Other Government Department Design-Bid-Build Projects Roadmap

Delivery Stage

Introduction

This Other Government Department (OGD) Design-Bid-Build (DBB) Projects Roadmap is based on the main activities and tasks required to manage the delivery of design and construction projects that are funded by Other Government Department (OGDs), and executed under two separate contracts. The DBB delivery methodology involves planning, architecture and engineering design by consultant or Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC), followed by the procurement of a contractor to construct the project based upon the design. As an OGD project, the Client is the project financial authority and PSPC the project contractual authority responsible for the management and administration of consultant and construction contracts, and the services, activities and tasks required to deliver the project during the National Project Management System (NPMS) Delivery Stage.

The roadmap is not intended to cover in detail all activities related to the DBB process, but rather provides a high level overview for the Project Delivery Stage activities from the time that Preliminary Project Approval (PPA)/Client Approval has been obtained from the Client. For the purposes of this roadmap, PPA and Effective Project Approval (EPA)/Client Approval shall come to mean;

The roadmap is intended to be used as a guide for those having the role of Client Project Leader or PSPC Project Manager. Relevant links are indicated for specific business line information, processes and templates to be used.

NPMS Project Delivery Stage procedures apply to all Other Government Departments (OGD) funded projects over $1M total value (including GST or HST and excluding any client costs). For projects under this limit, NPMS principles remain applicable; however the level of effort and extent of documentation will vary depending upon a number of factors including the project size and complexity as well as the sensitivity of the project. For projects less than $1M total value, see the principles of the National Project Management System methodology (page available on Government of Canada network only).

Project Delivery Stage

Planning Phase

Objective for Planning phase

The purpose of the Planning Phase is to confirm the quality and completeness of the existing project information in an effort to develop and organize the project delivery strategy.

Description of the work for Planning phase

During this phase, all Client parameters of the project are reviewed, and an initial and a follow up agreement reached between the Client Project Leader and the PSPC Project Manager. The initial agreement, a Project Charter (PC), acknowledges receipt of the Client's project request, identifies key Client objectives with respect to project scope, cost/budget and schedule, and identifies other key parameters typical to any project delivered by PSPC. The follow up agreement, a Project Management Plan (PMP), defines further the project scope and objectives, details all required project activities, and identifies how the project is to be executed, monitored and controlled during the Delivery Stage.

Inputs for Planning phase

Activities / Tasks for Planning phase

  1. Start-up
    1. Identify and obtain requirements
    2. Secure Functional/Technical Program (if available)
    3. Complete Environmental Compliance Management Program (ECMP) Checklist, (to determine if EA is required)
    4. Assess and document the duty to consult with Aboriginal groups, confirm the OGDs involved are aware of their duties and, ideally, propose a common approach to the consultation process with these OGDs. If required, contact Legal Services for advice and establish an action plan.
    5. Define Project Team
    6. Create Project File, Document Storage and Financial Management structures
    7. Create Project Charter and Specific Service Agreement (SSA)
  2. Define Project Delivery
    1. Confirm Functional/Technical Program
    2. Define Consultant Scope of Work
    3. Consider Components of the Project Brief (Terms of Reference)
    4. Create Risk Management Plan (if required)
    5. Create Project Management Plan
    6. Complete Planning Phase Checklist

Outputs for Planning phase

Deliverable for Planning phase

Control Point for Planning phase

Design Phase

Objective for Design phase

The purpose of the Design Phase is to undertake the following: all work required to prepare for and to award relevant Consultant contract/s to the most qualified firm/s, refinement of the design Consultant’s proposed and approved Schematic/Concept Design into substantive Design Development, and completion of specification documents in support of a submission for EPA/Client Approval. This level of submission will typically require amendments to other planning documents that identify preliminary projections of time, cost, quality, risk and perhaps scope. All completed documents are compiled to form the basis for a submission for EPA/Client Approval, and this approval is required in order to proceed with tendering of the Construction Contract.

Description of the Work for Design phase

During this phase, the utilization and procurement of required internal and external resources makes way for development of the design and construction drawings and specifications. Monitoring and controlling of project activities, including reviews, approvals and risk assessments are critical during this phase of delivery. Effective Project Approval (EPA)/Client Approval is sought upon completion and assembly of all estimates, documents and plans required to be provided in support of the approval submission.

Inputs

Activities / Tasks for Design phase

  1. Procure Consultant Services
    1. Write Project Brief (Terms of Reference)
    2. Update previous or Create Risk Management Plan (RMP)
    3. Provide input to ensure PAAA (Pre-Approved Amount for Anticipated Amendments) completed for Consultant Contract
    4. Prepare Request for Proposal (Procurement Methodologies Footnote 1)
    5. Conduct Consultant Evaluation (Conduct Procurement Footnote 1; Consultant Evaluation Board Membership)
    6. Update RMP and PAAA
    7. Award Consultant Contract
  2. Develop Design
    1. Complete Analysis of Project Requirements
    2. Develop Schematic/Concept and Design Development documents for approval by Client (Review and Acceptance of Consultant Design and Construction Documents)
  3. Prepare for Approval
    1. Finalize Cost Estimates and Schedules
    2. Reconfirm or update RMP
    3. Update PMP and SSA
    4. Complete Design Phase Checklist

Outputs for Design phase

Deliverables for Design phase

Control Point for Design phase

Implementation Phase

Objective for Implementation phase

The purpose of the Implementation Phase is to complete the Construction Documents and Specifications and thereafter tender and award a Construction Contract to a successful bidder to produce the built works on time, for the agreed to cost, and of a quality standard as defined within the Construction Documents and by the Construction Contract.

Description of the work for Implementation phase

During this phase, all the plans and related strategies that have been developed to this point are put into motion, and all built works construction related activities are carried out. It is during this critical phase of Project Delivery that the greatest risks to the project can occur. Close and prudent management of internal and external resource activities as well as Consultant/s and Construction Contract activities is needed during this phase to monitor and control the scope, cost, time and quality of the built works.

Inputs for Implementation phase

Activities / Tasks for Implementation phase

  1. Finalize Construction Documents and Procure Construction Services
    1. Complete Construction Documents (Review and Acceptance of Consultant Design and Construction Documents)
    2. Compile Construction Tender Documents (Procedures for Construction Services Footnote 1)
    3. Update previous or Create Risk Management Plan
    4. Provide input to ensure PAAA completed for Construction contract
    5. Conduct Tender Call and Evaluation (Conduct Procurement Footnote 1)
    6. Update RMP and PAAA
    7. Award Construction Contract
  2. Construct
    1. Administer Construction Contract (Administer the Contract Footnote 1)
    2. Review for compliance with Construction Contract and obtain approvals as required
    3. Perform Commissioning (to the extent required by the Client) during Construction (Commissioning Manual)
  3. Accept Work
    1. Test Functional Performance (Commissioning Manual)
    2. Compile Commissioning Documents
    3. Assemble As-Built Documents
    4. Ensure Training is provided and Operational and Maintenance Manuals delivered
    5. Solicit Client Acceptance
    6. Issue Certificate of Substantial Performance (Interim)
    7. Return contracts securities (including hold-backs)
    8. Transfer Site to Client
    9. Client Move-in
    10. Update PMP
    11. Complete Implementation Phase Checklist

Outputs for Implementation phase

Deliverable for Implementation phase

Control Point for Implementation phase

Delivery Stage Close Out Phase

Objective for Delivery Stage Close Out phase

In an effort to improve overall project performance and client satisfaction, both product and process performance will be documented and assessed against pre-determined performance criteria. The process of Continual Improvement is imperative to the overall enhancement of project delivery within PSPC. The basis for the continual improvement process is its encapsulation of both positive and negative elements of the project.

Description of the work for Delivery Stage Close Out phase

The Delivery Close Out Phase is the final and most integral phase of the project. It not only gives the team the opportunity to tie-up all loose ends, but it allows for a thorough assessment of all project activities and their outcomes as stated in the Knowledge Areas of the Project Management Plan. This assessment underscores any performance targets that were reached, surpassed or not met. In addition, the Continual Improvement Process provides a valuable method for highlighting successes as well as deficiencies reported throughout the life of the project. These records form the basis for systematic improvements to the way similar projects will be delivered in the future. The Close Out Phase includes two major activities: 1. Close-outs of contracts (the activity whereby all aspects of the performance and conformance of the end product with respect to specific equipment, installation or services provided are evaluated), 2. Close Project (the activity of gathering and assessing project performance data).

Inputs for Delivery Stage Close Out phase

Activities / Tasks for Delivery Stage Close Out phase

Outputs for Delivery Stage Close Out phase

Deliverable for Delivery Stage Close Out phase

Control Point for Delivery Stage Close Out phase

Remarks

Other available Roadmaps:

Date modified:

Feuille de route pour les projets de conception–soumission–construction financés par d'autres ministères

Étape de réalisation

Introduction

La présente feuille de route pour les projets de conception–soumission–construction financés par d'autres ministères décrit les principales activités et tâches nécessaires à la gestion de la réalisation des projets de conception et de construction qui sont financés par d'autres ministères et qui font l'objet de deux contrats distincts. La méthode de réalisation de conception‑soumission–construction comprend la planification, la conception de l'architecture et la conception technique par des experts-conseils ou par Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC), et l'emploi d'un entrepreneur pour mettre sur pied le projet selon le plan. Dans le cadre des projets financés par d'autres ministères, le client est responsable de la délégation des pouvoirs financiers, et TPSGC/SPAC est responsable de la délégation des pouvoirs contractuels, en plus de gérer et d'administrer les contrats attribués aux experts-conseils et les contrats de construction. Il est également chargé des services, des activités et des tâches nécessaires à la réalisation du projet lors de l'étape de réalisation du Système national de gestion de projet (SNGP).

La présente feuille de route n'a pas pour but de traiter en détail des activités liées au processus de conception–soumission–construction, mais plutôt de fournir un aperçu général des activités de l'étape de réalisation de projet à partir du moment où le client a donné une approbation préliminaire de projet (APP). Aux fins de la présente feuille de route, voici les définitions d'une APP et d'une approbation définitive de projet (ADP)/approbation du client:

La feuille de route sert de guide au ministère client qui agit comme chef de projet, et aux gestionnaires de projet de TPSGC/SPAC. Des liens pertinents sont fournis pour les renseignements particuliers sur les secteurs d'activité, les processus et les modèles à utiliser.

Les procédures de l'étape de réalisation de projet du SNGP s'appliquent à tous les projets financés par les autres ministères d'une valeur totale supérieure à un million de dollars (incluant la TPS ou la TVH, mais excluant les coûts engagés par les clients). Pour les projets en deçà de cette limite, les principes du SNGP s'appliquent, mais l'ampleur du travail et l'étendue de la documentation varient en fonction de divers facteurs, dont l'envergure, la complexité et la nature délicate du projet. Pour les projets dont la valeur totale est inférieure à un million de dollars, consultez les principes de la méthodologie du Système national de gestion de projet (page accessible uniquement sur le réseau du gouvernement du Canada).

Étape de réalisation de projet

Phase de la planification

Objectif

Lors de la phase de la planification, on vise à confirmer la qualité et l'intégralité de l'information existante sur le projet afin d'élaborer et d'organiser la stratégie de réalisation du projet.

Description des travaux

Durant cette phase, tous les paramètres du projet du client sont examinés, et une entente initiale ainsi qu'une entente de suivi sont convenues entre le chef de projet (ministère client) et le gestionnaire de projet de TPSGC/SPAC. L'entente initiale, un arrêté de projet, est un accusé de réception de la demande de projet du client. Elle dresse la liste des principaux objectifs du client en ce qui concerne la portée du projet, les coûts, le budget et le calendrier, et fait état des autres paramètres clés que l'on retrouve couramment dans les projets réalisés par TPSGC/SPAC. L'entente de suivi, un plan de gestion de projet, définit davantage la portée et les objectifs du projet, expose en détail les activités de projet requises et établit la façon dont le projet sera réalisé, surveillé et contrôlé durant l'étape de réalisation.

Intrants

Activités et tâches

  1. Lancement
    1. Dresser la liste des exigences.
    2. Obtenir le programme fonctionnel et technique (si disponible).
    3. Remplir la Liste de vrification des enjeux environnementaux (LVEE) [pour déterminer si une évaluation environnementale est nécessaire].
    4. Évaluer et documenter l'obligation de consulter les groupes autochtones, s'assurer que les autres ministères impliqués soient au courant de leurs obligations et, idéalement, proposer une approche commune pour le processus de consultation avec ces ministères. Au besoin, obtenir un avis juridique et établir un plan d'action.
    5. Former une équipe de projet.
    6. Créer un dossier de projet et les structures de stockage des documents et de gestion financière.
    7. Élaborer un arrêté de projet et une convention particulière de services (CPS).
  2. Définition de la réalisation du projet
    1. Confirmer le programme fonctionnel et technique.
    2. Définir la portée des travaux de l'expert-conseil.
    3. Examiner les composantes de l'énoncé de projet (cadre de référence).
    4. Élaborer un plan de gestion des risques (PGR) [au besoin].
    5. Établir un plan de gestion de projet (PGP).
    6. Compléter la liste de vérification de la phase de la planification.

Extrants

Produit livrable

Point de vérification

Phase de la conception

Objectif

Lors de la phase de la conception, on vise à réaliser tous les travaux requis pour attribuer les contrats adéquats au cabinet d'experts-conseils le plus qualifié. On vise aussi à peaufiner les documents proposés par l'expert-conseil relatifs à la conception schématique et à l'élaboration de la conception, et approuvés en vue d'obtenir une conception de fond. Finalement, on vise à compléter les documents de spécifications, à l'appui de la demande d'ADP/approbation du client. À cette étape, il faut souvent apporter des modifications aux autres documents de planification dans lesquels sont indiquées les prévisions préliminaires relatives au temps, aux coûts, à la qualité, aux risques et à la portée. Tous les documents terminés sont regroupés et forment la base de la demande d'ADP/approbation du client. Cette approbation est nécessaire pour mettre en œuvre le processus d'appel d'offres pour le contrat de construction.

Description des travaux

Durant cette phase, les ressources internes et externes nécessaires auxquelles on a recours préparent le terrain à l'élaboration des dessins de conception et de construction et des spécifications. La surveillance et le contrôle des activités du projet, y compris les examens, les approbations et les évaluations des risques, sont essentiels durant cette phase de la réalisation. L'ADP/approbation du client est demandée après avoir établi et réuni toutes les estimations, les documents et les plans nécessaires pour appuyer la demande d'approbation.

Intrants

Activités et tâches

  1. Acquisition des services d'experts-conseils
    1. Élaborer un énoncé de projet (cadre de référence).
    2. Mettre à jour le plan de gestion des risques (PGR) précédent ou en créer un.
    3. Fournir des commentaires pour s'assurer que les montants préapprouvés pour modifications proposées (MPMP) sont établis aux fins du contrat de l'expert-conseil.
    4. Préparer la demande de propositions (Méthodes d'approvisionnement Note de bas de page 1).
    5. Mener l'évaluation de l'expert-conseil (Réalisation du processus d'approvisionnement Note de bas de page 1, Composition du Comité d'évaluation des services d'experts-conseils).
    6. Mettre à jour le PGR et les MPMP.
    7. Attribuer le contrat à l'expert-conseil.
  2. Élaboration de la conception
    1. Effectuer l'analyse des exigences du projet.
    2. Élaborer les documents relatifs à la conception schématique et à l'élaboration de la conception aux fins d'approbation par le client (Examen et acceptation des documents de conception et de construction des experts-conseils).
  3. Préparation aux fins d'approbation
    1. Achever les estimations des coûts et les échéanciers.
    2. Reconfirmer ou mettre à jour le PGR.
    3. Mettre à jour le PGP et la CPS.
    4. Compléter la liste de vérification de la phase de la conception.

Extrants

Produit livrable

Point de vérification

Phase de la mise en œuvre

Objectif

Lors de la phase de la mise en œuvre, on vise à achever les documents de construction et les spécifications pour ensuite lancer un appel d'offres et attribuer un contrat de construction au soumissionnaire retenu, qui réalisera les travaux dans le respect des délais et du budget convenus et selon les normes de qualité qui auront été définies dans les documents de construction et le contrat.

Description des travaux

Durant cette phase, tous les plans et toutes les stratégies connexes qui ont été élaborés à ce jour doivent être mis œuvre, et toutes les activités liées à la construction d'ouvrages bâtis doivent être exécutées. Les plus grands risques du projet se retrouvent dans cette phase critique de la réalisation. Une gestion étroite et prudente des activités des ressources internes et externes, des activités de l'expert-conseil et des activités de construction doit être assurée durant cette phase afin que l'on puisse surveiller et contrôler la portée, les coûts, le calendrier et la qualité liés aux ouvrages bâtis.

Intrants

Activités et tâches

  1. Achèvement des documents de construction et obtention de services de construction
    1. Achever les documents de construction (Examen et acceptation des documents de conception et de construction des experts-conseils).
    2. Regrouper les documents de l'appel d'offres des services de construction (Procédures relatives aux services de construction Note de bas de page 1).
    3. Mettre à jour le PGR précédent ou en créer un.
    4. Fournir des commentaires pour s'assurer que les MPMP sont établis pour le contrat de construction.
    5. Lancer l'appel d'offres et procéder à l'évaluation (Réalisation du processus d'approvisionnement Note de bas de page 1).
    6. Mettre à jour le PGR et les MPMP.
    7. Attribuer le contrat de construction.
  2. Construction
    1. Administrer le contrat de construction (Administration du contrat Note de bas de page 1).
    2. Vérifier la conformité au contrat de construction et obtenir l'approbation nécessaire.
    3. Assurer la mise en service (dans la mesure requise par le client) durant la construction (Manuel de mise en service).
  3. Acceptation des travaux
    1. Mettre à l'essai le rendement fonctionnel (Manuel de mise en service).
    2. Regrouper les documents sur la mise en service.
    3. Regrouper les documents de l'ouvrage fini.
    4. Veiller à la prestation de la formation et à la distribution des guides de fonctionnement et d'entretien.
    5. Demander l'acceptation du client.
    6. Délivrer le certificat d'achèvement substantiel (provisoire).
    7. Retourner les garanties contractuelles (y compris les retenues).
    8. Transférer le site au client.
    9. Voir au déménagement du client.
    10. Mettre à jour le PGP.
    11. Compléter la liste de vérification de la phase de la mise en œuvre.

Extrants

Produit livrable

Point de vérification

Phase de la clôture de la réalisation

Objectif

Afin d'améliorer le rendement des projets et la satisfaction des clients dans l'ensemble, le rendement des produits et des processus sera documenté et évalué par rapport à des critères de rendement préétablis. Le processus d'amélioration continue est indispensable à l'amélioration générale de la réalisation des projets au sein du Ministère. Le principe de base du processus d'amélioration continue est de tenir compte autant des éléments positifs que des éléments négatifs des projets.

Description des travaux

La phase de la clôture de la réalisation est la dernière et la plus importante phase du projet. En plus de donner à l'équipe l'occasion de faire toutes les dernières mises au point, elle permet d'évaluer rigoureusement toutes les activités du projet et leurs résultats, tels qu'ils sont énoncés dans les domaines de connaissances du plan de gestion de projet. Cette évaluation porte sur tous les objectifs de rendement qui ont été atteints, dépassés ou non atteints. De plus, le processus d'amélioration continue constitue une méthode très utile pour mettre en évidence les réussites et les lacunes constatées pendant toute la durée du projet. Les documents ainsi établis permettent d'apporter des améliorations systémiques à la façon de réaliser des projets semblables à l'avenir. La phase de la clôture comprend deux grandes activités : 1. la clôture des contrats (l'activité qui consiste à évaluer tous les aspects du rendement et de la conformité du produit final en ce qui concerne le matériel, l'installation ou les services particuliers fournis), et 2. la clôture du projet (l'activité qui consiste à réunir et à évaluer les données sur le rendement du projet).

Intrants

Activités et tâches

Extrants

Produit livrable

Point de vérification

Remarque

Autres feuilles de route disponibles :

Date de modification :