and safety program to ensure adherence to the Canada Labour Code—Part II, Canada Occupational Safety and Health Regulations and promote voluntary compliance with the provincial / territorial construction occupational health and safety acts and regulations. Safety management applies to all employees of PSPC whose duties relate to the management and administration of federal government construction projects.

Due to the nature and complexity of safety management issues, project managers (PM) should ensure that a Construction Safety Coordinator is included on project teams early in the planning stages of projects (based upon size and complexity of projects). Construction Safety Coordinators can advise PM's on their due diligence including contract specifications, hazard assessment, site specific safety plan reviews, construction meetings, monitoring and assistance in completing contractor performance evaluation reports etc. to ensure that legislative safety issues are met.

Safety Management Toolkit

Related Documents

Date modified:

Gestion de la sécurité

Contenu archivé

Le Système national de gestion de projet a été remplacé par le Navigateur de projet depuis le 15 octobre 2021. Cette page est donc archivée et sera supprimée en 2024.

Description

La gestion de la sécurité est le volet du plan de projet qui concerne la prévention, la diminution et la résolution des problèmes de sécurité sur les chantiers de construction pour les projets des Biens immobiliers, y compris les stratégies et les processus d'atténuation des risques reliés.

Objectif

s'assurer que les chantiers de construction des Biens immobiliers sont des zones sécuritaires et que les personnes autorisées à accéder aux chantiers de l'État sont équipées avec tout le matériel de protection nécessaire, tel que prescrit par la législation de la santé et la sécurité au travail.

Contexte des Biens immobiliers

La santé et la sécurité sur les chantiers de construction est un volet important du programme de la santé et de la sécurité du Ministère et une responsabilité importante du gestionnaire de projet. Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) a développé un programme à ce sujet, pour se conformer au Code canadien du travail – partie II, Règlement canadien sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et pour favoriser la conformité volontaire avec les actes et les règlements de la santé et de la sécurité provinciale/territoriale. La gestion de la sécurité s'applique à tous les employés de SPAC dont les fonctions sont reliées à la gestion et à l'administration des projets de construction du gouvernement fédéral.

En raison de la nature et de la complexité des questions reliées à la gestion de la sécurité, les gestionnaires de projet (GP) doivent s'assurer qu'un Coordonnateur de la sécurité en construction est intégré à l'équipe de projet dès la planification d'un projet (selon son envergure et sa complexit). Les Coordonnateurs de la sécurité en construction peuvent conseiller les GP sur leur diligence raisonnable, y compris les devis de marché, l'évaluation des dangers, les révisions de plan de sécurité, les réunions de construction, le suivi et l'aide pour compléter les rapports d'évaluation du rendement de l'entrepreneur, etc., pour s'assurer que les questions légales en sécurité sont respectées.

Trousse d'outils – Gestion de la sécurité

Documents connexes

Date de modification :