Signage

Legislative Requirements

The Preamble and Part VI of the Official Languages Act clearly states the Government of Canada's commitment to ensuring the full and equitable participation of members of the two official language communities in federal institutions. It is based on a fundamental characteristic of the Canadian federal public administration, namely, one in which English-speaking and French-speaking Canadians work together.

The Treasury Board's Administrative Policy Manual contains the Federal Identity Program (FIP) policies that pertain to signage for the federal government facilities. Standards for effective signage for the blind and visually impaired are described in the Canadian Standards Association Standard B651 and Chapter 6 of Treasury Board's Real Property Manual.

Relevant Policies

The Treasury Board Federal Identity Program Policy is the Government of Canada's corporate identity program. It helps project the government as a coherent, unified administration and enables Canadians to recognize at a glance their government at work for them. It facilitates finding government programs and services through clear and consistent identification. FIP covers the Canada word mark, departmental signatures, government uniforms, lettering on cars and building signs (directory boards, direction signs, name plates, regulatory, warning and information signs).

The FIP policy, in concert with the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, helps shape the "face" and the "voice" of government.

The Treasury Board Federal Identity Program Policy states that federal institutions, programs, services and contributions shall be identified in accordance with corporate identity standards for the Government of Canada. The equality of status of the two official languages shall be projected when applying these corporate identity standards.

The PSPC Corporate Identity PolicyThis link is available only to clients with access to Publiservice, the Government of Canada extranet. delineates the roles, responsibilities and guidelines for the implementation and application of the PSPC corporate identity. This policy supersedes Chapter 470, Federal Identity Program, of the Administrative policy manual.

The policy states that Public Services and Procurement Canada will:

  1. manage its corporate identity in accordance with government-wide standards as set out in the Federal Identity Program (FIP) - Chapter 2, Communications Volume, Treasury Board Manual;
  2. fully integrate the corporate identity into all internal and external print and electronic communications applications as laid out in ARCHIVED - Annex A - PSPC Corporate Identity PolicyThis link is available only to clients with access to Publiservice, the Government of Canada extranet.;
  3. ensure the equality of status of the two official languages is projected when applying the PSPC corporate identity.

This departmental policy applies to all employees of PSPC and to all communications products as outlined in Annex A - PSPC Corporate Identity Policy.This link is available only to clients with access to Publiservice, the Government of Canada extranet. The Translation Bureau, Consulting and Audit Canada and the Canadian General Standards Board can use their established visual identities. However, any use of the PSPC corporate identity by these organizations must be in accordance with the terms of this departmental policy.

The PSPC corporate identity is based upon the elements of the FIP and is made up of the corporate signature, the Canada Wordmark and the departmental identifier.

Application

This policy applies to all institutions named in Schedules I, II, and III to the Financial Administration Act and all branches designated as departments for purposes of the Act, unless the institution has been specifically exempted from FIP. (See Appendix B, Application schedules, for the institutions subject to FIP policy and those that are exempt. (The appendix also contains exemption criteria.) This policy is based on the following acts and policies pertaining to the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, the Official Languages Act and the Treasury Board Manual: Communications Volume - Chapter 1, Government Communications.

The Federal Identity Program covers some 160 Government of Canada institutions and over 20,000 facilities in all regions of Canada and abroad. It applies to a broad field of applications including stationery, forms, vehicular markings, signage, advertising, published material, electronic communications, audio-visual productions and expositions, personnel identification, awards and plaques, packaging and labelling, and identification of equipment.

Technical Documentation

The PSPC Corporate Identity Graphics Standard ManualThis link is available only to clients with access to Publiservice, the Government of Canada extranet. (PDF Version 4.7 MB) (Help with Alternate Formats) was published to help PSPC employees, contractors and consultants convey a consistent, professional image of the department through the correct use of graphic elements. Our corporate identity is a powerful communications tool in support of the Federal Identity Program. There are two basic corporate identity approaches: one for internal PSPC audiences (corporate symbol) and one for external audiences (corporate image) comprising the general public and other government departments and agencies.

The Corporate Look and Standard Guides are designed to compliment the Manual by providing easy to find templates, elements, and graphics.

Each PSPC branch and region is responsible for implementing these graphic standards on all their communications products. The Translation Bureau, Consulting and Audit Canada and the Canadian General Standards Board can use their established visual identities.

The Office Design Guide is a reference handbook of information prepared for office facility managers in federal government departments. It outlines components that make up the office environment and contains a section on signage. Since its publication, much remains relevant although there have been several significant changes in the field which are not reflected in the ODG document:

  • tactile signs
  • process of sign acquisition
  • word mark program

Exemptions

Unique programs, services and initiatives offered on behalf of the Government of Canada (GOC), may use the Government of Canada signature and are, therefore, exempted from the PSPC Corporate Identity Program. However, any use of the PSPC Corporate Identity Program by these organizations must be in accordance with this manual. Compliance is mandatory. The Director General of Communications, following consultation with the appropriate Departmental Executive Committee member, will assess each request for exception.

Inquiries

For additional information concerning the usage, placement and application of the corporate identity, please contact SNGP.NPMS@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca.

Associated Documents

Examples

Legislation

PSPC Policies

Treasury Board Policies

Standards

Toolkit

Procurement

Signalisation

Sur cette page

Exigences des lois

Dans l'avant-propos et dans la Partie VI de la Loi sur les langues officielles, on précise clairement que le gouvernement du Canada s'engage à assurer la participation entière et équitable des membres des deux communautés de langue officielle dans les institutions fédérales. Cet engagement se fonde sur une caractéristique essentielle de la fonction publique fédérale du Canada : les communautés francophones et anglophones de Canadiens et de Canadiennes travaillent en collaboration.

Le Manuel de la politique administrative du Conseil du Trésor renferme les politiques du Programme de coordination de l'image de marque (PCIM) du gouvernement fédéral se rapportant aux panneaux indicateurs pour les installations de ce gouvernement. La norme B651 de l'Association canadienne de normalisation et le chapitre 6 du Manuel du Conseil du Trésor – Gestion des biens immobiliers décrivent les modalités d'application de ces normes pour que les panneaux indicateurs s'adressant aux aveugles et aux personnes atteintes d'un handicap visuel soient efficaces.

Politiques pertinentes

Le ARCHIVÉE – Politique sur le Programme de coordination de l'image de marque du gouvernement fédéral du Conseil du Trésor porte sur l'image de marque du gouvernement du Canada. Grâce à ce programme, le gouvernement peut se présenter comme une administration cohérente et unifiée, et les citoyens canadiens peuvent reconnaître d'emblée leur gouvernement et les programmes qu'il leur offre. Ce programme facilite la désignation des programmes et des services fédéraux, grâce à une signature claire et constante. Le Programme de coordination de l'image de marque (PCIM) s'étend au mot-symbole Canada, aux signatures ministérielles, aux uniformes du gouvernement, au lettrage sur les voitures et aux panneaux indicateurs dans les immeubles (répertoires, panneaux indicateurs pour les directions, plaques signalétiques et panneaux indicateurs pour la réglementation, les avertissements et l'information).

De pair avec la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, la politique sur le PCIM permet de façonner le « visage » et la « voix » du gouvernement.

La Politique sur le Programme de coordination de l'image de marque du gouvernement fédéral du Conseil du Trésor précise que les institutions, les programmes, les services et les contributions du gouvernement fédéral doivent tous respecter les normes d'image de marque pour le gouvernement du Canada. On doit montrer que les deux langues officielles sont sur un pied d'égalité dans l'application de ces normes.

La Politique sur l'image de marque de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (Désistement de responsabilité : Cette information n'est accessible qu'aux fonctionnaires fédéraux) définit les rôles, les responsabilités et les lignes directrices pour la mise en oeuvre et l'application de l'image de marque du Ministère. Cette politique annule et remplace le chapitre 470 (Programme de coordination de l'image de marque) du Manuel du Conseil du Trésor : Administration.

Cette politique précise que Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada doit :

Cette politique ministérielle s'adresse à tous les employés de SPAC et porte sur tous les produits de communication décrits dans l' ARCHIVÉE –  Annexe A : Politique sur l'image de marque de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (Désistement de responsabilité : Cette information n'est accessible qu'aux fonctionnaires fédéraux). Le Bureau de la traduction, Conseils et Vérification Canada et l'Office des normes générales du Canada peuvent utiliser leur signature visuelle établie. Toutefois, lorsque ces organismes utilisent l'image de marque de SPAC, ils doivent respecter les conditions de cette politique ministérielle.

L'image de marque de SPAC se fonde sur les éléments du PCIM et est constituée de la signature ministérielle, du mot-symbole Canada et de la désignation du Ministère.

Application

Cette politique s'applique à toutes les institutions visées dans les annexes I, II et III de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et à toutes les directions générales désignées comme des ministères pour les besoins de la Loi, sauf si les institutions sont exemptées expressément de l'application du PCIM. (Veuillez consulter, dans les annexes d'application de l'Appendice B, les noms des institutions assujetties à la politique sur le PCIM et de celles qui en sont exemptées. Cet appendice fait également état des critères d'exemption.) Cette politique s'inspire des lois et des politiques suivantes : Charte canadienne des droits et libertés, Loi sur les langues officielles et Manuel du Conseil du Trésor : volume Communications : chapitre 1, Communications du gouvernement.

Le Programme de coordination de l'image de marque du gouvernement fédéral vise environ 160 institutions du gouvernement du Canada et plus de 20 000 établissements dans toutes les régions du pays et à l'étranger. Il s'applique à de nombreux domaines, dont la papeterie, les formulaires, les symboles sur les véhicules, les panneaux indicateurs, la publicité, les documents publiés, les communications électroniques, les productions audiovisuelles et les expositions, les titres des fonctions du personnel, les prix et les plaques commémoratives, l'emballage et l'étiquetage, ainsi que la désignation de l'équipement.

Documents techniques

Le Manual du programme de coordination a été publié afin d'aider les employés, les entrepreneurs et les experts-conseils de SPAC à diffuser l'image professionnelle cohérente du Ministère, en appliquant correctement les éléments graphiques de cette image. Notre identité ministérielle est un puissant outil de communication dans le cadre du Programme de coordination de l'image de marque du gouvernement fédéral. Il existe essentiellement deux principes en matière d'identité ministérielle : un pour les publics cibles internes de SPAC (symbole ministériel) et l'autre pour les publics cibles externes (image institutionnelle), soit le grand public et les autres ministères et organismes de l'État.

L'image de marque ministérielle et normes graphiques sont complétées par un site Web, sur lequel on peut consulter facilement des modèles, des éléments graphiques et les signature ministérielle de l'image de marque.

Chaque direction générale et chaque région de SPAC doivent mettre en oeuvre ces normes graphiques dans tous leurs produits de communication. Le Bureau de la traduction, Conseils et Vérification Canada et l'Office des normes générales du Canada peuvent utiliser leur identité visuelle établie.

Le Guide de conception des bureaux est un ouvrage de référence préparé à titre d'information à l'intention des gestionnaires des installations à bureaux dans les ministères fédéraux. On y décrit les éléments qui constituent l'environnement des bureaux et on y trouve une section sur les panneaux indicateurs. Même si ce guide a été publié il y a longtemps, une grande partie de son contenu reste pertinente, malgré les changements importants intervenus dans ce domaine et dont ce guide ne tient pas compte, notamment en ce qui concerne :

Exemptions

Dans le cadre des programmes, des services et des initiatives uniques offerts au nom du gouvernement du Canada (GC), on peut utiliser la signature de ce gouvernement; ces programmes, services et initiatives sont donc exemptés de l'application du Programme de coordination de l'image de marque de SPAC. Toutefois, lorsque ces organismes font appel à ce programme, ils doivent respecter obligatoirement les conditions reproduites dans ce guide. Après avoir consulté les membres compétents du Comité de direction ministériel, le directeur général des Communications évalue chaque demande d'exception.

Demandes de renseignements

Pour de plus amples renseignements à propos de l'utilisation, de l'aménagement et de l'application de l'image de marque ministérielle, veuillez contacter tpsgc.sngp-npms.pwgsc@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca.

Documents connexes

Lois

Loi sur les langues officielles

Politiques de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Politiques Conseil du Trésor

Normes

Manual du programme de coordination

Trousse à outils

Normalisation des sites Internet

Achats

Offre à commandes

Date de modification :