Accessibility

Introduction

Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC) is committed to making its facilities accessible to persons with disabilities.

The following information is intended to provide the reader with an overview of the Government of Canada's legislative and policy requirements regarding real property accessibility. Additional information to assist designers and project managers involved in PWGSC-managed projects is also provided.

Legislative Requirements

The Canadian Human Rights Act prohibits discrimination in the provision of goods, services, facilities and accommodation. It is government policy to ensure barrier-free access to, and use of, real property it owns or leases.

The Employment Equity Act was created with the purpose of achieving equality in the workplace so that no person shall be denied employment opportunities or benefits for reasons unrelated to ability. In the fulfillment of this goal, the Act seeks to correct the disadvantages in employment experienced by women, aboriginal peoples, persons with disabilities and members of visible minorities by giving effect to the principle that employment equity means more than treating persons in the same way but also requires special measures and the accommodation of differences.

The Employment Equity Act defines persons with disabilities as persons who have a long-term or recurring physical, mental, sensory, psychiatric or learning impairment and who:

  1. Consider themselves to be disadvantaged in employment by reason of that impairment, or
  2. Believe that an employer or potential employer is likely to consider them to be disadvantaged in employment by reasons of that impairment,

and includes persons whose functional limitations owing to their impairment have been accommodated in their current job or workplace.

Relevant Policies

Policy on the Duty to Accommodate Persons with Disabilities in the Federal Public Service states that it is the policy of the Treasury Board and the Public Service Commission to create and maintain an inclusive, barrier-free environment in the federal Public Service to ensure the full participation of persons with disabilities. This policy is to be implemented by:

  • Identifying and removing barriers to employment, career development and promotion of persons with disabilities unless doing so would result in undue hardship;
  • Designing all employment systems, processes and facilities to be accessible by building accommodation into workplace standards, systems, processes and facilities, and
  • Accommodating individuals when such barriers cannot be removed. Such accommodation must be made to the point of undue hardship taking into consideration issues of health, safety and cost. Accommodation must also be based on the circumstances of each case and must respect an individual's right to privacy and confidentiality

This policy applies, with respect to accommodation within the workplace, to all departments and agencies and other portions of the Public Service listed in Part 1 of Schedule 1 of the Public Service Staff Relations Act for whom the Treasury Board is the employer. Examples of disabilities under this policy are:

  • Blindness or other severe visual impairment
  • Deafness or other severe hearing impairment
  • Mobility impairment
  • Chronic pain
  • Environmental sensitivities (note this policy includes environmental sensitivities whereas in the past, PWGSC policy excluded them.)
  • Addictions
  • Learning disabilities
  • Speech impairment
  • Chronic conditions, such as diabetes
  • Psychiatric disabilities
  • Developmental disabilities
  • Other permanent or temporary conditions that cause pain or limit or restrict activities.

The Treasury Board Accessibility Standard for Real Property establishes minimum requirements for the accessibility of Crown-owned and leased real property.

Custodian departments have primary responsibility for ensuring that the real property they administer is accessible to persons with disabilities and for planning appropriate capital and maintenance programs to ensure implementation of the accessibility standard.

Treasury Board Secretariat will determine the effectiveness of this standard, how it is applied in departments and whether it needs to be revised. The Guide to the Management of Real Property provides information so that departments can monitor and assess implementation of the standard.

The PWGSC policy entitled 'Real Property Branch Accessibility ProcedureThis link is available only to clients with access to The Source, the PWGSC intranet. formalizes the responsibilities of Real Property Services as a custodian, pursuant to amendments to the Canadian Human Rights Act (CHRA). The purpose of this policy is to ensure that all reasonable steps are taken on both Crown-owned and leased property to appropriately accommodate special needs for facility access and use by individuals with physical disabilities, even when these needs exceed the requirements of the current edition of the Treasury Board Accessibility Standard for Real Property or the CAN/CSA B651 Standard.

Real Property project managers are responsible for ensuring that the occupants and stakeholders have an opportunity to identify their special requirements and that the facilities are accessible as required by the policy. Project managers must respect the requirements of the Privacy Act when soliciting input on accessibility requirements; see Inquiries for details.

On request, Real Property Branch provides technical support; architectural and engineering support services; and guidance on best practices as they apply to accessibility for persons with disabilities on an optional, cost-recoverable basis. Contact personnel listed in Inquiries for details.

Application

The Treasury Board Accessibility Standard for Real Property applies to PWGSC and to all departments within the meaning of section 2 of the Financial Administration Act, unless specific acts or regulations override it. Client departments, as employers / service providers ensure their operations meet Treasury Board policy requirements and ensure their operations accommodate special accessibility requirements of individuals with disabilities; use this Flowchart to establish which policies apply to a department.

The Treasury Board Accessibility Standard for Real Property identifies which specific site and building elements must be accessible. Accessibility requirements for heritage facilities are the same as for other Crown-owned facilities. However, the Standard includes considerations and procedures for addressing accessibility requirements that would otherwise significantly reduce the heritage quality of the facility.

The PWGSC - Real Property Branch Accessibility Procedure This link is available only to clients with access to The Source, the PWGSC intranet. is intended:

  • To ensure that the Treasury Board Accessibility Standard for Real Property is met when acquiring and managing real property.
  • To provide direction to national and regional PWGSC personnel involved in real property acquisition, construction, or major refit projects on the application and implementation of the TB Accessibility Standard.
  • To ensure that:
    • the accessibility requirements identified in the TB Accessibility Standard are considered early in a project's planning phase for the provision of barrier-free access to, use of, and egress from real property that is or will come under the administration of PWGSC and managed by the RPB; and
    • where accessibility deficiencies are identified, requisite decisions are taken and/or approvals sought in a timely fashion.

The Procedure includes roles and responsibilities as well as an exemption criteria and approval process.

Technical Documentation

The federal standards for Crown-owned or leased real property are defined in the Canadian Standards Association's CAN/CSA B651 95 Barrier-free Design Standard for existing buildings and the new CAN/CSA B651-04 Accessible Design for the Built Environment The WWW icon indicates a link that takes you outside the federal government's common web environment. for new construction and major re-fit projects. It should be noted that:

  • The CSA standard differs from provincial building codes
  • The new CAN/CSA B651-04 Accessible Design for the Built Environment The WWW icon indicates a link that takes you outside the federal government's common web environment. Standard replaces the CAN/CSA B651-95 Barrier-Free Design Standard.
  • The revised standard applies to federal real property acquired, constructed or undergoing major refit after October 1, 2004 and not retroactively to the current inventory Treasury Board Real Property Accessibility Policy
  • An overview of the changes between the 2004 and 1995 editions of the standard is available.

Tools

A series of 14 accessibility checklists identifying the technical requirements of the 1995 and 2004 CSA B651 Standard have been developed to assist in the preparation of accessibility assessments. Your local or national contacts will be able to provide these documents. They are also available to assist you with helpful hints on where to procure special equipment or how to solve particular type of problems related to accessibility.

Exemptions

The Treasury Board Accessibility Standard for Real Property states that some real property may be exempted from full accessibility requirements and that the custodian departments can decide to exempt elements of real property in their custody based on criteria provided in the standard. These minor variations must be consistent with the general intent of this standard and must not affect the general accessibility of a specific property. Custodians shall establish internal procedures for identifying and seeking the deputy head's approval of full or partial exemptions from the accessibility requirements of this standard. They shall document the rationale for these exemptions and maintain records of all real property that is partially or fully exempted.

PWGSC internal procedures for identifying and approving full or partial exemptions of real property from accessibility requirements can be found in the Real Property Branch Accessibility Procedure which also includes the process for the review and approval of such exemptions. A sample Accessibility Exemption Form is attached. For custodial departments, should exemptions be required, the project managers are responsible for confirming the Exemption Criteria and Approval Process required by the department and for obtaining the necessary approval.

Inquiries

For more information about making federal facilities accessible or specialized accessibility requirements please contact SNGP.NPMS@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca to obtain the name of your PWGSC Regional Accessibility Coordinator. All services are on a cost recovery basis.

Associated Documents

Legislation

PWGSC Policies/Procedures

Treasury Board Policies

Standards

Toolkit

Accessibilité

Sur cette page

Introduction

Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) s'engage à faire en sorte que ses installations soient accessibles pour les personnes handicapées.

Le lecteur trouvera ci-après un aperçu des exigences des lois et des politiques du gouvernement du Canada en ce qui concerne l'accessibilité des biens immobiliers. Nous donnons aussi de plus amples renseignements pour aider les concepteurs et les gestionnaires de projets qui participent à des projets gérés par SPAC.

Exigences des lois

La Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne interdit toute discrimination dans la fourniture des biens, des services, des installations et des locaux. Le gouvernement a pour politique de veiller à l'accessibilité des biens immobiliers dont il est propriétaire ou qu'il loue à bail, pour les personnes handicapées.

On a adopté la Loi sur l'équité en matière d'emploi pour assurer l'égalité au travail, afin de veiller à ce que personne ne soit privé de perspectives d'emploi ou d'avantages professionnels pour des raisons qui n'ont aucun lien avec la compétence. Dans la réalisation de cet objectif, la loi vise à corriger les inconvénients que subissent les femmes, les autochtones, les personnes handicapées et les membres des minorités visibles dans leur vie professionnelle, en donnant effet au principe selon lequel l'équité en matière d'emploi consiste non seulement à traiter les gens sur un pied d'égalité, mais aussi à adopter des mesures précises et à tenir compte des différences.

La Loi sur l'équité en matière d'emploi définit les personnes handicapées comme celles qui ont une déficience durable ou récurrente soit de leurs capacités physiques, intellectuelles, sensorielles, psychiatriques ou en matière d'apprentissage et soit :

  • considèrent qu'elles ont des aptitudes réduites pour
  • pensent qu'elles risquent d'être classées dans cette catégorie par leur employeur ou par d'éventuels employeurs en raison d'une telle déficience

La présente définition vise également les personnes dont les limitations fonctionnelles liées à leur déficience font l'objet de mesures d'adaptation pour leur emploi ou dans leur lieu de travail.

Politiques pertinentes

La Politique sur l'obligation de prendre des mesures d'adaptation pour les personnes handicapées dans la fonction publique fédérale précise que le Conseil du Trésor et la Commission de la fonction publique ont pour politique de créer et de maintenir un environnement inclusif et sans obstacles dans la fonction publique fédérale afin de garantir la pleine participation des personnes handicapées. La mise en oeuvre de la présente politique sera réalisée :

  • en cernant et en éliminant les obstacles à l'emploi, au perfectionnement professionnel et à la promotion des personnes handicapées, à moins que les mesures à prendre n'imposent une contrainte excessive
  • en concevant tous les systèmes d'emploi, les procédés et les installations de sorte qu'ils soient accessibles et en intégrant des mesures d'adaptation dans les normes, les systèmes, les procédés et les installations du milieu de travail
  • en fournissant aux personnes des mesures d'adaptation lorsque les obstacles à l'emploi ne peuvent être éliminés. Ces mesures doivent être prises si elles n'imposent pas une contrainte excessive, compte tenu des questions de santé, de sécurité et de coût. Les mesures d'adaptation doivent être également définies en fonction des circonstances propres à chaque cas et respecter le droit à la protection des renseignements personnels et à la confidentialité d'une personne

La présente politique s'applique aux mesures d'adaptation dans le milieu de travail, à tous les ministères et organismes et autres secteurs de la fonction publique fédérale énumérés à la partie I de l'annexe I de la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique et pour lesquels le Conseil du Trésor est l'employeur. Voici des exemples de handicaps faisant l'objet de cette politique :

  • cécité ou autre déficience grave de la vue
  • surdité ou autre déficience auditive grave
  • handicap moteur
  • douleur chronique
  • manifestations d'intolérance au milieu (veuillez noter que cette politique tient compte de ces sensibilités, alors qu'auparavant, la politique de SPAC les excluait)
  • toxicomanie
  • troubles d'apprentissage
  • troubles de la parole
  • conditions chroniques telles que le diabète
  • déficiences psychiatriques
  • troubles de développement
  • autre condition permanente ou temporaire qui cause de la douleur ou limite ou restreint certaines activités.

La Norme du Conseil du Trésor d'accès facile aux biens immobiliers décrit les exigences minimales d'accès facile aux biens immobiliers fédéraux.

Les ministères gardiens doivent essentiellement s'assurer que les biens immobiliers qu'ils administrent sont accessibles pour les personnes handicapées et doivent planifier les programmes d'immobilisations et d'entretien adéquats pour veiller à mettre en oeuvre la norme sur l'accessibilité.

Le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor détermine l'efficacité de cette norme, et ses modalités d'application dans les ministères et décide s'il faut la réviser. Le Guide de la gestion des biens immobiliers comprend de l'information permettant aux ministères de surveiller et d'évaluer l'application de cette norme.

La politique de SPAC intitulée « Procédure d'accessibilité » (veuillez contacter tpsgc.sngp-npms.pwgsc@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca afin d’obtenir cette procédure) donne effet aux responsabilités de la Direction générale des biens immobiliers à titre de gardien, conformément aux modifications apportées à la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne. L'objectif de cette politique consiste à s'assurer qu'on prend, dans les immeubles appartenant à l'État et loués à bail par lui, toutes les mesures raisonnables pour répondre comme il se doit aux besoins spéciaux pour l'accessibilité des installations et pour leur utilisation à l'intention des personnes ayant un handicap physique, même lorsque ces besoins sont supérieurs aux exigences de l'édition la plus récente de la Norme du Conseil du Trésor d'accès facile aux biens immobiliers ou de la Norme CAN/CSA B651.

Les gestionnaires de projets immobiliers doivent s'assurer que les occupants et les intervenants ont l'occasion de faire connaître leurs besoins particuliers et que les installations sont accessibles conformément aux exigences de la Politique. Les gestionnaires de projets doivent respecter les exigences de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels lorsqu'ils demandent des renseignements sur les exigences relatives à l'accessibilité; pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter la section Demandes de renseignements.

La Direction générale des biens immobiliers offre sur demande, à titre optionnel et selon le principe du recouvrement des coûts, un soutien technique, des services de soutien en architecture et en génie et des lignes directrices sur les conseils pratiques en ce qui a trait à l'accessibilité des biens immobiliers pour les personnes handicapées. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter la section Demandes de renseignements.

Application

La Norme du Conseil du Trésor d'accès facile aux biens immobiliers s'applique à SPAC et à tous les ministères répondant à la définition de l'article 2 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, sauf si des lois ou des règlements précis sont prépondérants. À titre d'employeurs et de fournisseurs de services, les ministères clients s'assurent que leurs opérations respectent les exigences de la politique du Conseil du Trésor et veillent à répondre aux besoins particuliers relatifs à l'accessibilité des biens immobiliers pour les personnes handicapées; pour connaître les politiques qui s'appliquent à votre ministère, nous vous invitons à consulter ce schéma de principe.

La Norme du Conseil du Trésor d'accès facile aux biens immobiliers indique les éléments précis des sites et des immeubles qui doivent être accessibles. Les exigences relatives à l'accessibilité des installations à valeur patrimoniale sont identiques à celles qui s'appliquent aux autres installations appartenant à l'État. Toutefois, la Norme comprend des considérations et des procédures pour répondre aux exigences relatives à l'accessibilité qui auraient normalement pour effet de réduire considérablement la qualité patrimoniale des installations.

La Procédure d'accessibilité (veuillez contacter tpsgc.sngp-npms.pwgsc@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca afin d’obtenir cette procédure) de SPAC a pour but :

  • de s'assurer que la Norme du Conseil du Trésor d'accès facile aux biens immobiliers est suivie lors de l'acquisition et de la gestion de biens immobiliers
  • d'encadrer les employés nationaux et régionaux de SPAC qui s'occupent de l'acquisition, de la construction ou de la rénovation majeure de biens immobiliers
  • de s'assurer que :
    • les exigences d'accès facile identifiées dans la Norme du CT sont considérées dès le début de la planification du projet pour offrir un accès (entrée et évacuation) facile aux biens immobiliers fédéraux qui sont ou seront sous l'administration du ministre de SPAC et géré par la DGBI
    • lors de l'identification d'une manque d'accessibilité, des décisions sont prises et/ou les approbations nécessaires sont obtenues dans un délai raisonnable

La Procédure inclut les roles et responsabilités, une liste des critères d'exemption ainsi que le processus d'approbation.

Documents techniques

Les normes fédérales pour les biens immobiliers appartenant à l'État ou loués à bail par lui sont définies dans la Norme CAN/CSA B651 95 de l'Association canadienne de normalisation, Accessibilité des bâtiments et des autres installations : règles de conception pour les immeubles existants et dans la nouvelle norme Canada/Association canadienne de normalisation B651-04 (Conception accessible pour l'environnement bâti) pour les nouveaux travaux de construction et les projets majeurs de réaménagement. Il faudrait noter que :

  • les normes de la CSA sont différentes des codes provinciaux du bâtiment
  • la nouvelle norme Canada/Association canadienne de normalisation B651-04 (Conception accessible pour l'environnement bâti) remplace la norme CAN/CSA B651-95 (Accessibilité des bâtiments et des autres installations : règles de conception)
  • la norme révisée s'applique aux biens immobiliers fédéraux achetés, construits ou soumis à des travaux majeurs de réaménagement après le 1er octobre 2004; elle ne s'applique pas rétroactivement au parc immobilier dans son état actuel (Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur l'accessibilité aux biens immobiliers)
  • l'on peut consulter l'aperçu des différences entre la version de 2004 et la version de 1995 de cette norme

Outils

Une série de 14 listes de vérification soulignant les exigences techniques des éditions 1995 et 2004 de la norme CAN/CSA B651 à été développé pour aider dans le développement d'évaluations d'accessibilité. Votre coordonnateur régional de SPAC pour l'accessibilité peut également vous aider en vous donnant des conseils utiles sur les établissements où vous pourrez acheter l'équipement spécial ou sur les solutions à apporter à certains types de problèmes.

Exemptions

La Norme du Conseil du Trésor d'accès facile aux biens immobiliers précise que certains biens immobiliers peuvent être exemptés de l'ensemble des exigences relatives à l'accessibilité et que les ministères gardiens peuvent décider que des éléments des biens immobiliers dont ils assurent la garde sont exemptés, d'après les critères prévus dans cette norme. Ces légères variations doivent s'harmoniser avec l'objectif général de cette norme et ne doivent pas avoir d'incidence sur l'accessibilité générale de certains biens. Les ministères gardiens doivent mettre en place des procédures internes pour documenter et faire approuver par l'administrateur général les exemptions entières ou partielles à cette norme sur l'accès facile. Ils doivent justifier par écrit ces exemptions et conserver des dossiers sur tous les biens immobiliers faisant l'objet d'une exemption entière ou partielle à cette norme. Afin de connaître les procédures internes de SPAC pour répertorier et approuver les biens immobiliers exemptés intégralement ou en partie de l'application des exigences relatives à l'accessibilité, on peut consulter la Procédure d'accessibilité de la Direction générale des biens immobiliers, qui fait également état de la marche à suivre pour l'examen et l'approbation de ces exemptions. Le lecteur trouvera ci-joint un modèle de formulaire d'exemption pour l'accessibilité. En ce qui concerne les ministères gardiens d'immeubles, s'il faut prévoir des exemptions, les gestionnaires de projets doivent confirmer les critères d'exemption et la méthode d'approbation à appliquer par les ministères pour réunir les approbations nécessaires.

Demandes de renseignements

Pour de plus amples renseignements à propos des mesures à adopter pour rendre accessibles les installations fédérales ou pour répondre à des besoins spécialisés relatifs à l'accessibilité, veuillez contacter tpsgc.sngp-npms.pwgsc@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca pour connaître le nom de votre coordonnateur régional de SPAC pour l'accessibilité. SPAC recouvre les coûts de tous les services rendus.

Documents connexes

Lois

Procédure de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Politiques Conseil du Trésor

Normes

Trousse à outils

Date de modification :