Mechanical and Maintenance Engineering

Introduction

This is a brief introduction to the technical documentation issued by Mechanical and Maintenance Engineering that relates to Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC) buildings. The documentsFootnote 1 are:

Application

These documents apply to all built works undertaken by or for PWGSC, including new construction, existing buildings, renovations, and/or fit- up. They apply to crown-owned buildings, leased premises or Alternate Form of Delivery (AFD) managed facilities, delivered by PWGSC or its agents either directly or indirectly through third party arrangements.

Technical Documentation

MD 250005-2009 "Energy Monitoring and Control Systems (EMCS) Design Guidelines"

Energy Monitoring and Control System (EMCS) Design Guidelines were first published by the Department of Public Works, as it was then called, in 1984 in response to a need for an orderly approach to the design of these sytems. The document was intended for Engineers, Technologists, and Consultants involved in the design of EMCS.

Since then, many technological advances and changes have occurred resulting in the need to revise and update this document. In addition, considerable experience in the design, installation and operation of EMCS has been gained and these have resulted in the need to revise the document.

The previous designation number of the document, MD 13800, has now been replaced with MD 250005-2009 to reflect the new specification sections in the revised National Master Specifications issued by PWGSC.

MD 15116-2006 "Computer Room Air Conditioning Systems"

provides general guidance for the design of mechanical systems for computer rooms, server rooms, telecom rooms and data centres as used in PWGSC buildings. These special areas form an integral part of most PWGSC buildings and often perform "mission critical" functions, including the handling sensitive data on a 24/7 basis. As a result, the mechanical design requirements for these systems are very different from the requirements for the rest of the building. MD 15116 addresses the issues that are specific to these type of facilities.

MD 15161-2013 "Control of Legionella in Mechanical Systems"

outlines the requirements for the design, maintenance and operation of mechanical systems in PWGSC buildings to minimize the occurence of Legionella. Recent outbreaks of the disease have highlighted the need for effective control measures. In most cases, the source of the outbreak has been traced to the building's mechanical systems. Cooling towers have been implicated in some cases while, in others, the outbreak has been attributed to the potable water systems. As MD 15161-2013 points out, proper operation and maintenenance of the mechanical systems with regular disinfection procedures is the key to Legionella control.

MD 15128-2013 "Laboratory fume hoods: Guidelines for owners, design professionals and maintenance personnel"

is intended to provide a consistent approach to the specification, testing, operation, and maintenance of laboratory fumehoods in PWGSC managed facilities and in other Government of Canada laboratories. The guidelines describe the requirements for bypass, variable air volume, and, high performance laboratory fumehoods only. The guidelines do not apply to specialized equipment such as biological safety cabinets or laminar flow clean benches. For perchloric acid fume hoods, refer to MD 15129 below.

MD 15129-2006 "Guidelines for Perchloric Acid fumehoods and their exhaust systems"

outlines the requirements for building, operating, and maintaining perchloric fume hoods in laboratories. The perchloric acid fumehood is one of the most distinctive pieces of equipment found in laboratories. While perchloric acid is useful for certain analytical procedures, it brings with it the potential for some dangerous repercussions due to the formmation of perchlorates within the fume hood, ductwork and /or exhaust fan. Perchlorates are extremely shock sensitive and can explode very easily. Hence perchloric acid fumehoods should be designed, installed, maintained and decommissioned very carefully. MD 15129 offers detailed guidance for doing this. This document is complementary to MD 15128 "Laboratory fume hoods: Guidelines for owners, design professionals and maintenance personnel". The objectives of MD 15129 match closely with commissioning objectives in laboratory projects. It is important that commissioning personnel be familiar with the contents of MD 15129.

PWGSC Best Practice (2006) "Prescribing indoor humidity levels for federal buildings"

addresses the problems resulting from the release of ASHRAE Standard 55-2004"Thermal Environmental Conditions for Human Occupancy". Earlier editions of the ASHRAE Standard prescribed both minimum and maximum humidity levels for buildings, but ASHRAE Standard 55-2004 has dropped the requirement for minimum humidity. The PWGSC Best Practice has been developed to provide recommendations for minimum humidity levels, after a detailed analysis of the issues involved.

MD 15000-2012 "Mechanical Environmental Standards for Office Buildings"

is a standard that provides the minimum mechanical design and operating requirements related to mechanical environmental conditions in Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC) federal office buildings. It sets out the minimum mechanical requirements for temperature, relative humidity, ventilation, and acoustics. This standard is intended for use in new and existing Crown-owned federal office buildings; it does not apply to leased buildings.

MD 15000-2012 "Mechanical Environmental Standards for Office Buildings"

is a standard that provides the minimum mechanical design and operating requirements related to mechanical environmental conditions in Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC) federal office buildings. It sets out the minimum mechanical requirements for temperature, relative humidity, ventilation, and acoustics. This standard is intended for use in new and existing Crown-owned federal office buildings; it does not apply to leased buildings.

ED 16200-2013 "Elevators, Dumwaiters and Escalators"

outlines the design and maintenance guidelines for major vertical transportation systems in PWGSC buildings in Canada. It covers different types of vertical transportation, including passenger elevators, service elevators, freight elevators, dumbwaiters and escalators. It is intended to serve as a guide to those involved in the design of new buildings, and the renovation, modernization or maintenance of existing buildings for federal government use. It does not apply to leased buildings.

ED 16300-2014 "Existing Fire Alarm Systems Assessment Guidelines"

provide guidance for RPB property managers, design professionals, and maintenance personnel on assessing the need to replace or upgrade existing fire alarm systems, as well as the extent of the replacement or upgrade required, in PWGSC-managed facilities throughout Canada.

Inquiries

Technical inquiries about the documentation isssued by Mechanical and Maintenance Engineering should be directed to: SNGP.NPMS@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca

Associated Documents

Specifications

Standards

Treasury Board Policies

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Return to footnote 1

To obtain a copy of these documents, please contact SNGP.NPMS@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca.

Guide technique pour le Génie mécanique et d'entretien

Introduction

La présente est une brève introduction aux documents techniques publiés par le Génie mécanique et d'entretien en ce qui concerne les immeubles de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC). Il s'agit des documentsNote de bas de page 1 suivants :

Application

Ces documents s'appliquent à tous les ouvrages construits par ou pour SPAC, y compris aux nouvelles constructions, aux immeubles existants, aux projets de rénovation et aux projets d'aménagement de locaux. Ils s'appliquent aux immeubles appartenant à l'État, aux locaux loués ou aux installations gérées par d'autres formes de prestation de services (AFPS), projets réalisés par SPAC ou par ses agents, soit directement ou indirectement par le biais d'ententes de tiers.

Documents techniques

IM 250005-2009 : Lignes directrices pour la conception des systèmes de gestion de l'énergie

Les lignes directrices pour la conception des systèmes de gestion de l'énergie (SGE) ont d'abord été publiées par le ministère des Travaux publics - comme on l'appelait alors - en 1984 en réponse à la nécessité d'une démarche méthodique pour la conception de ces systèmes. Le document était destiné aux ingénieurs, aux technologues et aux consultants qui travaillaient à la conception des SGE.

Depuis, de nombreux changements et progrès technologiques sont survenus, entraînant ainsi la nécessité d'une révision et de la mise à jour du document. Il y a un autre facteur qui nous a amenés à réviser le document : c'est l'expérience considérable acquise de la conception, de l'installation et de l'exploitation des SGE.

L'ancien numéro d'identification du document, c'est-à-dire IM 13800, a été remplacé par le numéro IM 250005-2009 pour tenir compte des nouvelles sections du Devis directeur national publié par SPAC.

IM 15116 - 2006 : Systèmes de conditionnement d'air des salles d'ordinateurs

Ce document offre des conseils généraux sur la conception des systèmes techniques pour les salles d'ordinateur, les salles de serveur, les salles de télécommunication et les centres de données utilisés dans les immeubles de SPAC. Ces installations spéciales font partie intégrante de la plupart des immeubles de SPAC, et elles remplissent souvent des fonctions « essentielles à la mission » dont le traitement de données confidentielles vingt-quatre heures sur vingt-quatre. Par conséquent, les exigences de conception technique de ces systèmes sont très différentes de celles qui s'appliquent au reste de l'immeuble. Le document IM 15116-2006 traite des questions qui sont propres à ce type d'installations.

IM 15161-2013 : Lutte contre la legionella dans les systèmes mécaniques

Ce document énonce les exigences de conception, d'entretien et d'exploitation des systèmes mécaniques afin de réduire les cas de legionella dans les immeubles de SPAC. Des éclosions récentes de cette maladie ont mis en lumière la nécessité d'appliquer des mesures de contrôle efficaces. Dans la plupart des cas, la source de l'éclosion a été retracée dans les systèmes mécaniques de l'immeuble. Dans certains cas, les soupçons ont porté sur les tours de refroidissement, tandis que dans d'autres cas, l'éclosion a été attribuée aux systèmes d'eau potable. Comme il est souligné dans le document IM 15161, une bonne méthode d'exploitation et d'entretien des systèmes mécaniques, ajoutée à un programme de désinfection régulier, est la clé de la lutte contre la legionella.

IM 15128-2013 : Hottes de laboratoire : Lignes directrices pour les propriétaires, les professionnels du design et le personnel d'entretien

Ce document a pour but d'uniformiser les méthodes concernant la description technique, les essais, l'exploitation et l'entretien des hottes de laboratoire utilisées dans les installations gérées par SPAC et dans d'autres laboratoires du gouvernement du Canada. Ces lignes directrices indiquent les exigences propres aux hottes de laboratoire à volume d'air constant, à volume d'air variable et à haut rendement. Elles ne s'appliquent pas aux appareils spécialisés tels que les enceintes de biosécurité ni aux bancs stériles d'écoulement laminaire. Pour les hottes à acide perchlorique, consulter le document IM 15129 plus bas.

IM 15129-2006 : Lignes directrices pour les hottes à acide perchlorique et les systèmes d'évacuation connexes

Ce document expose les exigences concernant la fabrication, l'exploitation et l'entretien des hottes à acide perchlorique utilisées dans les laboratoires. La hotte à acide perchlorique est l'un des appareils les plus faciles à distinguer dans un laboratoire. L'acide perchlorique est utile dans certains processus d'analyse, mais il peut avoir des effets dangereux en raison des perchlorates qui se forment dans la hotte de laboratoire, les gaines et le ventilateur d'extraction. Les perchlorates sont extrêmement sensibles aux chocs, et ils peuvent exploser très facilement. Par conséquent, les hottes à acide perchlorique devraient être conçues, installées, entretenues et mises hors service avec le plus grand soin. Le document IM 15129 contient des directives détaillées à cet effet. Il sert à compléter le document IM 15128 Hottes de laboratoire : Lignes directrices pour les propriétaires, les professionnels du design et le personnel d'entretien. Les objectifs du document IM 15129 correspondent étroitement aux objectifs de la mise en service dans les projets de laboratoire. Il est important que le personnel de la mise en service connaisse bien le contenu du document IM 15129.

Conseil pratique de SPAC : Prescription de taux d'humidité intérieure pour les immeubles fédéraux (2006)

Ce document traite des problèmes soulevés par suite de la publication de la norme ASHRAE 55-2004 « Thermal Environmental Conditions for Human Occupancy ». Dans les versions antérieures, l'ASHRAE prescrivait à la fois des taux d'humidité minimum et des taux d'humidité maximun pour les immeubles, mais dans la norme 55-2004, elle a laissé tomber les exigences concernant les taux d'humidité minimum. Le conseil pratique de SPAC a été élaboré pour fournir des recommandations concernant les taux d'humidité minimum, après une analyse détaillée des problèmes qui se posent.

IM 15000-2012 : Norme environnementale de mécanique concernant les immeubles à bureaux fédéraux

Ce document établit la norme relativement aux exigences minimales relativement à la conception et à l’exploitation de systèmes mécaniques liés aux conditions environnementales mécaniques dans les immeubles à bureaux fédéraux de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC/SPAC). Elle établit les exigences minimales relatives aux systèmes mécaniques pour la température, l’humidité relative, la ventilation et le niveau sonore. La présente norme s’applique aux bâtiments à bureaux neufs et existants qui appartiennent à l’État et elle ne s’applique pas aux bâtiments loués.

IE 16200-2013 : Ascenseurs, petits monte-charges et escaliers mécaniques

Ce document établit la norme relativement aux exigences minimales relativement à la conception et à l’exploitation de systèmes mécaniques liés aux conditions environnementales mécaniques dans les immeubles à bureaux fédéraux de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC/SPAC). Elle établit les exigences minimales relatives aux systèmes mécaniques pour la température, l’humidité relative, la ventilation et le niveau sonore. La présente norme s’applique aux bâtiments à bureaux neufs et existants qui appartiennent à l’État et elle ne s’applique pas aux bâtiments loués.

IE 16300-2014 : Lignes directrices pour l'évaluation des réseaux avertisseurs d'incendie existants

Ces lignes directrices servent de guide aux gestionnaires immobiliers, aux professionnels de la conception et au personnel d’entretien de la DGBI pour évaluer la nécessité de remplacer ou d’améliorer les réseaux avertisseurs d’incendie existants, ainsi qu’à évaluer l’étendue du remplacement ou de l’amélioration nécessaire, dans les installations gérées par SPAC au Canada.

Demandes de renseignements

Les demandes de renseignements techniques concernant les documents publiés par le Génie mécanique et d'entretien devraient être adressées à : SNGP.NPMS@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca

Documents connexes

Devis

Normes

Politiques Conseil du Trésor

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Pour obtenir une copie de ces documents, veuillez contacter SNGP.NPMS@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca.